Player Watch Nick Daicos

He got worried out of it by the oncoming player that and the other one he was worried about contact.

It's OK that he isn't perfect yet he will learn and grow as he gains experience size and confidence in his bodies ability to take and give hits when required.

Buckley also developed it over his career to become more rounded as a player.

People don't need to reach which a few of you guys are for excuses.
He starred all night and imo got much more busy in contests then usual when in the midfield. He will grow its fine.
You're reaching here. If we're honest, we have to admit we don't know the reason for the mistake.

There wasn't a lot of heat coming from Wilmot though, and it looked much more like he'd had an idea of what he was going to do with the ball and then second guessed or didn't pay proper attention to picking it up. We can find many more examples of similar situations where there has been no fumble.

Anyone making an issue of it, however small, has an agenda. To see a problem with it you have to make an uncharitable assumption.

Like a young Pendles, he's going to occasionally look soft because he's good enough to pluck the ball without body lining it. Doing so gives him an extra step or two to get clear and dispose of it effectively. Plus at that stage of the game, we needed to take risks to get back into it, rather than the safer option of bodyline the ball and having it wrapped up in a tackle.

Body lining it doesn’t nessecitate he gets wrapped up or unable to give the hands off to runners in space. Anyway he‘lol grow from it imo.

You're reaching here. If we're honest, we have to admit we don't know the reason for the mistake.

There wasn't a lot of heat coming from Wilmot though, and it looked much more like he'd had an idea of what he was going to do with the ball and then second guessed or didn't pay proper attention to picking it up. We can find many more examples of similar situations where there has been no fumble.

Anyone making an issue of it, however small, has an agenda. To see a problem with it you have to make an uncharitable assumption.

haha your taking the piss mate.

He was worried out of it 100 and consequently in two minds when looking to pick it up , Nick is clean 1 take player even typically under pressure.

Agenda? What agenda like you and others I think the kids a star and generational talent. The agenda being set is by those who think he’s above any and all criticism or is complete player or perfect. I think Nick was BOG.

There is a difference between saying he didn’t go hard enough in a contest or 2 vs being called a generally soft player. I don’t think Nick is a soft player fwiw.

Nick has room to grow in his game it’s ok for you guys to admit that.

No that’s not harsh, it’s almost completely unrealistic given nobody has achieved that before.
Possession numbers have been going up and up for a long time now. 35 touches as an average during his peak will be easy. Harry Sheezel is putting up numbers we haven't seen from a rookie, pretty much ever. Players putting up stats we haven't seen before will start to become much more common place because the game is changing.

So it's really about whether he can also avg somewhere in the vicinity of 1.5-2 goals a game. Based on what he did in juniors and the way he finds space inside 50, even with limited time spent forward, I think it's a reasonable possibility as he moves more into full time mid, and therefore spends much more time forward of center. Of course if we decide we want him to play his current role for his whole career it won't happen.

I recall Ricky Barham doing a similar thing in a grand final which looked bad but was in fact an attempt to take the pill while turning (the old blind turn) and leaving his opponent grasping at thin air. It looks brilliant when it comes off but not so good if you forget to take the pill cleanly.

Yeah nah he doesn't shirk contests.
Either avoiding to get reported or thinking ahead where the ball will be.
Seen no evidence of him avoiding contact because he is scared.
He's clearly passive when running towards very heavily contested situations. It's not about shirking the contest. It's about the absolute fact that when there is a heavily contested situation, his first thought is always to move to the outside, in order to potentially receive the ball, rather than attempt contest it himself. There is in fact an in between when it comes to kamikaze Joel Selwood style contested work, and more middle ground with someone like Pendles who will always put his body over a contested ball even if he doesn't typically dive on it head first. Nick is not remotely at the Pendles stage in terms of hardball contests. Anyway. Nick is a superstar who will likely win a Brownlow or 3. It will definitely help to win them once he's fully rounded out with an inside and outside game.

Possession numbers have been going up and up for a long time now. 35 touches as an average during his peak will be easy. Harry Sheezel is putting up numbers we haven't seen from a rookie, pretty much ever. Players putting up stats we haven't seen before will start to become much more common place because the game is changing.

So it's really about whether he can also avg somewhere in the vicinity of 1.5-2 goals a game. Based on what he did in juniors and the way he finds space inside 50, even with limited time spent forward, I think it's a reasonable possibility as he moves more into full time mid, and therefore spends much more time forward of center. Of course if we decide we want him to play his current role for his whole career it won't happen.
35 possessions a game and 1.5-2 goals per game over a sustained period literally would make him statistically the greatest player of all time.
I’d love for it to happen but I’m just calling it as it is. Unlikely.

haha your taking the piss mate.

