News Nelson, Rotham partied up at Hip E after Richmond shellacking

Careers in doubt is a bit crazy (if it is because of a night out).

I mean half the Richmond team was there. Optics are bad, but maybe some of the younger guys were just picking their brains about how to maintain the hunger and desire as a squad.

In all seriousness though, not sure if it was a team rule but they weren't breaking any state or AFL rules. Poor choice by young players, but if this is the one incident we decide to come down hard on then the club has a long way to go.

Drink driving, OK as we are short on players

Drugs and more drugs, it's an education issue

Overweight and unfit professional athletes, we back them in to know what they are doing

5 young guys go to a nightclub at their first opportunity after a couple of years of not being able to - mass list changes

On SM-G986B using BigFooty.com mobile app
To be honest Nelson Waterman and Rotham careers were in doubt regardless.

Don't think any would be offered a new contract.

Sent from my CPH2025 using Tapatalk

Why is it not the point ? They are not going to get it or pass it on .

Its funny that freo haven't copped covid as bad as us with a much younger team who from what I have heard are not under the same directions.

Its our poor conditioning and injury list which is the problem.

Nissy feeling the pressure and looking to take the focus off themselves and their poor off field performance.

Recon its time for the old boys club to be dissolved
100% this. Nisbett needs to piss off. List clean out needs to start with the management first.

Sent from my CPH2025 using Tapatalk

I think Rotham still has a future at AFL level. I know this isn't the popular opinion around these parts.

He has regressed badly, but Sheppard didn't really begin playing consistent footy until around Rotham's age now (24).

He needs to be freed up off run off half back like early-day Will Schofield. That's where I see his AFL-level talent.

Does he have the belief to do it? Who knows. He needs to be given the chance this year and probably next to show either way.

I think Rotham still has a future at AFL level. I know this isn't the popular opinion around these parts.

He has regressed badly, but Sheppard didn't really begin playing consistent footy until around Rotham's age now (24).

He needs to be freed up off run off half back like early-day Will Schofield. That's where I see his AFL-level talent.

Does he have the belief to do it? Who knows. He needs to be given the chance this year and probably next to show either way.

I agree. Rothams trajectory was promising, he's just regressed awfully this year

It's his decision making/execution when he has the ball. Actually does really well to get into position to intercept rt compete. It's what he does when he has it that's a total killer.

Needs to be played in a different role imo.

He also has no idea how to defend.. he is never near a bloke to spoil or even pressure…
Have a look at Hugh Mcclugages last goal.. rotham is infront of him and could have dived at the boot to smother it.. McGovern comes from out of picture to make contact with him and at least put pressure on the kick …
rotham just casually half extends his arms for the smother.. no desperation at all

He also has no idea how to defend.
Reckon the club might have to take a bit of the blame on this,

I was real hopeful on Rotham, but the pandemic spuditis has ripped through our club, and not one player seems to be better than a year or so ago. And sadly he seems to have gone backwards as much as any, when he should have been looking at taking strides forwards.

it’s also hard for anyone to look decent, you get the ball constantly under pressure and rarely Can see an open team mate, with how we are playing now.

Reckon the club might have to take a bit of the blame on this,

I was real hopeful on Rotham, but the pandemic spuditis has ripped through our club, and not one player seems to be better than a year or so ago. And sadly he seems to have gone backwards as much as any, when he should have been looking at taking strides forwards.

it’s also hard for anyone to look decent, you get the ball constantly under pressure and rarely Can see an open team mate, with how we are playing now.
Rotham would benefit from just locking down on someone like Sheppard use to and keeping it simple. He’s got the talent but he just looks confused out there. I’d love for him to take someone like Fritch next week and just sit in his pocket all game. Whatever they’re doing with him now clearly isn’t working.

People are complaining that the players are taking the piss, have no pride, choose when to put in or not and then when there is a clear cut case of players taking the piss and ignoring a club directive, people are defending them. Whilst people can say this is their personal life etc, for professional athletes there is clear cross over between personal life and professional responsibilities.

Of course players should be able to go out and have fun but we are on our knees with Covid and injuries and these guys were told not to go clubbing at this time and ignored it. They are paid a fortune to be professional athletes and with that come certain sacrifices including following some club directives.

If the club hadnt imposed the no clubbing directive we would be accused of not taking Covid seriously.
FIFOs have drug and alcohol curfew/tests. Pilots need a licence. Food factory workers wear hairnets. Many jobs have restrictions. Some flow into non work hours. If you can’t accept them do something else. Simple.

But it’s easy for those who’ve allowed a general slide in culture (and list mgt, list profile, injuries etc) to now get all hairy chested and take the high ground.

Sure I wanna see arses kicked but the higher up the ladder those arses are the more broad the effect will be.

The buck doesn’t stop with The Hip-E Three.

I wonder how many days in advance this nightclub trip had to be planned to give Rotham enough time to make a decision?
Jesus I laughed a bit too hard at this tbh 🤣

News Nelson, Rotham partied up at Hip E after Richmond shellacking