NEAFL- 2014

Surprising to an Easterner that the NEAFL is charging $15 admission for a NEAFL practice match...in Sydney, we don't even charge admission for a home-and-away match in the proper season.
Even with the gates thrown open, we only get 150 or so.

wowzers, i guess it better have been the best damn practice match of all time.
I mean i only paid $4 to see the Suns play the bombers up here a couple of weeks ago.

From what I have seen, the Southport mini draft was meant to be held last night. Anyone know how it went down?

Surprising to an Easterner that the NEAFL is charging $15 admission for a NEAFL practice match...in Sydney, we don't even charge admission for a home-and-away match in the proper season.
Obviously trying to keep the scouts out. :D
How could anyone think that this was a good idea?

The NEAFL match was curtain raiser to the Lions/Swans preseason game. Late Friday afternoon there had been 3000 tickets sold. 4,500 was the expectation.

Not sure where the news about being a women's curtain raiser came from. There were at least four games for the admission including the main AFL game. Not bad value I would have thought?

It was also the christening of the Burpengary AFL complex north of Brisbane. The logistics around the game were pretty challenging apparently.

Yeah a bit of liberal reporting there justabreaker. Not exactly just a NEAFL match!! The womens match is the actual curtain raiser to the NAB Cup game Hornets, Aspley v Lions is on Oval 2.

I saw the practice match today between UWS Giants and SHEagles...it's only a practice match of course.
I reckon our new friends in the North should be very worried about the UWS Giants (but, yes, I know that you won't hardly cross paths with them until finals time). These guys are a far stronger outfit than they have been in the previous years.
Not convinced that SHEagles have improved much....but it's only a practice match after all. A lot of their old faithfuls are still going around, but I didn't see match winning new recruits today. Some new faces but no-one burnt the house down today.

Every Giant is a superfit, well-cut athletic specimen who would stand out on Bondi Beach on a Sunday afternoon; the SHEagles looked like tradies and accountants who play footy on the weekend.

I'd like to hear from our new friends up North as to what you thought of Burpengary....looked pretty good when I caught a glimpse of the development as it was pre-Christmas.

What's the capacity ? And what will it be used for ? Did you like it ?

I saw the practice match today between UWS Giants and SHEagles...it's only a practice match of course.
I reckon our new friends in the North should be very worried about the UWS Giants (but, yes, I know that you won't hardly cross paths with them until finals time). These guys are a far stronger outfit than they have been in the previous years.
Not convinced that SHEagles have improved much....but it's only a practice match after all. A lot of their old faithfuls are still going around, but I didn't see match winning new recruits today. Some new faces but no-one burnt the house down today.

Every Giant is a superfit, well-cut athletic specimen who would stand out on Bondi Beach on a Sunday afternoon; the SHEagles looked like tradies and accountants who play footy on the weekend.
giants year in start strong and always fall away which is embarassing for them, odds on this will happen again this year.however the eagles or sheages as you call them will go ok but i think most easterm clubs out of depth againts nothern counterparts. this season will be the litmus test.

A big crowd at Burpedgary today.... great facility. Official attendance a little over 6000. I know it was a scratch match, but it may be a long season for the Lions.

stuyd1,

Is that a long season in both AFL and NEAFL comps - it is a bit of baptism of fire for Leppa.

Once again it seems that the lions have fallen for the old 3 card trick of recruiting a majority of youngsters who may have looked good amongst their peers but are only just boys amongst men at the big end of the game (this I must add after watching todays game is including those playing at the moment in the new vamped NEAFL comp) this also includes some of the discards they have picked up from other AFL Clubs, Oh how quick the mighty have fallen.

Watched rhe first half of Queanbeyan and Albury which was played in Wodonga. Despite missing a few players the young Queanbeyan side really took it too the much physically bigger and stronger Albury opponents. (Albury would easily play finals football in the NEAFL). when I left I think Queanbeyan may have bern marginally in front. Not sure how it panned out after half time maybe Gois can fill us in.
Im sure Queanbeyans brains trust would have been encouraged by the effort and pressure

Watched rhe first half of Queanbeyan and Albury which was played in Wodonga. Despite missing a few players the young Queanbeyan side really took it too the much physically bigger and stronger Albury opponents. (Albury would easily play finals football in the NEAFL). when I left I think Queanbeyan may have bern marginally in front. Not sure how it panned out after half time maybe Gois can fill us in.
Im sure Queanbeyans brains trust would have been encouraged by the effort and pressure

