NEAFL- 2014

You blokes are kidding yourselves. But I guess no one south of the tweed is worth a pinch

Not true orange peeler, lets see how the season starts and finishes - I hope that the GWS Giants reserve team are a much better side this year, but due to the fixture we Northerners will not be able to gauge this until the final series - it will be a sham for your game down there if the only opposition to them and the Swan reserves sides are each other - it will be an interesting year in more ways than one.

So keep your head up as we look forward to your teams visiting Qld and our teams visiting NSW & the ACT at the end of the day the chaff will get separated from the wheat as there is no way we can gauge how strong the O&M League is compared to the NEAFL and at the end of the day, who really cares.

I'd like to hear from our new friends up North as to what you thought of Burpengary....looked pretty good when I caught a glimpse of the development as it was pre-Christmas.

What's the capacity ? And what will it be used for ? Did you like it ?

justabaraker,

Great complex indeed 3 grounds in pristine condition - the club rooms looked ok but the clubhouse was closed to us plebs only open for officials etc. - The only downer was that there was no parking at the ground yesterday - so public transport and shuttle buses were used yesterday, I trust this changes once the NEAFL games are played there throughout the year, otherwise it won't attract to many supporters - it is not the Gabba or the SCG.

I am not sure about on going use of the ground (it was used at one stage through the new NEAFL Club negotiations as a if you don't agree to our terms we will start a new club their etc.) - I think common sense prevailed and now the Caboolture Lions (who are in the second tier AFL Comp) are scheduled to play their games there - if this is the case this complex itself will entice some new players to their club as this complex is super and the grounds (if they are kept in the same condition) are second to none. If this is the new standard that the AFL with State and Local Governments are implementing to new AFL precincts through out Australia, then hold on to your hats because it leaves the standard of local AFL facilities IMO out of the reach of all other sports around the country. Don't you just love when the Corporate and Broadcast rights $$$$$$$ are spent on the grass roots (pardon the pun) of the game. Hats off to the AFL on this precinct.

It is indeed Cabooltures home turf now BB - and you are right, will attract players. Parking will be inside the ground area from now on. And the ovals will be used for rep games on the north side I reckon - the 16's State champs have a number of matches scheduled there for instance. Just a smart move by the AFL really - with the Lions taking up a footprint in Springfield, obviously the GC covered as well, then the Caboolture/Morayfield region, being one of the largest growth areas in Queensland, needed good exposure as well. Very strong RL area but like most things RL, generally poorly run, massive behaviour issues in their local comps with players/spectators and so a good chance of getting a foothold.

I remember a few years ago Aspley brought up 7-8 of the best in the O&M league and managed to come 2nd last in the old QAFL comp. The NEAFL is stronger and the boys are fitter and faster.The O&M boys have good skills and are tough but its country v state league footy, IMO the stronger NEAFL clubs would make a mess of O&M clubs assuming a firm dry ground. Who cares anyway? We will never know.

I am actually of the opinion that with the new NEAFL the gap between the top NEAFL teams and the VFL/WAFL/SANFL teams will be less this year. Hopefully Aspley goes into the foxtel cup and sends a good team and performs well. Time will tell but I reckon the NEAFL will be viewed in the future as virtually the same standard as the big 3.

100% agree 2010 - is why I always thought the NEAFL concept was a good one this year - increased the standard by maybe 40%?? Provide a comp closer on par with the southern State leagues.
Stuyd - GV is the #1 Vic country comp isn't it based on the Vic Country champs?? O&M is a lazy 4th...:confused:

