Murray Football League (Part 1)

Re: Murray Football League

Not sure of the agreement with the MVCA but that association is seriously ridiculas all there finals are finished by 15 or 16 of march. they are just an average leaugue but think there are bordering on Melbourne premier cricket status its a joke.

I think with easter around the 20th of march it will be to early for the clubs in way of their preparation, imagine if either one loses that game and the come finals they miss out by one game. if they had of not played on easter weekend and used the extra two weeks (think we start 5th April) for prep it may have turned out differently. i know matches are truely the only way to get match fitness but in the grand scheme of playing finals it could be to costly for the clubs.

I clearly just got home from an establishment much frequented , but I firmly agree with you bystand bako . as much fun as it is playing in front of a finals size crowd pre winter it is much better in september . There clearly only one bloke to blame for the lack of the much awaited grudge match , and that is Jesus !;)who takes forty days to rise again honestly ?:D

I appreciate that rumours are very frequent at this time of year but can somebody in the know confirm or deny the following few Moama rumours.
Whyman $ 1500
Gutsy Gread, Tommy Higgins, Pettigrove, $ 400 + $ 100 fuel
The Sunbury connection $ 1600 plus $ 150 fuel a week between them
J. Fosset $ 500

I appreciate that rumours are very frequent at this time of year but can somebody in the know confirm or deny the following few Moama rumours.
Whyman $ 1500
Gutsy Gread, Tommy Higgins, Pettigrove, $ 400 + $ 100 fuel
The Sunbury connection $ 1600 plus $ 150 fuel a week between them
J. Fosset $ 500

I think your right with the sunbury guys. Thats what djaran was first offered but i think he may have settled with 1200.....still a f#ck load of cash. as for gutsy and petty not to sure, i only know that they r gettin travel money, havent spoken to either of them in a while as they havent trained. Tommy higgins was brought to training by Djaran, i dont think moama approached him, so i dont know how much he asked for. And john foskett signed for $200 and thats definate

would think it be round 20 as it is Moama's home game, dont think Tonny would want to play Moama twice at Moama

I'm sure we'd swap the venue around Homer, but I'd be backing the Rd 20 bye anyway.

Well can let you all know, confirmed last night at training, Moama will be playing Tongala @ Moama on Good Friday. True what bystanding backman is saying with preperation for the season, has put us two weeks behind where we thought we would be at, but in the end the incentives for both clubs outweigh that. We will just have to train for an extra half hour or so everynight to get ourselves up to scratch!!

Not sure what every one thinks of a tonny moama showdown, but i can tell you it will keep the punters away like an out break of ebola virus!
I personally believe the benefit of promoting united and moama in echuca on that weekend far outways the possibility of losing points because it is so early in the year, the best team ham has won in the past matches so i dont see the difference this year.
If tonny wants a grudge match they should play koyuga on the wyuna tennis courts where someone might give a crap.

I'm pretty sure Moama and Tongala used to play one another in the old league...so there is a bit of history there. defiantely not the onfield hatred we get between moama and united,and this year i reckon it would have been an awesome game to watch because both teams are confident, where last year moama new they were gonna cop a floggin.
Does anyone know why its moama vs tony??? did united decline or something???

Not sure what every one thinks of a tonny moama showdown, but i can tell you it will keep the punters away like an out break of ebola virus!
I personally believe the benefit of promoting united and moama in echuca on that weekend far outways the possibility of losing points because it is so early in the year, the best team ham has won in the past matches so i dont see the difference this year.
If tonny wants a grudge match they should play koyuga on the wyuna tennis courts where someone might give a crap.

We get up there every easter and go watch the the good friday game and the last few have been blow outs, but its still good to watch. Plus theres nothing else to do on that day so why not go and watch the footy and suck some cans!
Sounds like moama have added some players over the summer, which they needed to, but how are the locals or last years players shaping up, because they had some crap footballers running around last year. Sounds like your a player there Kards, maybe you could fill me in?

I know Mul have lost S#$t loads but is it true Finley are down 12 players on last year, and have only picked up Sacco as coach with 4 of his mates comming up to play, a FF, CHF, CHB and Onballer?

We get up there every easter and go watch the the good friday game and the last few have been blow outs, but its still good to watch. Plus theres nothing else to do on that day so why not go and watch the footy and suck some cans!
Sounds like moama have added some players over the summer, which they needed to, but how are the locals or last years players shaping up, because they had some crap footballers running around last year. Sounds like your a player there Kards, maybe you could fill me in?

