NFNL Div 1 discussion 2022

5 out of 5 for round 14

Winner of the round: Greensborough, with a vital 4 points over Nth Heidelberg and more importantly debuted of Matt Kreuzer. Biggest question now is can he ply enough games to qualify for finals. A team with Kreuzer, Caddy, Bell, Brindley, Riddle and Johnston could do some damage come finals time.

Loser of the round: Nth Heidelberg finals hopes come to an end with a loss to Greensborough, now 10 points behind them. It’s been a frustrating year for the Doggies and will need to recruit well over summer to push for finals in 2023 as not a lot of depth in the reserves currently.

Great article in HS - https://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader...y/news-story/d77bd0495cf167c42787350cb704ceb0

Brent Marshall will play his 200th senior game for Bundoora on Saturday​

Bundoora is more than a footy club for Bulls skipper Brent Marshall, find out why as he prepares for his 200th senior game on Saturday.

Bundoora is more than a footy club for Brent Marshall, it’s a family.
“Nipper” is a third generation Bull and adds another chapter to his famous family’s legacy as he plays his 200th Northern Football League senior game on Saturday against Greensborough at Yulong Reserve.

Debuting as a 17-year-old in 2008, Marshall has gone to be a two-time premiership player, premiership captain and legend of the club.

“It means a lot, all my family has played here, my uncles, my cousins, my brother-in-laws are here,” he said.

“I definitely didn’t get a choice, I played juniors at Yarrambat and I wanted to go to Epping because that’s where I grew up and were all my mates played.

“Growing up I would always come here and watch the seniors on Saturday but it was pretty daunting to come to a club like Bundoora.”

The Marshall ties run deep at the Bullring.

Grandfather, Eric, helped found the club in 1973 and has the club’s senior best-and-fairest named after him, while father, Greg, is a former player and coach.

Grandmother Margaret and mother Caroline are both life members thanks to tireless volunteer work.

And the bloodlines will only grow stronger with Brent engaged to teammate Nathan Thomas’ sister, Aleshia, while Brodric Gray is already a brother-in-law.

Marshall made his debut in 2008 against Thomastown, kicking a goal in his first appearance.

He ranks that day alongside his two premierships and his time as Bundoora captain as his best footballing memories.

Nipper was named co-captain alongside Brayden Shaw in 2014 before taking the role full-time and was joined by Luke Collins this season.

He’ll pass the torch for 2023, just short of a decade in the job.

“It will be my last year as captain and next year I’ll just focus on playing.

“That transition, how I got taught, I’ve liked to do that with Lukey and give him the reins next year.

“I love it, I really enjoy it.

“I’ve been fortunate enough to captain a grand final but it is a full-on job, you commit to junior club things, functions and meetings but I love doing it.”

The 2013 premiership is etched in local footy folklore as Bundoora rallied from 47-point down in the third quarter – kicking 11 unanswered goals.

Even Marshall wondered if victory was possible.

“At three-quarter-time, I felt personally this is going to take a massive effort and credit to the boys we did what we had to do and we took the opportunity,” he said.

That’s very special, everyone says you play footy to win flags and it’s true.

“I’d missed out in 2011 with a broken collarbone in the prelim and was wondering if I’d get another chance, so I was very lucky.”

Bundoora has been home to some famous names during Marshall’s time.

Ex-AFL players such as Gary Moorcroft, Cameron Cloke, Brayden Shaw, Ricky Dyson and current players Sam Lloyd and David Zaharakis have pulled on the navy blue and white.

However, it’s also the brilliant local players that have caught the eye, many becoming life-long friends.

“In 2011 we had Cameron Cloke and Gary Moorcroft, they were massive, then Ricky Dyson came along and I’ve become life-long friends with him,” Marshall said.

“Dave Mitchell has been a good player for a long time, Ben Shelton, Neil Gloury, Matty Dennis was a star of the competition, and back in the day with Matty Carmichael, Paul King and Trevor Crow when I was a young fella.

