National Draft Top 25 - Emma Quayle

Judgement Day

Emma Quayle | November 23, 2008

FIRST, some apologies. I am a big fan of Tom Lynch's bustle, and think he may well end up a first-round draft choice on Saturday. James Strauss has a lovely kick, David Zaharakis has speed and I like Luke Shuey's ability to involve the players around him. Not to mention Tom Rockliff's simple knack for getting the ball and kicking goals.

Those five players have all held a place in my top 25 in the past weeks and months, with Jordan Roughead, Rhys O’Keefe, Michael Gugliotta, Dan Hannebery, Rhys Stanley and Mitch Robinson also, in my opinion, chances to play good AFL football. I found it really hard to separate the players from about Michael Walters onwards.

OK, now that I’ve covered my butt . . .

This is not a mock draft, more my personal rankings of this year's draft crop, after seeing the boys play live, watching a stack of tapes, interviewing many of the players, speaking to people who know them well and running my thoughts past some trusted advisers.

Looking back at last year’s list, I am reasonably happy. I should have had the nerve to put Pat Veszpremi up higher. "Junior" Rioli looked after me, and I was satisfied with the small glimpses we saw of Patrick Dangerfield this season. I’d probably nudge Callan Ward up a few spots based on what I saw this year, and Rhys Palmer at No. 12? Hmm . . . that may be my slip-up, but I still believe others may pass him as their careers unfold from here. Let's wait and see.

1. Jack Watts
(Sandringham Dragons, 196 centimetres, 82 kilograms)
Watts is the most complete prospect in this year's draft. He has all the athletic qualities you could want in a key forward — he's quick, agile, he's
a good kick and he can mark. Most importantly, it’s not all potential as he has put all those things on show already. Watts loves a big stage — witness his last-minute pack mark and match-winning goal in the first game of this year’s national under-18s championships — and seems a really happy, assured and at-ease person.

He has major ambition and I think he'll lap up the challenge of being at the wooden spoon club.

2. Chris Yarran
(Swan Districts, 180cm, 83kg)
For the past few days I’ve been thinking: can you really have Chris at No. 2? But I’m backing him in. He is just an exceptionally gifted player.

People are going to love watching him. He has beautiful skills and an ability to either involve those around him or just do it himself and kick goals. He hasn’t proved himself as a midfielder, but as he develops his fitness — and I think he’ll thrive in an AFL environment — he’ll spend increasing time in there. Eighteen months ago, Chris was incredibly shy, he almost didn’t even want people to notice him. Now, he seems so much more content and confident in himself. I think he’ll be a great player.

3. Nick Naitanui
(Swan Districts, 201cm, 94kg)
Nick "Nat" has some work to do, but which draftee doesn't have skills to
hone? He offers far too much and can do too many things to drop him any
lower than here. We’ve all been told how high he can jump and how fast he can run, but what I love is how, if the ball is anywhere near him, he will fight to the death to win it, tackling anyone in his way. He is determined to learn and improve, and I think his progress will speed up enormously once he starts working with AFL coaches every day.

4. Jackson Trengove
(Calder Cannons, 197cm, 89kg)
Need someone to play on “Buddy”? Jackson’s your man. He has the height, the pace and the athleticism and although he’s played a lot as
a ruckman, he looks natural in defence. Some have queried his kick,
but it looks OK to me. What I like most is that he’s a real ruffi an — he
loves getting stuck into opponents and roughing them up, getting into their heads. I saw him unsettle the normally unfl appable Ben McEvoy playing for the Calder Cannons against Murray last year, and hear he did the same thing to Jack Watts in a scratch match during the AIS Academy’s South African trip this year. He’d be a great, strong-minded person to have around a club. Pending another positive final medial
report — he tore his hamstring from behind his knee this year — I’d happily pick him.

5. Tyrone Vickery
(Sandringham Dragons, 200cm, 89kg)
Vickery is intriguing. Every time I got it into my head that I like him better as a key forward, he didn’t attack his marks with the vigour I’d remembered, but played with really nice touch in the ruck. Then, when I watched him as a ruckman, he’d be hurling himself around in the forward line and looking much better there. At the end of it all, I really like him. Sometimes, it worries me when you can’t decide which position a player best fits, but I think Vickery legitimately does both well.

6. Hamish Hartlett
(West Adelaide, 184cm, 77kg)
Hartlett is a class act: he’s not a speed machine, but he can pick where the
ball’s going to go and gets there first. His ability to get his arms and hands
free while being tackled is impressive. His skills are top notch, he can do
good things in tight spaces, and he knows how to kick goals. He’s had a
year out of school working and I think he’s itching to get to an AFL team and get this thing started.

7. Tom Swift
(Claremont, 191cm, 85kg)
Swift is a big call here, given he has barely played in two years. But all I’ve ever seen of him, I’ve loved — he wins heaps of the ball and I really like how he ducks into packs and emerges out the other side with the ball. He’s grown, and he has speed. It’s a worry that neither of his two knee
injuries has involved contact, but all I’ve heard on his progress has been
encouraging. Tom seems a smart, sensible kid and you can expect to see his name in a leadership group before too long.

