List Mgmt. Morning, Joe! (was The Daniher (Probably Mega-)thread)

The McStay and Hipwood combination is pretty effective forward line.
And they can still be improved upon, or their strengths used further up the ground.

I just think that we should spend the money on something a bit more useful. Like whose going to replace Robinson?
Zac Bailey.

Or maybe a defender as Adams seems to have failed
I wouldn't say he's failed, particularly as he has another two years left to show his stuff. Also, we have Payne.

or even another big body midfielder as CEY is a give or take experiment.
We have Robertson and Ely.

And we are a top 4 side, if we really needed daniher we wouldn't have finished where we were. Our season proved to us that we don't need him.
By this logic, we don't need anyone at all and shouldn't look to improve. Daniher isn't a necessity, but he is an upgrade if healthy.

We also have two first round draft picks at present, to fill any other gaps we have, either by trading them or using them at the draft.

Can’t see why any supporters would be worried his potential contract will impact us in retaining McCluggage, Rayner, Starc etc. Noble and co won’t be short sighted, and turn this into amateur hour, only have to look at what they’ve achieved already so rest easy.

On the Brown alternative, I fail to see how he is going to be significantly cheaper. We may get Daniher as a free agent, even if a trade is forced I don’t see it being much more than Browns predicted late 1st/early 2nd. Salary wise, the reported figures have been Daniher ~100k/year more expensive. These are hugely speculative, who’s to say Brown won’t want as many incentive base clauses, or he wants a re-location premium.

The potential 5 year contract is a risk, but has to be a calculated one. With Essendon pushing just as hard, this “matching” maybe required to even get our proposal looked at. The thing with longer contracts, the team takes the risk while the player takes the security, but on the flip side, we may gain some value if it turns out positive. If we were only offering 3 years, the yearly figures would surely be higher.

I’m really comfortable where this currently sits, I am a little worried with the Dedoro show we may face thou.

I wonder how most in here would feel if they matched the bid and forced a trade? I hope Noble sticks to his guns and let's daniher walk into the draft, because not only would the club be taking a risk on an injury prone player for 3-5 years, but they could also be trading players; i.e., witherden or smith (who will likely end up better players and play more games than daniher) or potential draft picks (who could end up as better players as well). I trust the club, and I can stomach a 3 year deal. A 5 year deal involving no trade is something I could barely accept, but trading a player/picks for a guy who played less than 10 games in the last 3 years? That has to be the worst case of mismanagement or risk-taking I would have ever seen. I trust the club and I know they won't be stupid enough to do such a thing.
I have followed the Brisbane Bears/Lions since their inception, and can safely say this is the most complete and competent administration we have had. Sit back and enjoy the ride. :):):):)

Isn't Adams most recent injury a broken foot. Seems more unlucky then anything
Nah. History of knee, foot and ankle. Enough "unlucky" things happen, and eventually it's just "susceptible to injury".

Personally, I reckon that Marcus needs to lose weight. Not fat - it's all muscle, but too much weight wears on the body. He never seems to want to get leaner though, so I'm guessing he just enjoys being "The Specimen".

Nah. History of knee, foot and ankle. Enough "unlucky" things happen, and eventually it's just "susceptible to injury".

Personally, I reckon that Marcus needs to lose weight. Not fat - it's all muscle, but too much weight wears on the body. He never seems to want to get leaner though, so I'm guessing he just enjoys being "The Specimen".
It was mentioned by a few doggies supporters the year we traded for him that he had been repeatedly asked to lose a few kilos for that exact reason as you stated but he always ignored their advice.
Take from that what you will, but there certainly could be something in it.

I tried out HPN Footy's trade calculator. They use statistics to rate each player's performance and future estimated value. They reckon Daniher is only worth pick 61 in a trade, which is probably based on 2018-2020 rather than factoring in 2017. Still, it suggests that it's a good thing we're refusing to trade.

The Lions offer is a significantly low base with plenty of incentives depending on how many games he plays each season. That said, should Essendon match the bid, I believe our club will leave it at that.

Their model is heavily based on games played, and therefore highly rates draft picks more than players - which I think is an overall right approach. With Daniher the injury history is poor so no shock he isn't worth a lot in their calculator.