Don't know about that especially given Queanbeyan were beating them. O&M generally slower inside contested physical football style and I think they would be exposed on the fast decks up here in QLD at least. Have seen a lot of big reputation O&M players come up north in the past and really struggle up here.
Saw a bit of the Southport and Redland game here on the coast yesterday. Southport looked far to good for Redland early on but to Redlands credit they steadied and made it a contest later. Think the end margin was about 5 goals. Matty Angus looks to have the Sharks playing a good brand of football with a lot of new players out there.
Still think there were a lot players not on the field. Saw Pfeiffer and Carse doing the running for Redland and I think Goldsmith for Southport so both must have a few to come back in.

Don't know about that especially given Queanbeyan were beating them. O&M generally slower inside contested physical football style and I think they would be exposed on the fast decks up here in QLD at least. Have seen a lot of big reputation O&M players come up north in the past and really struggle up here.
Saw a bit of the Southport and Redland game here on the coast yesterday. Southport looked far to good for Redland early on but to Redlands credit they steadied and made it a contest later. Think the end margin was about 5 goals. Matty Angus looks to have the Sharks playing a good brand of football with a lot of new players out there.
Still think there were a lot players not on the field. Saw Pfeiffer and Carse doing the running for Redland and I think Goldsmith for Southport so both must have a few to come back in.

And you queenslanders would struggle on the softer decks in the o and m. You blokes are awfully fond of yourselves.

You said they would easily play finals in the NEAFL. Who said anything about our sides playing down there?

They would easily play finals in the NEAFL. If they were in the NEAFL you would have to play down here, same as they would up there. But I forgot. The NEAFL is a Queensland comp

Well if a young Queanbeyan side were beating them but they would easily play NEAFL finals, lets see if the Tigers make the finals series easily themselves that might be an indication? Not having a go I just don't think O&M is as good as many make it out to be and I think many underrate our own league.

stuyd1,

Is that a long season in both AFL and NEAFL comps - it is a bit of baptism of fire for Leppa.

Once again it seems that the lions have fallen for the old 3 card trick of recruiting a majority of youngsters who may have looked good amongst their peers but are only just boys amongst men at the big end of the game (this I must add after watching todays game is including those playing at the moment in the new vamped NEAFL comp) this also includes some of the discards they have picked up from other AFL Clubs, Oh how quick the mighty have fallen.
disagree the players in the lions neafl team will improve fast and will be much better at the back end of the year, aspley were great yesterday the additions of Grose,Holman etc is awesome, the lions neafl team was full of first year boys and that is better then the majority being 3rd year players that wont improve the afl team. thought the lions seniors were quite good to loose by 4 goals against the swans who fielded 28 players v 23 (then beams went down) staker and mcgrath will help with kicking goals

your b&f from not that long ago daley had minimal imact on the 2nd tier comp up here so please..... lots of money in o&m just keep paying fevs debts and barry retirement fund...

Really!! Saw him play a few times - accumulates possessions but average user - but on the soft decks of the O&M you probably just need to move it forward...:D

Stupid arguement Orange Peeler - why even start it?? The NEAFL will be a step down from the VFL/SANFL/WAFL this year still but unless Albury can knock VFL sides over then you won't beat any of the NEAFL sides this year except for maybe the one on the bottom.

Really!! Saw him play a few times - accumulates possessions but average user - but on the soft decks of the O&M you probably just need to move it forward...:D

Stupid arguement Orange Peeler - why even start it?? The NEAFL will be a step down from the VFL/SANFL/WAFL this year still but unless Albury can knock VFL sides over then you won't beat any of the NEAFL sides this year except for maybe the one on the bottom.

I remember a few years ago Aspley brought up 7-8 of the best in the O&M league and managed to come 2nd last in the old QAFL comp. The NEAFL is stronger and the boys are fitter and faster.The O&M boys have good skills and are tough but its country v state league footy, IMO the stronger NEAFL clubs would make a mess of O&M clubs assuming a firm dry ground. Who cares anyway? We will never know.

I am actually of the opinion that with the new NEAFL the gap between the top NEAFL teams and the VFL/WAFL/SANFL teams will be less this year. Hopefully Aspley goes into the foxtel cup and sends a good team and performs well. Time will tell but I reckon the NEAFL will be viewed in the future as virtually the same standard as the big 3.