8. Ayce Cordy (Geelong Falcons, 202cm, 78kg)
I haven’t seen a heap of Ayce — he had a shoulder reconstruction this
year — but on what I saw at the end of 2007 and in an AIS game this year, I’m happy to rank him here. He is one of the skinniest people I have
ever laid eyes on, but his height — combined with his running ability, make him quite a scary proposition. I don’t think that there’s a player like him around, so if he makes it, I’m not sure who you put on him. He’s a really
clean mark and the way he can scoop up balls at his feet is quite incredible.

9. Daniel Rich
(Subiaco, 184cm, 83kg)
Rich is as tough as they come. Lock him in to play a lot of games at a high level. He wins his own ball and has one of the longest, loveliest leftfoot kicks you’ll see. The question is how much — in his second senior WAFL season — he has developed this year, and I know he is keen to start improving his work-rate so he can bust past the taggers. But like Hartlett, he’s been out of school for a year and was ready to be drafted last year. He’d be desperate to get into it and like any 18-year-old, has plenty of improvement in him.

10. Steele Sidebottom
(Murray Bushrangers, 184cm, 81kg)
Sidebottom reminds me a bit of a little Jack Russell terrier — always seems to be hanging around, always on the move, looking for something to do. I think this, in combination with his great instincts — he knows where to get to, just before he needs to be there — make up for his lack of leg speed. He’s a great overhead mark for his size and it will be interesting to see if this can translate to AFL level, where everyone will be bigger again. He plays with poise, dare and inventiveness.

11. Jack Ziebell
(Murray Bushrangers, 188cm, 86kg)
Supporters will love Ziebell. He has a knack for winning up-for-grabs balls, and is brave and strong-willed (with a classy kick, on both sides, to
match). The question is where his spot will be — forward, midfield or back? Or could he end up doing all, whenever required, well? He won’t
die wondering, will really inspire his teammates to come with him and will
wind up a leader.

12. Stephen Hill
(184cm, 69kg)
Don’t be fooled by this skinny little whippet — he’s as tough as they come. He’s got great skills and as his confidence grows (I think he’ll take
a little while to adjust to AFL footy) he’ll start breaking away on some
dashing runs and kicking long goals. He’s busy, diligent, and will be highly
exciting to watch.

13. Michael Hurley
(Northern Knights, 193cm, 92kg)
Hurley is big and mean — but there’s more to him than that. A key defender, he controls the space around him really well, never seems to get rattled, has excellent anticipation and can hit teammates on the chest from 50 metres away. The question is positioning — Hurley looks a natural full-back, but he might get caught out for pace off-the mark against the sort of full-forwards he’d have to play on. That said, I’d call his name knowing he could play centre half-back or as a forward.

14. Sam Blease
(Eastern Ranges, 184cm, 70kg)
Blease is another dasher. He’ll get the ball, run, give it, get it back and
run again. Of the line breakers in this draft, he and Hill are the best. He’s
still skinny, but his height is fi ne and he has great balance. I think he could
become a bigger possession winner at AFL level — the way the game is
played will suit him.

15. Nick Suban
(North Ballarat Rebels, 180cm, 83kg)
Suban is a natural — he gets the ball, can take a mark, and has a thumping
kick on him. He can get through traffic with a shake of his hips and
has notched some good handball receive numbers this year too. The
skinfolds need attention, but I’m sure that will happen once he himself gets
into a club.

16. Michael Walters
(Swan Districts, 177cm, 73kg)
If Walters slips out of the top 20, someone’s getting a bargain. I’d consider him a midfi elder, but perhaps he’ll start out in the forward line. He’s not zippy, but has a knack for winning contested footy and finding space. A nice, smart, nifty little player with lovely skills.

17. Phil Davis
(North Adelaide, 196cm, 85kg)
I wish I could have seen more of Davis, who injured his shoulder midyear,
but everything I’ve seen, I’ve liked, so I feel comfortable including him. He’s an athletic backman who likes to bound away when he can. You won’t hear anyone say a bad word about his nature and leadership
potential.

18. Lewis Johnston
(North Adelaide, 193cm, 84kg)
Johnstone has tricks — I can’t see him becoming a real power forward,
but he’ll grab crafty marks when he doesn’t seem in the contest and kick
goals from the boundary line. Might kick six one week and then none the
next, but come up with the match winner after the siren. I see him as a full forward — he’s smart, with speed off the mark and anticipation. A “could be anything” type.

19. Mitch Brown
(Sandringham Dragons, 195cm, 82kg)
Brown is this year’s bolter — he could be a surprise fi rst-rounder having
missed the Dragons squad at the start of the year. I like how hard he works — a key forward, he pushes really hard both up and across the
ground. He’s a really honest player, no mucking around. He gets himself into space to mark and has also grabbed some good ones under pressure.

20. Shaun McKernan
(Calder Cannons, 196cm, 94kg)
McKernan will become a very big man. The query’s on where he’ll play
— is he big enough to play in the ruck (he has a great leap) or will he become a better forward? I like him as a forward — his strength is his long
arms, and he instinctively goes for the ball with them stretched up high. His marks tend to stick. He’s not as boisterous as Trengove, he’s a quieter kid, but seems to have some real resolve about him.

21. Dayne Beams
(Southport, 186cm, 77kg)
Beams is a neat and tidy midfi elder. He brings teammates into the game
with his handpassing and is willing to push back hard and link things up — often getting two or three possessions as his team takes the ball through the midfield.

