New posters, introduce yourselves here

I have been a passionate Hawks fan since early 70's when I was young lad and several of the players used to play basketball with my old man at Box Hill. It is a long time ago but I remember Peter Crimmins, David Parkin and Don Scott were a couple of the players
:)

Hi All,

I've been lurking for a few years now. Recently returned to Melbourne after 6 years in Canberra, where there was way to much Swans coveage....

Great job everyone. The posts on here are far more inciteful and accurate than what is said or written in the media by the vast majority of journalists.

I'm Steven, i'm 25 ( 1986 ) i'm a west aussie, i jumped on the hawks in 2001 after watching the hawks get screwed in the prelim vs. Bombers. i was an eagle because my dad was i guess :confused: i've been a one eyed hawk since, 10th year 3rd year member, i enjoyed Joel smith think he should get more credit.. i was glad spider left. think Bateman is abit tired his work rate has dropped.

Carn the Hawks.

I'm Steven, i'm 25 ( 1986 ) i'm a west aussie, i jumped on the hawks in 2001 after watching the hawks get screwed in the prelim vs. Bombers. i was an eagle because my dad was i guess :confused: i've been a one eyed hawk since, 10th year 3rd year member, i enjoyed Joel smith think he should get more credit.. i was glad spider left. think Bateman is abit tired his work rate has dropped.

Carn the Hawks.

Hello and welcome friend. I like your avater!

Hey everyone. I joined up a number of years ago but rarely posted, that said I've been a long time reader of this board. I'm a passionate and paid up supporter, been a member for 16 of my 18 years on this planet.:D

Love the work you lot are doing around here. Good to be here amongst like-minded hawk fans. Hopefully I start posting more frequently and get involved in the discussions!

Cheers.

Hey everyone. I joined up a number of years ago but rarely posted, that said I've been a long time reader of this board. I'm a passionate and paid up supporter, been a member for 16 of my 18 years on this planet.:D

Love the work you lot are doing around here. Good to be here amongst like-minded hawk fans. Hopefully I start posting more frequently and get involved in the discussions!

Cheers.
mate, judging by your user name, I thought you would support the red and black (bombers):D

Very disturbing avatar

mate, judging by your user name, I thought you would support the red and black (bombers):D

Very disturbing avatar

Haha, nah family first went for hawks when they came to Australia...made sense since they lived in Hawthorn.

It is indeed a disturbing picture, probably because he is Greek. :eek:
I find it pretty funny though, but who knows why it made it to my avatar. I guess it really catches ones' attention (and not in a good way lol).

Hi Everyone. I have been following the hawks since the early 80's when as a six year old I saw them on "The Winners" on the ABC (favorite players as a kid were Dipper and Dermie). As i have always lived in Perth, supporting the Hawks has had its challenges over the years but it has certainly been worth it. I have been an occasional reader of bigfooty and finally decide to jump on board. Looking forward heading to Melbourne for the first time next month to see the Hawks play someone other than Freo or the Eagles.

Hi guys and gals

Lifetime hawks supporter from Melb, but now living in northern Thailand on a career break thing. Been reading and enjoying for a few weeks so think it is only fair to contribute. I am told Bangkok has a big grand final party so I hope our boys can make it. Avatar is one of the many brown and gold snakes over here. Only good when they are not in your lounge room at night though.

Hi guys and gals

Lifetime hawks supporter from Melb, but now living in northern Thailand on a career break thing. Been reading and enjoying for a few weeks so think it is only fair to contribute. I am told Bangkok has a big grand final party so I hope our boys can make it. Avatar is one of the many brown and gold snakes over here. Only good when they are not in your lounge room at night though.

Good day Thai Hawk... Hows the weather over in Thailand? We havent actually been there for a holiday, just a few stop overs on our way to Philippines..We are hoping to spend more time on our next trip to Philippines..

Hi macdaddio

I am up north near Chiang Mai and it is wet season here. That means 35 degrees until the daily storm drops 50 to 100mm's. Then back to 35 degrees again, In a word, humid.

