Newman axed amongst other list changes

So what was the point sticking by Newman throughout his jail tenure, just to delist him 12 months later? Did the club expect him to come back after a year out of the game and blitz the competition? Would much rather keep Newman and chop McGinnity.
how long should they keep him for?

This is it, biggest clean out of vanilla in history @ WCE. Only one piece of the jigsaw left to be tossed and we're set. I'm very excited :) for the next 5 years.

Just until they have enough "street cred" and then turf him. Pretty sure that's what happened.
possibly but he didn't put any performances in that screamed keep me.duggan and nelson have gone past him
he couldn't impact at wafl level why would they keep him on the list?

This is it, biggest clean out of vanilla in history @ WCE. Only one piece of the jigsaw left to be tossed and we're set. I'm very excited :) for the next 5 years.

huh

did you not see Lucas and College still exist?

Personally i like the changes.

What happened to "In Simmo we trust" huh fellas? Buck up and show some enthusiasm.

I can live with Waterman getting demoted if he's crook, the only REAL downer for me is Patrick ******* Mcspuddity. Every damn time with that kent.
I also see no problem with the delistings.

Tunbridge would have been having his 6th year in the AFL system next season. Time enough to show something.
Colledge. Not really a spot for him at AFL level.
Newman. Probably needed to show he wanted it more. Aplication has always been his problem. Not hungry enough for mine.
Waterman. Will still be showing the effects of GF next season. Club will do the right thing and rookie him.

McGinnity was top 25 all year. No surprise there.
Lucas was given things to work on this season and I believe he nailed them by seasons end. Was on the verge later in the season.

Posters whinge continually wanting rid of list cloggers and when the club do exactly that they whinge over that.

I also see no problem with the delistings.

Tunbridge would have been having his 6th year in the AFL system next season. Time enough to show something.
Colledge. Not really a spot for him at AFL level.
Newman. Probably needed to show he wanted it more. Aplication has always been his problem. Not hungry enough for mine.
Waterman. Will still be showing the effects of GF next season. Club will do the right thing and rookie him.

Lucas was given things to work on this season and I believe he nailed them by seasons end. Was on the verge later in the season.

Posters whinge continually wanting rid of list cloggers and when the club do exactly that they whinge over that.
I guess it's the timing of the delistings more than anything, would have made more sense to do a big cleanout last year with a much stronger draft, or to wait and do it next season with another strong draft predicted.

Somewhat agree but can't see any of the four being in our top 30 next season so when is time enough,time enough?

Depends how many players we take in the national draft I guess, if we take our full quota and then feel obligated to keep them on the list when we could have kept Tunbridge, delisted him next offseason and gotten a much better player then it's not a good decision.

WC probably more than anyone don't do things on a whim, so it is my guess that they have someone in mind later in the draft.

Remember, while 2016 promises to be a good draft there are virtually no talls so there could be a strategy in play.

McGinnity is at least AFL standard (and at least can play a role, albeit mediocrely) and assume (at a reach) Lucas would be too if required. Newman has done SFA in his time with us and likewise Colledge. Waterman stiff but I can see what they are doing. The guys that were delisted added no further value to us as a force.. we are in a window, we don't need list cloggers. Harsh, but true.
McGinnity is a horrible player. Busted through his very low ceiling years ago. Recall watching matches and the ball is kicked to a player on his own in the goal square and he drops it, guess who McSpud. Player misses a crucial goal from 20 metres - McSpud. One of the worst players ever to play 90 games. All four of those delisted have heaps more potential than him - incomprehensible decision.

That's the Bigfooty consensus.. he's obviously doing something right. After 2015, I'm quite happy to agree with the experts on this one that he must offer something. He's better than newman and tunbridge so there is a start.

WC probably more than anyone don't do things on a whim, so it is my guess that they have someone in mind later in the draft.

Remember, while 2016 promises to be a good draft there are virtually no talls so there could be a strategy in play.
Be interesting to see, if everyone else thinks that only 60 players will be picked and we've identified 70 potential targets then it makes sense.

Is there an innovation here? Last year we had 40 senior list players and four Category A rookies. Listening to the Vozz it sounds like we're going into 2016 with 38 senior players and 6 Category A rookies.

I wonder if this allows us flexibility to upgrade up to two players whenever we want at some point throughout the season? (i.e don't have to wait for a long term injury)

Perhaps we plan to have one or two mature-age players on the list in rookie positions on minimum salary that are there for us if we need them - a break in case of emergency. After what happened with Easy and Brown this year its an interesting strategy. You often hear of the idea of a mid-season draft. Someone like the doggies Talia could be useful on the rookie list if he can keep his mouth shut.

Hey guys sorry to intrude but I think Waterman may be a tactic to use more picks the national draft. or to keep the senior list smaller to give rookies a chance to be elevated early season.

If effectively raises your draft position in a shallow draft, instead of using your last pick in the rookie draft your using your last pick in the national draft.

When we had 8+ on the injury list you mean

huh

did you not see Lucas and College still exist?
Yep 3 left, Lucas, McGinnity and Colledge (if we have to rookie him).
Didn't see this in the WAFL GF at all, I know that most of our players were horrible, but most of them were just quiet, no doubts about his ball winning ability, but he kept on turning the ball over at every opportunity. Was horrific to watch, can't imagine seeing him to that in Eagles colours... Possibly worse than the worst of Priddis, Scotty or Paddy.

Hey guys sorry to intrude but I think Waterman may be a tactic to use more picks the national draft. or to keep the senior list smaller to give rookies a chance to be elevated early season.

If effectively raises your draft position in a shallow draft, instead of using your last pick in the rookie draft your using your last pick in the national draft.
So is it common to go into a season with less than the maximum allowed senior players? Our footy GM said we'll be going into 2016 with 38 senior players.

We went with 38 a couple years and 39 last year. Will probably go with 38 this year.

It also means come nab challenge time, rookies will competing for those two extra upgrades.

Newman axed amongst other list changes