Gym & Misc Member Profiles - Post yours!

here goes;

Height: 178cm or 5'10
Weight: 83kg
Bodyfat: 15% (had a scan done a couple of months ago)

Qualifications; none, looking to do online certs in fitness III and fitness IV to further my knowledge. I spend a lot of time reading all types of information on the web, books etc.

Bit of background info; Around the start of October last year i weighed in around 86.5kg overweight, lack of energy, newly single. Had a weekend catching up with a good mate of mine who lives up in Sydney, he is a fitness model, fair to say that point in time i turned it around. Joined the gym, changed my diet, gave up how much i was drinking, I dropped 10kg by Christmas. Since then my diet has relaxed a little and i have bulked back up to 83kg. At the moment i am playing footy so that takes away 3 day where i could weight train, so just doing what i can to improve a little. During the off season i can forget about footy and focus on weight training, diet etc.

Goals; lean gains, bulk a little whilst reducing body fat.

Diet; I went harcore paleo for a few months, i have introduce a bit more whole grains to help carb up before footy. I tend to cycle my calories and carbs, start of low during the week and build up towards saturday.

Won't bore you with my PB's they are nothing to brag about haha;

But earlier in the year i achieved one of my goals of doing 1 RPM of 100kg for bench press and recently 1 RPM of 150kg for deadlift. I haven't tried squat PB as yet because i train by myself and worry if i get down, i won't have enough strength to get back up and make an ass of myself. But will set the squat rack up properly i so if i get stuck i can "drop" the bar on to the support racks!

Below is my progression, first pic where i started, second pic about 6 weeks in, third pic 4 months in, last pic about me 3 weeks ago.

http://s1278.photobucket.com/user/s...-1647b38274de_zpsd92be96a.jpg.html?state=copy

Height: 180cm
Weight: ~78kg*

Profile pic bigfooty.jpg

Progress: Lost 5-6kg since 1/1/13.
Gym: 2-3 times per week (this year usually 3, in the past usually 2 due to being hungover too often).
Routine: Has varied over the years. Last couple of months have gone with a push-pull split but with military press and cable pull-downs on both days. That is:

Day 1 (push): Bench, seated shoulder press, military press, cable pull-downs (pref in that order).
Day 2 (pull): Pull-ups, cable pull-downs, machine inclined row (name?), military press (as above).

Sometimes I'll throw in ab-work/dips/tricep pushdowns (whatever they're called) but only at the end if I have time and energy for it. Haven't done a bicep curl in a long, long time. Usually in and out of the gym in 60-75 mins.

Since I began working the shoulders/lats on both days I have noticed significant improvements in both. I love the military press, seems to improve far more than just your shoulders.

Other: I cycle everywhere (even sold my car last year). To work is about a 15k round trip and on that trip is both my gym and some shops so it works out well. Uni is around a 12km round trip. The amount I turn up to uni can vary but I'd probably be riding around 50-70km/week as a rough guess. I also like to run when I can and have a ~6km circuit around my area I like to do which is littered with steep hills.

PBs: Currently everything I do in the gym is a PB, really. I never really used to track what I was lifting but even at my strongest in 2011 (when I had a bench in my garage - those were the days) I could bench no more than what I am doing now - and that was when I was around 82-84kg. Pound for pound I am much stronger than the 2011 me and I would absolutely smash the fat **** in a run or cycle, too.

Bench: 95kg x 5-6 reps (can do 100 but only for 1-2 reps so never bother).
Pullups: bw x ~15. Probably time to start adding extra weight.
Military press: 55kg x 4.

Injuries: Haven't been able to play footy (or bowl in cricket, or squat/dead/lunge at the gym) since the onset of recurring hamstring (and later adductor/calf) injuries around the end of 2009. I'm hopeful that as I improve my strength and fitness I will be able to overcome these ongoing issues by myself but am also prepared to pay money to see physios/chiros/whoever if the troubles reappear over the next few months. I never thought the problems would last this long; I think it is a hip-related issue that was originally triggered by being top-heavy and having poor running posture - I have largely alleviated these issues myself over the past few months and so far haven't had too many problems with increasing running intensity. Other than this I am pretty much injury-free so if I ever do get back on the footy field, look out campaigners.

