NEAFL- 2014

:D Fair enough mate, it's not like you are getting pumped in your losses and query yea aren't doing anything special. Talking to big Jed this morning actually, really enjoying his year so far which is great. Hey why buntain looking to head back to noosa. The kid wasn't that far off being rookie listed at the lions last year from what I've been told and now he is dropping 2 divisions!
Nothing football or club related SMY. Apparently doesn't need the pressure of high level footy at the moment. Probably a good move to enjoy footy and clear the head for a bit.

Hornets Nest,

I would disagree with this move from a moving forward perspective for this young bloke and any others - there are hundreds of kids with young Buntain's ability around the country, it seems in most cases where players are rookied, that AFL Clubs look for the kids with that special ability to not only play Football at the highest level but to also fight out the tough times when things are not going well - what we mostly call character building stuff.

There are still players at 25 years of age and even older not righting themselves off, thinking that they are still a chance to get a gig at the AFL Level - this all stems from someone telling them at a younger age that one day they could, if all the cards fall into place, play AFL at the highest level.

In young Buntain's and most other young footballers case's who feel or think that it might be all over, it just takes that one moment in time when a recruiter see's a spark of difference to the norm and it all could change - but they need to be seen playing against their peers at the highest high level they can participate in - IMO.

Hornets Nest,

I would disagree with this move from a moving forward perspective for this young bloke and any others - there are hundreds of kids with young Buntain's ability around the country, it seems in most cases where players are rookied, that AFL Clubs look for the kids with that special ability to not only play Football at the highest level but to also fight out the tough times when things are not going well - what we mostly call character building stuff.

There are still players at 25 years of age and even older not righting themselves off, thinking that they are still a chance to get a gig at the AFL Level - this all stems from someone telling them at a younger age that one day they could, if all the cards fall into place, play AFL at the highest level.

In young Buntain's and most other young footballers case's who feel or think that it might be all over, it just takes that one moment in time when a recruiter see's a spark of difference to the norm and it all could change - but they need to be seen playing against their peers at the highest high level they can participate in - IMO.
A fair enough comment from a football perspective BB. Unless we are aware of the non-football issues facing the young fella, it's not for us to say what is best for him from a "whole of life" point of view. E.g. Mitch Clarke? Not that I'm suggesting for a second that I know what he is facing. Hence my reluctance to dictate to him on this forum what is best in the circumstances.

Nah speaking to his dad on Saturday - just lost the drive for the moment. Disappointing but gee it would be difficult working hard all day then driving 300km 3-4x per week to train/play. Understandable imo. BB - its all about getting the player in the right head space - some only do it at 25! Really tough when you have to travel long distances.
Solution is to move to Bris, or to Vic/SANFL. Not everyone wants to do this, not everyone is driven to play at the highest level. Don't think its a bad thing him playing for Noosa - happy to be with mates and not chasing the almighty $$ like some blokes do.

Nah speaking to his dad on Saturday - just lost the drive for the moment. Disappointing but gee it would be difficult working hard all day then driving 300km 3-4x per week to train/play. Understandable imo. BB - its all about getting the player in the right head space - some only do it at 25! Really tough when you have to travel long distances.
Solution is to move to Bris, or to Vic/SANFL. Not everyone wants to do this, not everyone is driven to play at the highest level. Don't think its a bad thing him playing for Noosa - happy to be with mates and not chasing the almighty $$ like some blokes do.

smy1305,

You are 100% correct here in your post above - as long as he and all others are playing footy with their mates and enjoying their surroundings, home life, etc.

Really who are we to question any players reason for not perusing a career in footy at any time, it is just a shame that if you have the ability to give it a crack and don't, then you may regret for the rest of your life - in talking to some of the boys who do play at the top level it is really just a job (with some pretty good benefits) when it is all boiled down, but instead of having 1 or 2 bosses as we may have, they have hundreds, all supporters of the game have an opinion and if you have a bad game you are a dud or you are out of form etc. Then the perils that affect every player in every comp kick in but on a more to lose scale, if you don't carry out the job that the coaching staff give you - you may get dragged to the pine and have the possibility of missing a week or two for your trouble - there will always be a better player out there (unless you are G. Abblet Junior) who will make a drongo of you from time to time and this too will reflect in your match review and may have a consequence, injuries also play a big part on players use by dates and also personalities clashes with coaching staff and other influential players and sponsors also have a bearing on selection and the number of games played etc. Also your behaviour is under so much scrutiny than just the average Joe - So the hidden pressures of being a professional footballer are there all of the time, it is not as if you get paid the so called big bucks to play AFL footy and not have to work hard at it.

The limelight only lasts as long as you are in its glow - once the light goes out its back to reality and the real world - so lets enjoy our footy at what ever level, playing, watching, coaching, administering, as it is a great game and truly a great life leveller of man/woman kind.

Agree BB - he didn't really play footy until 16/17yrs old - played in the SC Power 18's side and that was nearly the first time he played. Doing an apprenticeship on the coast, fairly laconic kid from what i've been told but can play. He will be a jet in the North conference and the Noosa hierarchy would have had some movement in their pants the day he walked back into the footy club. His dad has been around the footy club for years, good Noosa people. Just reckon its great he hasn't decided that prostituting himself out to the highest bidder is the next step in his football development. Mates in melbourne tell me this is sooo common place with TAC boys these days it is laughable.

