• Andrew Brayshaw

Votes: 84 35.7%
  • Alex Pearce

Votes: 88 37.4%
  • Other

Votes: 7 3.0%

Nah, Moose is all good now. Sure, he can't feel anything below his knee but he's all good and no-one looks quite as majestic pointing the way. He should always have a carcass around to put one boot up on, as he stares into the horizon, wind blowing the luscious locks. The smell of blood and fear filtered through his moustaches; God and the spirits of his Tassie Palawa ancestors on his side.

He should be the captain (knowing, of course, that Caleb Serong is The Spiritual Captain).

My initial thoughts was Brayshaw but the more I think about it, the more it has to be Pearce. The argument against Brayshaw is obviously the negative effect it may have on his development where as the arguement to Pearce is his injury track record. But if Moose is named Captain and, God forbid, doesn't make it onto the park for a chunk of the season Brayshaw will probably take on the captain role on field anyway so the net result on field is the same as Brayshaw having been elected anyway, but with the advantage of Moose being able to still share the majority of the load off field and allow Andy to concentrate on his development.

Anyone who has a problem with Nathan Fyfe has a problem.

It's their problem though. Because any knocks on the bloke come wholly and solely from his single-minded pursuit for perfection and what is good for our footy club.

Apparently when Harley Bennell was first introduced to the leadership group, Pav said the obligatory welcome to the team, good to have yous; Mundy and the rest welcomed him also, and Fyfey, speaking last, said, "If it was up to me, you wouldn't even be here."

He plainly has had to learn to suffer fools.

I reckon he could probably suffer seventeen and their problem.

When it comes to footy, Nat has high standards, and in his mind, thinks all his team mates should aim for them. He’s not scared to call a spade, a spade. I can see where he’s coming from talented but “bone lazy” players.

Nat has always given Freo 100%, and due to this, has pushed his body when mere mortals would be happy sitting back in the coaches box.

Why the flip are people targeting Nat, ...... all I can thinking of, is that the manure chuckers suffer from small appendage syndrome.

Onward and upward.

I was originally leaning toward Brayshaw all the way, but it can be a bit rough carrying a team, especially when we go through a rough patch. He's got development to do without being weighed down.

One of the knocks on Pearce would be the injury history but gee he's a gun.
Maybe it's not the end of the world if he does have a game or three out, it would mean Brayshaw could get exposure to the captaincy without the weight and pressure of having the gig full time.

Best of both worlds?

This. He could have done a Lachie and chased a flag when he was at his peak. He stayed to get s**t hung on him and instead.

He may still leave to chase a flag elsewhere, but I won’t blame him if it happens.
I will as we’re in our window so stay at Freo for a flag, leave for a godfather contract with a battler.

if they’re going with the same leadership group structure, there will actually be two vacancies for the taking with both Fyfe and Mundy moving out, right? I wonder who will step up? My bets are Young and maybe Switta?
Two of JOM/Young/Aish/Switta probably in that order would be my guess

The thought of Brayshaw developing further...
Homer Drool GIF

The question is being asked by the media here in WA, would we expect anything different though, and the East coast media.
Does it matter?
Listening to Fyfe speak, he has said it was in consultation with the clubs bosses that the decision was made.
Is it the right decision? who knows. Only time will tell.
But good luck to whoever takes over.
Hopefully, in my choicce, it is Alex Pearce.

That would be an insult to Fyfe and the newer options don't you think?

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app
Why? He's the right age and exudes leadership. Perfect captain. He'd do a much better job than his mate Cogs has at GWS that's for sure.

The team votes anyway, hard to get insulted by that.

The role of captain at a football club is not that clearly defined compared to a sport like cricket.

For the team to benefit from a choice of captain requires the respect of the playing group which is why an elected captain works well.

Then there is the extra media and myriad of other time consuming and distracting duties. You want a captain whose individual performance will not suffer from the extra attention.

It's a pity we can't choose someone to be a representative face of the club and another to be the leader on GameDay.

More and more these days leadership comes from a group rather than a single person.
I'd look at Arsenal where Odegaard is the captain but the on-field leadership is shared between Xhaka, Zinchenko and himself.

JOM needs to earn a promotion irrespective of how impressive he is currently.

He cant walk into the club & expect to be in the leadership group in the first season.

If he gets voted in it's because the players decided he's a leader - not because he expected it

News New Captain for 2023 - Alex Pearce