Motlop quit? ** ALL ARTICLES HAVE BEEN POSTED HERE ALREADY **

Originally posted by kelman
I would be happier if it is a ****ed confrontation on the footy trip. That could be sorted out.

If this is due to Shannon being told he will be delisted, the what can we do?

We can't go back on what was a football decision and say, "ok shannon you can stay if your brother does"...
LIKE FARKING HELL WE CAN'T!!!!!

Jesus, sign Shannon for 3 years. Chuck whatever he wants in!!

I just could not handle seeing Daniel Motlop playing for another club. :( :( :(

Christ, even beer isn't making me feel better at the moment!!

This is just all wrong! WRONG!!!

F*CK!!! SH*T!!! F*CK!!!

WHY DANIEL?!? WHY?!? WHY?!? WHY?!?

Originally posted by dus
Does it make me less of a man if i told u i was crying!!!!!!!

Mate i'm close as well - lucky i've got a big essay i've got to do cos there's no way i'll be able to sleep

unbelieveable, damn i hope this can get sorted out, saw a tape of the carlton game and he played a gem. First time i had seen him play and kept thinking DAMN where has he been?

Can carlos have another beer fueled chat to laids?

Originally posted by rooboy75
unbelieveable, damn i hope this can get sorted out, saw a tape of the carlton game and he played a gem. First time i had seen him play and kept thinking DAMN where has he been?

Can carlos have another beer fueled chat to laids?
Trust me champ, i'll be pulling out all the stops on this one...

Hate to be a wet blanket, but with Motlop gone, I don't see Wells sticking around for much longer. He was reluctant in the first place to make the trek across from the west, away from friends and family, so I don't like his chances of staying with Motlop(s) gone...

Originally posted by Adrian McAdam
Hate to be a wet blanket, but with Motlop gone, I don't see Wells sticking around for much longer. He was reluctant in the first place to make the trek across from the west, away from friends and family, so I don't like his chances of staying with Motlop(s) gone...

He was? Was I imagining all his comments about wanting to come to a Melbourne club and stay for 10 years because he considers it the home of football? Not to mention his obvious delight at being drafted to us, and his steadfast attitude about how he wasn't gonna get homesick and if he did he'd deal with it.

Originally posted by Petrie Dish
He was? Was I imagining all his comments about wanting to come to a Melbourne club and stay for 10 years because he considers it the home of football? Not to mention his obvious delight at being drafted to us, and his steadfast attitude about how he wasn't gonna get homesick and if he did he'd deal with it.

Watch this space...

Obviously the big issue is why he wants to leave. We can speculate all we want, but we're pretty short on facts. The other interesting thing is that clubs have already spoken and shown interest in Jr even though the club has allegedly just been informed. Doesn't sound good at all.

Just pure speculation here, but Harrington said that the club has begun negotiating with Hawthorn over Rawlings. It is probable that playing group over in Mexico have been informed who is being used as bait and that may have had some impact. Desperately want to hear more from the club on this.

Originally posted by Adrian McAdam

Wires crossed there mate ?

Wells was quite eager to play "where the real footy was" (his term, not mine.) and didn't even grow up in WA, spending just a couple of years in the state before being drafted.

If the bloke leaves your club, I doubt it would be the pull of "going home" that drew him away from your club.

On Daniel Motlop, terrible luck Roos fans, really, really **** for you. :(

I'm lucky, it hasn't happened to the Eagles this side of Fraser "go ahead, trade him" Gehrig - but I can imagine the pain. Like losing a tight match but with 10 year side effects I guess.

I really hope it all works out the best it can from this situation for you guys - Keep those chins up ! :)

On the verge of signing another contract, this couldn't just be a negotiating ploy could it.

Hope so anyway, I would not be as devastated as most on the board if he left as I think we would have very high trade value. However I would still rather he stay at the club and fulfil the promise he has shown so far in his career.

To Adrian, everything Wells has said to date has been about how he wanted to play in Melbourne. You can say watch this space all you like but the reality is that all you are indulging in is guesswork, and pretty inaccurate guesswork from the looks of things.

Moomba

Originally posted by Black JuJu
Wires crossed there mate ?

Wells was quite eager to play "where the real footy was" (his term, not mine.) and didn't even grow up in WA, spending just a couple of years in the state before being drafted.

If the bloke leaves your club, I doubt it would be the pull of "going home" that drew him away from your club.

On Daniel Motlop, terrible luck Roos fans, really, really **** for you. :(

I'm lucky, it hasn't happened to the Eagles this side of Fraser "go ahead, trade him" Gehrig - but I can imagine the pain. Like losing a tight match but with 10 year side effects I guess.