He was worried out of it 100 and consequently in two minds when looking to pick it up , Nick is clean 1 take player even typically under pressure.

Agenda? What agenda like you and others I think the kids a star and generational talent. The agenda being set is by those who think he’s above any and all criticism or is complete player or perfect. I think Nick was BOG.

There is a difference between saying he didn’t go hard enough in a contest or 2 vs being called a generally soft player. I don’t think Nick is a soft player fwiw.

Nick has room to grow in his game it’s ok for you guys to admit that.

The only thing he was in two minds about was whether to shimmy to the right or to the left. But he fumbled the ball as he was too busy planning his escape route.

35 possessions a game and 1.5-2 goals per game over a sustained period literally would make him statistically the greatest player of all time.
Yeah, I could see a season of 30 and 1.5 or thereabouts, similar to GAJ in his prime. And Nick is averaging 34.5 and 1 this season, which is amazing - but to expect that over 22 games just doesn't sound very possible.

I took my wife and daughter to the game on Thursday night. They are not footy fans and they don't watch footy at all but they enjoyed the experience. So, when I asked my wife of her opinion of the game, I find it interesting because I know there is no bias at all and surprised how accurate it was!
Her opinion:

• CFC looked flat from the get go (obvious, observation straight up).
  • Darcy Moore is now her favourite player after watching a total of 2 games, 10 years apart.
  • Number 35 is amazing!
  • and, why don't they pass it to DeGoey more, he seems to be always open and in a good position?
Forgot her observation on Brayden Maynard, now her second favourite player behind Darcy. Apparently he looks intimidating but was always defending his teammates.

Spot on in my opinion!

I agree with dot point four.

I almost pull my hair out at how much De Goey gets burned, especially when he’s in our forward 50.

Instead of using the short option, we go long to a pack and if the ball doesn’t get marked or brought down to ground, it’s turned over.

JDG is good overhead/on the lead and he can get 2-3 goals a game if we used him more.

I think this is where we miss Lipinski. He’s so good at lowering his eyes.

He is so *en good it’s freaky. Curiously Josh moves more like Peter, whereas Nick is very different to Peter in my view.
Yes there is a lot of the Pendles 'Glide' to Nick and he only extends himself when it's necessary to get clear - one of the many reasons he is so balanced.

The booing by the northern hillbillies is just typical of their mentality.

I think it's a realistic possibility for the best years of his career, but not career average.

Career average can be impacted by injury and worn out joints/connective tissue.

Nick glides just like Pendles and always assesses a contested situation before moving in.

I have no problem with him assessing - he is still relatively slight and may stay that way.

The less serious injuries the longer his longevity and anyone who doesn't understand his stellar value is linking and connecting from half back to half forward simply doesn't understand the game.

I think the thing that got to me the most was the initial description from old mate that he could be “one of those players that average 35 disposals and 35-40 goals per year”, as if it’s something that’s actually been done before…

He'll have a few games in his career where he'll get 30+ and 5 goals.
Today's game is different to the past. If he can average 30+ and 1.5 goals through out his career he can go down as amongst the best.
In the peak of his career playing down forward he will kick bags of goals.

You could pick 5 much worse efforts from Finn Callaghan today (taken the pick before Nick)
He will be a gun too, but much more ‘outside’ than Nick currently. Pretty short odds he won’t cop the trolls attention like Nick though

He'll have a few games in his career where he'll get 30+ and 5 goals.
Considering he could easily have had 38 and 4 this week, I’d say that there will be more than a few at his peak.

I took my wife and daughter to the game on Thursday night. They are not footy fans and they don't watch footy at all but they enjoyed the experience. So, when I asked my wife of her opinion of the game, I find it interesting because I know there is no bias at all and surprised how accurate it was!
Her opinion:

• CFC looked flat from the get go (obvious, observation straight up).
  • Darcy Moore is now her favourite player after watching a total of 2 games, 10 years apart.
  • Number 35 is amazing!
  • and, why don't they pass it to DeGoey more, he seems to be always open and in a good position?
Forgot her observation on Brayden Maynard, now her second favourite player behind Darcy. Apparently he looks intimidating but was always defending his teammates.

Spot on in my opinion!
I don't blame her I was in love with our awesome skip at first sight too

Player Watch Nick Daicos