Mega Thread New Stadium

Re: New Stadium - Time for Cautious Optimism?

But you cant go to the gate and get a ticket like you can the MCG as the meberships will sell out. So even if 10,000 members dont turn up, there will be 10,000 people that cant access these tickets, same problem as today.

You are also expecting all 55,000 members to be 11 game ticket holders.

WC have already come out and said they are trying to find a way to accommodate that - a larger stadium will meet that requirement.

But you cant go to the gate and get a ticket like you can the MCG as the meberships will sell out. So even if 10,000 members dont turn up, there will be 10,000 people that cant access these tickets, same problem as today.

As I posted earlier members are reluctant to give up their memberships now because they know it's the only way to get in. With a bigger stadium this is less likely to be an issue so I don't think our membership will increase as much as what you might think.

I don't see that as a problem at all.

When I want to go to the footy, I get on the web on the Monday and have NEVER missed out on tickets.

If you want to go enough, you can. The fact we'll be adding 20,000 to the capacity will further heighten this.

If for some reason a person can't walk up to the gate and get a ticket, so what? Plan ahead.

Reaching capacity at events is hardly a foreign thing.

You're talking about at most a handful of occurrences during the year.

60,000 meh...
Its ok for now but hopefully the do the structure correctly and allow for easy additions in 10 years time.

I would Have gone with a 70,000 seater.
have 50k allocated to WCE/Freo members.
10k allocated to visiting Clubs members.
10k allocated to gate sales..

Hopefully they build better access to dunny's, food & drink..
I hate lining up for the whole QTR time break just to get a couple of mid strength beers, and not being able to fit in time to get food or go for a slash...
They will also need a smoking area as they wont be able to do what they do at subi soon due to the new public smoking laws which they plan to introduce soon.

Geez if i lived in subi I would be Pissed, Housing value will go down,:mad: Businesses will lose money, Esp pubs..:thumbsdown:
And you will have to travel to watch the footy....:eek:

But for me and others that live walking/bus/short train ride for the new site it will be flipping AWESOME...:D:thumbsu:

Geez if i lived in subi I would be Pissed, Housing value will go down,:mad: Businesses will lose money, Esp pubs..:thumbsdown:
And you will have to travel to watch the footy....:eek:

Not sure if housing values in Subi would go down tbh - I'm not certain living in close proximity to a major sporting stadium would add value to property.

Businesses like pubs and restaurants will be hurt most definitely though

Also for anyone into the property market and these kind of things the moment anything is set in stone for the stadium in burswood residential properties in places like rivervale and victoria park will boom so a good way to make some money boys and girls.

Yeah We can have a Day at the Belmont Races ,...over the walkbridge to the Footy ,.. followed by a night at the Casino . Should be great or could end up sleeping in a Bunker at the Golf Course :confused:

You forgot the dinner and casual drinks at one of the restaurants or pubs along the cafe strip at vic park in between.

Not sure if housing values in Subi would go down tbh - I'm not certain living in close proximity to a major sporting stadium would add value to property.

Businesses like pubs and restaurants will be hurt most definitely though

I believe the appropriate phrase is 'suffer in your jocks'.

Subi Council and residents have been nothing but a pain in the arse for years.

And yeah, I doubt Subi Oval adds to surrounding land values.

I think you forgot that if anything West Coast membership might not raise from a larger capacity ground. I would imagine there is more than 1 or 2 members holding onto their memberships during the lean years because they know they will struggle to get one when we are up and about again.

60,000 is more than enough. We do not want to be like Melbourne or PA where we the number of empty seats outweight the people watching.

So? In the good years those guys will be back on board and we'll need a 70-80k seat stadium. Stadiums shouldn't be built for the average crowd, the should be built with some capacity.

I believe the appropriate phrase is 'suffer in your jocks'.

Subi Council and residents have been nothing but a pain in the arse for years.

And yeah, I doubt Subi Oval adds to surrounding land values.

I am sure the residents will be devastated. I bet their favourite time of the week is not being able to park in their own streets, having strangers parking on their lawns and urinating in their gardens and the joy of picking up the empty beer bottles of bogans.

From all the residents of Subi I know, few go to the footy, so on balance, I am sure they are stoked. The businesses, not so much.

If they are doing it at Burswood they better think about improving parking there. It cant even support what there is now.

Also for anyone into the property market and these kind of things the moment anything is set in stone for the stadium in burswood residential properties in places like rivervale and victoria park will boom so a good way to make some money boys and girls.

I don't buy that. Why would anyone want to buy a property because it is close to a stadium??

I am sure the residents will be devastated. I bet their favourite time of the week is not being able to park in their own streets, having strangers parking on their lawns and urinating in their gardens and the joy of picking up the empty beer bottles of bogans.

From all the residents of Subi I know, few go to the footy, so on balance, I am sure they are stoked. The businesses, not so much.

I'd be interested to see what percentage of residents have lived in the area since 1908 or earlier...

No doubt living near a major sporting venue has its drawbacks, but it's no different to living in Northbridge or Redcliffe. You know what's there, no point moving in then sooking about it.

The area benefits a lot commercially from having the ground there.

I don't buy that. Why would anyone want to buy a property because it is close to a stadium??

