N.t.f.l

All the news in footy at the moment is no doubt the Dport Ulvy saga. Max may have won them 4 premierships but he has helped cripple the club and right now are as bad as they have been since the last time he left them.

Ulvy have appointed Junior Rodman as a interim coach. Now Junior along with Max pushed for the SW concept. Well the only way Ulvy will get in will be if Dport fall over. Because the clubs in the SW were together fully in voting no other clubs to be allowed in for at least 5 years. 10 clubs are enough any way. Junior will play with the Northern Bombers and the reason because no other players from Ulvy are going to play at Dport.Williams to Qld Hayes back to East Dport Mcrossen and Ponsoby are playing with the bombers. Mott is after a transfer so he can also play with the bombers. Banahm will play with the Dockers. Gale has signed with East Ulverstone and they will also get 5 u/19 players that played in their u/age gf. Skiddy leary and Lovett to T/Beach. Johnson Chatwin Rootes Smedly Watson and Marshall to M/Preston. Mark Harris is moving back to Qld. Auton is also going to E/Ulverstone Jason Pearce has called Jason Ling from Penguin to see if he would coach them. Mcrossen had his application (coaching ) done up for him by Sharon Stokes and all he had to do was sign it but he has pulled out of the race. So as you can see that Ulvy didn't have to go into the SW comp for it to f@#k their club up. Just the mention of it did. To all those people that voted SW i hope for the Ulvy FC you get down there and put in like the former board did. Because your group has brought a proud community football club to its knees. Shame on all of you!
Well said, they didnt have the balls to go Statewide previously and won a heap in a row in a substandard comp as anyone worth their salt was playing statewide, never had any intention this year and wanted to do the same but may backfire now.At least two of their greatest in Buzz Howard and Sooty Walmsley did have a go at a higher level, whats with all the Under 19 flags anyway !

What are peoples thoughts on who will go well and who won't out of the six teams left in the NTFL?? From what I hear Penguin and Wynyard are trying hard to recruit, Ulvie is losing heaps and won't be the force they were the last time the SWL went ahead. Smithton have retained most of there list and should be strong and I haven't heard nothing about East or Latrobe. Would appreciate anyones thought, coments and opinions on this subject:thumbsu:

Stevo from Latrobe going to Burnie which will take the pressure off Big Horse

Would be surprised if I am wrong brother, also, Darren Banham to burnie, living and working here in town.Browny and Banham in the same team, plenty of pace and even more yap !
Lol between the two of them hey sure will get hit alot. good players though, Burnie sure are making some moves. Should be there abouts Moocher if this is anything to go by:thumbsu: GO-DOCKERS

I find it hard to believe that Stevo would leave latrobe. Would require large transfer fee. Played all of his footy there and done a super job. Think he had a short stint at dev in late 90s. Basically a 1 club sort of bloke. Would be a shame to see him move in the twilight of his career.

Has done enough at Latrobe but not knowing what goes on there maybe he is tired of playing at an underachieving club, can take plenty of grabs

Dunno, just going on what I have heard, age doesnt really matter if you are in good nick and have footy smarts
I totally agree mate. Take old Chalky Grey for example he would have to be about 50 and he is still kicking goals. I seriously think he will lead the Darwin in goal kicking next year. Thats the hot tip coming from the Somersetboy so get on it.:thumbsu:

.....having said this, to perform well at statewide level is going to test all players - particularly those that have been around the block once or twice. There does come a time when players drop back a level in their careers.

To use Chalky as an example is a little silly. I remembered when he wasn't up it at NTFL level and decided to go back. Sure, he had the smarts, but he was far too slow and that's why he went back a level to Darwin footy.

I bet we could come up with a good, long list of players that struggled to get a senior game at NTFL level, but are really good at Darwin. Yolla was filled with them for a while!!!!

Statewide footy will step up a cog. No doubt about it. On Stevo, he is getting on and would be handy at statewide footy. Does he live in Latrobe? Must be 32???

.....having said this, to perform well at statewide level is going to test all players - particularly those that have been around the block once or twice. There does come a time when players drop back a level in their careers.

To use Chalky as an example is a little silly. I remembered when he wasn't up it at NTFL level and decided to go back. Sure, he had the smarts, but he was far too slow and that's why he went back a level to Darwin footy.

I bet we could come up with a good, long list of players that struggled to get a senior game at NTFL level, but are really good at Darwin. Yolla was filled with them for a while!!!!

Statewide footy will step up a cog. No doubt about it. On Stevo, he is getting on and would be handy at statewide footy. Does he live in Latrobe? Must be 32???
Just was using it as an example as in his respective league he is still a gun and he uses his footy smarts to get by. I think Stevo can and will cut it at SWL. It's just like saying Horse is to old. He is still going to dominate and he would have to be about 35

Re-read my last paragraph. Cheers.
The Dog.

Dunno if Chalky was that slow, he had finished 3rd in Wynyards Band f his last year and won the goal kicking with around 70, he started working in Real Estate, was sick of the poor culture at Wynyard, took his five grand cash and coached Somerset to no wins seconds and seniors, but has stayed loyal since, just remember how much NTFL has dropped in standard just quietly go Roos

you have a "very good memory"

If I remember correctly, it was either David Russell or Owen Johnstone as the coach of Wynyard then. Rusty was good for the club. Infact, in 1999 when Russell was coach, Wynyard defeated every other team in the competition! Hardly poor culture.. It was what happened after that causing the downhill slide. Got back some respect in 2005, with Kent Jackson at the helm. Had a pretty handy outfit. Back 2 Chalky Grey - I dont think he had that good a year in '98 though!!!!

When did Brendan Keeling coach and what year did Mark Radford start then Ali Bourn and Chalky take over, too right Rusty was a good coach and Baldy Grey, Eggs Bacon , Timmy Waller and the likes certainly put in over that period of time, I also do not think the cross over of players being on the committee over there at wynyard has neccesarily been healthy. I just wonder why over a fair period of time that quality players and coaches from a higher level back then ie Statewide Burnie teams have not been able to have more success, also Wish tried to straighten things out and look what happened, Jacko and Craig French did ok i grant that but why do playersgo and leave abd why do some leave or not want to go back, might be due to Symesy rubbing tecnique !