Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.

I saw Mal Michael in a suit walking past the jewelery shops near crown casino in the middle of summer in about 2006.

Thought i saw Mick Malthouse walking through big w Lavington a few years back, absolute spitting image! But then realised it couldn't be him cos he was smiling.

I was walking out of my office building one night a couple of years back, it was after hours so the doors were auto locked and you would have needed a swipe card to get in.

I was looking down at my phone til I got to the glass doors and I looked up to press the exit button, and absolutely shat myself at the sudden sight of this tall, hulking figure standing outside with his face about an inch from the glass, staring in with a vacant, creepy look in his eyes.

It was the G Train.

I asked him if he was waiting for somebody, turns out him and some others were doing some landscape work or something on the rooftop balcony and he'd locked himself out without his access card or phone.

Major randoms but ultimately boring, the sheer wtf-ness of it didn't seem to translate when I was telling nonplussed workmates the next day.

Supremely important thread which I'm honoured to contribute to.

Saw Leigh Matthews walking on Flinders before the grand final. People in Lions gear asking him for selfies and he happily obliged. Good on him.

Saw Swans and North teams at Hobart airport after their Bellerive game. Heeney picked up all his rubbish after his dinner and discarded them accordingly. Good on him.

Sydney being more of an NRL town means more NRL players are sighted. Many retired ones still play touch/tag too. Some take it as seriously as playing grand finals. Could all be Steven King for all i know tho

On mobile device using BigFooty mobile app

Pretty much all boring.

I saw Danny Frawley one time in a car park. He walked past and looked at me strangely, I was in the process of tying up a makeshift belt of hay band... I had forgotten a belt.

Continuing the car theme, Luke ball drove past me in a car once.. that was intense.

Also saw James Hird once in the main street of my hometown. I wasn't even sure it was him. Seemed to short. But it was him.
Brilliant post. For some reason I completely understand what you mean when you say that Luke Ball driving past you was a heavy experience. Even thinking about it makes me spin out a bit. I don't know why, but it does.

Was in a Coles store one day, very few people around, & I stopped to have a good look at the chocolates.

My focus was interrupted when I realised someone was standing next to me, it was Liam Shiels. He was busy picking out a card with a friend.

Always told my mates that if I saw Jason akermanis on the street I would kick his ass, well the day came and I walk really fast passed him careful not to make eye contact

Before or after?

I walked past David Parkin on glenferrie road. He was coming out of the bakery right next to bunnings.

I crossed at a set of lights at punt road with jarred Waite. I told him he had nice camo shorts.

I was saw Parkin checking out a few plants in the Hawthorn Bunnings, looks closer to 50 than his age of 70 something.

Met basically all the Demons players I idolised at the time at spring carnival one year.

Yze, Neitz, White, Robertson etc.

They were all super nice guys who were happy to take photos and have a chat.

Then I started seeing them out at clubs fairly regularly. And again, they were just really nice guys. Neitz was a lot shorter than I would have thought but wider than a standard 3 bedroom home in the suburbs.

Never saw them act arrogantly or behave up themselves. Just really bland and decent blokes. Always had time to talk to fans or general public. Even at shitholes like spy lounge and next blue.

So yeah pretty boring. Just good blokes all round.

Saw Beau Wilkes/Maister in the chips aisle at Safeway.

We made awkward eye contact.

His head is just as fantastic in real life.

a_240410sptwilkes_1ajdos4-1ajdosb.jpg
Was he working?

About 8-9 years ago I boarded a flight from Melbourne to Hobart. I got the middle seat in row 18. I was hoping no one would get the window seat so I could move away from the smelly bogan lady next to me.

The last person to board was Mr. Anthony Koutoufides, who just happened to squeeze his massive frame in next to me and the smelly gypsy. I said g'day and he said "hey mate I'm in that seat next to you" so I got up and the great man took his seat.

This is where the story gets really good. He sat down and I asked him how his day was. He said "good". Then I awkwardly asked "you must have some pretty cool stories being an AFL footballer?" To which he replied "yeah, I guess". We didn't speak another word for the trip.

The whole trip was made extra awkward because we had to sit on the Tarmac for an extra hour and a bit due to inclement weather. Then we had to sit in a holding pattern above Hobart due to thick fog for an extra 25 minutes. Generally a short flight to Hobart it took nearly 3 hours.

Kouta didn't share the arm rest. All in all a very disappointing day.

Was looking for an underground car park spot at Highpoint SC on a 40c day. Finally found a car that was leaving its spot and made sure that I was going to take that soon to be vacant spot. From the other direction another car arrived and also wanted the spot but I got in there first. As I was parking, I looked at the driver of the other car and gave them a bit of a 'stiff shit, this spot is mine' look. It was only then that I realised that it was Matthew Lloyd also wanting the spot.

Walked past Stewie Loewe who was having a *** one day in St Kilda

True story. Was at the back of a bus going to Deakin Uni in Geelong which was full but I was sitting so couldn't care. There was a tall kid in his school uniform standing at the front of the bus. It was Steven King

I was working for the Wangaratta council around 8 years ago, was spraying weeds along a path along the Ovens river, anyway I hadn't had a break for 6 minutes so it was smoko time and some bloke decided to stop for a chat, it was Peter Dean, awesome fella, I didn't let on I knew who he was but he was concerned about the environmental damage the spraying was causing (in a cool way though), top bloke, great player as well.

Walked past Dean Cox on Hay Street outside of the Perth Town Hall back in the day when he was still in his prime, before he became a free kick seeking squib. Was very excited but managed to keep my shit together.

Also saw Peter Sumich in a dome down in busselton during a South Bound Festival. Like to think that he was there in-between sets.

Saw Justin Leppitsch at Indooroopilly shopping centre in about 96/97 and I said to my dad "omg that's Justin Leppitsch over there!" He said "who?"

As we were leaving the Gabba after a round one game just after Jared Brennan had joined the Suns I spotted him in the crowd. I said to my dad "that's Jared Brennan in front of us!" He said "who?

Back when I used to work at the Gabba I once sold Sam Newman a bucket of chips. He asked if he could have some extra salt, I said yes but didn't give it to him. I later told my dad the story and he said "oh, cool". I later found him googling "who is Sam Newman?"

About 8-9 years ago I boarded a flight from Melbourne to Hobart. I got the middle seat in row 18. I was hoping no one would get the window seat so I could move away from the smelly bogan lady next to me.

The last person to board was Mr. Anthony Koutoufides, who just happened to squeeze his massive frame in next to me and the smelly gypsy. I said g'day and he said "hey mate I'm in that seat next to you" so I got up and the great man took his seat.

This is where the story gets really good. He sat down and I asked him how his day was. He said "good". Then I awkwardly asked "you must have some pretty cool stories being an AFL footballer?" To which he replied "yeah, I guess". We didn't speak another word for the trip.

The whole trip was made extra awkward because we had to sit on the Tarmac for an extra hour and a bit due to inclement weather. Then we had to sit in a holding pattern above Hobart due to thick fog for an extra 25 minutes. Generally a short flight to Hobart it took nearly 3 hours.

Kouta didn't share the arm rest. All in all a very disappointing day.

Ok if you are in the middle you're actually entitled to both armrests so koura may have broken the law.

Apart from that I have heard he is not only the best afl player who ever lived (anyone disagrees was not alive in 2000) but he is also a legend of a bloke.

Most Boring VFL/AFL Player Encounters/Sightings.