NAB Challenge: Hawthorn v North, Kardinia Park, Sat'd 26th Feb

Re: Hawks Regional Challenge

Dunno if it's already been mentioned, apologies if it has, however the local news here just had on that Richmond will play Hawthorn at Deakin Reserve in Shepparton on the 4th of March.

Re: NAB Challenge squad:

Are we being serious about blending Pace into our established 22 ?

Am hoping that this week isn't representative of the 'probables' for round 1 and is just getting a predetermined amount of game time into our list. The squad named has no footspeed other than a coue of obvious ones. It is a slow squad but might not look that way on the weekend during the game as the kangas are also slow so hope we don't get a false read on our footspeed this weekend.

I just notice rawlings is in the side. I would be really interested to know if he picks up rioli and if he does whether rioli can shake him. I know its only NAB cup but rawlings has done a number on rioli in the past few games

I'd imagine if Rioli struggles they'll send him to the HBF where he has been playing so far. Wouldn't surprise me if he spends chunks of the game there anyway.

Anyone know why Mitch Hallahan hasn't had a run yet?

He has been injured. Can't remember what it was - maybe an ankle or a wrist - but imagine he is still a bit away.

Although just a practice match, I really hope we can see something tomorrow that we can hang our hat on with confidence that 2011 is going to be different.

Last pre-season, apart from whipping Tigers in NAB Cup, we lost every match in the pre-season and basically carried that form until Round 7.

I just think it's fantasy that Max will play every game. Given his history it would be a miracle that he could play 20 plus games with 6 or 7 days recovery between them. I think we just need to accept that he'll be in and out of the side this year.

We certainly have placed a lot of faith in the fact that Max will come good over the last four years. It's only understandable that supporters grow impatient to see max hit the park.

It's horrible to think about but, it's time we cashed some cheques on big Max's career or otherwise the alternative starts to become reality.

He may only be 24 but he has had enough bad luck to end three careers.

Am hoping that this week isn't representative of the 'probables' for round 1 and is just getting a predetermined amount of game time into our list. The squad named has no footspeed other than a coue of obvious ones. It is a slow squad but might not look that way on the weekend during the game as the kangas are also slow so hope we don't get a false read on our footspeed this weekend.

Thanks. With the intra club and the 3-way its really encouraging to se the pace is there to be had.

Question is how do you blend it in ?

Obviously a few of the "Best-22" would need to make way, (even though form/ability may not warrant it individually), much as the magpies did last year.

Its an interesting one

To me its higher than the Ruck or KPD issue - we will cobble through those issues

ironically, I also concede that if we had a top class ruck or KPD, the rest of the players would be freed up to provide said "pace"

I'd imagine if Rioli struggles they'll send him to the HBF where he has been playing so far. Wouldn't surprise me if he spends chunks of the game there anyway....

I would think rawlings would follow him where ever he went. As i said it will be interesting to hear about.

You'll kill us - we have our first choice backline out and Roughy/Franklin/Hales will tear us apart.

Should be a good learning experience for Robbie T and Delaney though.

Will be a Rocca-esque mauling of Dawson proportions.

RIP NM Backline

Robbie T looked good last week and Delaney did some nice things. Playing on the likes of Franklin and Roughy will be tremendous experience for them.

My hope is Robbie T can play 22 senior games this season. He's big enough, was first round draft pick etc. That would allow us to play him and Grima as the KPDs with Thompson running off.

Also, I can't see Brady's spell on Cyril being broken.

You will still flog us but.

Robbie T looked good last week and Delaney did some nice things. Playing on the likes of Franklin and Roughy will be tremendous experience for them.

My hope is Robbie T can play 22 senior games this season. He's big enough, was first round draft pick etc. That would allow us to play him and Grima as the KPDs with Thompson running off.

Also, I can't see Brady's spell on Cyril being broken.

You will still flog us but.

Hope Brady likes playing half forward ;)

Lets see if we have learnt any NEW TEAM TACTICS tomorrow.
Kicking to Buddy 1 against 3 just doesn't do it for me anymore, let's see if there are other answers that work.
We should win buy 10 goals.

Happy with Kardinia Park. Good surface and plenty of room in the stands. Lucky we didn't win last week, or we'd probably be at Etihad Stadium.

Most interested to see any signs about our 2011 game plan and player roles.

For the Kangas, interested in Majak, can provide some excitement, and curious to see their young recruit Aaron Mullett.

Hay SLF....you going today..? if so come say hi...will be about 10 of us , ill wear a gray hoody and hawks cap and am 35....5.10/95 kg...:) Really ...come say gday mate.

Sounds like your asking him on a date!

Whatever......

NAB Challenge: Hawthorn v North, Kardinia Park, Sat'd 26th Feb