Most anticipated games of 2012

Lions games

round 1 v Melbourne. Footys back and we get to see our team live in melbourne for once and its the Mitch clark cup

round 7 v pies. They have been our bunnies ever since the merger. Can they actually beat us twice in a row (although I believe they need 3 in a row to shake the bunnies tag)

non Lions

round 1 North v essendon, Thes two always have grat games

Gold coast v GWS. I wanna see Izzy play on K Hunt just for some fun

Melbourne, again. Our challenger for the Golden Slipper.

Yeah as a Dees fan I'm most excited for the games against Richmond and North. There seems to be a bit of a rivalry developing between the three, even though the results have mostly been one way (Dees beating Tigers, North beating Dees). Bit of fire in the games, and the young talent coming through is really exciting to watch. Essendon somewhat fit into this category too, only on account of how poorly they perform against us 'mid table' sides.

Obviously the QB is a big game for the Dees each year. And I want to see us play GWS at the MCG, just in the hope that Tapscott or Moloney flattens Tom Scully and make him miss the next four seasons with a broken ego.

As for other teams....

Collingwood vs GWS
Geelong vs GWS
Hawthorn vs GWS
Carlton vs GWS
West Coast vs GWS

What can I say, they disgust me and I'm a fan of shaudenfraude.

Round 1 vs Essendon
Round 3 vs Geelong
Round 7 vs Bulldogs
Round 16 vs Carlton
Round 21 vs Collingwood

+ any game we play against anyside that is sitting top 4 at the time.

I find it hard to watch an entire game where North is not playing, let alone anticipate any.

Has to be St. Kilda v Fremantle. Would love the first game to be over here but havent had 1 look at the fixture.

Loving Essendon supporters looking forward to Anzac Day and making reference to Hird v Buckley. At Collingwood, I'm sure the focus would be the team, but amongst the mentality of the average supporter, it is all about the individual match up for Essendon supporters.

Like most games since 2006, it will be a fairly easy win to Collingwood.

Involving Essendon

1. Anzac Day Collingwood Vs Essendon
Buckley Vs Hird

2. Essendon v Carlton

3. Essendon v Sydney 2 games last year decided under a kick, this year they deserve a belting.

Essendon Vs Hawthorn
Stop buddy stop hawks, their midfield thrashed us last year, Hope our Fab Four (Melksham, Heppell, Zaharakis, Watson) can step up and make the difference.

5. Geelong Vs Essendon
Hird undefeated versus cats coach Scott can we keep the record of only undefeated team by Scott

Games NOT involving Essendon

1. COll v Cats gf rematch

2. Hawks v Cats 08 gf rematch - haw match up well vs cats

3 coll v saints 10 gf rematch (b oth new coaches now)

4 Carl v Haw Can blues beat anyone in top 4 good game versus cross town rival

5 Freo v Eagles
Wa dERBY both teams in 8 possibly

If your mob couldn't beat us without Franklin and Roughead, then what hope doe's you mob have when we get back Franklin Roughead Gilham Young Ellis and a fit Bailey and Rioli? :thumbsu:

Looking Forward to watching...

Hawthorn vs Collingwood Round 1
Hawthorn vs Geelong Round 2
Hawthorn vs Carlton Round 14
Hawthorn vs Collingwood Round 17
Hawthorn vs Geelong Round 19
Hawthorn vs GWS Round 15
Hawthorn vs Collingwood Grand Final :)

Great thread topic

I'm looking forward to the NAB cup. Any footy after a long break. For me I am interested in if Waite and Kruezer are fit, how Jamison is travelling, will Rowe get a game in the squad and how he transitions from SANFL to AFL. Also because the Blues will be in Adelaide for the first round. This pleases me a lot.