Diet: Try to stick to straight-up vegetables/meat/eggs as much as possible... but due to being a bit of a fat ****, I eat way too much chocolate/donuts/cookies. I decided to keep track of where I was spending my money this year with an excel spreadsheet and am embarrassed to admit that I have eaten roughly 2 blocks of chocolate every three days so far this year. I'm not kidding - about 100 blocks since Jan 1. That is without mentioning cookies or donuts. I am trying to get through June without buying any crap food but I said the same thing at the start of May, April, March. It took me plenty of attempts to get off the piss though so I'm still optimistic. Apparently it is common for dudes who quit the booze to start eating way too much chocolate (a fact I only found out a couple of months ago, so no, I wasn't using that as an excuse) so I'm not beating myself up about it too much. I've still managed to lose 5-6kg in five months despite eating all the crap so meh.

IF: As posted in another thread, I am a convert to the fundamental principles of IF, even if I do not follow it strictly. It has changed my life. Thanks evo et al.

*My weight has fluctuated between 75-80 kg over the past few months as I have experimented with IF and in particular fasted running (and also indulged in one or two binge-eating weekends). I think that my real weight (not bloated from excess food or dehydrated from fasted exercise) right now is about 77kg; the digital scales said 76.6 before I typed up this post.

Booze: I quit it at the beginning of the year. Originally planned to just go six weeks as part of a bet, but in the back of my mind dreamed of going six months without any belief that that would actually happen. Six months is almost up and now I am thinking about doing a whole year. Haven't decided yet. Either way, getting off the piss (whether it ends up being for five months or forever) has changed my life.

4 exercises in 60 - 75mins?

Visit to gym usually only goes out to 75 minutes if I'm doing the extra exercise(s) I mentioned that I sometimes throw on at the end of a session, and also bare in mind that by 'in and out of gym' I mean in and out of gym (which often involves a shower as I'm on my way to work).

:thumbsu:

Routine: Has varied over the years. Last couple of months have gone with a push-pull split but with military press and cable pull-downs on both days. That is:

Day 1 (push): Bench, seated shoulder press, military press, cable pull-downs (pref in that order).
Day 2 (pull): Pull-ups, cable pull-downs, machine inclined row (name?), military press (as above).

Sometimes I'll throw in ab-work/dips/tricep pushdowns (whatever they're called) but only at the end if I have time and energy for it. Haven't done a bicep curl in a long, long time. Usually in and out of the gym in 60-75 mins.

Since I began working the shoulders/lats on both days I have noticed significant improvements in both. I love the military press, seems to improve far more than just your shoulders.

No legs?? :eek::eek::eek::eek:

Explained in the post.

That's a shit load of chocalate you eat. Can I suggest you transistion to dark chocolate. It is actually good for you - it's worth researching.
Trust me, I know.

I never used to eat this much crap until last year. Used to be really stingy with grocery money and never let myself buy much crap. Then last year I found myself with more disposable income than normal and started buying the odd block here, the odd pack of $2 timtams there. Then this year it just got out of hand aye. I happen to think sugar is practically poison so I don't intend to let this bad habit become a permanent one.

Today is Day 4 of my 'No buying crap food' plan. Then what lands in my letterbox? A flyer from the local Dominos promoting $6 pizzas (value/trad/chef's best) Thur-Sun. And I recently got my hands on some quality sativa. It'll be tough to get through this weekend. Actually it was amazing, on Day Two I walked into my local Coles and they're flogging $2 blocks of cadbury. I've never seen it that cheap. It is almost like the campaigner up in the sky is trying to stooge me. He didn't get me with the $2 chocolate so now he is throwing the pizza at me. We'll see.

Yeah I tend to eat a good 400-500g of vegetables several times per week. Obviously that ought to be every night but I am getting better - it's been every night so far this month, we'll see how long I can keep it up. My hope is to slowly cut back to only having meat once or twice per week and make up the protein with 'legumes' and other fancy shit I currently know nothing about. For now so long as I get a big bowl of vegetables into me a few times per week I feel I'm doing okay.

I'm curious to know what others think of the 'fresh v frozen' vegetable debate. As a lazy **** I usually just steam up some frozen cut green beens and mixed vegetables. Cheap as (beans are like $1/kg, mixed vegetables ~$3.50 from memory) and easy to prepare - just chuck in the steamer, stove on, and its done in 15 minutes. I've heard conflicting reports on this; some say fresh is better, some say frozen is better, some say there is no difference. Would love to see some scientific reports on the matter.

I'm also curious to know how many eggs most people in here consume each week, and how many they think is 'healthy'. Again I have heard conflicting reports.

EDIT: Meat, too. I'm probably going through 1-1.5kg/week which seems excessive to me. Would like to get that down to maybe 2 serves of ~200g/week. How much does everybody else eat? I tend to buy the rump steak, $13-14/kg.