22. Jordan Lisle
(Oakleigh Chargers, 195cm, 93kg)
I can see Lisle turning into a monster centre half-back (although he’s also
played forward a lot). Like Hurley, he hasn’t got a burst of speed, but seems really sure of himself and in control of the space around him.

23. Ashley Smith
(Dandenong Stingrays, 186cm, 85kg)
Ash, I think, is a midfi eld prospect, although he’s played forward and
looks good at half back — really diffi cult to get past. Great speed, great
balance and a beautiful kick. I’m sure as he develops he’ll learn to run with
the ball even more. There’s not much fuss about him either, he has an “all
business” look about him.

24. Ryan Schoenmakers
(Norwood, 194cm, 84kg)
On first look, Schoenmakers seems a “third tall” type, although at 194-
centimetres he may become more than that. He’s been compared to Ryan O’Keefe and that’s fair — he works pretty hard up the ground, and has clean hands. Once in a game, he also seems capable of kicking multiple goals.

25. Casey Sibosado
(Xavier College/ Oakleigh Chargers, 192cm, 72kg)
Here’s my smokey. I can’t see anyone picking Sibosado this high, but once he turns out to be a star I want to be able to say “I told you so”. (note: If he doesn’t work out let’s pretend this article never happened!). Casey has talent, pure and simple — he gets the ball when he shouldn’t, has a knack for nudging players in the back with his chest and getting his arms up to mark, he times his leaps really well and can play down back and go for a run, although I like him as a forward most. The trick for him is forcing his own involvement in a game. But once he’s in it, he can do anything. If he makes it, he’ll be hugely exciting to watch.

Although Merv posted this on the D + T board I thought it would be worth some debate here also so MFC posters can discuss within our context. I know people are over the draft and just want it over (myself included) so I apologise for re-hashing this but given it is up to date analysis just prior to the main day, the info is pretty usefull.

I have previously steered clear from voicing preferences for the draft (except for Watts) as I simply have not been in the know. Posters like M4C and Beats among others have given good insight to the talent available as they have first hand insight.

Going theoretically by what Quayle has to say about many of the players (not gospel - but based on decent reasearch) and what our deficiencies are at Melbourne, I would be stoked if we got the following players:

1) Watts - Gun forward

17) Blease - Fast Mid

19) Brown - Secondary Forward

35) Best available ruckman

This partially follows the Hawthorn model of two forwards but we also get a required runner. Obviously we need a ruck also. With the subsequent picks we would stick to best available I guess and perhaps consider a more mature/experienced player with a latter pick.

I don't expect these picks to be available (Blease/Brown) so I won't get too expectant but I reckon it would be nice. What do you guys think and also who do you guys think are the most realistic players to fall to 17 and 19 that Quayle has rated better (on talent in her order)?

i dont think we should take brown at 19. i think there will be better key position prospects available at 19 imo such as Lisle, Mckernan, davis, shoenmakers and maybe johnston.

There may be a fair chance that brown is still available at pick 35.

i dont think we should take brown at 19. i think there will be better key position prospects available at 19 imo such as Lisle, Mckernan, davis, shoenmakers and maybe johnston.

There may be a fair chance that brown is still available at pick 35.
Fair call mate.

Shoenmakers could be a good get. Do you think we should go with two kpp forwards in our first 3 or 4 picks?

I think it will be really best available as we need people all over the ground. They have known this the last 2 years which has worked to our advantage as other teams have been more specific which has allowed grimes and marric to fall through the net.

I just want some people who can actually kick the thing :thumbsu:

Judgement Day

Emma Quayle | November 23, 2008

FIRST, some apologies. I am a big fan of Tom Lynch's bustle, and think he may well end up a first-round draft choice on Saturday. James Strauss has a lovely kick, David Zaharakis has speed and I like Luke Shuey's ability to involve the players around him. Not to mention Tom Rockliff's simple knack for getting the ball and kicking goals.

Those five players have all held a place in my top 25 in the past weeks and months, with Jordan Roughead, Rhys O’Keefe, Michael Gugliotta, Dan Hannebery, Rhys Stanley and Mitch Robinson also, in my opinion, chances to play good AFL football. I found it really hard to separate the players from about Michael Walters onwards.

OK, now that I’ve covered my butt . . .

This is not a mock draft, more my personal rankings of this year's draft crop, after seeing the boys play live, watching a stack of tapes, interviewing many of the players, speaking to people who know them well and running my thoughts past some trusted advisers.

Looking back at last year’s list, I am reasonably happy. I should have had the nerve to put Pat Veszpremi up higher. "Junior" Rioli looked after me, and I was satisfied with the small glimpses we saw of Patrick Dangerfield this season. I’d probably nudge Callan Ward up a few spots based on what I saw this year, and Rhys Palmer at No. 12? Hmm . . . that may be my slip-up, but I still believe others may pass him as their careers unfold from here. Let's wait and see.

1. Jack Watts
(Sandringham Dragons, 196 centimetres, 82 kilograms)
Watts is the most complete prospect in this year's draft. He has all the athletic qualities you could want in a key forward — he's quick, agile, he's
a good kick and he can mark. Most importantly, it’s not all potential as he has put all those things on show already. Watts loves a big stage — witness his last-minute pack mark and match-winning goal in the first game of this year’s national under-18s championships — and seems a really happy, assured and at-ease person.

