Naitanui a likely target for GWS

Thats fair enough mate and not sure who said those things but it is always easy to be right at the end after it has all happened.

If Darling had not become available would Hansen of been delisted?? No one knows so you form an opinion.

As for the cap thing well the club freely admitted didn't they that they are having issues with fitting players in it? I thought I heard something along those lines anyway.

Its a bit like me coming on here cracking all the Woosha fanbois that I was right and Woosha is a dud after he gets the sack if that happens.
What is the point of doing it?

Everyones opinion turns out right sometimes, some more than others. laying into the ones that were wrong after the result I don't see the point of doing.

Having said that I know that if Woosha turns things around and is given a contract extension then Myself and a few others will cop it left right and centre about how wrong we were.

Maybe thats just BF WCE style??

You finally posted a correct OP:D

I hope the following players go to WS:

Dane Swan
Scott Pendelbury
Marc Murphy
Briana Squibbs
Jobe Watson
Brendan Goddard
Aaron Davey
Adam Cooney

Sam Mitchell
Travis Boak

Either of the above would fk with the corresponding team that they play for, bolded are my wish list.

I agree.

Ablett is 26 though.

I think that GWS won't have the same 'lifestyle' draw that GC had. I think they may struggle to sign players compared to GC.

I agree as well now thinking about it.
To a cashed up young bloke i'm pretty sure the lure of the Gold Coast has a bit more sparkle to it than "some nice suburbs in the west, and Sydney is a nice city". I like Sydney as well, but offer a young famous footballer the choice between the 2 and pretty sure the GC would have that bit extra. This is theoretical but would assume the members of GC will be a little bit more standard, as opposed to rugby hardened western Sydney target audience.

I hope the following players go to WS:

Dane Swan
Scott Pendelbury
Marc Murphy
Briana Squibbs
Jobe Watson
Brendan Goddard
Aaron Davey
Adam Cooney
Sam Mitchell
Travis Boak

Either of the above would fk with the corresponding team that they play for, bolded are my wish list.

+Scully

Ablett's situation is completely different. He is/was 27/28 when he made the decision to go to the GC and has accomplished all there is to do. He also realized it was a chance to play with his brother and knew it was a contract that would be his last and set him for life. For him it was a no brainer. But by all reports he had 2nd thoughts midway through the year and who knows if it hadnt been for Thompson's idiocy - maybe the story may have had a different ending.

Apart from Ablett, there is very little quality that GC snared. Bock and Brown are OK but both past their best, Harbrow is reasonable whilst Krakouer is not much chop. Make no mistake, GC targetted more than these and failed to land many they chased (Mundy, Franklin, Hodge etc).

GC as a destination is attractive, GWS is not. GC would have shaken the trees and made players contemplate exactly what they were seeking from an AFL career - whether its simply money or more than that. Those players then would have made that choice and now GWS are coming behind them trying to do the same thing - thats hard yakka.

I'm not doubting that GWS will sign players but I reckon they will have far harder time getting what they want and IMO will probably only get has beens who are seeking to top up their super. The rest wont go anywhere near there with a 10' bargepole.

Regarding GWS coming behind GC and this makes it harder for GWS it could also work the other way.

A couple of posts have already stated that Sydney in many respects is a better place to live than the GC. Big city, lots of sport (cricket), the Arts and social scene. Much bigger and brighter than GC.

Also we have to remember there is a swag of players who were not out of contract but will be next year.

The GC was the 'trail blazer' in this expansion concept and GWS would have been watching and learning a few things. Also player who are contemplating moving would have watched how things went this year. I'm sure next year if a player moves it won't have the shock factor of this year, it would be seen as more normal.

If the GC do better than expected this will definately help GWS's cause. Players who are chasing success as well as $$ will take note. This can obviously go the other way.

GWS have two very experienced AFL coaches and these guys know the players and know the managers. Both have proven themselves as Premiership coaches. A much more experienced group than GC.

