Have a listen to Voss' post-match conference and I think you will get some clues as to what was instrumental in turning our season around.
He said that there were tough conversations held among the coaching group, also between the leaders and the playing group, as well as between the coaches and the team leaders.
There would be nobody more qualified than him to be able to address issues in leadership and let them know what is required. He has walked the walk and the players know that, makes a difference when a coach has that experience.
It helps also to have somebody like Cook to oversee what's happening, he's been there before and would be a strong guiding hand in times of trouble.
I think that we are better set in terms of coaching, players and administration than we have been in decades. The future looks good as long as everybody continues to work together as they obviously are now. No discernible factions within the club, we are seeing unity for the first time in a very long time.
Even better if they don’t GAF, everyone’s on the same page at the club and they deal with contracts/figures deal late next season.Seriously though, if they extending him before at least the back half of next year I'll be absolutely spewing.
No, they had the wrong game plan and Mcrae cant coach............1/We still turn it over instead of dead balling.
2/Paddy Dow has never touched another person ever in his life, just talented but scarred of his own shadow.
3/ Pies were terrible in front of goal
4/Love the club, but am realistic.
5/And yes, still think we are a chance, pre season picked a Carlton/Port gf.
Yeah, you're right.No, they had the wrong game plan and Mcrae cant coach............
As another example of how tactically we’ve improved, take a look at how Cottrell has been deployed in recent weeks - his run and pressure in the forward half disrupts rebounding defenders.I thought last night was one of the best-coached games from a Carlton coach in a long time.
To start with, the structure and system held up incredibly well against top of the ladder despite 6 changes for the match. Not easy, but how good was our defence - both the individual players and the way the team ran back to support. Acres and Hollands may need the full 9 days to recover...
And then to stare down Collingwood's last quarter surge so decisively. Tactically, we made a clear change and went heavily man on man. That meant backing the players in: backing Hollands against Sidebottom on the wing (he held up), backing Dow against Taylor Adams at center bounces (he trounced him), backing the mobile defence to cover the ground needed against their runners. It was ballsy, but also exactly how to beat Collingwood (
it just highlighted that the recipe to defeating a team that relies on coming from behind in the last quarter is just to beat them for contested footy in the last quarter, but no-one else has been able to do it for 12 months). After the first bounce of the last quarter we had 3 straight where we just won the footy, moved it forward and quashed their win. Cripps bulldozed his way to the first one, but it was Dow on the second and third that got to the ball and that was really important.
I still think that this 'game plan' thing is a bit of a mythical creature. It's all between the ears when it comes to winning. We have better players at our disposal who are able to execute at a higher level, everybody seemed to be playing for their own survival, and that changed to playing a more team oriented game. It's pretty simple, there was no major adjustment to anything other than attitude from everyone involved.The Old Game Plan
- Low Scoring
- Extremely Defensive
- Slow play, slow players
- low pressure
- very taxing on players energy/bodies
- Out dated, does not work with the new rules.
- Possession footy, switch the ball which is ok but then hold it up which is not
- Slow to get it from one end to the other
- Players not moving at stoppages (stand and wrestle)
- No players running through stoppages, very stationary
- Not getting the ball into the hands of runners, no run and carry, lots of pressured blind bombing forward making it hard for forwards and easy for intercept defenders, throws our forwards under the bus.
- Slow ball movement making it easy for defensive team to run ahead of the ball, means they don't spend much energy means they always have numbers ahead of the ball, throws our forwards under the bus
- Go around the boundary and enter the forward line from the boundary and flanks meaning the kicker hasn't got the space to go to and the forwards don't have the full forward 50 to work in meaning a tight zone can be created and no space.
- Slow backline, lacked ability to defend one on one and run off opponents to create a run and carry rebound game and hurt us at ground level.
- Slow midfield. Means our closing speed on opposition and lose balls was not good enough which allowed the opposition to clear the ball and generate run. Meant we could not get forward run and carry and set up our forwards.
- no forward/mids and very few rotations. Very few players being used in their second position and excelling in second position. Not enough rotations.
- Too many players who don't chase, tackle or compete in the contest well. Too many slow players in the one spot or in positions you can't have slow players.
- Low rick ball movement. Easy to defend against.
- Players not positioned well or at all forward of the ball so we have to go slow after the turnover.
- Really hard to impact the game as a forward, no space, often have the full opposition team defence to deal with.
The new game plan
- Move the ball from one end to the other quickly by direct ball movement, long risk taking kicking and direct play. This means the defending team has to run really hard to defend which burns them out, stops them having momentum swings and come backs, allows us to roll teams late in the game/quarters. Stops defensive team getting numbers ahead of the ball (ball goes past the defending players) which means there are less defenders zoned off in our forward line which creates more one on ones and more
- Players stay on the move at stoppages. Makes our mids harder to stop, harder to defend against and block our mids. Moving feet get going quickly which means we close in on lose ball and opposition quicker, we break more tackles, we break away from stoppage better. Makes things less predictable in there.
