N.t.f.l

Jon Ralph at the Herald Sun puts up Maverick Weller and Joe Groenewegen as two 17-year-olds to be drafted to the Gold Coast early on next year:

"THE AFL's new Gold Coast side is considering a pre-emptive strike on the 2010 draft by relocating three of the best prospects a year early.
Also in this year's AIS-AFL Academy are brilliant Tasmanian midfielder Maverick Weller, 16, who is eligible for the Gold Coast next year, and Joseph Groenewegen, the 17-year-old son of ex-Bulldog Robert."

I randomly found a clip of Mav at the Under-18 National Carnival. He's number 21. The commentators sure like to remind us that he is, indeed, just 16.

I reckon he'd be a good one to pickup early, although I heard he's picked up an injury that might rule him out for a while? Burnie could certainly use him in the State League's first season.

Speaking of the State League, one angle I hadn't given much thought too: at least promising kids will be playing with their clubs each week, learning responsibility and playing key roles, instead of traveling to Hobart to sit on the emergency list for the Devils.

Dec 8 is the day - I guess we'll start seeing new signings announced then. Does anyone think there will be much movement North-to-South or South-to-North? I don't think anyone is going to pay anyone to relocate, in the first year at least.

Don't mean to double post, but I just noticed this too:

The 2008/2009 academy members are:
Vic – Shaun Atley, Lucas Cook, Jordan Gysberts, Kieran Harper, Kyle Hartigan, Jack Hutchins, Alex Keath, Trent McKenzie, Tom Nicholls, Koby Stevens, Joshua Toy
Tas – Jessie Crichton, Joseph Groenewegen, Ryan Harwood, Rhys Mott, Luke Russell, Maverick Weller.
SA – Hayden Jolly, Scott Lycett, Jamie Solly, Jake von Bertouch.
WA – Jack Darling, Mitch Duncan, David Swallow.
NSW – Kaine Stevens, Trent Stubbs.
NT - Steven May, Curtly Hampton.
Qld – Rex Liddy, Lewis Moss.

Tassie is pulling more than its fair share of weight there, with six players compared to SA's four and WA's three. NSW, the home of the 18th AFL franchise and Australia's most populous state, is clearly doing the business with just two.

heard a romour today that Rob Gilligan might be playing for Penguin next year, Anyone else heard this??? Would be an awsome pickup if true. Would win there B&F by 100 votes, Super player

Only hear a bit of Ulvie news..

Matt Alford playing at Penguin
Nils Williams playing at Latrobe

Jack Gale has supposedly decided to stay at Ulv

Heard alot of Ulvie has-beens are headed to west Ulv in the NWFA.. Blokes like Randall Mee, Medcraft, Moochie Auton.. possibly Darren Jones as well.. With Moochie playing and his brother coaching, there is probably also a chance that Timmy Auton would be heading there too..

Nwfu

Hey if there are no Launceston teams involved then why not revert back to calling the NTFL the NWFU?

Just a thought.

TRIVIA - What is the difference between a league and a union?

Hey guys. What do you know about an Andrew Willmott that has played footy in this league? I'm hearing a club up this way is tring to get his signature, just wondering how he goes, where he plays et.?

goes real good. been a rep player on a number of occasions. tough onballer who runs all day. currently coaching at rocherlea i think.

I've got no ideas about any player movements, but I'll have a crack at some half-arsed predictions about the teams anyway!

Smithton: Will be strong again and a very good chance to play in the grand final. Their home ground advantage is good, and without the long travel to Launceston playing for the Saints is more attractive to the local country league players.

East Devonport: Will continue to build on the good work from Scott Matheson last year and will win more than a couple of games.

Wynyard: Has lost a lot of good young players to Burnie, but the revolution started last year. Another season of building and a couple of younger blokes standing up and the Cats will surprise a few people this year.