100% agree 2010 - is why I always thought the NEAFL concept was a good one this year - increased the standard by maybe 40%?? Provide a comp closer on par with the southern State leagues.
Stuyd - GV is the #1 Vic country comp isn't it based on the Vic Country champs?? O&M is a lazy 4th...:confused:
smy,
it is a long well known fact that the overall standard of the O&M comp is the strongest in country vic/nsw.The Vic country championships has lost a lot of meaning over the past few years, with a lot of players and their clubs not interested in the competition.For example,the O&M rep sides over the past 4 or 5 years would be rated as a B or even C grade side, because of the players who made themselves unavailable.The other leagues have recognized this and went in for the kill so to speak.Another example, currently the GVFL is rated no 1.This comp is a very good comp, but still not quite up to the O&M standard overall.
I see this season, the O&M board has met with the clubs and a concerted effort is going to be applied to make the top players in the league participate,with the goal of proving themselves as the premier comp.I looked at the side they fielded in 2013, and then penned a side that included all absentees and I tell you, no other comp in Victoria would get within 7 or 8 goals .Anyway, all good fun and just my opinion. Enjoy my O&M, as it was my grassroots. Now, I enjoy the NEAFL and QAFL and Broadbeach.

I remember a few years ago Aspley brought up 7-8 of the best in the O&M league and managed to come 2nd last in the old QAFL comp. The NEAFL is stronger and the boys are fitter and faster.The O&M boys have good skills and are tough but its country v state league footy, IMO the stronger NEAFL clubs would make a mess of O&M clubs assuming a firm dry ground. Who cares anyway? We will never know.

I am actually of the opinion that with the new NEAFL the gap between the top NEAFL teams and the VFL/WAFL/SANFL teams will be less this year. Hopefully Aspley goes into the foxtel cup and sends a good team and performs well. Time will tell but I reckon the NEAFL will be viewed in the future as virtually the same standard as the big 3.
2010 premier,
Aspley that year recruited some guys from the O&M ,,, yes, but they were not in anyway the best players in that comp, and it was 4 players. I recall these players performances whilst at Aspley.
1) Hartwig,
2) Shir
3) Carpenter
4) Sheehan
All of these guys were constantly named in the best players over the season. Shir, copped a broken jaw and Hartwig a broken ankle,half way thru the season and didn't play again.In 2013, Carpenter and Sheehan played VFL, Hartwig back at Wangaratta Rovers(had a good year) and Shir at the Albury Tigers where he was named on the bench in their grand final side.so mate, your above post is not correct.
Also, someone mentioned Shaun Daly. This guy in his younger days played many games at SANFL senior level, won a b&f here and won league and club b&f at a two other clubs after his SANFL career, including Albury. The guy could of choosen to play for a NEAFL club when he relocated to QLD, but obviously he felt it was time to lay back and concentrate on his work career, but still enjoy a kick of the footy.

broadbeach came second last that year. aspley finished 7th

As NOP indicated earlier, Queanbeyan Tigers did take on Albury Tigers in a trial on the weekend. Qbn ran out reasonably comfortable winners in the end by five or six goals. It was a solid performance (in mid-30 degree heat) against quality opposition that included plenty of AFL experience (Setanta and Aisake O'hailpin, Dean Polo and a couple of others I think).

Being the first game I think both sides had a few out and perhaps a few underdone so weren't yet at full strength. I haven't seen enough O&M footy to be able to comment much on the discussion that NOP has started. But if the game on the weekend is any indicator I'd suggest Qbn is a little improved on last year (even with the loss of a few quality players) and Albury would have to improve quite a lot on the weekend's performance if it were to be a theoretical finals chance if they were theoretically in the NEAFL.

We've heard a lot about how the QLD teams have been bolstered by the clubs that have dropped out of the NEAFL and I have no doubt they'll all be very strong. I haven't heard anything about Ainslie down here, but they always pick up some handy players and usually just go about their business pretty quietly in the pre-season. Belconnen sound like they have lost a few. The Bennett brothers have both had off season ops so will be a bit underdone early. Other than a new coach I haven't heard anything about recruits for them. Eastlake sound like they may have dropped off a bit. They've lost some top liners in O'Dwyer and Brabazon as well as quite a few other solid/good players like Roulstone to country footy. The influx of players to them from Tuggeranong will offset some losses.

I saw the Swans play GWS in the NAB Challenge. The Swans had plenty of outs, but players who'll spend most of the year in NEAFL all stood up. They have three monsters in Derickx, Naismith and Nankervis who'll dominate in NEAFL when they can't get a game in the AFL ahead of players like Franklin, Pyke and Roberts-Thomson. The GWS NEAFL side also looks very strong. I think those two sides are certainties for a finals spot. They are too strong not to.