I'm not talking about right next door but a major stadium plus the other developments in the area, particularly in an under developed area like burswood that has/had really cheap housing around it will boom. It's more about getting more of the people you want into the area and with more exposure not only will it draw investors and residents in it will also bring more money to the councils to improve facilities and such.

It's already started happening in the areas particularly those that are riverside of the great eastern highway and there are many cases that show major recreational infrastructure works greatly increase property values. Basically any major infrastructure like roads, quality schools, hospitals to an area will increase land values. It wasn't that long ago that places like claremont and subiaco were not glamorous places to live.

Any suburb that is close to the city centre with old large blocks will greatly increase in value over time as the city gets larger and infrastructure works will only make certain areas increase at a sharper rate.

I wonder if they'll be so stoked when they realise that the SCC now has a hole in it's budget, from the loss of income by losing the stadium, and the easiest way to repair that budget hole is to increase rates.....

Burswood would be the worst possible location for the new stadium. The transport infrastructure in the area is nothing short of dreadful and the area is virtually gridlocked during weekdays with the amount of cars that go through the area. Not to mention there's very little public transport there at the moment and the proposed site for the stadium used to be landfill, parts of which are contaminated and are also unstable in areas. The site is also prone to flooding being so low and so close to the river. Burswood is a major struggle at the moment with all the attractions there, parking is terrible as is public transport. Putting a major stadium there is just downright stupid.

Colon has no doubt already made his mind up and the next two months will just be a lead-up to the announcement. It's why WA continues to only have slow growth because we have such ****ing ******s in power who continually make dumb decisions with the intent of getting re-elected in four years time rather than looking to the long-term future of the state (20, 30, 50 years in advance). The stadium should be at Kitchener Park where there are already roads, public transport and the relevent infrastructure in place to support a major football stadium.

A 60,000 seat stadium is nothing short of a joke. Perth's population is the fastest growing of all capital cities in Australia and has been for some time now. That is only going to continue to grow over the next generation with Perth's population set to rival Brisbane's by the end of the century. 60,000 seats is farcical, the thing will probably be filled by the time it's built and then we'll have the same problem again. West Coast have a fair few members in waiting for membership, a 60,000 seat stadium won't leave much room left if all of those people get memberships. What happens when West Coast become a successful club on-field again and the club gets more and more members? We'll then have the same problem as now.

If anyone had any ****ing brains on the project to build this thing, it would be a 70,000 seat stadium with the capacity to go bigger. People need to stop being short-sighted and think about football's long-term future in the state. This will be the only stadium we will get for probably 50 years minimum, they don't build these things at a drop of a hat. Don't piss it up against the wall with this 60,000 seat shit thinking about the short-term future.

The problem is the whole of the metro area has bad transport infrastructure. No where can cope with the population we have and its not even that big compared to the other states. Just going out on a Saturday for example and everything is gridlocked. They are really going to have to think this through to do it right. Burswood has the potential because of its surroundings and potential for an entertainment precinct. Just needs to be handled properly. No doubt they will do it on the cheap and stuff it though.

Burswood would be the worst possible location for the new stadium. The transport infrastructure in the area is nothing short of dreadful and the area is virtually gridlocked during weekdays with the amount of cars that go through the area. Not to mention there's very little public transport there at the moment and the proposed site for the stadium used to be landfill, parts of which are contaminated and are also unstable in areas. The site is also prone to flooding being so low and so close to the river. Burswood is a major struggle at the moment with all the attractions there, parking is terrible as is public transport. Putting a major stadium there is just downright stupid.

Colon has no doubt already made his mind up and the next two months will just be a lead-up to the announcement. It's why WA continues to only have slow growth because we have such ****ing ******s in power who continually make dumb decisions with the intent of getting re-elected in four years time rather than looking to the long-term future of the state (20, 30, 50 years in advance). The stadium should be at Kitchener Park where there are already roads, public transport and the relevent infrastructure in place to support a major football stadium.
what a load of crap. Kitchener Park is very limiting with a school on one side, and residential housing on 2 other sides. The roads around Kitchener are pathetic compared to the major arteries that cross through Burswood. And the public transport is about the same. Explain "relevant infrastructure", or did you just throw that in there for an added point that sounds somewhat intelligent?

Let me guess, you are another one of these western suburb snobs who can usually hop on a train and be at Subi oval in under 15 mins. And the Burswood location means your time will now be around 30.

Boo hoo.

Colin Barnett has said no costings for the stadium will be in next years budget ! So that indicates to me construction wouldnt start till after June 2012 Just a little planning and design work on the project !:cool:

I wont be holding my breath again , maybe we could go for the KIT stadium design - plenty of Avon valley Kit Homes work well !:eek:

Great Eastern Highway is gridlocked during the week because it runs off to the CBD, Belmont and other locations where countless poeple are driving to work. I'd say you wouldnt get a whole lot more cars going to the footy

The stadium design includes a new "Super Station" with both trains and buses.

THe proposed site is where the tennis centre is now. On much higher and more stable land than the area first tabled which was next to the river....did you even read the article?

You're stupid if you dont think they would have additional parking if they build the stadium. It's a 1.2 billion dollar project, im sure parking is incorporated into that.

Mega Thread New Stadium