News National Draft - Pick 33 - Welcome Bradley Hill

Thanks, Eldorado ... it all comes flooding back. So the four we lose from basic rookie list - to be replaced - are Johnson, Menegola, Milne and Sirra. (I'll get it right eventually.)

Back to thread direct: thought Hill's 'knock on' to team-mate on film looked very nice ... & with that athletic profile, really could be anything! Here's hoping!!

Last time I remember them using the phrase "high risk" about our draft picks was when we drafted the Beaus.
You can add Grimeley and Smith last year to that list. Sometimes it pays off other times not

P.S. by the way Beau Dowler should have made it but there were other reasaon apart from injury that held him back. Muston was just unlucky did his knee on several occasions

We have 5 picks in the rookie draft, we delisted Johnson, Mahony, Menegola and Milne. Also upgraded Breust to the primary list.
So yes Johnson is a possibility to be picked up again as a rookie, i believe he is still training with us in the hope of this.[/QUOTE]

Just to further complicate the situation I'm pretty sure what allowed us to take pick 53 in the draft was placing Ozzie on the vets list. Thus taking the place of a rookie. So as far as I can work out. Off the rookie list is Milne, Menagola, Breust, PJ, Sirra. Ozzie effectively takes 1 of those spots, So my workings have us taking 4 picks in the RD
I know this thread has been sidetracked as it is but interesting that Sam Menagola didn't get taken in the ND. So either the talk of him been promised a spot on a senior list was all bs or the proposed deal fell thru. Would be interested in the thoughts of Grizz, Echols or anyone else with some info on this.

Good kid. Very smooth runner will be a good outside midfielder for us. Based on his interview and general team interaction does not lack confidence.

Good luck to the kid

ive been reading some negativity on big footy about our taking of hill in the draft and to be honest not sure why. Athletically he is probably the best all round athlete and at worst top 3 in this years draft.

People are knocking his skills, but these same people think Jobe watson cant kick. That may have been the case but he is pretty good by foot now.

1 or 2 years in an AFL system and with the addition of 6-9kgs this kid could be anything. Once we teach him where to run he will make the doubters eat humble pie.

Fortune favours the brave

I reckon the recruiters (with late picks) who love their job would have enjoyed this draft. There was absolutely no pressure to get an early pick right (e.g. number 6). Recruiters could afford a little bit of 'feeling' or 'gut instinct'. I am glad we picked a player early using the boom or bust theory. We need to find another gun or two to remain competitive long term especially given our current ladder position and the compromised drafts.

Welcome to Hawthorn Brad. From someone who has been away from home since 17 the home sickness passes mate. This club will look after you if you want to go home for a visit from time to time just don't be scared to ask.:thumbsu:

I know quite a few recruiters and footy people and they've all said this draft, talent-wise, is the weakest in many a moon. Unfortunately, the likes of the players you mentioned as being stiff they missed out, probably wouldn't have even been under consideration in a normal year. They are merely names that were talked up during the period; names in isolation too. People like the sound of them, think they'll be what we need, but there's little to base it on.

What will be interesting is the rookie draft - I reckon we'll see some far-out, high risk picks there.

Hopefully there will be a thread on this soon to see what players we think will be selected besides ruck. Will another mature body such as Lee Spur be selected or what about giving another young kid a chance, the names mentioned but missed out. Is there a limit on number of senior games a rookie can play?

Sounds like a good get. Big tank and adds pace to the side. Could be Bateman's replacement with his pace and run. Surprise pick at 33, don't thnk anyone saw it coming but I'm happy with it. Hopefully he is as good as his brother and then some :p

Surprised that we choose Hill only because I thought we would pick a KPP first. However, on talent Brad Hill is a Top 30 player as suggested in Kevin Sheahan's list.

The Hawks do need outside speed and Hill is certainly that. As has been stated his influence on games became greater as the season continued. The Hawks liked that because it showed a willingness to improve and even more so a continous work rate over a long season.

Follow the Leader

AS ONE of seven children, indigenous draftee Brad Hill was naturally a ''little bit'' disappointed to have left his family in his native Western Australia to pursue his football dream across the Nullarbor with Hawthorn.
That's not a knock on the Hawks. Rather, it's generally the natural reaction of a teenager, especially one who has a brother, Stephen, playing with Fremantle.
However, the Hawks, showing the savvy and care clubs increasingly employ, helped put the speedy midfielder at ease when they sent his favourite player to pick him up from the airport.

