NFNL Div 3 discussion 2023

Was told they were outclassed for the most part as you would expect from a Div 2 finalist but plenty of positives shown by a few of the young guys holding there own.
Result definitely expected but good on them for having a crack against sides they're aspiring to reach next season

Practice matches for this weekend

Friday night
Lalor vs Reservoir @ Lalor

Saturday:
Kilmore vs Coburg Districts @ Kilmore
Mernda vs Northern Saints @ Northern Saints

Sunday:
Kinglake vs Craigieburn @ Kinglake

Unsure if Laurimar and Heidelberg West so if anyone has any details please feel free to add.
Old Eltham don’t have a game scheduled this week

It’s great to have footy back

Practice matches for this weekend

Friday night
Lalor vs Reservoir @ Lalor

Saturday:
Kilmore vs Coburg Districts @ Kilmore
Mernda vs Northern Saints @ Northern Saints

Sunday:
Kinglake vs Craigieburn @ Kinglake

Unsure if Laurimar and Heidelberg West so if anyone has any details please feel free to add.
Old Eltham don’t have a game scheduled this week

It’s great to have footy back

Also after the game is the fundraiser for Tom DeSousa.

Tim Tszyu signed glove, 6k value tradie pack and heaps heaps more up for auction and also a heap of raffles.

Good to see west combining with Banyule to get a 19s going.

Should be one 19s per club imo.

What’s the point of these kids from Banyule playing in a combined side. Should just join West and be done with it.

Same with Boro having 2 sides. Why not say bad luck kids and they can go to sides struggling with 19s?

What’s the point of these kids from Banyule playing in a combined side. Should just join West and be done with it.

Same with Boro having 2 sides. Why not say bad luck kids and they can go to sides struggling with 19s?

Your joking right

Why shoud clubs who have worked hard on their juniors risk losing them to other clubs. Banyule would want their 19/s to remain their players, and not become West players where they could prob play seniors

10571z I think it’s great that Banyule and Heidelberg West have joined for forces to give another 18-24 players an opportunity to play footy

I disagree with you in terms of Greensborough having 2 under 19 teams. If they have enough players for 2 teams good luck to them, they have a strong junior base and shouldn’t be disadvantaged because of this.

With grading would much rather have Greensborough have 2 teams then kids not play at all which would happen to them if they had to go and play at another club

The more 19’s teams we have in the NFNL the better it is in the long run

What dont you understand about under 19 football?? The boys want to play with their mates that they have played 10 years of junior football with and they want to stay at the club that has supported them throughout their junior football - A club that they feel part of and may even feel loyal to god forbid.
They dont want to go to another club just to play a game of football they want to STAY AT THEIR CLUB with their mates and repay their club with the prospect of playing senior football at THEIR club.
Clubs that develop strong junior programs at their considerable expense need to be rewarded and given concessions as the players that they develop are the life blood for clubs with few or no juniors
Some kids just want a game of football and will go to average clubs to achieve that buts there not many the majority are lost to the game if they cant play with their mates at THEIR CLUB.

What dont you understand about under 19 football?? The boys want to play with their mates that they have played 10 years of junior football with and they want to stay at the club that has supported them throughout their junior football - A club that they feel part of and may even feel loyal to god forbid.
They dont want to go to another club just to play a game of football they want to STAY AT THEIR CLUB with their mates and repay their club with the prospect of playing senior football at THEIR club.
Clubs that develop strong junior programs at their considerable expense need to be rewarded and given concessions as the players that they develop are the life blood for clubs with few or no juniors
Some kids just want a game of football and will go to average clubs to achieve that buts there not many the majority are lost to the game if they cant play with their mates at THEIR CLUB.
I totally get your point. But I wouldn’t be surprised to see a few leagues change this. Been some talk of it

Not a big issue in the NFNL with only 1 side with a double up

I totally get your point. But I wouldn’t be surprised to see a few leagues change this. Been some talk of it

If leagues do bring in such a rule change it wont be Clubs with strong junior programs that go to the wall, which is good...........might not be such a bad thing after all!
Rationalisation?

10571z would be the dumbest decision any league could make
Why penalise clubs that work their arses off in both junior and senior ranks to get kids to play under 19’s
If you have enough for 2 teams, power to those clubs

10571z would be the dumbest decision any league could make
Why penalise clubs that work their arses off in both junior and senior ranks to get kids to play under 19’s
If you have enough for 2 teams, power to those clubs
I’ll leave those decisions to the big wigs.

Obviously some fairly large talk about club sustainability with what we have seen this year! At least 8 clubs gone.