Latrobe: Langmaid will be a definite threat at this level, and Nils Williams is a useful recruit. The only thing stopping them being dominant is the way the Demons are bleeding players to join Josh Holland's league-smashing Wesley Vale.

Penguin: A real unknown quantity. You never know what to expect from the Two Blues. Holding onto their players who have 30+ senior games will be a big advantage.

Ulverstone: If they can retain their top players they will contest a grand final. If not, it could get very ugly for the Robins. Very ugly.

My ridiculously early ladder predictions:
Ulverstone
Smithton
Latrobe
East
Penguin
Wynyard.

I'm prepared to be proven wrong!

Please bear with me as an interested viewer from above the Bass Strait as my question my initially seem silly.

Will the league be better or worse with the loss of clubs to the TSL?

I think the 'worse' query is obvious but by 'better' I mean will it level out the gap between top and bottom and with only six teams left will it make the competition for a finals spot more fierce?

Please bear with me as an interested viewer from above the Bass Strait as my question my initially seem silly.

Will the league be better or worse with the loss of clubs to the TSL?

I think the 'worse' query is obvious but by 'better' I mean will it level out the gap between top and bottom and with only six teams left will it make the competition for a finals spot more fierce?

A bit of both.. when it comes down to it, the standard of the competition is going to drop, the good sides have left to the SWL, then some of the better players from other sides have joined SWL clubs..

I dont know if there is the same amount of traffic going from SWL to NTFL clubs, or it sounds like many are by-passing it straight to the Darwin or NWFA..

Last season we could go out and watch a high standard and good quality game most weeks (apart from when the top teams played a bottom team), whereas now the SWL is the only place to find that higher standard..

Ok see how I go.

SMITHTON
ULVIE
PENGUIN
LATROBE
WYNYARD
EAST

Yep Ulv + Smithton should be very strong in this league. Penguin at 3? u know someting we dont?
Latrobe will be there i would think also, if rumours are true wynyard a big improver, and East will be on the up. Should be a good even comp:thumbsu:

A bit of both.. when it comes down to it, the standard of the competition is going to drop, the good sides have left to the SWL, then some of the better players from other sides have joined SWL clubs..

I dont know if there is the same amount of traffic going from SWL to NTFL clubs, or it sounds like many are by-passing it straight to the Darwin or NWFA..

Last season we could go out and watch a high standard and good quality game most weeks (apart from when the top teams played a bottom team), whereas now the SWL is the only place to find that higher standard..

Hate to break it to you boys but the competition will be poor. All the remaining NTFL clubs have lost there best players to statewide clubs and good fringe players have gone back down a level. Every club has lost 3 or four of there best players and after that there wasn't much anyway. Smithton will be the team to beat, they have kept all their experienced players like Blizzard Bryant Brown etc, but have lost 3 of the best young kids. Penguin have lost Chris Macdonald to dev and will be around the mark, although they think they are world beaters now, why? who the **** would know. Latrobe have lost Stevenson their best player for the past 10 years to Burnie and some of the good kids to dev or Bombers. Same with East lost up to ten good young players that Matho had worked hard on. As for Wynyard greatly improving, they must have lured Voss and Buckley out of retirement, did i miss that in the paper? Have lost Murphy, Jackson and White to burnie and from all reports are all flying and will play in the first practice match for the dockers.

Too true, poor comp it will be, go and watch the Darwin , Wynyard will struggle without young Baldock

I heard he was signed sealed at Wynyard? Maybe somerset will struggle more without him Guy?

Alford (ulv) signed with Penguin, could be just what the two blues have missed, akey forward:thumbsu:

I heard he was signed sealed at Wynyard? Maybe somerset will struggle more without him Guy?

Alford (ulv) signed with Penguin, could be just what the two blues have missed, akey forward:thumbsu:
Sounds like there are a fair few leaving ulvie, Alford, Williams, Bannam, McCrossen. Will be interesting to see who is the topp team, seems asthough things are evening out.
How do you think the NTFL will go in the rep games against NTFA and SFL??????