“Nathan Thomas, I’ve just got engaged to his sister, so he and I are pretty close and my other brother-in-law Brod Gray is here.

“Pencil, Sammy Lloyd, Hamish Shepheard, Collo, Proc – I’ve gonna forget someone and get in trouble – even Chopper, we played in a flag together in 2013, and he’s been brilliant since taking the reins.

“Everyone here I treat as a close mate of mine, whether it’s 19s, reserves up to our boys, I respect everyone that plays at Bundoora.”

Bundoora is cemented in the NFL Division 1 top three and will likely face old foe Montmorency in a qualifying final.

Being able to hold the premiership cup aloft one more time and add a third premiership to the cabinet is the dream for Marshall.

“We’re cruising along alright, we’ve got the cattle to do it, but as I say to Chop we want to take it one step at a time,” he said.

“To get a third premiership would be excellent and I think what separates us is how tight-knit of a group we are.

“We love to hang out, we spend time with each other after footy, the culture at Bundoora is massive, I’d love to do it this year with a couple of blokes at the club – that would be special.”

Great article in HS - https://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader...y/news-story/d77bd0495cf167c42787350cb704ceb0

Brent Marshall will play his 200th senior game for Bundoora on Saturday​

Bundoora is more than a footy club for Bulls skipper Brent Marshall, find out why as he prepares for his 200th senior game on Saturday.

Bundoora is more than a footy club for Brent Marshall, it’s a family.
“Nipper” is a third generation Bull and adds another chapter to his famous family’s legacy as he plays his 200th Northern Football League senior game on Saturday against Greensborough at Yulong Reserve.

Debuting as a 17-year-old in 2008, Marshall has gone to be a two-time premiership player, premiership captain and legend of the club.

“It means a lot, all my family has played here, my uncles, my cousins, my brother-in-laws are here,” he said.

“I definitely didn’t get a choice, I played juniors at Yarrambat and I wanted to go to Epping because that’s where I grew up and were all my mates played.

“Growing up I would always come here and watch the seniors on Saturday but it was pretty daunting to come to a club like Bundoora.”

The Marshall ties run deep at the Bullring.

Grandfather, Eric, helped found the club in 1973 and has the club’s senior best-and-fairest named after him, while father, Greg, is a former player and coach.

Grandmother Margaret and mother Caroline are both life members thanks to tireless volunteer work.

And the bloodlines will only grow stronger with Brent engaged to teammate Nathan Thomas’ sister, Aleshia, while Brodric Gray is already a brother-in-law.

Marshall made his debut in 2008 against Thomastown, kicking a goal in his first appearance.

He ranks that day alongside his two premierships and his time as Bundoora captain as his best footballing memories.

Nipper was named co-captain alongside Brayden Shaw in 2014 before taking the role full-time and was joined by Luke Collins this season.

He’ll pass the torch for 2023, just short of a decade in the job.

“It will be my last year as captain and next year I’ll just focus on playing.

“That transition, how I got taught, I’ve liked to do that with Lukey and give him the reins next year.

“I love it, I really enjoy it.

“I’ve been fortunate enough to captain a grand final but it is a full-on job, you commit to junior club things, functions and meetings but I love doing it.”

The 2013 premiership is etched in local footy folklore as Bundoora rallied from 47-point down in the third quarter – kicking 11 unanswered goals.

Even Marshall wondered if victory was possible.

“At three-quarter-time, I felt personally this is going to take a massive effort and credit to the boys we did what we had to do and we took the opportunity,” he said.

That’s very special, everyone says you play footy to win flags and it’s true.

“I’d missed out in 2011 with a broken collarbone in the prelim and was wondering if I’d get another chance, so I was very lucky.”

Bundoora has been home to some famous names during Marshall’s time.

