Who will have the better career?

• Nick Daicos

Votes: 204 61.8%
  • Sam Walsh

Votes: 126 38.2%

Players run up to 15km a game.
Nick I bet would beat most of the guys you mention in a long distance. 2km means s**t really.
Just pointing out he's our best at 2km.
And Walsh ran an average of 15.26km a game with multiple 17km+ games in 2021. I'd just about bet my life on him winning out over any middle or long distance event over Daicos. He was still tagged effectively multiple times. Walsh is also arguably stronger and a better contested ball player, Nick a far more damaging kick of the footy.

So if Walsh, statistically the best runner in the competition over the last couple of years can be tagged... why would Daicos with an inferior engine, be untaggable?

It's just dribble.

And Walsh ran an average of 15.26km a game with multiple 17km+ games in 2021. I'd just about bet my life on him winning out over any middle or long distance event over Daicos. He was still tagged effectively multiple times. Walsh is also arguably stronger and a better contested ball player, Nick a far more damaging kick of the footy.

So if Walsh, statistically the best runner in the competition over the last couple of years can be tagged... why would Daicos with an inferior engine, be untaggable?

It's just dribble.
Keep watching the dribble I'm talking.
Walsh is unreal, Nick on another level above.

It's just dribble.
I'm sure it's theoretically possible to tag Daicos, just like it's theoretically possible to set up a human colony on Jupiter. It's possible!!

Keep watching the dribble I'm talking.
Walsh is unreal, Nick on another level above.
Both guns. Nick a better user by foot, Walsh a better runner and contested ball winner. Neither play anything like each other.

Too early for me to call who I'd prefer, but the rubbish Pies fans make up about Daicos being an unstoppable, untaggable force of nature is simply laughable.

Both guns. Nick a better user by foot, Walsh a better runner and contested ball winner. Neither play anything like each other.

Too early for me to call who I'd prefer, but the rubbish Pies fans make up about Daicos being an unstoppable, untaggable force of nature is simply laughable.
Both guns. Remind me the next time Nick gets tagged out of a game.

Anyone who wouldn't pick Daicos over someone else has rocks in their head.

You'll just have to be satisfied with your two Coleman medallists and Brownlow medallist.

It's just dribble.
And in spite of that hasn’t played a single final

Ok so the other clubs are just letting one of (if not the best) ball user in the comp to rack up high 30’s week after week, got it.
I know Brisbane dont often tag and I know that we let him run free a lot. But I think we let it go as he left a forward in space and we were able to turn that into Cameron kicking 6. Daicos was only on him for some of that but the running free from responsibility led to overlaps that let Cameron get out the back.

I reckon coaches are trying to replicate that. Leave him to run free and hope to do similar to Brisbane in win the ball and exploit his man on the counter attack.

I know Brisbane dont often tag and I know that we let him run free a lot. But I think we let it go as he left a forward in space and we were able to turn that into Cameron kicking 6. Daicos was only on him for some of that but the running free from responsibility led to overlaps that let Cameron get out the back.

I reckon coaches are trying to replicate that. Leave him to run free and hope to do similar to Brisbane in win the ball and exploit his man on the counter attack.
I think that was a complete brain fart by our defenders, our key backs often flew together and let it out the back multiple times, need to remember Daicos should’ve kicked 4 himself.

Just because the runners at Collingwood aren't at the same level as other clubs doesn't make him a freak runner in the grand scheme of things. A 6:30 2km time trial is nowhere near the elite bracket of runners in the AFL. Even at the rubbish local club I play for we have 7 guys who beat that this pre season. Nick Daicos is a million times the footballer any of them are for many reasons, but his running ability is not one of them.

A lot of clubs have multiple sub 6min runners, Carlton have 5 of them.

So with it clear that he's factually not in the elite bracket of runners, I'll ask again, what about Nick Daicos physically makes him impossible to tag?

Or is it just more dribble by a bunch of nuffies who think he's the 2nd coming of Christ denying that outside of Lachie Jones for 1 quarter nobody has tried tagging him this year?

Why are you specifically referring to the 2km? Clubs do more running tests then a 2km time trial

Fact is mate, he can run all day.

Not sure why this is even a comparison to be fair

Daicos is the best player in the AFL, Sam Walsh not in the top 10.

I'm probably the most unbiased Collingwood fan in here in regards to Daicos. Daicos is a generational talent but think we need to pump the breaks a bit and just let the kid play his footy.