But until we all start playing each other I guess this is all just speculation and hot air. The real stuff can't start soon enough for me.

As NOP indicated earlier, Queanbeyan Tigers did take on Albury Tigers in a trial on the weekend. Qbn ran out reasonably comfortable winners in the end by five or six goals. It was a solid performance (in mid-30 degree heat) against quality opposition that included plenty of AFL experience (Setanta and Aisake O'hailpin, Dean Polo and a couple of others I think).

Being the first game I think both sides had a few out and perhaps a few underdone so weren't yet at full strength. I haven't seen enough O&M footy to be able to comment much on the discussion that NOP has started. But if the game on the weekend is any indicator I'd suggest Qbn is a little improved on last year (even with the loss of a few quality players) and Albury would have to improve quite a lot on the weekend's performance if it were to be a theoretical finals chance if they were theoretically in the NEAFL.

We've heard a lot about how the QLD teams have been bolstered by the clubs that have dropped out of the NEAFL and I have no doubt they'll all be very strong. I haven't heard anything about Ainslie down here, but they always pick up some handy players and usually just go about their business pretty quietly in the pre-season. Belconnen sound like they have lost a few. The Bennett brothers have both had off season ops so will be a bit underdone early. Other than a new coach I haven't heard anything about recruits for them. Eastlake sound like they may have dropped off a bit. They've lost some top liners in O'Dwyer and Brabazon as well as quite a few other solid/good players like Roulstone to country footy. The influx of players to them from Tuggeranong will offset some losses.

I saw the Swans play GWS in the NAB Challenge. The Swans had plenty of outs, but players who'll spend most of the year in NEAFL all stood up. They have three monsters in Derickx, Naismith and Nankervis who'll dominate in NEAFL when they can't get a game in the AFL ahead of players like Franklin, Pyke and Roberts-Thomson. The GWS NEAFL side also looks very strong. I think those two sides are certainties for a finals spot. They are too strong not to.

But until we all start playing each other I guess this is all just speculation and hot air. The real stuff can't start soon enough for me.

Michael,
Albury had about 12 regular senior players out, played a number of promising reserve grade and under 18 players, and have no doubt Queanbeyan would of been similar. First trial match, a lot of experimenting with players etc etc, as is the norm at this time of the season...

Another dopey question from me.....and they say there's no such thing as a stupid question but just a stupid answer.
Bare with me please......

What will happen to the NEAFL at the end of this season ? I understood that the NSW/ACT teams would have their involvement reassessed at season's end - is that correct ? And what becomes of them if they miss the cut ?

And where do the recently reassessed QLD/NT teams stand at season's end ?

The jungle drums that I am hearing are beating out a tune that is different from what I expected.

After all the effort that is going into strengthening all community NEAFL clubs and improving grounds and corporate governance, it's hard to imagine them being cut adrift so soon.

I see the Suns beat Southport comprehensively and Redland played all over Aspley yesterday in a few surprising results. Any results from down east?

Looks like it could be a very even comp up in the north with any team capable of knocking off the other on their day.

I see the Suns beat Southport comprehensively and Redland played all over Aspley yesterday in a few surprising results. Any results from down east?
UWS Giants easily beat Swans. As someone else remarked, the results in the NEAFL, as well as in the Big League, suggest that the Giants have great depth now, and the Swans are light on. I watched UWS last weekend as previously mentioned, and they looked very very good. And BIG !

Some other practice matches in the Eastern today but I don't expect they would mean much. But the practice match form of Giants is worthy of attention.

When you think about it, it makes sense that the UWS and the Suns are coming good after a few lean years of setting themselves up. They should both be dominant in the next few years, both NEAFL and Big League.

Looks like it could be a very even comp up in the north with any team capable of knocking off the other on their day.

There where a few players missing from both sides at Casheezy Park as well yesterday Peanut01 - the standard of NEAFL footy has certainly changed this year and it sounds like from all areas.

UWS Giants easily beat Swans. As someone else remarked, the results in the NEAFL, as well as in the Big League, suggest that the Giants have great depth now, and the Swans are light on. I watched UWS last weekend as previously mentioned, and they looked very very good. And BIG !

