National anthem - girt by cringe

Would‘ve thought “Good ol’ Collingwood forever” would be worthy of consideration?

Good ol Aus -trali-a forever

We know how to world stage

Side by side we drink together

To uphold the bogan fame!

See the population shouting

As the population should!

Oh the nation's pride's a cakewalk for the good ol Aus-trali-a!

Thank you everyone, please, please the applause is deafening....... I'm honored but really this is too much. Please curb your enthusiasm.

Thank you all and good night.

when my son was little he thought part of it went
"we've golden syrup", & i always think of that, but don't interrupt the anthem out of respect. then I forget about it when the song is over :drunk:

Thank you everyone, please, please the applause is deafening....... I'm honored but really this is too much. Please curb your enthusiasm.

Can we please change our anthem to this!

This will make our nation perennial runners up, we already do that well enough.
If were using a footy song lets use the best one.

Oh were from Aussie land,
Its beer and bogans here in Aussie land, We never sleep until the final beer is gone, Like the Aussies of old we like our beers cold,
Oh were from Aussie, Yellow and Green, Oh were from Aussie land.

This will make our nation perennial runners up, we already do that well enough.
If were using a footy song lets use the best one.

Oh were from Aussie land,
Its beer and bogans here in Aussie land, We never sleep until the final beer is gone, Like the Aussies of old we like our beers cold,
Oh were from Aussie, Yellow and Green, Oh were from Aussie land.
I think i'll go the other one, i would rather be runners up, than forgotten we even exist for 40 years

Lol Collingwood wouldnt just be forgotten if they had 40 years without any success, they wouldnt even exist, dropped to 5th for members only 7 years after a flag, to many corporate flogs at Collingwood these days.

But we will never know because we don't have 40 years of crap like Richmond do, we might not have won many flags of late, but at least we are usually competitive.

Not won many flags, you're right there champ, 4 in the last 80 years.

Maybe your song should go,
Oh were usually competitive at the good 'ol Collingwood.:$

Not won many flags, you're right there champ, 4 in the last 80 years.

Maybe your song should go,
Oh were usually competitive at the good 'ol Collingwood.:$
Tell me, why did you pick 80 years?
Why did you not pick the rest, or just when the AFL started?

Maybe your song should go, in any weather you will see us with a grin, if you can find us.

If people want to hear the national anthem or waltzing whatever they can **** off to a dawn service.

We dont need nationalistic bullshit at the football, but ffs if you insist on having it don't close the bar at the same time.

If it’s about the best tune, the Brits should trade in God Save the Queen for Land of Hope and Glory every day of the week. Bit of rousing Elgar sung by a bunch of completely pissed lunatic poms waiving union jacks at the last night of the proms is truly stirring. I’m not joking either - great stuff.

Land of Hope and Glory is more used as an English anthem as opposed to British.

One of the travesties in anthem usage is that the English football team uses GSTQ at all, when it represents Britain, not just England. So when England face any other Home Nation, they are hogging that countries actual anthem as well. They should be using Land of Hope and Glory.

Tell me, why did you pick 80 years?
Why did you not pick the rest, or just when the AFL started?

Maybe your song should go, in any weather you will see us with a grin, if you can find us.
I picked 80 years because its been that long since you had most of your clubs success, same reason you choose to mention Richmonds 40 shit years and not the rest of our history, stupid bloody question really.

National anthem - girt by cringe