MOU’s soon to be adjusted to spread the talent. I dare say we will see a fair few changes in the coming years to a few aspects of local footy.

I’ll leave those decisions to the big wigs.

Obviously some fairly large talk about club sustainability with what we have seen this year! At least 8 clubs gone.

MOU’s soon to be adjusted to spread the talent. I dare say we will see a fair few changes in the coming years to a few aspects of local footy.
How are MOUs being adjusted?

This is an AFL Vic directive i believe

But a club who has juniors basically can't have an MOU elsewhere.

Not a huge issue in this league, more in other leagues where some clubs have juniors and another 2-3 feeders.

Yarrambat's with Bundoora maybe the only one that's effected off the top of my head?

Had a read of the stars article. Look to have grabbed a few. Should be decent you’d think.

“We’ve got a lot of experience back, guys like Jai Burns, Peter Hood, Al Norris and a new fella that’s come across, Marlion Pickett’s brother, Tyson. He’s a really powerful midfield-forward and we’re really excited by what he can do this year.”

Coming off a premiership with Yallourn in the North Gippsland league, ruckman Allan Norris is a massive boost to the Stars’ ambitions, while Corey Wanganeen earned Team of the Year honours in the Kyabram District league with Girgarre.

Experienced pair Peter Hood and Jai Burns, who was among Bundoora’s best in last season’s Division 1 grand final, return to try and help their club bounce straight back up to Division 2.

Anthony Walker (Tallygaroopna), Rex Taylor (Girgarre), Raman Winmar (Rumbalara), Michael Graham (Sandgate, AFL Queensland) and his nephew Djarran (West Preston-Lakeside) and Northcote Park trio Kaelun Brown, Gordon Bamblett and Luke McKeown are among the other key recruits”

Had a read of the stars article. Look to have grabbed a few. Should be decent you’d think.

“We’ve got a lot of experience back, guys like Jai Burns, Peter Hood, Al Norris and a new fella that’s come across, Marlion Pickett’s brother, Tyson. He’s a really powerful midfield-forward and we’re really excited by what he can do this year.”

Coming off a premiership with Yallourn in the North Gippsland league, ruckman Allan Norris is a massive boost to the Stars’ ambitions, while Corey Wanganeen earned Team of the Year honours in the Kyabram District league with Girgarre.

Experienced pair Peter Hood and Jai Burns, who was among Bundoora’s best in last season’s Division 1 grand final, return to try and help their club bounce straight back up to Division 2.

Anthony Walker (Tallygaroopna), Rex Taylor (Girgarre), Raman Winmar (Rumbalara), Michael Graham (Sandgate, AFL Queensland) and his nephew Djarran (West Preston-Lakeside) and Northcote Park trio Kaelun Brown, Gordon Bamblett and Luke McKeown are among the other key recruits”
Better than decent. It’s going to be a pretty tight season

This is an AFL Vic directive i believe

But a club who has juniors basically can't have an MOU elsewhere.

Not a huge issue in this league, more in other leagues where some clubs have juniors and another 2-3 feeders.

Yarrambat's with Bundoora maybe the only one that's effected off the top of my head?
Our juniors had MOUs with Heidelberg, Banyule and West H in NFNL in the past. Add to that we have a significant number of our juniors play for thier schools (Trinity, Old Iv, Carey, Xavier, StKevs and Marc) and it makes a big difference to our opportunities to recruit and retain players moving forward if MOU guidelines are adjusted.

Chump.

Our juniors had MOUs with Heidelberg, Banyule and West H in NFNL in the past. Add to that we have a significant number of our juniors play for thier schools (Trinity, Old Iv, Carey, Xavier, StKevs and Marc) and it makes a big difference to our opportunities to recruit and retain players moving forward if MOU guidelines are adjusted.

Chump.
Are you saying that’s a positive for you? Do they still have active MOUs with these clubs?

Im suggesting, in our case - limiting MOUs to one senior club would be beneficial to our club as our juniors get picked up IF multiple MOUs to a junior club exist ie: let others develop their own juniors pathway into their club

That said, senior players WILL move for money to other clubs and that is fine. Just don't give them the points benefit also.

Chump

PS could be even more relevant IF Ivanhoe try and move to NFNL

Im suggesting, in our case - limiting MOUs to one senior club would be beneficial to our club as our juniors get picked off IF multiple MOUs to a junior club exist ie: let others develop their own juniors pathway into their club

That said, senior players WILL move for money to other clubs and that is fine. Just don't give them the points benefit also.

Chump

PS could be even more relevant IF Ivanhoe try and move to NFNL
WHEN* Ivanhoe try and move to NFNL. Only a matter of time

NFNL Div 3 discussion 2023