Ex-AFL players such as Gary Moorcroft, Cameron Cloke, Brayden Shaw, Ricky Dyson and current players Sam Lloyd and David Zaharakis have pulled on the navy blue and white.

However, it’s also the brilliant local players that have caught the eye, many becoming life-long friends.

“In 2011 we had Cameron Cloke and Gary Moorcroft, they were massive, then Ricky Dyson came along and I’ve become life-long friends with him,” Marshall said.

“Dave Mitchell has been a good player for a long time, Ben Shelton, Neil Gloury, Matty Dennis was a star of the competition, and back in the day with Matty Carmichael, Paul King and Trevor Crow when I was a young fella.

“Nathan Thomas, I’ve just got engaged to his sister, so he and I are pretty close and my other brother-in-law Brod Gray is here.

“Pencil, Sammy Lloyd, Hamish Shepheard, Collo, Proc – I’ve gonna forget someone and get in trouble – even Chopper, we played in a flag together in 2013, and he’s been brilliant since taking the reins.

“Everyone here I treat as a close mate of mine, whether it’s 19s, reserves up to our boys, I respect everyone that plays at Bundoora.”

Bundoora is cemented in the NFL Division 1 top three and will likely face old foe Montmorency in a qualifying final.

Being able to hold the premiership cup aloft one more time and add a third premiership to the cabinet is the dream for Marshall.

“We’re cruising along alright, we’ve got the cattle to do it, but as I say to Chop we want to take it one step at a time,” he said.

“To get a third premiership would be excellent and I think what separates us is how tight-knit of a group we are.

“We love to hang out, we spend time with each other after footy, the culture at Bundoora is massive, I’d love to do it this year with a couple of blokes at the club – that would be special.”
Thanks for sharing Denny Crane
Congratulations Nipper on your game milestone and fingers crossed you get that wish for one more medal.

Probably makes the Bulls a stronger side with the points he free's up
no. Zaka was playing very good footy of late, it is no way making the Bulls better. Someone needs to step up big time.

Wouldn't be surprised if they go out in straight sets. They aren't playing great footy. They need someone like Lloyd or Younan to kick a big bag against the better sides.
Townsend won't qualify and if Jetta doesn't play, they could be in a bit of trouble.

Round 15 of Division 1 footy and some big clashes this week, for both finals and relegation.

Match of the day in Division 1 is between Northcote Park (9th 3-11) vs Whittlesea (10th 3-11). I say match of the day as ramifications for the loser could mean relegation to division 2 for 2023.
Northcote Park welcome back Boscarini, McNiece and Perry who are all massive inclusions. They will look to Boyse to return to form as he has been goalless for the last 2 games. If the Eagles can keep him quiet they will go along way to getting the all important 4 points.
The Eagles will look to the Wild brothers, Murphy and Dimasi to lead from the front. Last time it was the Eagles by 3 points, this time it will be Northcote Park by 3 points

Montmorency (2nd 11-3) vs Macleod (6th 6-8) Mont did what was required last week travelling up to the Showgrounds. Bzenic continued his great form with another 6 goals and Wale-Buxton will pick up votes after another dominant ruck display. The kangaroos have had 2 weeks to prepare for this game and need to win to keep their slight finals chances alive. At Para Rd though the magpies will be too strong. Mont by 27 points

Nth Heidelberg (7th 5-9) vs Hurstbridge (8th 3-11). Two teams that would be disappointed with their 2022 season. For the Doggies their finals aspirations went in last weeks 8 point loss to Greensborough. Majok Daw had a great clash with Kreuzer and will be better this week again. They get Brent Harvey back but lose Baddeley-Kelly.
For the Bridges, they are still in that relegation battle and need a win here. Brazier goes out but they do get Trent Barbaro back. The Bridges will keep it close but Nth Heidelberg to win by 17 points.