''Cyril Rioli picked me up from the airport, which was good,'' Hill said yesterday. ''He was just talking to me like a mate.''
Hill will live with Hawks veteran Michael Osborne, while he can also call on his second cousin, Essendon's Paddy Ryder, for help in dealing with his new lifestyle.
Hawthorn also moved to put fellow draftees, local boys Jordan Kelly and Alex Woodward (right), at ease when coach Alastair Clarkson hosted a barbecue for the playing list at his home on Sunday. Befitting a club that remains firmly in the premiership mix, the Hawks don't expect a great deal next season from Hill, taken with the 33rd pick, Kelly, a tall defender from the Dandenong Stingrays taken with selection 38, and Woodward, a courageous inside midfielder taken with selection 53.
They may play in the NAB Cup, but will then be given time with the Box Hill Hawks to mature physically.
As the boys know from yesterday's training session at Waverley, they have work to do before they are considered for senior selection.
''It was interesting. The intensity is up from TAC level but I enjoyed it,'' Kelly said.
''It was exciting but a little bit intimidating. You know you are not quite at their level just yet but there's a long, hard road ahead and it's good to start.''
Kelly, who compared himself to Western Bulldog Dale Morris and says he plays with the same grunt of former Hawk Campbell Brown, will also learn from living with Grant Birchall.
Woodward, the Sandringham Dragons' premiership captain and best-and-fairest winner last season, will reside with Josh Gibson. He hopes to eventually play in a similar style to Carlton's Marc Murphy. ''I just want to make a good impression at the club, play some consistent footy at VFL level and then hopefully crack a game here,'' Woodward said.
''I've got great resources in Sam Mitchell and Jordan Lewis and Brad Sewell, so I'll really try and learn a lot from them.
''With those players around me I'll not only learn a lot but I'll develop as a person and as a footballer, but I'm willing to wait.''
Also waiting is Jarryd Roughead. The key forward was again restricted to walking and a light workout yesterday as he returns from a serious Achilles injury.

I don't buy into the talk of Hill wanting to go home and play with his brother.

I reckon playing under the shadow of Stephen Hill, it would place more pressure on this kid to live up to his older brother's standards. Those are quite big shoes to fill.
We also seem to have a culture of being able to keep our good players. If Hill develops and is looking the goods, I would back our club culture to keep him.

Bradley has got work to do on his skills and ball finding abilities. We can afford to give him the time to develop because we have quite a few guys in Savage, Smith, Suckling, Young, Ellis, Bruest, Puopolo, etc, determined to establish themselves in the 22. It's even tougher with guys like Gunston (likely starter), Gilham, Rough certain to grab their spots back (unless form/injuries intervene).

Added to the fact that we are not desperate for our picks to play straight away, is the excitement of playing with fellow aboriginals in Buddy, Rioli, Burgoyne, Bateman, etc. All are fabulous role models and will offer Hill a lot of support.

Sorry to intrude but this is reason I was glad we didnt pick him up. Personally I think he is going to be at the least a very good player and remember his brother Stephen was also a late developer. I saw a little bit of Brad in a colts game over here and he definitely has a bit more x factor than his brother and still has the athletic ability, skills need a bit of work but they are OK for a colt.
I dont think you need to worry about him going home, you guys seem to have a good indigenous program and just as important a good West Australian contingent. Clubs are alot better these days at eliminating the go home factor. I am Looking forward to seeing him take on Stephen one day.

Sorry to intrude but this is reason I was glad we didnt pick him up. Personally I think he is going to be at the least a very good player and remember his brother Stephen was also a late developer. I saw a little bit of Brad in a colts game over here and he definitely has a bit more x factor than his brother and still has the athletic ability, skills need a bit of work but they are OK for a colt.
I dont think you need to worry about him going home, you guys seem to have a good indigenous program and just as important a good West Australian contingent. Clubs are alot better these days at eliminating the go home factor. I am Looking forward to seeing him take on Stephen one day.
Have heard via a mate that is chummy with an indigenous boys father(no longer AFL listed) that we are widely regarded as the best in the business when it comes to looking after boys from the bush.
Considering our history and disregard of Aboriginal players over decades, we've come a long way! And our group of indigenous boys are envy of most(every?) other clubs.

Then again, if you rock up to Waverley park and you're running about with Buddy and Cyril, why would you even have the slightest unhappy thought? ;)

Not many expected his brother to go so low. Was touted as a possible top 10 pick and was a late bloomer. Freo nailed that pick in hindsight.

Brad might be a late bloomer too, sure he doesn't seem to have the talent of his brother but that may come. Generally little brothers do better.

I really think we might have something pretty special here.

Not many expected his brother to go so low. Was touted as a possible top 10 pick and was a late bloomer. Freo nailed that pick in hindsight.

Brad might be a late bloomer too, sure he doesn't seem to have the talent of his brother but that may come. Generally little brothers do better.

I really think we might have something pretty special here.

Both players came under higher scrutiny after their draft camp results. Stephen Hill was touted as a first/second round pick but then immediately became seen as the obvious No.3 pick, with Watts earmarked early for Melbourne and Naitanui the obvious selection for West Coast.

kid has pace and endurance and I think Clarko shot his bolt after Isaac smith gave us all that extra width last season. Worth a risk as the kid could be a potential star...could also be nothing.

Comes down to application,attitude and hard work.

Thought this thread was worthy of a bump in honour of Hill's Rising Star nomination.

Good bump and quote. Ironic that we were being warned about his kicking when it seems that he uses his kicking ability as a weapon because of his amazing ability to lower his eyes and hit a target.

Unlike the guy he replaced who never seemed to look shorter than 50 - 60 meters downfield at any one time, and I loved Youngy.

I thought this thread worthy of a second bump - Did anyone really think within three years Brad would be starring in winning back to back premierships and had gone past his brother Stephen as the best Hill playing the game? And all for the low low price of pick 33 (best result Brent Renouf ever delivered the club!).

I'm glad to have been wrong about him joining the shit brothers club.

News National Draft - Pick 33 - Welcome Bradley Hill