I was actually curious about this weevil in terms of the trade / free agency compensation timeline after hearing what Flea_29 posted recently. If we have plans for picks 18 & 19, it would be great to be able to execute this straight off the bat & take them off the table. I guess there are subtle ways around this anyway with releasing information to media about our plans, but would be preferable to take any doubt away if possible.

What I was told last week was that:
- We will not be playing a high price for Daniher - his contract will be fair and would most likely attract a BAND 2. If Ess match, then we will not entertain a trade.
- Picks 18 and 19 will be used to move up the draft and/or used for a Quality Mid. (It should be noted that we might now be in the running with Treloer)
- N.Cockatoo will be a lion next year. Terms agreed.
- Witherden looks more likely than not to be not be a lion next year.

I wonder how most in here would feel if they matched the bid and forced a trade? I hope Noble sticks to his guns and let's daniher walk into the draft, because not only would the club be taking a risk on an injury prone player for 3-5 years, but they could also be trading players; i.e., witherden or smith (who will likely end up better players and play more games than daniher) or potential draft picks (who could end up as better players as well). I trust the club, and I can stomach a 3 year deal. A 5 year deal involving no trade is something I could barely accept, but trading a player/picks for a guy who played less than 10 games in the last 3 years? That has to be the worst case of mismanagement or risk-taking I would have ever seen. I trust the club and I know they won't be stupid enough to do such a thing.
So Ely Smith is going to be a better player than Daniher? Long way off getting a game and Daniher has been all Australian. I just don’t get it.

You are overrating our players mate. Blue chip forwards don’t grow on trees and Witho/Smith are more than replaceable - the talent to do so is probably already on our list.

When i first read this and you mentioned smith, and then you said smith will end up being a better player than Daniher, well i nearly fell of the computer chair cause straight away who popped into my head was ARCHIE.

So Ely Smith is going to be a better player than Daniher? Long way off getting a game and Daniher has been all Australian. I just don’t get it.

YNK joined on Friday and has been bagging the Lions since then for offering a 5-year deal to Daniher (even though there is no source for the 5-year contract)

there’s a lot I don’t get...

Just because it looks scientific it does not mean it is.
Looks like a whole load of crap to me - completely unrealistic.
Fancy website does not equal science.

What I was told last week was that:
- We will not be playing a high price for Daniher - his contract will be fair and would most likely attract a BAND 2. If Ess match, then we will not entertain a trade.
- Picks 18 and 19 will be used to move up the draft and/or used for a Quality Mid. (It should be noted that we might now be in the running with Treloer)
- N.Cockatoo will be a lion next year. Terms agreed.
- Witherden looks more likely than not to be not be a lion next year.
This is my understanding of how we will deal with the Daniher issue . He wants to come to us ,that's clear. We would love to have him and we'll put a fair offer on the table but we won't be going over the top. I don't see that Essendon has much option but to deal. Unless someone else comes out of the woodwork where he'd be happy to go.

It's my impression that it's not about the money for Daniher. He hasn't enjoyed footy for a long time and he wants to get the most he can out of the rest of his career ,success and fulfilment wise.

This is my understanding of how we will deal with the Daniher issue . He wants to come to us ,that's clear. We would love to have him and we'll put a fair offer on the table but we won't be going over the top. I don't see that Essendon has much option but to deal. Unless someone else comes out of the woodwork where he'd be happy to go.

It's my impression that it's not about the money for Daniher. He hasn't enjoyed footy for a long time and he wants to get the most he can out of the rest of his career ,success and fulfilment wise.

I can't remember whether it was an Essendon poster here or if I heard it on SEN, but someone who sounded like a reasonably intelligent Bombers person stated that Daniher's "issues" were NOT actually physical but almost entirely mental, in that Joe was fed up to the eyeballs with the fishbowl life that is the lot of a high profile player in Melbourne

So if this is the case and he wants to come to the Lions, we would be bat shit crazy not to accommodate a move here.

Within reason of course.

Good move by Noble and co to set out the ground rules so Dodo doesn't start getting any fancy ideas about "forcing" a trade

List Mgmt. Morning, Joe! (was The Daniher (Probably Mega-)thread)