Heidelberg (1st 13-1) vs West Preston (4th 8-5-1). A big clash at Warringal park between 2 traditional rivals and a chance for the roosters to get a win and possibly move within 2 points of the double chance if Bundoora loses to Greensborough. After their 104 point thrashing against Bundoora, the roosters have won their last 4 games and would be quietly confident.
For the Tigers it’s Gilmore, Smith, Schnerring, Tardio and Minogue who have all had great season. Good test for the Tigers but their form has been great and they will continue on their winning ways. Heidelberg by 23 points

Bundoora (3rd 10-4) vs Greensborough (5th 7-6-1) An intriguing clash at Yulong with Bundoora still not asssured of the double chance and Greensborough fighting with Macleod for 5th spot.
For the Bulls the loss of Zaharakis (for the rest of the season if big footy is correct) is a big loss as he had been playing some good footy. Younan also put takes away some of the goal kicking power of the Bulls. For the Boro, Kreuzer goes out after one game (will he play any more or was it a once off appearance?). They do get Johnston and Trudgeon back and will look to Bell and Caddy to get the upset. Both teams have been a bit inconsistent, picking Bundoora as it’s at home but putting the upset alert on this game. Bundoora by 15 points.
Congratulations to Nipper Marshall on playing 200 senior games as well, terrific achievement

WPL only 2 goals on the weekend, that kind of footy isn't going to cause too much dramas in the finals, should finish equal on points with Boro and end up on 5th. Saad a massive out

Its just a matter of who is going to play Heidelberg in the Grand Final. They are streets ahead of anyone else. But we've seen plenty of upsets come Grand Final day.

4 out of 5 missing on Northcote Park

Winner of the round: Whittlesea with 31 point win moves a game clear of Hurstbridge and Northcote Park in the relegation battle. Mitch Andrews lead from the front with a BOG performance with Jaron Murphy kicking 3. Margin could have been greater as well with 20-9 scoring shots to the Eagles. Give credit to the Eagles, seem to have a good system going with 17 Blue team straight into grand final and 19’s in Division 1, if they can avoid relegation have youth coming through.

Loser of the round: Could have gone with Northcote Park but going with West Preston who only managed 2 goals against competition leader Heidelberg and not kicking first goal until the 3rd quarter. With Saad out for the season, they will make finals but can’t see them contending for ultimate prize.

Hi folks. I attended the Northcote Park v Whittlesea game last Saturday (Round 15-30th July 2022) and took my camcorder with me to capture some vision. Good game but Whittlesea were too good and too polished in the end. If you have time (and the bandwidth) please click the link below and share if you like it. BTW number 50 for Northcote took some great marks with his best at the 39 minute mark of the video. Thankyou.

Sier the one pointer should be back this week against the slime and I think they might give the Bergs a bit of scare. They’ve had some pretty epic tussles at War Memorial in recent years. Don’t be surprised if a 41 year old ruckman makes a surprise appearance.

Anyone else see Macleod completely dropping off the perch next year? No Paynter and Scooter in 2023 and who knows if a few other older blokes go around. Worrying signs with a fair few over the 30 mark. My tip is to slide way down and be fighting relegation

Not sure they will drop off completely, there is opportunities to recruit and there best is still ahead of the bottom couple Rob.

They used to have a very productive junior club that produced dozens of very good DVFL or NFL, TAC Cup and even AFL players
These days their juniors are much weaker so the senior club is going down with the ship.....

Where are they off to? I tend to agree though not too many green shoots coming through (19s at the bottom of Div 3 ladder and 2s at the bottom end of the ladder) and with a heavy reliance on the older brigade I reckon they’ll struggle big time next year.

Round 16 of Division 1 footy

Hurstbridge (9th 3-11) vs Northcote Park (10th 3-11) Massive game for both teams with loser falling to last and relegation looms large. Hurstbridge do welcome back Sunny Brazier and will look to him, Joel Naylor and Bailey Jordan to kick a winning score.
For Northcote Park they go in unchanged from last week’s disappointing 31 point loss. They will need big games from Boyse (who was held goalless last week), Matt Perry, Lucas Perry and Tallariti to get the 4 points. Hurstbridge at home will have too much firepower up forward. Hurstbridge by 26 points.