He has major ambition and I think he'll lap up the challenge of being at the wooden spoon club.

2. Chris Yarran
(Swan Districts, 180cm, 83kg)
For the past few days I’ve been thinking: can you really have Chris at No. 2? But I’m backing him in. He is just an exceptionally gifted player.

People are going to love watching him. He has beautiful skills and an ability to either involve those around him or just do it himself and kick goals. He hasn’t proved himself as a midfielder, but as he develops his fitness — and I think he’ll thrive in an AFL environment — he’ll spend increasing time in there. Eighteen months ago, Chris was incredibly shy, he almost didn’t even want people to notice him. Now, he seems so much more content and confident in himself. I think he’ll be a great player.

3. Nick Naitanui
(Swan Districts, 201cm, 94kg)
Nick "Nat" has some work to do, but which draftee doesn't have skills to
hone? He offers far too much and can do too many things to drop him any
lower than here. We’ve all been told how high he can jump and how fast he can run, but what I love is how, if the ball is anywhere near him, he will fight to the death to win it, tackling anyone in his way. He is determined to learn and improve, and I think his progress will speed up enormously once he starts working with AFL coaches every day.

4. Jackson Trengove
(Calder Cannons, 197cm, 89kg)
Need someone to play on “Buddy”? Jackson’s your man. He has the height, the pace and the athleticism and although he’s played a lot as
a ruckman, he looks natural in defence. Some have queried his kick,
but it looks OK to me. What I like most is that he’s a real ruffi an — he
loves getting stuck into opponents and roughing them up, getting into their heads. I saw him unsettle the normally unfl appable Ben McEvoy playing for the Calder Cannons against Murray last year, and hear he did the same thing to Jack Watts in a scratch match during the AIS Academy’s South African trip this year. He’d be a great, strong-minded person to have around a club. Pending another positive final medial
report — he tore his hamstring from behind his knee this year — I’d happily pick him.

5. Tyrone Vickery
(Sandringham Dragons, 200cm, 89kg)
Vickery is intriguing. Every time I got it into my head that I like him better as a key forward, he didn’t attack his marks with the vigour I’d remembered, but played with really nice touch in the ruck. Then, when I watched him as a ruckman, he’d be hurling himself around in the forward line and looking much better there. At the end of it all, I really like him. Sometimes, it worries me when you can’t decide which position a player best fits, but I think Vickery legitimately does both well.

6. Hamish Hartlett
(West Adelaide, 184cm, 77kg)
Hartlett is a class act: he’s not a speed machine, but he can pick where the
ball’s going to go and gets there first. His ability to get his arms and hands
free while being tackled is impressive. His skills are top notch, he can do
good things in tight spaces, and he knows how to kick goals. He’s had a
year out of school working and I think he’s itching to get to an AFL team and get this thing started.

7. Tom Swift
(Claremont, 191cm, 85kg)
Swift is a big call here, given he has barely played in two years. But all I’ve ever seen of him, I’ve loved — he wins heaps of the ball and I really like how he ducks into packs and emerges out the other side with the ball. He’s grown, and he has speed. It’s a worry that neither of his two knee
injuries has involved contact, but all I’ve heard on his progress has been
encouraging. Tom seems a smart, sensible kid and you can expect to see his name in a leadership group before too long.

8. Ayce Cordy (Geelong Falcons, 202cm, 78kg)
I haven’t seen a heap of Ayce — he had a shoulder reconstruction this
year — but on what I saw at the end of 2007 and in an AIS game this year, I’m happy to rank him here. He is one of the skinniest people I have
ever laid eyes on, but his height — combined with his running ability, make him quite a scary proposition. I don’t think that there’s a player like him around, so if he makes it, I’m not sure who you put on him. He’s a really
clean mark and the way he can scoop up balls at his feet is quite incredible.

9. Daniel Rich
(Subiaco, 184cm, 83kg)
Rich is as tough as they come. Lock him in to play a lot of games at a high level. He wins his own ball and has one of the longest, loveliest leftfoot kicks you’ll see. The question is how much — in his second senior WAFL season — he has developed this year, and I know he is keen to start improving his work-rate so he can bust past the taggers. But like Hartlett, he’s been out of school for a year and was ready to be drafted last year. He’d be desperate to get into it and like any 18-year-old, has plenty of improvement in him.

10. Steele Sidebottom
(Murray Bushrangers, 184cm, 81kg)
Sidebottom reminds me a bit of a little Jack Russell terrier — always seems to be hanging around, always on the move, looking for something to do. I think this, in combination with his great instincts — he knows where to get to, just before he needs to be there — make up for his lack of leg speed. He’s a great overhead mark for his size and it will be interesting to see if this can translate to AFL level, where everyone will be bigger again. He plays with poise, dare and inventiveness.

11. Jack Ziebell
(Murray Bushrangers, 188cm, 86kg)
Supporters will love Ziebell. He has a knack for winning up-for-grabs balls, and is brave and strong-willed (with a classy kick, on both sides, to
match). The question is where his spot will be — forward, midfield or back? Or could he end up doing all, whenever required, well? He won’t
die wondering, will really inspire his teammates to come with him and will
wind up a leader.