I really hope it all works out the best it can from this situation for you guys - Keep those chins up ! :)

Cheers mate :) We'll get through

I hope it's not true and things get ironed out,
but if it is true that he wants to go, it might be best to let him go as if we managed to keep him would he be truly happy and give 100% and give/get respect from team mates.
While Wells might be happy at the Roos, if Daniel and Shannon go I worry about how he will cope. Have you seen the two Daniels at training? - They are inseperable!

Something BAD must have happened in Cancun.... perhaps a blue with the other fellas or news that his brother was gorn !

:confused:

Originally posted by Cupestar
When your player wants out, or you're forced to get rid of him, you're going to get a bad deal no matter what. Think of Collingwood and Nick Davis, who had the sense to escape that hellhole while he had the chance. Like us last year: Sure Blumfield's no superstar, but he's worth more than pick 27. You're low on bargaining power. Motlop holds all the cards, if he wants, he can go to the pre-season draft and you'll get nothing.

Harvey for Motlop is the best deal you probably look like getting.

Harvey wants out, Motlop has played more games, shown why he is going to be a champ. Harvey as you lot have said, hasn't lived up to your expectations. Motlop has, he is right at the place where we new he would be, just about to star next year. Mtlop will be expensive for any club to get.

Well I reckon it's something very simple like other teams offering about double what the Roos are offering! he was supposedly "poised" to sign on for 2 years,if other teams say "we'll double that" it'd be very tempting.
As we're probably only likel;y to get an S.Harvey or Guerra for him it may be a reasonable idea to call his bluff and see if he'd like to play under Denis again.

MY DREAM MAY BE OVER!!

The 3 Daniel's on the premiership dias, fighting for a Norm Smith.

I am going to throttle Motlop if he leaves, and for the first time in my life, I will boo an ex-Roo for leaving.

Very, very annoyed!

obviously he's doing it for money which is wrong for a youngster........ you worry about playing football when ur young.... he's not an aboslute star yet

and mayb a 3 way deal could be organised??

Daniel Motlop and Dylan Smith to Port Adelaide,

Nick Stevens to Essendon

Shane Harvey and Danny Jacobs to the Kangaroos

today's Age confirms D Motlop wants out

very talented kid, but I am NOT impressed by this routine. High draft pick and he's had the chances this season to up his value. Annoying to spring it on the club like this too.

Daniel Motlop to quit Roos
By Jake Niall, Stephen Rielly
October 8, 2003

Daniel Motlop is set to leave the Kangaroos.

The Kangaroos were stunned to learn yesterday that talented forward Daniel Motlop had asked to be traded to another club.

Motlop's manager yesterday told the Kangaroos that Motlop wanted out and wished to be traded. Port Adelaide, Essendon and St Kilda have shown interest in the 21-year-old, whom the Kangaroos are desperately trying to contact and will fight to retain.

Kangaroos football manager Tim Harrington last night confirmed that Motlop's management had requested that he be traded and admitted the club had been "extremely surprised" with the news, given that Motlop had been on the verge of signing a new two-year contract.

Harrington said the Kangaroos were keen to speak to Motlop, a first-round draft pick in 2000, who is in Mexico on the club's end-of-season trip.

"I'm trying to clarify the situation and contact Daniel myself," Harrington said. "I haven't spoken to him at all."

Harrington met Alex McDonald of Flying Start, Motlop's manager, yesterday and was told that the young forward - whose elder brother Shannon's future at Arden Street is also clouded - would be seeking a trade.

McDonald said Motlop had indicated he wished to play for another club and confirmed that Port Adelaide and Essendon had made their interest known. "They're two clubs that have expressed interest."

St Kilda also spoke to McDonald yesterday about Motlop, who would be an enticing prospect for several clubs, given his age, talent and the likelihood that he would come relatively cheap, at less than $200,000.

Port has indicated that it cannot afford a high-priced player in return for the departing Nick Stevens, while Essendon's salary cap restrictions would also make Motlop's price tag ideal.

Hawthorn was still to hear officially of Jade Rawlings' departure.

After Rawlings announced last week that he wanted to leave Glenferrie Oval for the Kangaroos, in part for a guaranteed three-year offer, the Hawks came good with a third year on Monday and are still awaiting his response.

Similarly, a deal that will enable Nathan Brown to play for Richmond next year was no closer to fruition yesterday, with the Tigers still to open negotiations with the Western Bulldogs.

It is understood that the Tigers, who have also been courting Essendon's Dean Solomon, might know his intentions today.

He's been at the club for 3 years. Does that suggest that he still has another year to run on his second two year deal?

The new contract talked about in the article may have just been a renegotiated/extended deal.

If he is still under contract, or even if he is not, I'd say we don't budge.
Tell him to forget about the trade. That at best leaves him with the preseason draft, which leaves us plenty of time to change his mind.

Motlop quit? ** ALL ARTICLES HAVE BEEN POSTED HERE ALREADY **