• Another Ruckman

• George Castagna

• Best available, yep I knew you'd choose this one ya tool

• A hard hitter like Sonsie

Results are only viewable after voting.

anything under 190cm, do not apply
Won't be many applications lol

Players over 190 kicking goals are either Father Son (McCabe, Croft, etc) or Academy like Jed Walter for Gold Coast.

So Nate Caddy and Logan who are both only 6-3 will likely go first round because there ain't any others that played Nationals.

Luke Lloyd could be around at our second round pick. From Sandy Dragons is 193cm and kicks big bags (between 10 and 20) at school footy, also playing well at Dragons but does he have the elite athletic traits to succeed at AFL as other than a third tall or defender.

He missed selection trials for VicMetro because of injury but will be at the National Combine.

Negative ..... we are not getting the next Jack Reiwoldt out of this draft.

Positive ..... probably if we where not going to have a first round pick in any draft I would take this one.

Archer Reid would be ideal, but unlikely that he slides to our 2nd round pick which is likely to be a pick in the 30s after all the bids and compo picks

Three weeks ago you would have said that he could slide to 50 like Thomas Scully last year, but he has kicked 11 goals from the last 3 matches of the season and I can't see him falling past the Hawks second round pick if he is not taken in the first round by Essendon or Collingwood.

Tom Scully is a rake that will take years to develop. Archer Reid was looking like a Tom Lynch clone in his bottom age year.

Tom Scully kicked 50 goals in his bottom age year .... sorry, I know, I should leave facts out of this discussion 😉
Was found out in the U18 National Championships, too light to match it with bigger bodies.
Not done much for Port Reserves so far.

Strange how Archer Reid's form dropped off, is a great contested mark and agile for his size.

Jack Ross was one of the best bargain picks of all time. This kid looks pretty good. Nice disposal and good around the contest.
LOL.

Of all time, come on mate. You have KPFs kicking 70+ goals taken in the 70s but Jack Ross breaking into the best 22 a few years in as a second rounder is an all time bargain...

LOL.

Of all time, come on mate. You have KPFs kicking 70+ goals taken in the 70s but Jack Ross breaking into the best 22 a few years in as a second rounder is an all time bargain...
Apparently, though
Larkey is in year 7, played 2 games in his first two seasons for 0 goals.

So if we pick up a Larkey this draft it would take until Taranto and Hopper have finished their 7 year contracts for him to perform at this level.

Ross has been played out of position, I wonder what level he will reach when he gets to play from the centre square, maybe get there by year 7?

Apparently, though
Larkey is in year 7, played 2 games in his first two seasons for 0 goals.

So if we pick up a Larkey this draft it would take until Taranto and Hopper have finished their 7 year contracts for him to perform at this level.

Ross has been played out of position, I wonder what level he will reach when he gets to play from the centre square, maybe get there by year 7?
I like Ross , reckon he has a good future but I wouldn't yet call him great value. A second round pick midfielder let's hope he continues tracking upward from this year, which is probably his first real breakthrough to consistent AFL performances.

If he does, then he'll be a good pick for sure. But we've done better out of deeper picks before.

Project Forward
Will Elliot
11/06/2004 | 203cm | Key Forward

Named captain of the Chargers in 2022, Elliott’s mobility is a key asset, particularly for a prospect of more than 200cm.

Unfortunately, only after 2 games went under the knife with knee surgery to correct a growth related injury, reportedly for the same condition that Selwood had in his draft year, and did not play again until this year.

This year he has shown likely appearances, being in the best nearly every second week.

After missing selection in the MSD, Alvaro from Rookie Central recorded the following Scouting Notes for his Round 10 performance vs the Dragons:

Elliott, who was considered a strong mid-season draft chance, has shown glimpses of potential throughout the year and that was no different on Monday. The mobile key forward booted 1.2 from 10 disposals and five marks, leaping at the ball with confidence and displaying the upside which had him in draft contention. His three scoring shots were among a handful of set shot attempts, including two which missed on either side of the big sticks

Having got through the first season after knee surgery without injury, it might be time to take a punt on a long term prospect who models his game on Tom Lynch.

Should we learn from our past drafting mistakes and draft a long term key forward prospect or is it too late to find Lynch's replacement via the draft?

Archer Reid​

Gippsland Power/Vic Country​

Forward, 203cm
U18 National Championships Averages:
8.8 disposals, 4.5 marks, 1 contested mark, 1 tackle, 5.5 score involvements, 1 goal, 63 ranking points (4 games)

The younger brother of Essendon defender Zach Reid, this towering Gippsland Power product plays at the other end of the ground. He is an exceptional overhead mark, reads the ball well in flight, is extremely mobile, good below his knees and has a strong natural goal sense. Having been highly-touted entering the year, Reid had a quieter than expected start to this season but has found some greater consistency over recent months. He kicked 2.2 from eight disposals and seven marks for Vic Country in the final match of the under-18 national championships and booted seven goals from two games after returning to the Power in the Coates Talent League. While Reid isn’t ready to step straight into the AFL next year he could provide a club with some serious long-term rewards.

Gives me big McBean vibes, 200cm small forward.

Paul Connors reckons there will be less than 50 selections @ the ND which is pretty crazy. With a lot of clubs only having a couple of spots available there should be some gems available to pick up later.
erection GIF

National Draft 23 - after this year we all need therapy