So there are arguments for and against. Only time will tell.

Sydney is an awesome city. Just because you play for GWS doesn't mean you have to live in Parramatta. There are some nice suburbs west of the CBD (but not as nice as the ones east).

Its a matter of taste but many who have experienced both much prefer Sydney over the GC.

There is a massive spread of quality lifestyle options in Sydney.

For young footballers, the Gold Coast is eutopia. Beach, girls and sun. They have 7-10 years to play footy and live it up.

Yeah that is what I think.

Sydney is probably better (as have never actually been to GC, but understand it is basically a bigger version of our Scarborough) for a more well rounded individual ,but for a young guy Beach Girls and Sun at that age would be a bigger draw card.

Not to mention the chance to hang out with Warwick Capper ;)

Sydney doesn't have beaches or lots of young attractive girls?:(:confused:

You think Sydney has even close to what the GC has to offer lifestyle wise? :S

All depends what floats your boat?

I've been to Sydney but not GC.

Sydney would have heaps more activities;

The Arts - Opera:D, concerts, theaters

Sports - Rugby Union / League Tests, State of Origin, Cricket, Soccer etc.

Night life - Sydney clubs would smash what the GC would have I'd reckon

Both have surf.

GC a slightly better climate I agree.

Cost of living would be cheaper at the GC but the AFL allow for that in the salary cap.

Also depends if a player likes the big city lifestyle or more laid back at the GC.

Oh and lets not forget the Gay mardigra.

I stayed for 6 months on the 80th floor of the world towers hotel in sydney. Gold coast had nothing on it. Sydney has a much better overall lifestyle. Especially in the cbd area. Sure the gold coast has great beaches but it has very little else. That and the women on the gold coast are a pain in the arse.

Not to mention the chance to hang out with Warwick Capper ;)

Who could resist?

Sydney doesn't have beaches or lots of young attractive girls?:(:confused:

No I think it does. That, however is not all it is known for. GC on the other hand.
All i've heard about GC is it's a larger more dodgy Scarborough and it does not sound great. But how it is seen by the general population is Party Central.
Remember it's not a comparison about the 2 cities in total. It's a comparison about the perception of the 2 cities.
And GC has that "Party, Sun, Surf, Sand, Girls = Goodtimes" label to it.
Why nobody sees the seediness is beyond me. For evidence of seediness see Warwick Capper reference above.

Who could resist?

No I think it does. That, however is not all it is known for. GC on the other hand.
All i've heard about GC is it's a larger more dodgy Scarborough and it does not sound great. But how it is seen by the general population is Party Central.
Remember it's not a comparison about the 2 cities in total. It's a comparison about the perception of the 2 cities.
And GC has that "Party, Sun, Surf, Sand, Girls = Goodtimes" label to it.
Why nobody sees the seediness is beyond me. For evidence of seediness see Warwick Capper reference above.

Have you ever been? A larger, dodgier Scarborough is way off. Scarborough is not a great beach and the surrounding shops/cafes are barely worth meantioning. I've been heaps of times. The beaches are great. The clubs/pubs/shops/restaurants are right on the beach. Their is a buzz around, it is party central. It's got putt putt courses everywhere, even a slingshot right in the middle. Cottesloe is the best comparison because of the Cot and OB but even then, its not doing the GC justice.

I'm not knocking Sydney as i've only been once and spent most of the time at Bondi. All these cities are an upgrade of Perth (retirement village) however. Surprised no Eagles took the opportunity up.

Have you ever been? A larger, dodgier Scarborough is way off. Scarborough is not a great beach and the surrounding shops/cafes are barely worth meantioning. I've been heaps of times. The beaches are great. The clubs/pubs/shops/restaurants are right on the beach. Their is a buzz around, it is party central. It's got putt putt courses everywhere, even a slingshot right in the middle. Cottesloe is the best comparison because of the Cot and OB but even then, its not doing the GC justice.