Sad to hear about Buntain, played some great games with the lions reserves and the lads at the panthers loved him. Definitely the last kid to **** himself around for the dollar. A certain lad tried everything to get him a pre season at Geelong. Between him and Hutchy at Aspley two very fine young up and coming backman.
Off to nt v sharks tonight, may even don the fluro and have a run around!

Tips
Giants
Nt
Redlands
Uni
Aspley
Queanbeyan

Sad to hear about Buntain, played some great games with the lions reserves and the lads at the panthers loved him. Definitely the last kid to **** himself around for the dollar. A certain lad tried everything to get him a pre season at Geelong. Between him and Hutchy at Aspley two very fine young up and coming backman.
Off to nt v sharks tonight, may even don the fluro and have a run around!

Tips
Giants
Nt
Redlands
Uni
Aspley
Queanbeyan
Tipping Thunder but donning the fluro for the opposition?

Redland beat Eagles by just 8

Thats a terrible effort by the Eagles, how dare they not get beaten by 100+

tumblr_m933a4umsK1ruiv8h.gif

Anyone got any Info on the Ainslie coach, apparenlty went postal at the umpires at the weekends game in Sydney????
Interesting aside today. Was meant to be "Community Umpire Appreciation Round" and clubs were asked to wear green armbands in recognition. I see from pics that GWS chose not to but Ainslie did. Rourkey must have gotten over his issues with the umpires. I hear he was reported by all seven umpires last week.

had a look at Southport v Thunder.
hideously over umpired. far too many frees given for essentially nothing, both ways. a game where the umps thought we were there to watch them. game would have been a much better spectacle if the umpires let it go a bit rather than blowing everything and lots of "umm that wasn't there".

Southport started well but faded in 2nd half pretty badly.

on that, and again this applies to both teams last night. I'm not sure NEAFL teams can sustain a full AFL style compress and slingshot so it maybe better not to try it. I know, I know, it the fashion. but AFL sides struggle to maintain it, part timers have got no hope. in the first half there were lots of times where the players were compressed into about 1/3 of the surface. in the second, not so much. TIO is a really really big place so doing it there is harder than some of the smaller grounds, but even then i can't see NEAFL sides maintaining this style for much more than 2 quarters.

On southport, they were a little chippy. whether that was a plan idk or whether that's a state of being. also one player of theirs really stood out, one of the ruckmen, unlike the rest of the southport guys he looked and ran like he trained at Maccas. it was jarring. all the other guys looked fit and hard, he most certainly did not. He was big and tall and flabby. aside from that. very well drilled, skilled, hard at it as you'd expect.

also a note for everyone. being a St Mary's person i am aware of this anyway. but folks, if Willie Rioli gets the footy with even time to get it to his foot, you are going to pay. he got acres of room at times last night and southport paid. i thought they may have got better intel on this from Cotts but his man seemed to get caught ball watching.

Must say NEAFL TV a bit of a shambles this week, no Thunder and the Asply Suns game died in the 2nd QTR. Must say a bit harsh on us that follow it from the country areas

had a look at Southport v Thunder.
hideously over umpired. far too many frees given for essentially nothing, both ways. a game where the umps thought we were there to watch them. game would have been a much better spectacle if the umpires let it go a bit rather than blowing everything and lots of "umm that wasn't there".

Southport started well but faded in 2nd half pretty badly.

on that, and again this applies to both teams last night. I'm not sure NEAFL teams can sustain a full AFL style compress and slingshot so it maybe better not to try it. I know, I know, it the fashion. but AFL sides struggle to maintain it, part timers have got no hope. in the first half there were lots of times where the players were compressed into about 1/3 of the surface. in the second, not so much. TIO is a really really big place so doing it there is harder than some of the smaller grounds, but even then i can't see NEAFL sides maintaining this style for much more than 2 quarters.

On southport, they were a little chippy. whether that was a plan idk or whether that's a state of being. also one player of theirs really stood out, one of the ruckmen, unlike the rest of the southport guys he looked and ran like he trained at Maccas. it was jarring. all the other guys looked fit and hard, he most certainly did not. He was big and tall and flabby. aside from that. very well drilled, skilled, hard at it as you'd expect.

also a note for everyone. being a St Mary's person i am aware of this anyway. but folks, if Willie Rioli gets the footy with even time to get it to his foot, you are going to pay. he got acres of room at times last night and southport paid. i thought they may have got better intel on this from Cotts but his man seemed to get caught ball watching.
Seanoff,
that would be big Mitch Brewer. Believe it or not he is only about 22 years old. 3

Seanoff,
that would be big Mitch Brewer. Believe it or not he is only about 22 years old. 3
3 or 4 years ago he was proberly 15 kg heavier,,,, has trimmed down a lot, and hes not flabby, he just doesnt have that good physical body shape, but he is as strong as an ox and is incredibly agile for his size, and a very good kick, both long and short.

Seanoff,
Well they need to buy him a bike. I know running can be tough for guys of that size, so a bike. Spin/RPM classes, swimming, something.

He stood out like a sore thumb. Doesn't cover the ground well at all. Yes he is big and he got a goal from that but he needs to be able to get around. 20 - 25 kgs i suspect.

NEAFL- 2014