12. Stephen Hill
(184cm, 69kg)
Don’t be fooled by this skinny little whippet — he’s as tough as they come. He’s got great skills and as his confidence grows (I think he’ll take
a little while to adjust to AFL footy) he’ll start breaking away on some
dashing runs and kicking long goals. He’s busy, diligent, and will be highly
exciting to watch.

13. Michael Hurley
(Northern Knights, 193cm, 92kg)
Hurley is big and mean — but there’s more to him than that. A key defender, he controls the space around him really well, never seems to get rattled, has excellent anticipation and can hit teammates on the chest from 50 metres away. The question is positioning — Hurley looks a natural full-back, but he might get caught out for pace off-the mark against the sort of full-forwards he’d have to play on. That said, I’d call his name knowing he could play centre half-back or as a forward.

14. Sam Blease
(Eastern Ranges, 184cm, 70kg)
Blease is another dasher. He’ll get the ball, run, give it, get it back and
run again. Of the line breakers in this draft, he and Hill are the best. He’s
still skinny, but his height is fi ne and he has great balance. I think he could
become a bigger possession winner at AFL level — the way the game is
played will suit him.

15. Nick Suban
(North Ballarat Rebels, 180cm, 83kg)
Suban is a natural — he gets the ball, can take a mark, and has a thumping
kick on him. He can get through traffic with a shake of his hips and
has notched some good handball receive numbers this year too. The
skinfolds need attention, but I’m sure that will happen once he himself gets
into a club.

16. Michael Walters
(Swan Districts, 177cm, 73kg)
If Walters slips out of the top 20, someone’s getting a bargain. I’d consider him a midfi elder, but perhaps he’ll start out in the forward line. He’s not zippy, but has a knack for winning contested footy and finding space. A nice, smart, nifty little player with lovely skills.

17. Phil Davis
(North Adelaide, 196cm, 85kg)
I wish I could have seen more of Davis, who injured his shoulder midyear,
but everything I’ve seen, I’ve liked, so I feel comfortable including him. He’s an athletic backman who likes to bound away when he can. You won’t hear anyone say a bad word about his nature and leadership
potential.

18. Lewis Johnston
(North Adelaide, 193cm, 84kg)
Johnstone has tricks — I can’t see him becoming a real power forward,
but he’ll grab crafty marks when he doesn’t seem in the contest and kick
goals from the boundary line. Might kick six one week and then none the
next, but come up with the match winner after the siren. I see him as a full forward — he’s smart, with speed off the mark and anticipation. A “could be anything” type.

19. Mitch Brown
(Sandringham Dragons, 195cm, 82kg)
Brown is this year’s bolter — he could be a surprise fi rst-rounder having
missed the Dragons squad at the start of the year. I like how hard he works — a key forward, he pushes really hard both up and across the
ground. He’s a really honest player, no mucking around. He gets himself into space to mark and has also grabbed some good ones under pressure.

20. Shaun McKernan
(Calder Cannons, 196cm, 94kg)
McKernan will become a very big man. The query’s on where he’ll play
— is he big enough to play in the ruck (he has a great leap) or will he become a better forward? I like him as a forward — his strength is his long
arms, and he instinctively goes for the ball with them stretched up high. His marks tend to stick. He’s not as boisterous as Trengove, he’s a quieter kid, but seems to have some real resolve about him.

21. Dayne Beams
(Southport, 186cm, 77kg)
Beams is a neat and tidy midfi elder. He brings teammates into the game
with his handpassing and is willing to push back hard and link things up — often getting two or three possessions as his team takes the ball through the midfield.

22. Jordan Lisle
(Oakleigh Chargers, 195cm, 93kg)
I can see Lisle turning into a monster centre half-back (although he’s also
played forward a lot). Like Hurley, he hasn’t got a burst of speed, but seems really sure of himself and in control of the space around him.

23. Ashley Smith
(Dandenong Stingrays, 186cm, 85kg)
Ash, I think, is a midfi eld prospect, although he’s played forward and
looks good at half back — really diffi cult to get past. Great speed, great
balance and a beautiful kick. I’m sure as he develops he’ll learn to run with
the ball even more. There’s not much fuss about him either, he has an “all
business” look about him.

24. Ryan Schoenmakers
(Norwood, 194cm, 84kg)
On first look, Schoenmakers seems a “third tall” type, although at 194-
centimetres he may become more than that. He’s been compared to Ryan O’Keefe and that’s fair — he works pretty hard up the ground, and has clean hands. Once in a game, he also seems capable of kicking multiple goals.

25. Casey Sibosado
(Xavier College/ Oakleigh Chargers, 192cm, 72kg)
Here’s my smokey. I can’t see anyone picking Sibosado this high, but once he turns out to be a star I want to be able to say “I told you so”. (note: If he doesn’t work out let’s pretend this article never happened!). Casey has talent, pure and simple — he gets the ball when he shouldn’t, has a knack for nudging players in the back with his chest and getting his arms up to mark, he times his leaps really well and can play down back and go for a run, although I like him as a forward most. The trick for him is forcing his own involvement in a game. But once he’s in it, he can do anything. If he makes it, he’ll be hugely exciting to watch.

