News Media Thread, 2023: Insightful, Inciteful and Incomptent

West Coast Eagles to lobby AFL for an extra home game to make up for being interstate during Gather Round​

Craig O'DonoghueThe West Australian
Mon, 17 April 2023 6:06PM

West Coast will lobby the AFL for an extra home game as compensation for the permanent decision to add Gather Round to fixture, saying they shouldn’t be expected to carry the burden of another flight across the country.

The AFL has confirmed Gather Round will be played in South Australia until 2026, giving both the Eagles and Fremantle even more travel than usual.

West Coast will cover almost 60,000km in the air this season with five trips to Melbourne, three to Adelaide, one to Launceston, one to Brisbane and one to Sydney. Their total distance travelled is more than the combined tally of Collingwood, Carlton and Richmond.

Good! And shit by WA not ponying up the cash bursting out of our wallet to bring it here.

West Coast Eagles to lobby AFL for an extra home game to make up for being interstate during Gather Round​

West Coast will lobby the AFL for an extra home game as compensation for the permanent decision to add Gather Round to fixture, saying they shouldn’t be expected to carry the burden of another flight across the country.

The AFL has confirmed Gather Round will be played in South Australia until 2026, giving both the Eagles and Fremantle even more travel than usual.

West Coast will cover almost 60,000km in the air this season with five trips to Melbourne, three to Adelaide, one to Launceston, one to Brisbane and one to Sydney. Their total distance travelled is more than the combined tally of Collingwood, Carlton and Richmond.

Nothing like the eagles planting something that’s never going to happen into the media to deflect from what’s going on.

It'd be better to wait for the WACA redevelopment to be completed anyway. Two stadiums on either side of the bridge, festival of footy in the east of the city.
Isn't WACA going to be 10k. That's way too small for even GWS or GC

At the risk of starting another shitfight...they wouldn't have to take another flight if they all stayed the week in Adelaide. runs for cover

Nothing like the eagles planting something that’s never going to happen into the media to deflect from what’s going on.

It’s not a distraction but a question that absolutely should be getting asked and the sooner the better

It’s a simple concept that judging by some comments I’ve just read on Twitter eludes most, including dim witted Freo supporters who’s hatred of West Coast blinds them to the fact that what we asking would also benefit Fremantle

Pre gather round there was a certain equity in home games -

• Non-Victorian teams played 10 genuine home games against a visiting side from outside their state, 2 neutral games against their neighbour and 10 games where they’d travel to another state
• Victorian teams would travel 5-6 times per year, play a non-Victorian side as a genuine home game 5-6 times per year and the remaining 10-12 games against other Victorian sides. The qualification to this is North and Hawthorn who play games in Tasmania by choice and Melbourne who sold a home game to the NT. Geelong are a separate anomaly because they don’t share their home ground like the Melbourne clubs

It wasn’t an entirely fair system primarily due to geography but there was a logic to it

Gather round in SA gives another home game to the SA clubs whilst the other 16 clubs all have an extra out of state game, albeit at a neutral venue

In effect the SA clubs get an advantage

What West Coast are asking for is that we get that extra home game as we (and Freo) travel more than anyone else. And if we get it then so will Fremantle

The mistake we made was going it alone - we should have gone to Fremantle and presented a united voice

I dont mind too much as long as us and freo never play Port or the crows in these Gather Round games. That's the real hidden disadvantage sixteen other teams face imo. I notice Hawthorn are getting on the front foot, requesting to play at Norwood oval each season, seems an odd request but then you think about it. Neither Port or the crows would play there in Gather round, the hawks are effectively asking for a guaranteed neutral game.

Interesting…surely a middle ground is reached. We agree to the extra away game, but only get one game in any of Brisbane/Sydney/Tassie during those seasons. Might finally get that elusive home game against Brisbane for the first time since 1995 (at least that’s what it feels like!)

Watched on the couch, brown saying melbourne were probably flat against the dons because they had to play in Perth the week before 😂😂😂

Surprised Nicolas Cage GIF

I liked Craig O’Donoghue’s suggestion, which was Adelaide and Port playing the reverse matchup of their Gather Round game in Darwin or Alice as a neutral venue, so they go back to having 11 home, 11 away and 1 neutral game like everyone else.

Doesn’t help us much, but does take a bit of their advantage away.

Isn't WACA going to be 10k. That's way too small for even GWS or GC
That's more than Norwood or Mt Barker that hosted 3 games between them last weekend.
I dont mind too much as long as us and freo never play Port or the crows in these Gather Round games. That's the real hidden disadvantage sixteen other teams face imo. I notice Hawthorn are getting on the front foot, requesting to play at Norwood oval each season, seems an odd request but then you think about it. Neither Port or the crows would play there in Gather round, the hawks are effectively asking for a guaranteed neutral game.
Leafy Eastern suburbs is the natural habitat for Hawthorn fans. Norwood is a home away from home.

I hate seeing this right now - it’s so tone deaf considering the rest of the footy world have a Gather Round hard on and it’s not exactly a request that will get ANY support from the media (ie the east coast).

This will get labelled as an ‘excuse’ being ‘wheeled out’ by the club - lumped in with the ever increasing ‘whinging’ that happened when the club was in the hubs.

Absolutely does not help anyone at all and obviously, there is ABSOLUTELY NO CHANCE the league actually grants the request. Get real.

Pull your heads out your arse and worry about actually a fielding a team this week.

I hate seeing this right now - it’s so tone deaf considering the rest of the footy world have a Gather Round hard on and it’s not exactly a request that will get ANY support from the media (ie the east coast).

This will get labelled as an ‘excuse’ being ‘wheeled out’ by the club - lumped in with the ever increasing ‘whinging’ that happened when the club was in the hubs.

Absolutely does not help anyone at all and obviously, there is ABSOLUTELY NO CHANCE the league actually grants the request. Get real.

Pull your heads out your arse and worry about actually a fielding a team this week.
Don't ask, don't get.

Also, getting on the front foot does the reverse of getting ahead of the whingers in WA who will bark on about how the club just meekly accepts whatever the AFL dictates.

Damned if you do...

Why wouldn't it be?

It's work related.
Because Trauma pays a lump sum on diagnosis, it doesn't replace income.

Income protection premiums are tax deductible.
Life & Disability premiums can be made pseudo-deductible when placed inside super and premiums are paid via concessional contributions.

But Trauma cover is never tax deductible.

Good! And s**t by WA not ponying up the cash bursting out of our wallet to bring it here.
The thing is though it was never an option, otherwise I reckon we would’ve

You don't reckon the AFL shopped it around for the most coin? They never leave money on the table.

Don't ask, don't get.

Also, getting on the front foot does the reverse of getting ahead of the whingers in WA who will bark on about how the club just meekly accepts whatever the AFL dictates.

Damned if you do...

This isn’t the time to ask, certainly not make public statements about it.

There needs to be a club focus on the tough decisions that clearly need to be made over the next 3-4 months.

Gavin Bell will be out of a job at the end of the year if we have another 2 win season with him as footy manager - he should be focusing on bailing the water out of the 2023 boat and not ending up managing the footy program at some private school.