I'm curious to know what others think of the 'fresh v frozen' vegetable debate. As a lazy **** I usually just steam up some frozen cut green beens and mixed vegetables. Cheap as (beans are like $1/kg, mixed vegetables ~$3.50 from memory) and easy to prepare - just chuck in the steamer, stove on, and its done in 15 minutes. I've heard conflicting reports on this; some say fresh is better, some say frozen is better, some say there is no difference. Would love to see some scientific reports on the matter.

Yeah I'm frozen vegie fan, my freezer is always full of beans, corn, spinach and those mixed packs that are good for stirfrys. I either nuke them to go with my steak/chicken breast, or chuck a heap in with stirfry. Pretty much the only stuff I buy fresh is onions, broccoli and mushrooms.

I've heard mixed reports too - some say they can even be better than fresh because they are snap frozen and don't have the chance to lose any nutrients as they age on the shelf. Most of the stuff I've read says boiling them is a bad idea if you're trying to keep as much nutrients as possible, but steaming or microwaving seems ok.

I'm also curious to know how many eggs most people in here consume each week, and how many they think is 'healthy'. Again I have heard conflicting reports.

I usually alternate breakfasts - three egg omelette one day, tuna on toast the next - so I would go through 9-12 eggs a week.

From what I can tell research seems to jump backwards and forwards between good/bad but the latest consensus seems to be that they're good for you again after they went through a period of being demonised.

Still I'm a little wary, which is why I don't eat them every day. Plus I don't do any of this pussy egg white omelette stuff because I love the taste of the yolk so much (and I refuse to buy caged eggs so I'm not spending that extra money then throwing half of it out!)

EDIT: Meat, too. I'm probably going through 1-1.5kg/week which seems excessive to me. Would like to get that down to maybe 2 serves of ~200g/week. How much does everybody else eat? I tend to buy the rump steak, $13-14/kg.

I eat a shitload of meat - a lot more than 1.5kg a week I'm guessing.

I usually have a roasted chicken breast with vegies for lunch, and either a beef/pork steak with vegies or a beef/pork stirfry for dinner.

I'm hoping the fact that I eat a lot of vegies every day will save me from bowel cancer...

There isn't any proven link between dietary cholesterol and issues with health. So eat as many eggs as you like. They are also full of nutrients too.

Only exception to the rule is people who do have health issues - who should follow doctors advice.

I eat way more meat than 1.5kg per week. Go through about 600g+ per day. Have 3 servings per day. A red meat (steak/5 star mince), white (chicken usually) and roo.

There isn't any proven link between dietary cholesterol and issues with health. So eat as many eggs as you like. They are also full of nutrients too.

Yeah that is what I tell myself when I buy my two dozen eggs for the week.

I eat way more meat than 1.5kg per week. Go through about 600g+ per day. Have 3 servings per day. A red meat (steak/5 star mince), white (chicken usually) and roo.

Jesus. How does this affect you when it comes out the other end?

Not criticising you, by the way. Genuinely curious as to whether your digestive system agrees with the workload.

I would love it if it were scientifically proven that we could eat that kind of quantity of meat, especially red, without risk of trouble later in life.

Only exception to the rule is people who do have health issues - who should follow doctors advice.

My mother has been jumping down my neck at the amount of Eggs I've been consuming lately, about the cholesterol and such...So I've pretty much just started buying my own eggs seperately.

Yeah that is what I tell myself when I buy my two dozen eggs for the week.

Wouldn't even worry about it. Quick google search has plenty of information:

https://www.google.com/search?q=eggs+cholesterol+study (for news articles on it)

https://www.google.com/search?q=eggs+cholesterol+pubmed (for peer reviewed studies)

Jesus. How does this affect you when it comes out the other end?

Not criticising you, by the way. Genuinely curious as to whether your digestive system agrees with the workload.

I would love it if it were scientifically proven that we could eat that kind of quantity of meat, especially red, without risk of trouble later in life.

Never had any issues in that way. The only time i may feel a bit crook in the guts or have digestive issues is when i eat out - restaurant food (ie. thai, etc). If i keep to basic simple foods i haven't had any issues - bread is about the most processed i usually have.

wow, that is a lot.

If i were you, once you get somewhere near your long term goal size, I'd back off that a bit. It's probably ok for a couple of years but long term you are playing with fire in my view.

I'd go through 600g a day easy
When I cook chicken I smash back at least 400g and that's only one sitting
Then I have usually one or two other meat based meals but they are usually smaller

it doesnt seem logical to me that its unhealthy, but there have been those studies so I dunno

I dont really care about health though

I'm 21, with the advancement of medicine in my lifetime alone, I think I'll be alright in the future, plus whats a few years off anyway

Gym & Misc Member Profiles - Post yours!