Although Merv posted this on the D + T board I thought it would be worth some debate here also so MFC posters can discuss within our context. I know people are over the draft and just want it over (myself included) so I apologise for re-hashing this but given it is up to date analysis just prior to the main day, the info is pretty usefull.

I have previously steered clear from voicing preferences for the draft (except for Watts) as I simply have not been in the know. Posters like M4C and Beats among others have given good insight to the talent available as they have first hand insight.

Going theoretically by what Quayle has to say about many of the players (not gospel - but based on decent reasearch) and what our deficiencies are at Melbourne, I would be stoked if we got the following players:

1) Watts - Gun forward

17) Blease - Fast Mid

19) Brown - Secondary Forward

35) Best available ruckman

This partially follows the Hawthorn model of two forwards but we also get a required runner. Obviously we need a ruck also. With the subsequent picks we would stick to best available I guess and perhaps consider a more mature/experienced player with a latter pick.

I don't expect these picks to be available (Blease/Brown) so I won't get too expectant but I reckon it would be nice. What do you guys think and also who do you guys think are the most realistic players to fall to 17 and 19 that Quayle has rated better (on talent in her order)?

I agree with that mate, but re pick 19 - who is best out of Brown, McKernan Lewis Johnston and Schoenmakers? All seem like they may be around for our second round picks, who would we want? Someone like McKernan could kill 2 birds with 1 stone - could be a third tall up forward and a back-up ruckman. That would give us some good flexibility. Then again, he may do neither quite good enough.

On a side note, I see what Emma's on about with Sibosado. I saw him live when he played the Bushrangers up in Albury and he certainly has an X factor. Really could be anything, reminded me of a bigger, more aggressive Damien Cupido (obviously if we took the kid, we'd want more out of him than Cupido's career).

At 17 I want a mid and at 19 a KPP, at 35 I'd like a mid but if Roughead/Redden are around I'd probably take a punt on them.

It's quite hard to pick who will be available because the spread is pretty even between 10-25, however I'd like to see Sidebottom/Hill fall, both have got extremely good wraps of late due to individual success, neither of which were considered 'top' picks prior to these feats.
In preference for 17 I'd probably say Sidebottom, Swift, Blease, Suban then Hill.
As for 19, Mitch Brown is a decent prospect but I'd have more than a few ahead of him, however his upside is high because he apparently grew about 12 or so cm since this time last year, so he is quite new to the whole KP gig.
I'm probably going to get shot down by m4c but I would very much like Paul Cahill at 19 barring a huge slide from Johnston, I also wouldn't be displeased with a Schoenmakers or Cornelius.

I agree with that mate, but re pick 19 - who is best out of Brown, McKernan Lewis Johnston and Schoenmakers? All seem like they may be around for our second round picks, who would we want? Someone like McKernan could kill 2 birds with 1 stone - could be a third tall up forward and a back-up ruckman. That would give us some good flexibility. Then again, he may do neither quite good enough.

Of those 4 I'd go Johnston, Mckernan/Schoenmakers, Brown.
I see Johnston as a bit of a Travis Cloke and a fair bit above the others although I like Schoenmakers.
Mckernan I don't mind but he will most likely end up a KPF who rucks the forwardline.
Brown I have not seen a whole heap of but I believe he is a 'project' player in that he still needs to do a bit/ a lot before he is AFL ready where as the others could step in to play next year.

I think it will be really best available as we need people all over the ground. They have known this the last 2 years which has worked to our advantage as other teams have been more specific which has allowed grimes and marric to fall through the net.

I just want some people who can actually kick the thing :thumbsu:
"Best Available" seems to be a safe option and in most cases logical option for clubs who are building from the ground up but I am not convinced that it should be the golden rule.

In my view, clubs (with respect to the draft) can go in cycles with how they go about their picks and the rationale behind them. Take both Carlton and Hawthorn, they both went for best available (midfielders) and then in subsequent drafts they fine tuned according to need. ie Franklin/Roughhead as forwards and Kruezer as a much needed ruckman.

We are already going for the best available in Watts who also happens to fill a big void in our forward set up. Your point about Grimey and Maric is an excellent one but as I said teams go in cycles and perpetually sticking to that mindset can be off the mark over say 2 or 3 consecutive drafts. You may end up with an excess of talent in certain areas.

With my wish list (and most) we go for the best available midfielder with pick 17 which is a no-brainer anyway. You also have to look at where you went in previous drafts and Cale Morton will be a more than accomplished mid for us so do we really need to go overboard on flash mids (with our 3rd pick) even if they are marginally better options than the best of the forward KPPs?

I think that at some point within a cycle of drafts a club has to draw a line in the sand and fine tune positions with a strategy at developing the list over the park. Sure if there are real guns available in other positions then consider them but I am a believer in the importance of timing and as such I don't think that there is one superior drafting rule over another.

"Best available" is good when you are starting from scratch or have a good list and just want to complement it as best possible - teams can veer in and out of these situations over a period of time, it is all transient IMO.