Season proper 5 anticipated games involving Carlton, well I watch them all but ones I am most looking forward to are:
- Carlton vs Collingwood, forget places on the ladder and past matches these are always belting games, Blues lift for these. Still our best rivals imo.
- Carlton vs Hawthorn, Hawks have been a side that Blues have had trouble beating in past 5ish seasons. Be interesting this season to see how we go against them, and it's finally at the MCG.
- Carlton vs Essendon, love to hate the Bombers, think this will be closer than the final.
- Carlton vs West Coast, really respect the Eagles for the season they had. This will be a cracking game and probably shape the top 4.
- Carlton vs Port Adelaide, main reason being that I get to see my team here in Adelaide

What I am not looking forward to is Carlton's draw for rounds 11 - 16. It's a tough one and is going to test whether Blues are really top 4 and prelim finals material. I think this patch is going to either make or break our season. It will be interesting.
11 Geelong at Etihad
12 West Coast in WA
13 Bye
14 Hawthorn at MCG
15 Collingwood at MCG

While I will watch any match the other matches I am looking forward to are:
GWS vs Sydney round 1 - just to have a nosy at GWS
Haw vs Coll round 1 match of the round
Gee vs Haw round 2
WCE vs Haw round 4
Coll vs Ess round 5 though I disagree with this fixture year after year
Ess vs WCE round 7
Coll vs Geelong round 8
WCE vs Freo round 9
WCE vs Coll round 13
Syd vs Bris round 15
Gee vs Coll round 16
Coll vs Haw round 17
Ess vs Haw round 18
Gee vs Haw round 19
WCE vs Gee round 20
WCE vs Coll round 22
Ess vs Coll round 23
Gee vs Syd

I think it's going to be a great season in 2012

My exciting ones for Melbourne:

QBD. Always QBD. Because hopefully we're a few goals better side than last year, maybe even get a 2010 effort?

Rd13 v GWS. I want to open a market regarding T$ actually playing or not. Because I reckon he won't front up.

Richmond x2. Always a good game, seriously. Frawley vs Riewoldt always a good contest, the two midfields gunning against each other.

Essendon v Melbourne - Was a rip-snorter of a game last year, hopefully is similar.

Neutral games:

Western Derbies
Geelong v Collingwood

Has to be St. Kilda v Fremantle. Would love the first game to be over here but havent had 1 look at the fixture.

Loving Essendon supporters looking forward to Anzac Day and making reference to Hird v Buckley. At Collingwood, I'm sure the focus would be the team, but amongst the mentality of the average supporter, it is all about the individual match up for Essendon supporters.

Like most games since 2006, it will be a fairly easy win to Collingwood.
We make reference to Hird vs Buckley to give more reason as to why it will be anticipated, obviously we would want to win

There is going to be a heavy winged assault for the first game of the season between Hawthorn and Collingwood.

Just get ready for the hyperbole to reach maximum proportions.

Just carving a plot for the Collingwood grave. :D

DOGS GAMES, WILL BE PLANNING TO ATTEND ALL OF THESE

vs Adelaide R2 (Football Park) - Booking flights for this next week

vs Collingwood R6 (Docklands) - We'll see where we're at after this game. No disrespect to Geelong who have the cup and the adulation of the public after making all the big plays when it counted the most, but I still consider this mob to be the benchmark

vs Gold Coast R8 (Marrara) - Returning to the top end, tougher than you may think considering the Suns are better equipped to handle the conditions than Port were over the years. Wonder if young Joel Wilkinson will cross paths with Justin Sherman.......

vs Sydney R10 (SCG) - They're still dirty IMO about the 2010 SF and losing that to us. This looms as a must win away trip for us, at a groud where our record isn't great.

vs Brisbane R23 (Gabba) - Now that Aker's gone (and we only met them in Melbourne last year), will there be as much spice to this affair as there was over the last few years? Will our local club be in finals making me miss this game?

OTHER CLUBS

- GWS vs GC, R7 (Manuka), the first meeting of Izzy vs Karmichael?