I'm not knocking Sydney as i've only been once and spent most of the time at Bondi. All these cities are an upgrade of Perth (retirement village) however. Surprised no Eagles took the opportunity up.

On a prior post I said I hadn't been, hence the "All I've heard about GC" in my post. Was going off what I have heard from friends that have been there and not 1 has said it was a good. They were saying heaps of unemployed surfy bums hang out there. Crappy apartment blocks that look shit and are a blight on the foreshore. That kind of thing.
Plus the aforementioned Warwick Capper is a native.

Actually yes. Pats totally right.

Scarborough doesn't even come close to Surfers or the Gold Coast in general.

That is how it was described to me. If you take the dodginess that is Scarborough multiply it by x and you have the Gold Coast. Same surfy lifestyle on a larger scale.

I have visited both places (only as a tourist) and would much prefer to live in Sydney.

People I know who have lived in the GC also believe its a crap place to live but a great holiday destination. Once the novelty of the theme parks and the beach wear off what else is there?

I used to live 5 mins from the beach... went probably twice a year. lol

With the amount of money these two new clubs are throwing to attract current AFL talent, your lifestyle essentially becomes what you make of it.

I personally would pick the Gold Coast. It has the better girls, beaches, and something Sydney can never give you which is a laid-back lifestyle. And if you're desperately dieing of the amenities of a big city, Brisbane isn't that far away. Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't Penrith farther away from the Sydney CBD, than Gold Coast is to Brisbane?

Also, I don't think Naitanui is going anywhere.

I have visited both GC and Syd probably 30 x each for work so I know both cities well and I stand by my previous comments.

For a 18-20 yr old GC is far far more appealing. The weather is better, the beaches are better and there is more of them, the people are friendlier, the girls are hotter etc etc. It is not all about clubbing on Cavel Ave or water parks, and there are some fantastic suburbs like Broadbeach, Coolangatta, Labrador etc as well as the Tomborine mountains in which to live

Sure Sydney has some good suburbs in which to live and have a more rounded lifestyle as others have mentioned with regards to arts etc (tell me a 19 yr old who is interested in the arts ?) but really those suburbs are to the east (on the beach) which is a bloody long way away from Parramtta and the traffic is horrendous.

As a 20 yr old, there is no comparison between the 2 cities in which to live.

With the amount of money these two new clubs are throwing to attract current AFL talent, your lifestyle essentially becomes what you make of it.

I personally would pick the Gold Coast. It has the better girls, beaches, and something Sydney can never give you which is a laid-back lifestyle. And if you're desperately dieing of the amenities of a big city, Brisbane isn't that far away. Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't Penrith farther away from the Sydney CBD, than Gold Coast is to Brisbane?

Also, I don't think Naitanui is going anywhere.

Money for me has nothing to do with it. Just because a 20yo has money does not mean he knows where to go look to find the life he is after. They are young, it has to smack them in the face. I think the GC does this.

I have visited both GC and Syd probably 30 x each for work so I know both cities well and I stand by my previous comments.

For a 18-20 yr old GC is far far more appealing. The weather is better, the beaches are better and there is more of them, the people are friendlier, the girls are hotter etc etc. It is not all about clubbing on Cavel Ave or water parks, and there are some fantastic suburbs like Broadbeach, Coolangatta, Labrador etc as well as the Tomborine mountains in which to live

Sure Sydney has some good suburbs in which to live and have a more rounded lifestyle as others have mentioned with regards to arts etc (tell me a 19 yr old who is interested in the arts ?) but really those suburbs are to the east (on the beach) which is a bloody long way away from Parramtta and the traffic is horrendous.

As a 20 yr old, there is no comparison between the 2 cities in which to live.

Thats what I was thinking, well put. Art, more developed city & more international recognition/flavour - what young footballer is thinking about this when he is tearing up the track at training?

The track after Masten finished tearing it up:
Rough_track_Pict0050.jpg