- Runners through the stoppage. Guys like Walsh hanging out the back running through the stoppage, it's unstoppable. Pressures opposition into holding free kicks, creates run and carry forward which breaks down oppositions team defence and generates space and one on ones up forward. Mids running forward makes defenders panic, forces collapse of team defence, generates free kicks for forwards.
- More leg speed, pressure tackling.
- Game is easier on players bodies, a lot less fighting for the ball in congestion, we run out games better.
- Higher scoring due to better ball movement.
- Ball goes forward quicker, beats team defence, ball beats players into our forward 50.
- More direct forward 50 entries means forwards have the whole forward 50 to use, not half or a third of it as is the case when entering from out wide. Spreads the zone, gives forwards a chance. Generates more one on one's. Creates more leading lanes and more leading lanes for lose defenders to cover.
- faster players better suited to one on one defending in the backline and capable of running off their man and generating rebound. We run from behind very well.
- Spread the midfield zone far better with our kicking out. We are less predictable, we spread the opposition more evenly over the field with our kickouts and that gives us space in the midfield to move the ball through to our forwards.
- Better speed over the field particularly in the middle and defence.
- Good speed and intent to tackle and chase up forward.
- Riskier ball movement, harder to defend against.
- Keeping more players forward of the ball so we can go quicker from the rebound. Keeping positioning and space forward of the ball as well. More of a positive team layout, less about defending but when we run defensively we run hard and quick.
- Game supports our forwards really well. Ball often beats the team defence inside 50, forwards often have the full forward 50 to work in and we generate a lot of one on ones or lose players inside 50.
Player changes
IN: Faster players who chase, tackle and pressure really well. Cincotta, Kemp, Cuningham, Fogarty, Cottrell, Dow, Boyd.
OUT: Slower players and players who don't tackle and chase well. O'Brien, Fisher, Plowman, Young, Ed Curnow. Sticking to either Hewett or Kennedy not both.
Key points
I think the biggest things are what we do at stoppage. We are quicker but we are on the move and we have guys moving forwards and bursting away from stoppages. In the past opposition teams have just wrestled us and pressured us to death. Remember last year, about round 3 GCS doing it to us and then all teams did it to us. Now teams attempt it and we just start moving around.
Not afraid to turn it over in the middle of the ground. Under the old rules you'd get shot for turning a ball over in the middle of the ground, no matter who you played for. Collingwood changed that last year and it worked. Brad Scott's rule changes intended for the game to be played that way. Now other teams like us are embracing this.
What it means though is that we will turn it over in the middle of the ground and we do and that means defenders can't be slow and rely on team defence and the ball coming in from the boundary and their opponents having no space. Defenders have to be able to defend one on one again, it's like we have gone back to the 90s. We have embraced that and all of a sudden we have this quick and strong defence which can do that. It's means guys like Young and Plowman will probably never play again. It does mean we lack a key position size second tall defender though but what we lack there we make up with run.
The high pressure has become infectious. This is what I have meant when I talk about leadership and culture. Players follow and copy each other and drive things out there. It's come from changes in personnel and tactics but also from leadership and culture. This is what we do and this is how we play and if you don't then you should be worried because you will be dropped and the leaders of the team will come down on you like a tonne of bricks. Standards are set and are being driven which is good. This is what gives you the extra 10% out of players and why good clubs can get that bit extra out of players. No one is going to set a bad standard in this team.
Hated the old game plan. Hated our team selection. Both were outdated. We have a new game plan, a modern one. We select players who suite modern footy. Players who can run and who will compete hard and who will chase and tackle.
I hope we haven't made the change too late, but better late than never. Been saying all alone that we have the players, the game plan is stuffed and it was and that's proven now. What ever happened mid season and whoever drove it, good on them.
And to know what makes each player on the list tick.Yep - ultimately it is the players that win or lose games - it is the coach's job to show the players how to win games and why they lost games.
What baffles me about your posting about this issue is it continually undermines your own credibility.So Voss had a chat to underpeforming leaders and players did he? Did Weitering just admit to the shortcomings of the polayers peformance did he? ANy mention of lack of game plan or lack of selection integrity? How about a too complicated game plan or lack of game plan ABCDE&G?
Oh none of the stuff being posted on here by people who listen to 'radio' for 'expert' commentary?
hmm amazing.