Macleod (7th 6-9) vs West Preston (4th 8-6-1) Macleod face another top 5 team this week coming off a 92 point drubbing from Montmorency last week. It was again Lucas Hobbs leading from the front with a 3 goal performance and would most likely be in the coaches votes. They get Chris Long back which will help the Kangaroos.
For WPL they are also coming off an 87 point dribbling from league leaders Heidelberg. Concerningly for the roosters they were only able to manage 2 goals for the game and had only registered 0-3-3 up to half time. Max Dreher and Uwandu battled hard but they will need a better performance from all 22 this week. Tough one to pick, going with the Roosters but not with any great certainty. WPL by 19 points

Greensborough (5th 7-7-1) vs Heidelberg (1st 14-1) Greensborough would be disappointed not coming away from Yulong reserve last week after going down by 14 points to Bundoora. Nick Riddle was superb down back last week and will look to his forwards this week to have a greater contribution. Caddy, Phelan, Stellas and Brindley will need to work hard to keep the ball in Greensborough front half.
Heidelberg were awesome last week, completely destroying West Preston and they add to their squad by naming Brayden Sier back from injury. Keenan Poser has had an excellent last 3 weeks of footy. Schnerring, Minogue, Gilmore and Wilson all amongst the goals last week and will look to continue their great season form.
Too much depth and class across all 3 lines for Heidelberg. Tigers by 41 points

Match of the day in Division 1 sees Montmorency (2nd 12-3) vs Bundoora (3rd 11-4) Monty were at their brutal best last week with a dominating win. Danko Brzenic has been on fire with 19 goals over his last 4 games and with competition leading goal kicker Paddy Fitzgerald (61 majors) firing it’s a great 1-2 punch. Robinson and Donaldson also in really good form for the magpies as well.
Bundoora would have been happy with their win last week, especially without Jorgensen (45 goals) not hitting the scoreboard, he will look to bounce back this week. It was Marshall and Collins who got the job done for the bulls last week and they have another huge role to play tomorrow.
Great game between two very good side. Monty at home by 22 points

Whittlesea (8th 4-11) vs Nth Heidelberg (6th 6-9). The Eagles were great last week beating fellow relegation side Northcote Park by 31 points. It was again Mitch Andrews, Jaron Murphy and Xavier Dimasi leading from the front. Can the eagles beat Nth Heidelberg this week to confirm their place in division 1 in 2023. The doggies had a good 7 goal win last week with the Nth Melbourne connection of Majok Daw and Brent Harvey being named best. Last time they met it was a 7 goal win to the doggies. I think it will be closer this time, but Nth Heidelberg just a bit too much class for the young eagles. Nth by 31 points

Enjoy the footy

Hurstbridge Vs. Northcote Park is massive! What wheel NP had seem to have fallen off and 'Bridge play their ground so well. Could be curtains drawn at BLO (at least in terms of Div 1 footy)

Couple of big games with finals bound sides locking horns, Mont and Bundy a little preview to week 1.

Hurstbridge Vs. Northcote Park is massive! What wheel NP had seem to have fallen off and 'Bridge play their ground so well. Could be curtains drawn at BLO (at least in terms of Div 1 footy)

Couple of big games with finals bound sides locking horns, Mont and Bundy a little preview to week 1.
NorthernBastard if Northcote Park do drop down to Division 2 it could be there for awhile.
Currently:
seniors last 3-12 65.92% - 39 players used
Reserves last 2-13 23.56% - 58 players used
No under 19’s and juniors.

Will be interesting to see if Perry (x2), Boyse, Tallariti, McNiece and Schroder play division 2 footy

NFNL Div 1 discussion 2022