At this current point in time he's not a midfielder so I'm not sure how you can even make comparisons with Walsh just yet. The fact of the matter is, he's not ready to be a midfielder just yet and he does currently have the easiest role in the modern day game (just look what Sheezels doing in his first year in the same role). His stats are a bit inflated with kick ins and handball receives/uncontested possessions but if oppositions coaches aren't going to try stop him then he'll continue doing it for as long as he can. That's not a knock on him, he's elite at what he does off half back but he's too small and gets pushed out the contest too easily when trying to play inside mid. We tried him in the midfield in the practice game against Hawthorn and he was tagged by Magginess and couldn't get near it (his contested work didn't look all that great) so I'm not sure why people are saying he's virtually untaggable. He's a product of a great system at Collingwood and he's reaping all the benefits.

I have no doubt once he develops further he'll be one of the best mids (if not the best) in the game. But at this current point in time he's a half back flanker so any comparisons to any midfielder is essentially useless.

I'm probably the most unbiased Collingwood fan in here in regards to Daicos. Daicos is a generational talent but think we need to pump the breaks a bit and just let the kid play his footy.

At this current point in time he's not a midfielder so I'm not sure how you can even make comparisons with Walsh just yet. The fact of the matter is, he's not ready to be a midfielder just yet and he does currently have the easiest role in the modern day game (just look what Sheezels doing in his first year in the same role). His stats are a bit inflated with kick ins and handball receives/uncontested possessions but if oppositions coaches aren't going to try stop him then he'll continue doing it for as long as he can. That's not a knock on him, he's elite at what he does off half back but he's too small and gets pushed out the contest too easily when trying to play inside mid. We tried him in the midfield in the practice game against Hawthorn and he was tagged by Magginess and couldn't get near it (his contested work didn't look all that great) so I'm not sure why people are saying he's virtually untaggable. He's a product of a great system at Collingwood and he's reaping all the benefits.

I have no doubt once he develops further he'll be one of the best mids (if not the best) in the game. But at this current point in time he's a half back flanker so any comparisons to any midfielder is essentially useless.
Good post but Nick is spending lots of minutes in midfield.
He starts at half back and swaps with either Markov or WHE and goes in the middle. Frampton as well although he is spending more time in the ruck.

Very fair and balanced take. I don't hold the handball receives and kickouts against him either, he's an extraordinary user of the footy and if teams as you say are going to let him do it, then Collingwood would be mad not to continue feeding it to him.

His top 2km time was reported as 6:30 this year which won out at Collingwood. That's 30-40 seconds behind most of the elite runners in the AFL, and over a 1 minute slower than the few absolute freaks like Harry Sharp.
A time trial that was done in footy boots on grass after a big gym session. The AFL players running sub 6 minute 2kms are doing it in running shoes around a track.

Both guns already, both will go on to be in the elite bracket for a decade.

I'd take Daicos. BUT.

I watch more Collingwood, I read more about Collingwood, I pursue more Collingwood media than AFL media. If Walsh played for Collingwood, would my opinion change? Perhaps.

I think that was a complete brain fart by our defenders, our key backs often flew together and let it out the back multiple times, need to remember Daicos should’ve kicked 4 himself.
Oh yeah its a team defence decision/issue. He commits offensively from half back (or as he move up the ground) but leaves his man. Most games the team defence should be able to cover it, some games it doesnt. Question is whether the offence output balances the defensive output. I am very well aware watching Brisbane have a forward line full of goal scorers but who last year especially let the ball rebound too easily out. Its a balance all team make.

For Daicos at the moment he is all offence. The defensive side he might have to build a little more over time. Or maybe he wont and the team will balance around that. Its not a criticism as such just a discussion of thats probably his weakpoint in his game. But for a second year player in a winning team I dont think the club would be worried

Oh yeah its a team defence decision/issue. He commits offensively from half back (or as he move up the ground) but leaves his man. Most games the team defence should be able to cover it, some games it doesnt. Question is whether the offence output balances the defensive output. I am very well aware watching Brisbane have a forward line full of goal scorers but who last year especially let the ball rebound too easily out. Its a balance all team make.

For Daicos at the moment he is all offence. The defensive side he might have to build a little more over time. Or maybe he wont and the team will balance around that. Its not a criticism as such just a discussion of thats probably his weakpoint in his game. But for a second year player in a winning team I dont think the club would be worried
There’s a fair reason why we are winning . N Daicos

Keep your eyes on him in the Anzac day game. Watch the way he moves around. Unlike anyone I have ever seen before.
Freakshow
Makes it look easy.

Andrew Gaze just said he's the best he's ever watched. Gerard Healy, David King the same.

Moved Thread Nick Daicos or Sam Walsh?