Thailand is lovely if you stay away from the tourist areas (Pattaya, Phuket) and the food is excellent. The only problem is they are all mad for English soccer here, I have shown some AFL games to my students and they think we are mad. I tried teaching them to play footy but they can't catch either, but was funny to watch.

G'day Hawks fan from the Morninton peninsula, long time surfer of the website, but never signed up, until now... lol. ;)

hawks fan since i was 4 when my dad said if i go for the hawks instead of the tigers i can be a member and go to all the games, i was in. 8 years later we won a premiership:D

and the tiges????????
Your dad is a clever one:)

Hey y'all...

Growing up in Tassie, I was a Bombers supporter in the late '70's when I was about 8 for a couple of weeks when I found an Essendon sticker in a pack of Footy Franks...jet fighter with teeth, what's not to like...the next sticker I pulled out was South, nothing cool about swans, so that sealed the deal until my bro-in-law took me to the Launceston show. I asked for an Essendon yo-yo, but there weren't any in stock, so my Hawk mad relative saw his chance, and converted me with a Hawk yo-yo...a few years later, I was telling everyone in the house I'd barrack for the winner forevermore of the winner of the 1983 GF...secretly though, I was hoping the Hawks would win, and it's been them and daylight ever since...!

The first game I ever attended was the 1988 GF...spent a grand total of $200 on a return plane flight and the tickets, which cost $30 in total and came in an MCG set that would have got me into two finals as well...if the pilots didn't go on strike the next year, I would have seen the 1989 game too...the second game I ever attended was the 1991 mauling of Fitzroy in Hobart...not a bad start...the third was Collingwood in 1995, and since moving to Brisbane, I haven't missed any of their trips up here...not pretty a lot of the time...

In 1997, me and the nephew were at the Gabba sitting directly behind the cheersquad, who asked us just before game time if we'd like to help them with the banner...uh, ok, we said...had a great time, got our mugs on tv which I still have on DVD...the next year, we're sitting on the hill at the Gabba, when the same guy who asked us in 1997 saw us and invited us again...so we walk in with the cheersquad, and happily walked onto the ground like we owned the place...we then saw the head of the cheersquad freaking out because there were only supposed to be about 18 of out there, and he'd counted 29 Hawk cheersquad members, an indiscretion that would have gotten them in big trouble with ground management...a few people, including us, suddenly started whistling and looking absent-mindedly away...still held up the run-through though...!

And in 2001 or 2002, I went to a Brisbane Hawks function at the Pineapple hotel...not many attended, so I had a reasonably long chat with a young player who'd just joined the club, and was sent to this far flung outpost to do his promotional bit for his new club...his job was to get us beer and burgers all night, and you could see him grimacing because he knew he wasn't allowed any of the food we were all hoeing into...Sam Mitchell was destined for bigger and better things...!

great story thanks for sharing
Didn't bother with the most important one, which was the gut wrenching feeling sitting in a bar watching the Hawks play the 1996 final against the Swans, knowing that this game was it, the very end...and then joining up as a member the very minute (remember I've never lived in Victoria) that they were officially safe from the merger...not letting that happen again on my watch...!

But I'll bet there are dozens of those stories throughout the entire Hawk forum already...

Hey guys, long time reader finally made an account. Just moved from Tassie up to Brisbane so a bit starved from hawks news (and games) up here! I was born in 88 and like to think I watched the grand final and jumped on that year but truth be told it wasn't until about 94 that I was talked into supporting the hawks and haven't stopped since. The swans 96 final mentioned above is my earliest memory of watching the hawks and Sydney have been one of my most hated teams since. Have been a member since 04 but unfortunately have only watched the hawks live at the G once so that is something I have to work on!

Didn't bother with the most important one, which was the gut wrenching feeling sitting in a bar watching the Hawks play the 1996 final against the Swans, knowing that this game was it, the very end...and then joining up as a member the very minute (remember I've never lived in Victoria) that they were officially safe from the merger...not letting that happen again on my watch...!

But I'll bet there are dozens of those stories throughout the entire Hawk forum already...
yep reckon there would be thanks again :)

New posters, introduce yourselves here