You're partly right, but it's 100% game plan driven as well. I think the between the ears bit comes after winning. You change a few things, a change can get players motivated, you win a game or two and all of a sudden attitude, belief and motivation come. A can guarantee you it's definitely game plan driven.I still think that this 'game plan' thing is a bit of a mythical creature. It's all between the ears when it comes to winning. We have better players at our disposal who are able to execute at a higher level, everybody seemed to be playing for their own survival, and that changed to playing a more team oriented game. It's pretty simple, there was no major adjustment to anything other than attitude from everyone involved.
What baffles me about your posting about this issue is it continually undermines your own credibility.
By constantly attacking other posters all it shows is that you are completely blind to any alternative evidence which might enlighten the debate.
I wonder if it has ever dawned on you that there might be a combination of factors which has led to our very welcome return to form?
That it might be all of leadership focus, player availability, changes in the game plan, simpler messaging?
When you seek to demonise and sarcastically respond constantly where posters are attempting to add context and value to the debate only serves to eliminate any final thread of credibility you might have had on the issue.
The Old Game Plan
- Low Scoring
- Extremely Defensive
- Slow play, slow players
- low pressure
- very taxing on players energy/bodies
- Out dated, does not work with the new rules.
- Possession footy, switch the ball which is ok but then hold it up which is not
- Slow to get it from one end to the other
- Players not moving at stoppages (stand and wrestle)
- No players running through stoppages, very stationary
- Not getting the ball into the hands of runners, no run and carry, lots of pressured blind bombing forward making it hard for forwards and easy for intercept defenders, throws our forwards under the bus.
- Slow ball movement making it easy for defensive team to run ahead of the ball, means they don't spend much energy means they always have numbers ahead of the ball, throws our forwards under the bus
- Go around the boundary and enter the forward line from the boundary and flanks meaning the kicker hasn't got the space to go to and the forwards don't have the full forward 50 to work in meaning a tight zone can be created and no space.
- Slow backline, lacked ability to defend one on one and run off opponents to create a run and carry rebound game and hurt us at ground level.
- Slow midfield. Means our closing speed on opposition and lose balls was not good enough which allowed the opposition to clear the ball and generate run. Meant we could not get forward run and carry and set up our forwards.
- no forward/mids and very few rotations. Very few players being used in their second position and excelling in second position. Not enough rotations.
- Too many players who don't chase, tackle or compete in the contest well. Too many slow players in the one spot or in positions you can't have slow players.
- Low rick ball movement. Easy to defend against.
- Players not positioned well or at all forward of the ball so we have to go slow after the turnover.
- Really hard to impact the game as a forward, no space, often have the full opposition team defence to deal with.
The new game plan
- Move the ball from one end to the other quickly by direct ball movement, long risk taking kicking and direct play. This means the defending team has to run really hard to defend which burns them out, stops them having momentum swings and come backs, allows us to roll teams late in the game/quarters. Stops defensive team getting numbers ahead of the ball (ball goes past the defending players) which means there are less defenders zoned off in our forward line which creates more one on ones and more
- Players stay on the move at stoppages. Makes our mids harder to stop, harder to defend against and block our mids. Moving feet get going quickly which means we close in on lose ball and opposition quicker, we break more tackles, we break away from stoppage better. Makes things less predictable in there.
- Runners through the stoppage. Guys like Walsh hanging out the back running through the stoppage, it's unstoppable. Pressures opposition into holding free kicks, creates run and carry forward which breaks down oppositions team defence and generates space and one on ones up forward. Mids running forward makes defenders panic, forces collapse of team defence, generates free kicks for forwards.
- More leg speed, pressure tackling.
- Game is easier on players bodies, a lot less fighting for the ball in congestion, we run out games better.
- Higher scoring due to better ball movement.
- Ball goes forward quicker, beats team defence, ball beats players into our forward 50.
- More direct forward 50 entries means forwards have the whole forward 50 to use, not half or a third of it as is the case when entering from out wide. Spreads the zone, gives forwards a chance. Generates more one on one's. Creates more leading lanes and more leading lanes for lose defenders to cover.
- faster players better suited to one on one defending in the backline and capable of running off their man and generating rebound. We run from behind very well.
- Spread the midfield zone far better with our kicking out. We are less predictable, we spread the opposition more evenly over the field with our kickouts and that gives us space in the midfield to move the ball through to our forwards.
- Better speed over the field particularly in the middle and defence.
- Good speed and intent to tackle and chase up forward.
- Riskier ball movement, harder to defend against.
- Keeping more players forward of the ball so we can go quicker from the rebound. Keeping positioning and space forward of the ball as well. More of a positive team layout, less about defending but when we run defensively we run hard and quick.