I remember a few years ago Aspley brought up 7-8 of the best in the O&M league and managed to come 2nd last in the old QAFL comp. The NEAFL is stronger and the boys are fitter and faster.The O&M boys have good skills and are tough but its country v state league footy, IMO the stronger NEAFL clubs would make a mess of O&M clubs assuming a firm dry ground. Who cares anyway? We will never know.

I am actually of the opinion that with the new NEAFL the gap between the top NEAFL teams and the VFL/WAFL/SANFL teams will be less this year. Hopefully Aspley goes into the foxtel cup and sends a good team and performs well. Time will tell but I reckon the NEAFL will be viewed in the future as virtually the same standard as the big 3.
aspley will go well in the Foxtlel cup

You blokes are kidding yourselves.But i guess no one south of the tweed is worth a pinch

disagree the players in the lions neafl team will improve fast and will be much better at the back end of the year, aspley were great yesterday the additions of Grose,Holman etc is awesome, the lions neafl team was full of first year boys and that is better then the majority being 3rd year players that wont improve the afl team. thought the lions seniors were quite good to loose by 4 goals against the swans who fielded 28 players v 23 (then beams went down) staker and mcgrath will help with kicking goals

Correct me if I am wrong but in all the years the Lions reserves have played in the Qld State League / NEAFL Completion, were they not the most dangerous at the start of each season, I remember them in the past giving some state League sides a real touch up at the start of the season - then (apart from the last 2 years) they then dropped off the pace as the year went on, due to injuries to senior players and Lee and Vossey resting players etc.

This year it seems that if you snooze you loose, as these state league clubs such as Aspley, Southport and Redlands (due to their, up to 35 listed players and 10 rookies) have really IMO come of age - finally what the AFL Clubs have been searching for all these years has come to realism, The standard of these clubs has improved overnight, to the point were they (the AFL/NEAFL) might have to tinker with the rules going forward to weaken these clubs so the AFL sides can be more competitive.

In regard to the seniors, 4 goals is not a big margin but please, the Swans have 6 + top line players out - with Clay Beams, unfortunately this is his second injury in 3 games (I hope he is ok and is back soon but at the end of the day he is no Gary Ablett), Staker has not been the same player since big Bazza Hall stiffened him up some years ago and Ash is not he fastest bloke going around, his best years may be behind him, the Lions IMO based on what I saw yesterday are in for a very long year in both grades.

Also can someone remind me again, why we don't play Lions reserve games at the Gabba prior to the senior games, the Lions would be the only club in the NEAFL Comp not to have this luxury and this must upset their preparation pre game - is it the same reason made by the same numb nuts that here in Qld they call off fixture games in State League and the minor Leagues when it gets to wet to play!!!!! The Gabba was a dog track years ago, it is there to play Footy and Cricket on so lets play and not have crap excuses why we can't play there.

I grew up in Albury and played in the O&M for most of my career. I still follow it closely , even though I reside up here on QLD, (attended the past 3 O&M Grand Finals). IMO, Albury and Yarrawonga, would be competitive in the NEAFL, possibly finishing about 5th and 6th , but no better than this. ( based on 2013 season). The third strong club there, be it Lavington, might finish around 8th... would proberly beat Mt Gravatt and Labrador..
The NEAFL, has improved in standard in all facets so much over the past 10 years,( especially the past 4 years) . Thus this comp is now of a much higher standard then the O&M. As, 2010 premier said, NEAFL is state league level and closing the gap in regards to the VFL,SANFL/WAFL COMPS. The O&M is about the best country footy league in the country, has been for 50 years.Credit to the clubs involved.The leagues profile has been heightened by the recruitment of good ex AFL players over the past 3 years, but a dozen or so of this type of recruit amongst 10 clubs, still does not improve the standard of the comp in a large way.
ps; just to set the record straight, all this hype about the dry QLD surfaces against the wet , muddy surfaces in the O&M, is somewhat incorrect.I mean, come April and May, the grounds are perfect, June and July will see some heavy conditions if there has been a lot of rain, and August/Semptember sees perfect playing surfaces. June and July, if not a lot of rain, sees cold and windy conditions and surface dew, making the ball slippery to handle.

NEAFL- 2014