Player Watch Nick Daicos

Puts himself up to be criticised and scrutinised(as well as praised) as he is always looking to be involved in the game and gets to alot of contests.

There are others who don't get the same level of scrutiny for us, because they are largely unable to meaningfully involve themselves in the game.

Overall, I thought he was one of the best on ground in a 33 point loss .
And clearly our best player - his 3rd quarter was huge.

Nick actually had equal top contested possessions in this game, which is great, but there were a couple situations where he completely shirked a 50/50 ball, one in the last quarter that directly led to a Brisbane goal. That can't happen.

That said he's gonna be one of those midfielders that average 35 touches and can kick 30-40 goals a season fairly regularly I think.
“One of those”…? There is literally no player who’s ever achieved those sorts of numbers regularly. Even peak Leigh Matthews went at about 27 disposals per game albeit while kicking boatloads of goals. Peak Ablett Jr had one season where he kicked 44 goals and had an average of 31 disposals.

The numbers you’re posting here would be unprecedented as far as I can see.

How massive would that quarter have been if he kicked those 2 goals?
Couldn’t believe he missed that soda from 20m out. Thought my eyes were playing tricks on me.

Puts himself up to be criticised and scrutinised(as well as praised) as he is always looking to be involved in the game and gets to alot of contests.

There are others who don't get the same level of scrutiny for us, because they are largely unable to meaningfully involve themselves in the game.

Overall, I thought he was one of the best on ground in a 33 point loss .

Easily our best Tonight

Couldn’t believe he missed that soda from 20m out. Thought my eyes were playing tricks on me.
I couldn’t believe he missed the other one when he got it from Pendles!! :)

His decisions and execution are off the charts.
He made 2 kicks tonight that I doubt there would be 5 players league wide would see and then execute in that moment.

The decision change on the wing to hit to longer target in the middle and the off centre chip to darcry from full back. Despite looking simple, that was a very high degree of difficulty to pinpoint that kick.

Thought he looked better in the middle tonight than he did all pre season. So that’s scary in itself!

Picking apart 1 thing he did. Fmd I hate this place after a loss
That’s the problem when you are so good so early on. People are going to look for chinks in his armour. He’s not perfect but pretty close.
Daisy Pearce was prattling on at halftime about the tactics to stop N. Daicos after his quiet second quarter. Never mind the fact that everyone sucked in the second quarter.

That’s the problem when you are so good so early on. People are going to look for chinks in his armour. He’s not perfect but pretty close.
Daisy Pearce was prattling on at halftime about the tactics to stop N. Daicos after his quiet second quarter. Never mind the fact that everyone sucked in the second quarter.
He’s in his second year. Just got 38 touches and kicked 2.2. One of our best in a very poor game for most. Discussing minor act is ridiculous and wouldn’t have been mentioned if we won.

Pendles did it a couple of times in his early couple of years too. It’s not fear, it’s just that they are freakishly skilled players who can usually dance their way out of anywhere, but sometimes you have to grunt it out like the plebs.

He’ll learn that and you won’t see it too much. He’s a little too offensive in his play but to be fair we use him that way.
Even Noble used to do that kind of thing a bit, but he has now mastered the spinning pickup under pressure.

Still, that clip is perhaps the one blemish on an otherwise ridiculous game, and he's not even played 30 of them.

Brownlows await.

I couldn’t believe he missed the other one when he got it from Pendles!! :)

His decisions and execution are off the charts.
He made 2 kicks tonight that I doubt there would be 5 players league wide would see and then execute in that moment.

The decision change on the wing to hit to longer target in the middle and the off centre chip to darcry from full back. Despite looking simple, that was a very high degree of difficulty to pinpoint that kick.

Thought he looked better in the middle tonight than he did all pre season. So that’s scary in itself!
The way that his kicks float from left to right and drops perfectly softly into the hands of the receiver is unbelievable

I reckon he’ll sneak a Brownlow vote on those numbers and contribution despite the team being badly beaten.

And I reckon he would have scored 3, 3 and 2 in the previous three matches. So likely 9 votes after four rounds.

A season tally of more than 25 is looking very achievable, injury permitting. 🤞

He did not Wuss out.

Tried to get the Ball but Slipped out of his Hand

It hasn’t been uncommon for various pies players to tap/fumble or pause and allow the opposition possession, so that we can force a tackle. Surrounded by two lions my thought live was along those lines.

Flogs will be flogs, but had Crisp had his head in the game the footy would never have got to that contest.

I reckon he’ll sneak a Brownlow vote on those numbers and contribution despite the team being badly beaten.

And I reckon he would have scored 3, 3 and 2 in the previous three matches. So likely 9 votes after four rounds.

A season tally of more than 25 is looking very achievable, injury permitting. 🤞

Honestly reckon he could get the 3 last night.

There are enough opposition flogs desperately hoping for and watching for every little mistake Nick makes. Do we really need to do it on here too? Fair enough if there are trends within games. But I find it pathetic that opposition dickheads are on the lookout for isolated moments where Nick is less than perfect.

If starts putting in JHF like efforts, then we can talk.

There are enough opposition flogs desperately hoping for and watching for every little mistake Nick makes. Do we really need to do it on here too? Fair enough if there are trends within games. But I find it pathetic that opposition dickheads are on the lookout for isolated moments where Nick is less than perfect.

Like Buckley before him it’s tall poppy and unfortunately there’ll be flogs buzzy around like flies to a turd his whole career made worse by social media and freeze frames.

All good with me other than the missed soda directly in front. FMD we needed someone to show some class and composure on goal and it was nowhere to be seen.

Yeah that was the moment from Nick's game I'd want a mulligan on if given the option

It hasn’t been uncommon for various pies players to tap/fumble or pause and allow the opposition possession, so that we can force a tackle. Surrounded by two lions my thought live was along those lines.

Flogs will be flogs, but had Crisp had his head in the game the footy would never have got to that contest.
Very true and Nick does that often as he doesn’t like to lose his feet and it’s a sound tactic. The one in the clip was a very rare skill error in that he fumbled (which probably shocked him to be fair) but it does look bad. If he played for Carlton this whole board would be carrying on about it.

He’s a deadset superstar though - he’s a phenomenon, a freak, and the best part is he’s ours.

Player Watch Nick Daicos