Some other practice matches in the Eastern today but I don't expect they would mean much. But the practice match form of Giants is worthy of attention.

When you think about it, it makes sense that the UWS and the Suns are coming good after a few lean years of setting themselves up. They should both be dominant in the next few years, both NEAFL and Big League.

Tom Boyd play JB?

Albury Tigers towelled up Eastlakes by 10 goals on the weekend.

I saw the 2nd half and it looks like a long year for Eastlakes, and the Albury Tigers had about 10 players (including the O'Haiplins) not playing.

I see that the Suns towelled up Southport last weekend, but that the Suns had access to 8 toppies from Southport. Which is fair enough in a practice game.

But what happens in Round one when the two sides meet again ? Is there a restriction on how many Southport toppies can be used by Suns against them ?
We've had the same issue now here in the Eastern, and things get a bit wierd sometimes.
Not to mention how badly the NEAFL competition is compromised when guys from the same club are playing in legitimate games for opposing teams, against each other.

I see that the Suns towelled up Southport last weekend, but that the Suns had access to 8 toppies from Southport. Which is fair enough in a practice game.

But what happens in Round one when the two sides meet again ? Is there a restriction on how many Southport toppies can be used by Suns against them ?
We've had the same issue now here in the Eastern, and things get a bit wierd sometimes.
Not to mention how badly the NEAFL competition is compromised when guys from the same club are playing in legitimate games for opposing teams, against each other.
u wouldnt see it in wafl sanfl or vfl... so if neafl wants to be taken seriously top ups should be from outside teams

Agree, imo, the 4 AFL ressie sides will be the ones to beat,,, Aspley the most competitive ,but like Southport, Redland, and the other ACT and Sydney sides, just wont be up there.All the different rules with AFL sides being allowed to field so many listed players, allowed to top up and allowed to play academy players, not to mention listed players are full time employed,,, that's their job,,, and these listed players are the choosen ones as in the draft etc. The guys playing at our local clubs are the ones that got overlooked in the draft, with most not even didn't get nominated for the draft.Thus the local clubs have to put together a list of guys that have solid senior experience and youth that have missed the cut so to speak on a semi pro basis. ( at huge costs). , just not fair playing ground imo.
And as for a so called better pathway for youngsters to get drafted with this program, come on, a youngster with outstanding potential can be spotted in any comp he is playing in,,,, its then a matter of grabbing him and nurturing him into the elite level. eg, Jack Martin, Omeara etc. Lets face it, for years now, the majority of youngsters drafted have been from the Under 18 national championships,, where a lot of them haven't even played at a senior level consistently in their local comp. The QAFL, need to maximize their efforts in this area to give a better pathway for a talented youngster, and not in this current NEAFL format. For me, the current format is looking after the AFL ressie sides at the sacrifice of our local clubs.
And it flows down to the next division, listed players with Southport, Redland etc that don't make the senior side on a particular week are shifted out to the local division,, I mean, how do the Broadbeachs, Morningsides etc get decent stability into their playing group and selection of their sides on a weekly basis.
Sooner the AFL develop a reserve grade comp the better.( which is unlikely) the better it would be for our grassroots comps in QLD.

Wow, stuyd1, don't hold your breath waiting for the AFL to do something to help grassroots footy....in Qld, NSW, Vic or anywhere else. It's just not the way things are going I'm afraid.
Like you, I'd like to see grassroots footy get better but it ain't going to happen. Just look at the mission statements of the QAFL, the NSWAFL, the NEAFL, the VFL or the AFL - suburban footy doesn't really get mentioned much anymore.

Wow, stuyd1, don't hold your breath waiting for the AFL to do something to help grassroots footy....in Qld, NSW, Vic or anywhere else. It's just not the way things are going I'm afraid.
Like you, I'd like to see grassroots footy get better but it ain't going to happen. Just look at the mission statements of the QAFL, the NSWAFL, the NEAFL, the VFL or the AFL - suburban footy doesn't really get mentioned much anymore.
I know mate,,,,,, so true.

NEAFL- 2014