Michael Talia arrested for drug possession

Players probably tell the club knowing it will either 99% get leaked or 1% eventually noticed when the court date comes up.

I'm sure managers and/or clubs try to get the player out of it and if they can't then they get on the front footy like Sydney have.
Yeah true. just seems like yes they are higher profile but a rule for one person should be the same as a normal person that plays a sport as long as its not performance enhancing.

I know that before the so called team plans were allegedly leaked to Adelaide, the players at the dogs seemed to get along with Michael and like him from what i use to see from video snippets, just think he is not a bad person just has made bad choices.

Searching without reasonable suspicion isn't their job

Were you there? Do you know much about Casablanca? Do you know much about the people that night spot now attracts? Do you know what Talia did to bring himself under suspicion?

I'm going to take a guess and say you don't know the answer to any if not most of those questions.

I'm guessing you are from Lizbef then? Maybe one of them fancy Lizbef Vale types?

FWIW I'm South Australian.
Was Born in a Suburb of City of Elizabeth, and as it happens the Hospital is in the Vale area, I Even support the local football team who took the colours from your team when Footscray donated some football Jumpers for Centrals in 59.
But one thing I know we can at least spell the name of the City correctly and most adults will not use the area to belittle or as an excuse,
And if your from SA and support Footscray/Western Bulldogs you should understand the problems of the area. And not throw up the suburb as an insult, Poor form.
Play the ball not the man, or is that beyond you.

Were you there?
No
Do you know much about Casablanca?
No
Do you know much about the people that night spot now attracts?
No
Do you know what Talia did to bring himself under suspicion?
No
I'm going to take a guess and say you don't know the answer to any if not most of those questions.
No, I know the answer to all of them; see above.

Probably, but he has no case to answer, so I don't really understand why it matters if he did or did not know what Talia had in his pocket.

No but a polite enquiry from hawthorn and the AFL about what JOR knew would be warranted don't you think

That would be sensible

Trust me ASADA will be banging on his door this week ....this is how they work

Not quite. Drug possession is a strict liability offence (like speeding). You either have drugs on you or you don't.

Different when in commercial quantities.

Yeah true

I personally think as a drug and alcohol counsellor that we need to de-criminalise drugs

You wouldn't suddenly see an increase in use ....most people know they aren't good for you long term and 90% of users stop after low level use....they figure it out.

We can't win the war on drugs under the current gameplan.

We must push it as health and social issue. So much government money is wasted on the courts for fairly trivial low level use charges just like this one .....yet it takes six to eight weeks to get into rehab in most states ......government keeps building prisons ...

Yet they go to prison and come out with HEP C OR AIDS

Yes by all means dealers and cooks ....go after them but do them for tax evasion and fraud ....ok mate how come you own all this stuff on your wage. Plus I reckon let's get fair dinkum and take down the bikies and and work with the Chinese authorities because most drugs are coming from China

But targeting users and recreational use has failed miserably in every country it's been tried

Yup Tahlia is being made out to be criminal .......Fffs it shouldn't be in a court

Yeah true

I personally think as a drug and alcohol counsellor that we need to de-criminalise drugs

You wouldn't suddenly see an increase in use ....most people know they aren't good for you long term and 90% of users stop after low level use....they figure it out.

We can't win the war on drugs under the current gameplan.

We must push it as health and social issue. So much government money is wasted on the courts for fairly trivial low level use charges just like this one .....yet it takes six to eight weeks to get into rehab in most states ......government keeps building prisons ...

Yet they go to prison and come out with HEP C OR AIDS

Yes by all means dealers and cooks ....go after them but do them for tax evasion and fraud ....ok mate how come you own all this stuff on your wage. Plus I reckon let's get fair dinkum and take down the bikies and and work with the Chinese authorities because most drugs are coming from China

But targeting users and recreational use has failed miserably in every country it's been tried

Yup Tahlia is being made out to be criminal .......Fffs it shouldn't be in a court
Portugal is a very good example. A new approach may be too much for our conservative politicians to stomach, but it's the way we should be moving.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

No but a polite enquiry from hawthorn and the AFL about what JOR knew would be warranted don't you think

That would be sensible

Trust me ASADA will be banging on his door this week ....this is how they work
Police searched JOR and found nothing. He's since told the HFC he had nothing on him and that he'll gladly be tested.

It's one gram of coke being found on another person, not a murder scene.

Portugal is a very good example. A new approach may be too much for our conservative politicians to stomach, but it's the way we should be moving.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

I'm watching it closely ...reading articles and speaking with Portuguese people online about how it's working

Our government is ridiculous ...they think they can arrest thier way out of this

The top south Australian police chief said simply "we can't arrest our way out of this"

We need to spend way more on treatment ....I'm now asking clients 6-7 weeks before they can see as I'm that snowed with clients coming in the door and this is very typical

The public alcohol and drug system is at breaking strain .....staff take on too many clients .....burn out and leave ...then for about six weeks your left with one less front line worker, thus putting more pressure on the rest of the team

Ok Tahlia will get support through the private system because the swans will have access to that ...oddly though the lapse and relapse rate is the same if you go to public AOD worker or you go to the top private counsellor in the country.

Thalia hopefully sorts himself out

One thing I do know and this might sound like an excuse but excuse and reason are different. I want to make that clear

Players are under more pressure than ever ....yes the money is good ...they are treated like robots all week ...told where to go and when, what to eat ...skin fold tests are common (which discounts alcohol out of the picture immediately)

Yet when the fixture article was released yesterday ...the afl says one bye only

Personally I would give player three byes per year .......start the season earlier .....with one pre season hit out then straight into it ..

I know what pressure and intense scrutiny does to people ...I do this for a living

Afl players are no different ...they are human and they need healthy release valves from the pressure cooker of being a public commodity. Also remember the average career is 3.5 years so the pressure to perform and show you wears is huge ......it's Om from the get go

Every kick, handball and game is watched and rewatched and analysed. I have counselled 2 ex AFL PLAYERS AND THEY SPOKE OF THIS

THE AFL IS NOT LISTNEING

THE REASON THESE GUYS DABBLE IS TO RELEASE THE PRESSURE VALVE and maybe to cope with other life pressures.

I'll challenge you guys who sit here and cba going Tahalia

Right lets see how you go with limited alcohol and a really strict diet for next three months ....most would go heck that

Tahlia made a small silly error ...he's not Carl Williams but hell the media reaction was over the top

Michael Talia arrested for drug possession