Yeh definately have added some players both recruited or returned.
Recruited 3 blokes from sunbury(full forward, onballer, and wingman/Flanker), Shannon keam(playin coach) John harley(ass coach) from Robinvale, Djarayn whyman just out of AFL. Tommy higgins and Clayton mitchell from Rumbalara, John Foskett From Echuca Bombers, Gutsy and pettigrove who were local boys will come home from melbourne each weekend to play, Chris Eddy returned after ass/coach role at cohuna, have kept the better players from previous year ie Pumps, Maso, Eldridge, jackson, dunham etc and gained a handful of other locals

I know Mul have lost S#$t loads but is it true Finley are down 12 players on last year, and have only picked up Sacco as coach with 4 of his mates comming up to play, a FF, CHF, CHB and Onballer?

They have seem to have lost alot, including sexton (their inspiration)
If saco's mates are anygood and they can keep the ball down the coridor they might go ok ahaha

You've had a few big digs at Tonny Bandit, any history their or just don't the place?

I'm pretty sure Moama and Tongala used to play one another in the old league...so there is a bit of history there. defiantely not the onfield hatred we get between moama and united,and this year i reckon it would have been an awesome game to watch because both teams are confident, where last year moama new they were gonna cop a floggin.
Does anyone know why its moama vs tony??? did united decline or something???

I don't recall tonny and motown ever playing in the same league , til now . They do however have a long history of sharing players , the likes of Tony and John Jones and Dave Connelly to name just a few . Also the did play practice games against each other almost every year until Tonny's induction to the MFL . I'd say the two clubs are more Affiliates than rivals ;);) I cant answer on the declination but I'll suss it out for ya . And failing something better to do I be there good friday drinking cans and hurling abuse . A good day had by all

Recruited 3 blokes from sunbury(full forward, onballer, and wingman/Flanker), Shannon keam(playin coach) John harley(ass coach) from Robinvale, Djarayn whyman just out of AFL. Tommy higgins and Clayton mitchell from Rumbalara, John Foskett From Echuca Bombers, Gutsy and pettigrove who were local boys will come home from melbourne each weekend to play, Chris Eddy returned after ass/coach role at cohuna, have kept the better players from previous year ie Pumps, Maso, Eldridge, jackson, dunham etc and gained a handful of other locals

Not too sure about the two Rumba boys just yet, tommy higgins' girlfriend just picked up a coaching role with a junior netball side at rumbalara, and Clayton was ringing around looking for a ride to Shepp for training last night. So I guess we will just wait and see what happens threre.

Haha ok fair enough, maybe training was to hard for them?? Hows training over rumba way going?? the new coach is a fitness freak isnt he???

Numbers have been OK, not great but Ok averaging around 20 per session. The main senior players are on the track bar Phil Guthrie who is doing his own thing until end of Feb I'm told.

Yer Mark owns his own gym and has most players now on a personal fitness program outside of footy training, the three sessions so far have been well planned and the boys are responding well to the hard work and like every club at this time of year, we believe we will be well prepared for this, our third season in the MFL.

Numbers have been OK, not great but Ok averaging around 20 per session. The main senior players are on the track bar Phil Guthrie who is doing his own thing until end of Feb I'm told.

Yer Mark owns his own gym and has most players now on a personal fitness program outside of footy training, the three sessions so far have been well planned and the boys are responding well to the hard work and like every club at this time of year, we believe we will be well prepared for this, our third season in the MFL.

Sounds good, having a person trainer coaching you guys should certainly sort out the men from the boys... i would like to think the murray league standard this year will be better than previous years and hopefully the competition is a bit more even..

Definate ????

what i was getting at, are the local blokes having a crack on the track or are they just sitting back and going to let the new recruits come in and lift them?
Are there any other clubs playing good friday?

nah mate just trying to stir you up, my point still stands that people from echuca want to see the two echuca clubs play

That would be a given, obviously they couldn't come to an agreement so we were more than happy to fill the void. Maybe United are approaching another club as we speak about playing, although it is getting a bit too close to be pushing your preperation forward two weeks.

Definetly not the case hank . it was purely a preperation thing . I do speak for myself only but I'm going to need every last minute of pre season so that I can crack into a canter .

what i was getting at, are the local blokes having a crack on the track or are they just sitting back and going to let the new recruits come in and lift them?
Are there any other clubs playing good friday?

I think there are a couple of practice matches on good friday, but none for points except moama/tonny...
As for the local boys, they are definately having a crack. a matter a fact i think the majority of the group are all training hard and trying to earn a spot in the senior team. which is the way it should be.

Heard the same thing but was told it was based on him now working in shepp or the new bride working in shepp or something ??

Yeh that sounds more likely to be true... i wouldnt of thought he would be one to chase money. Would have been a pretty handy inclusion to Moama. Good player and good bloke. was definately welcomed back by all the boys...