- Game supports our forwards really well. Ball often beats the team defence inside 50, forwards often have the full forward 50 to work in and we generate a lot of one on ones or lose players inside 50.
Player changes
IN: Faster players who chase, tackle and pressure really well. Cincotta, Kemp, Cuningham, Fogarty, Cottrell, Dow, Boyd.
OUT: Slower players and players who don't tackle and chase well. O'Brien, Fisher, Plowman, Young, Ed Curnow. Sticking to either Hewett or Kennedy not both.
Key points
I think the biggest things are what we do at stoppage. We are quicker but we are on the move and we have guys moving forwards and bursting away from stoppages. In the past opposition teams have just wrestled us and pressured us to death. Remember last year, about round 3 GCS doing it to us and then all teams did it to us. Now teams attempt it and we just start moving around.
Not afraid to turn it over in the middle of the ground. Under the old rules you'd get shot for turning a ball over in the middle of the ground, no matter who you played for. Collingwood changed that last year and it worked. Brad Scott's rule changes intended for the game to be played that way. Now other teams like us are embracing this.
What it means though is that we will turn it over in the middle of the ground and we do and that means defenders can't be slow and rely on team defence and the ball coming in from the boundary and their opponents having no space. Defenders have to be able to defend one on one again, it's like we have gone back to the 90s. We have embraced that and all of a sudden we have this quick and strong defence which can do that. It's means guys like Young and Plowman will probably never play again. It does mean we lack a key position size second tall defender though but what we lack there we make up with run.
The high pressure has become infectious. This is what I have meant when I talk about leadership and culture. Players follow and copy each other and drive things out there. It's come from changes in personnel and tactics but also from leadership and culture. This is what we do and this is how we play and if you don't then you should be worried because you will be dropped and the leaders of the team will come down on you like a tonne of bricks. Standards are set and are being driven which is good. This is what gives you the extra 10% out of players and why good clubs can get that bit extra out of players. No one is going to set a bad standard in this team.
Hated the old game plan. Hated our team selection. Both were outdated. We have a new game plan, a modern one. We select players who suite modern footy. Players who can run and who will compete hard and who will chase and tackle.
I hope we haven't made the change too late, but better late than never. Been saying all alone that we have the players, the game plan is stuffed and it was and that's proven now. What ever happened mid season and whoever drove it, good on them.
He would never say Voss realised some elements of the game style wasn't working. It would be a ridiculous thing to say in an interview. And by the way, I was never one who called for his sacking. I believed it was a club wide cultural issue that finally turned when Cook and Sayers put their foot down.So Voss had a chat to underpeforming leaders and players did he? Did Weitering just admit to the shortcomings of the polayers peformance did he? ANy mention of lack of game plan or lack of selection integrity? How about a too complicated game plan or lack of game plan ABCDE&G?
Oh none of the stuff being posted on here by people who listen to 'radio' for 'expert' commentary?
hmm amazing.
He also said in Friday nite presser that everyone had hard conversations, including coaches to coaches.He would never say Voss realised some elements of the game style wasn't working. It would be a ridiculous thing to say in an interview.
There's plenty of evidence about now.He also said in Friday nite presser that everyome had hard conversations, including coaches to coaches.
I always wanted Voss. Liked him in that old 'find a player' show that was on years ago. 'The Recruit'. Was so disappointed when we came out with that overworked disaster of a plan.There's plenty of evidence about now.
Beautiful footy to watch now too.
In simple terms- the coaches have demonstrated that their focus on making players accountable for defensive work in all areas of the ground is starting to show dividends in terms of in game performances. the benefits of executing a rteam based whole of ground pressure game manifests itself in numerous areas - most notably confidence in a system of play and trust in teh players selected to do their jobs.I was solid Vossie, but faltered during the "Select Paddy" moment, and expressed my distaste to the club as well!!!!!!
But I never doubted him, nor called for his head, or doubted his intent.
But we're not really there yet are we, flogs over at the Filth's board reckon we'll cough up three losses and miss our again, because "that's what Carlton always do!!" Short memories, flogs everywhere
I don't really care too much for the gameplan arguments. Although having watched replays of our early games there are constantly numerous carlton players streaming through the middle of the ground, they just get ignored.
What got to me was the attacks on Vossy as a person, claiming he lacked intelligence, spoke poorly and was awful tactically. Suddenly we're fondly quoting his words to the media.
Not once did he throw the players under the bus. He's been as committed, loyal and hard working as coach as he was as a player. He's a leader in EVERY sense.
So Voss had a chat to underpeforming leaders and players did he? Did Weitering just admit to the shortcomings of the polayers peformance did he? ANy mention of lack of game plan or lack of selection integrity? How about a too complicated game plan or lack of game plan ABCDE&G?
hmm amazing.