- GWS vs SYD, R1 (Olympic Stadium), with no league matches in Sydney that night at this stage (pending whether Wollongong is going to be ready, there may be an RL game that night at the SFS), how many are going to turn up to see what happens?

- ROOS vs GWS, R2 (Bellerieve), Will the southerners turn up to show their northern cousins a thing or two about supporting AFL footy in Tassie? Do the Giants see this as a realistic target of a first win?

- PORT vs ST.K, R1 (Football Park), Will anyone turn up, particularly after most Port fans have sampled the Adelaide Oval?

- ST.K vs FREO, R4 (Docklands), Leaving aside the coaching issue, on the biggest stage of Weekly Regular Season football, can the Purples prove that they are not pretenders....again?

- BRIS vs COLL, R7 (Gabba). Many have talked about ANZAC Day, and Hird vs Buckley. Maybe it's because of the Lions playing so poorly, but maybe there would be more spice in a VOSS vs Buckley matchup.

- HAW vs NORTH, R10 (York Park). Forget what the Presidents and head honchos say, this genuinely IS for the title of Tasmanian Heavyweight Champion, being fought in Hawk territory.

- WC vs CARL, R12 (Subiaco), the rematch of the pulsating Semi Final.

And some pointless anniveraries....

- ESS vs BRIS R6 (Docklands), 10 years since "NO RULES"

- CARL vs RICH, R18 (MCG), Celebration of 30 and 40 years after the 1982 and 1972 flags for the Blues (The Round 1 clash is a Tigers home game, think they'd rather celebrate it here)

- WC vs GEEL, R20 (Subiaco), 20 years after the Eagles rocked the establishment.

- COLL vs ST.K, R19 (Docklands), 20 years after Craig Devonport gets berated by Ken Sheldon on Queens Birthday, then procedes to kick the winning goal!

- PORT vs BYE, R13 (The Bar), 1 year on from the most talked about match of 2011.....sorry Port Fans, but someone had to throw that one in.

I'm looking forward to R.1 V the Blues and not beyond that.

R.2 V the Pies will be a Monster game if we beat the Blues....a real early season monster.

Late season games V Blues and Bombers if we are still competitive.

For me round 1 is huge. I love going to North vs Essendon games. Collingwood vs Geelong is the other obvious choice on my radar.

The three best sides in the comp for the past 3 years ( Geel, StK, Coll ) have touched my team up too many times over the same period. Look forward to those games too!

DOGS GAMES, WILL BE PLANNING TO ATTEND ALL OF

vs Collingwood R6 (Docklands) - We'll see where we're at after this game. No disrespect to Geelong who have the cup and the adulation of the public after making all the big plays when it counted the most, but I still consider this mob to be the benchmark

Are u a closet pies supporter?

Mate we were 6-0 against pies and hawks last year... Lost only 3 games for the year! We belt u every time we play u, how are we not the benchmark in your eyes??????

Games I am looking forward to this year

West Coast v Carlton R12- rematch of last year's epic semi final

GWS v Sydney R1- the season opener and GWS' debut game

Collingwood v Hawthorn R1- Bucks' first game in charge for the Pies

GWS v Essendon- Sheedy R9 v Essendon

West Coast v Fremantle R9- Western Derby

DOGS GAMES, WILL BE PLANNING TO ATTEND ALL OF

Are u a closet pies supporter?

Mate we were 6-0 against pies and hawks last year... Lost only 3 games for the year! We belt u every time we play u, how are we not the benchmark in your eyes??????
Why do you really care, you've had enough?

Essendon, always. twice is even better.

Melbourne, again. Our challenger for the Golden Slipper.

I'm also looking forward to putting a hole in the Carlton/West Coast balloons.

I'll bet you are Skool. Especially the Bluebaggers I'd reckon. The last few games between your sides I recall North going missing for ten minutes and that period ended up costing you the match.

Most anticipated games of 2012