Of those 4 I'd go Johnston, Mckernan/Schoenmakers, Brown.
I see Johnston as a bit of a Travis Cloke and a fair bit above the others although I like Schoenmakers.
Mckernan I don't mind but he will most likely end up a KPF who rucks the forwardline.
Brown I have not seen a whole heap of but I believe he is a 'project' player in that he still needs to do a bit/ a lot before he is AFL ready where as the others could step in to play next year.
IMO contested marks and goal kicking accuracy are the priorities - they are what make forwards dangerous - not sure who fits the bill best though out of that group. Tackling and work ethic also important. Personally I am not so worried about a forward who can work down the ground, we have enough of those players who roam around HF. We need a tall forward who sticks to a particular area and game plan so our mids know that if they are in trouble they can use this guy as a guaranteed marking option.

Watts will obviously take a while to come on and once he does he will need a bit of space and he gets around a bit anyway so I reckon a stay at home tall forward who can take grabs is what we want.

I agree a good, strong forward with great hands would be more preferable than a lead up CHF - if Master Bate improves he might be able to hold down that spot for us.

On another note it was interesting to see Emma's list from last year - she had Tom Mcnamara at no.23 and we ended up getting him at 66. I don't really know much about the kid but Emma seems to know her stuff so he must be extremely talented.

What possie would be play and could he debut this season?

I agree a good, strong forward with great hands would be more preferable than a lead up CHF - if Master Bate improves he might be able to hold down that spot for us.

On another note it was interesting to see Emma's list from last year - she had Tom Mcnamara at no.23 and we ended up getting him at 66. I don't really know much about the kid but Emma seems to know her stuff so he must be extremely talented.

What possie would be play and could he debut this season?

She knows her stuff, but in her top 25's it's not always where they will go but what she thinks will be the draft redone in 10 years time, Mcnamara only made the cut-off by a day or two last year, he had a pretty decent championships last year as CHB for SA.
I wonder if he's grown(I assume he would have) since last year, because he was listed at 190cm's, probably too short to play KP, although it's not like we need another KPB...
He should really be compared to this years draftees as he was the youngest taken last year and will be the same age as them.
I don't think he cracked sandy seniors this year, but he showed improvement in the ressies. Apparently a mate who lives out that way and gets to a few games reckons he plays a bit like Jared Rivers, although he isn't as good one on one, as can be expected of a 17/18 year old...
As for his possie, I think he could be a CHB or possibly a tall winger but will most likely settle into a running 3rd tall role, similar to Mackie.
I don't think he will get a gig this year as he is last in line for what is probably our best filled spot, but stranger things have happened.

As for the best 'stay at home' forward, I think that term is pretty much defunct, as I struggle to think of many successful forwards of this nature, Bradshaw is the only one I can really think of.
However I really like Johnston, I liken him to Cloke because he can play at CHF and be that link up forward, or he can play from the goal square and really exert himself physically(he is a tank of a kid(also his hair is pretty cool)).
Schoenmakers plays up the ground a fair bit, kind of what Bate does now, he had grown to true KP size however I don't see him ever being a proper FF.
Mckernan could very well be that FF, he can take a contested mark and is physically bigger than most, however I'm not sure how well he would go as a forward, he has played most of his time in the ruck and rests as a 3rd tall, I'm not sure how he would go as a focal point.
Brown is probably the best of those options to play traditional full forward(good on the lead, contested marks), but I have question marks over his frame, he really shot up this year(just under 6 inches apparently), and he is ridiculously skinny which is fair enough, but I'm just not sure whether he would be able to bulk up enough to be anything more than a 3rd tall at AFL level.
Other potential options are Cornelius who has ridiculous hands, but it worries me when players say that they see themselves as 3rd talls.
Liam Jones is another with solid hands and decent leading ability, he's a bit of a project, but if he's there at 51 I'd definitely take a punt on him.
Paul Cahill from SA is one who I quite like, possibly my favourite player in this draft, he is not really a KPF in the way he plays, but he has the height and he is an athletic freak, he can also take a decent mark, Pity he is possibly one of the worst kicks coming in to the draft :eek:

In order of personal preference if I was to rate those forwards it would go Johnston, Cahill/Schoenmakers, Mckernan, Cornelius/Jones/Brown

I don't think we need anymore backman regardless of how good they may be (Phil Davis) first ive heard of him to be honest and i dont think we can afford to take a bolter Brown either.

As others have said Watts at and mids at 17 and 19.

Did she rank players 1 to 25, cos cordy at 8 to Geelong when he will be father son to doggies. Questions mark on Yarran work rate? Rich at 9? he is ready made and Hurley at 13 Carlton will not let him slip that far.

Saj - it was Emma's go at ranking the boys in order of talent, rather than guessing the draft order. So Cordy is what she thinks the 8th best talent in the draft, not where he'll go obviously.

I for one am getting more and more excited as teh draft approaches!

At 17 I want a mid and at 19 a KPP, at 35 I'd like a mid but if Roughead/Redden are around I'd probably take a punt on them.

It's quite hard to pick who will be available because the spread is pretty even between 10-25, however I'd like to see Sidebottom/Hill fall, both have got extremely good wraps of late due to individual success, neither of which were considered 'top' picks prior to these feats.
In preference for 17 I'd probably say Sidebottom, Swift, Blease, Suban then Hill.
As for 19, Mitch Brown is a decent prospect but I'd have more than a few ahead of him, however his upside is high because he apparently grew about 12 or so cm since this time last year, so he is quite new to the whole KP gig.
I'm probably going to get shot down by m4c but I would very much like Paul Cahill at 19 barring a huge slide from Johnston, I also wouldn't be displeased with a Schoenmakers or Cornelius.

