Murphy returns medal to Bevo

premiership medal > coaches medal

Its almost like giving a kid a ribbon for coming in 9th place. Bevo earned it as a coach, but for a player its never going to compensate not wining the real thing

Got more airtime than it probably needed to, and that's not Bob's fault.

I figured he would give it back, it would be a hollow feeling to get out your Jock McHale medal when you weren't the premiership coach. Museum is the perfect resting place for it.

I honestly can't understand all this hoopla about the damn medal.

If you win a flag, you win a flag.

If LRT hurls his 2005 medal off a bridge, Swans supporters aren't going to forget that he was a critical part of the first flag in our lifetime.

The mantlepiece that this particular medal sits on isnt going to change the fact that Beveridge helped break their drought or that Bob only played 3 games.

Got more airtime than it probably needed to, and that's not Bob's fault.

You're kidding right? Maybe it's just the cynic in me, but I thought it was orchestrated to draw as much attention as possible. Beveridge gives his entire speech, walks away from the microphone, pauses, walks back to the microphone, 'oh, one more thing.' Then Bob Murphy does about three laps of the ground, flirting with the idea of pulling off his club jacket to reveal his matchday guernsey.

Could've easily done it quietly, not even later in the change rooms, but off to the side of the dias. The cameras still would have caught the moment and Murphy still would've been able to join in the celebrations without co-opting the lifting of the premiership cup which is always done with coach and captain.

Bob should thank Bevo for his wonderful gesture and hand the medal back.
More importantly, Sid should return Bob's knee.

I heard 'bevo' is going to now wait until 'murph' is sleeping and place it around his neck to find it when he wakes up. 'Murph' will then take it back to 'bevo' and be like "mate, what's this about?". 'Bevo' will reply with "fair dinkum, the footy gods must have put it there". 'Murph' will be like "mmm seems plausible I guess but look Bev, I really think you deserve it more than me. You're a top bloke Bev, but don't think that this is over".

Who knows how it will unfold after that.

Murphy returns medal to Bevo