You've got your theory right, i think we need to take best available mid at 17, because otherwise they'll go to WC at pick 18. It's unlikely WC will take a KP forward at 18, especially if they take Naitanui.

Sidebottom not considered a top pick? Were we watching the same kid? He was top 10 or there abouts for me prior to the TAC finals series and his big game performances just sured up for me that he was a definite first round selection. If we get him at 17 i'll do nude cartwheels down Bourke St with excitement, and the clubs after about pick 6 or 7 will all have major regrets in years to come for not picking him. Hill's DC really shot him up the list though, he was considered by most a late 1st round pick at best prior to DC (i was hoping pick 17), to now being a potential top 3 pick. But i wouldn't be surprised to see him not go top 10 if he doesn't go to freo at 3.

I like your mid order, but i'd move Hill from last to 3rd and throw Ash Smith in somewhere. I like Blease but both he & Hill are picks based a lot on potential and at this stage Hill looks to have the greater potential. I rate Suban, but we so desperately need leg speed i'd maybe choose a slightly lesser player over him, but i'd be far from disappointed to get Suban & we could take him as best available then hope for a speedster at pick 35 like Ali Smith.

Agree about Brown, he's a hard one to call but i don't think i could use pick 19 on him. I'd rather us take another mid if he was the KP we wanted & then go tall at 35. Same with Tom Lynch, who the HS had going to us in their phantom, there are others who'd i'd rather ahead of him, including Brown.

I won't shoot you down, i think i was even at one early stage suggesting Cahill at 19, but as you mention in your later post he's a below average shot at goal, and i know it can be improved but it's too big a drawback for me at pick 19. If the club likes Cahill though, i'd rather us take 2 mids (Ash Smith please, quick with good skills, need i say more) and hope that Cahill slides to 35, which is a definite possibility. And then we could take a ruckman at 51 like Stanley or Clarke or possibly a Redden slide.

I don't think we have to take a ruckman with one of our first 4 picks, unless we like Redden or Roughead and they make it to pick 35, i'd rather 2 forwards & 2 mids with the first 4 picks, then go for a ruckman at pick 51.

I would love to take as many KPPs as possible. I know we are not full up with unbelievable mids, but KPPs take longer to develop - and if we consider that 2009 might be a rebuilding year (again) and we get som decent picks in that draft - I would be confident that we could bolster our midfield stocks.

Obviously best avaiable will be the mantra - but KPP is where we are most lacking and where we have limited potential to cover in a year or so, especially up forward with Robbo going. We will have Jack Watts and.........Jack Watts up there. We need a full forward and CHF ASAP.

Saj - it was Emma's go at ranking the boys in order of talent, rather than guessing the draft order. So Cordy is what she thinks the 8th best talent in the draft, not where he'll go obviously.

I for one am getting more and more excited as teh draft approaches!

I figured thats wat the case was, however i still would liketo go with two midfielders with 17 19.

Looks like, after Watts (hopefully) we'll choose the best available talent with our picks:

From today's Hun:

If, as expected, the Demons take Watts, they will not be choosing on a needs basis with their second and third picks.
There is no plan to grab a midfielder and defender to complete the mix.
"I think we'll just go best talent. We're in need of a variety of players," Prendergast said.
"We're not like Hawthorn, Geelong or clubs up the top end who think, 'If we pluck a certain type of player for our list, it gives us a chance to win a premiership next year'.
"We're not in that market. We just need to get as much talent as we possibly can."

I think the demons should go for all the best talls they can. Top midfielders are great but dominent talls are harder to come by and why not use your good draft picks while you can?

As i said before, there are great midfielders all over the place, but only a few top-quality talls.

I can't think of 1 premiership side that did'nt have at least 1 key forward capable of kicking 60+ in a season.

We have to get at least 2 KPF from this draft and with Watts being the first, I'd like the second to be chosen with 17, 19 or 35. Considering this is a very good draft, a player drafted at 35 could well have the impact of a player drafted in the 20's last year.

IMO McKernan is the type of KPF we want, Shoenmakers and Cornelius are more 3rd talls and they're a lot easier to come by than 196cm tall forwards.

I don't think we have to take a ruckman with one of our first 4 picks, unless we like Redden or Roughead and they make it to pick 35, i'd rather 2 forwards & 2 mids with the first 4 picks, then go for a ruckman at pick 51.
That sounds fair.

I originally had a ruckman at pick 35 simply based on ignorance more than anything. Wasn't sure about the quality of ruck stocks further down the list. As you say, if a good one slides to 35 then go for it otherwise use the next pick.

2 forwards and 2 mids seems to be the most common wish amongst posters and whether we use 19 for a mid and 35 for a forward or vice versa I guess will be based on who is available.

My ideal scenario in the draft would be to take;

Watts at 1

Best midefielder at 17, hopefully swift, blease, sidebottom (doubt he will be avalable)

Best KPF at 19 McKernan or Lewis Johnston are my top two

Ruckman at 35 Roughead or Redden should be available here.

Midefielders with the rest of our picks, wouldnt mind hilsop with our last pick

National Draft Top 25 - Emma Quayle