Past Coach NMFC Senior Coach - David Noble has parted ways with NMFC

Coaches of the past.

I'm not making excuses for Nobles (i voted for Joyce to coach) but Greenwood's resurgence is more to do with him being fit, putting a mountain of work in over the off-season, having better players around him, and a system that works.

Alan is getting on a bit mate.

The other Alan has his hands full providing a bare bones flight experience.

Unless you mean James? You think young players want someone droning on about Homer?

Sorry can't think of any other Joyces who have ever demonstrated any football nouse.

Which is not so bad when you have nice guy Chris Fagan as coach. It's a balance. Good cop bad cop. But you don't necessarily want to promote the bad cop to run his own station. And that's what we did. Now we have Clarko with Vodd running shotgun and it is perfect.
Now I understand the GM role - Vodd the Impaler. Got it.

I think Robbo's phrasing in his initial question in that clip above is revealing - "what would you personally do different? Your character?"

Robbo (and all other AFL journos) would know more than he'd be saying on air or writing in articles.

Well the other key factor here is that Robbo is a big fan of Sonja and I don't think he wanted to give Noble a soapbox to trash her.

In fairness to Nobles, Greenwood was basically a mr potato head last season that was being held together by sports tape.

I'm not making excuses for Nobles (i voted for Joyce to coach) but Greenwood's resurgence is more to do with him being fit, putting a mountain of work in over the off-season, having better players around him, and a system that works.
Joyce?

Unless you mean James? You think young players want someone droning on about Homer?

Sorry can't think of any other Joyces who have ever demonstrated any football nouse.

Joyce Brown Former netball coach. Fraser's mum. Applied for a job in 96 at Fitzroy?

I remember that. She wrote a good column in Inside Football at the time that I've mentioned before.

She watched Richmond training and North training and commented how the former was all circle work and the latter was full blown contested work. Then related this to the team's fortunes.

This is how I see it.

Not everything was David's fault but at the same time given how things look now...he probably holds some resentment/bitterness towards the club.

Like where was this when I was there sorta thing.

But as others have pointed out...this needed to happen to be in the spot we're in. If he was doing just 'ok' results wise, he'd still be in the job and there would be no Clarkson at North.

Clarkson would probably be at Essendon.....imagine that.

Sorry, not taking it out on you but it was ALL his fault, he was ****ing useless.

No defensive structure at stoppages.
No system for contesting defensive 50 entries.
No system for exiting defensive 50.
Shit skills.
Shit development.
Shit fitness.

He tried to play an offensive game when we were shithouse at defending. Ziebell has top 10 B&F year down back, moves him forward. McDonald has a top 10 B&F, moves him into the midfield. Both played shit in the new roles.

You just need two things to not suck complete dick, pressure and defensive systems. To become a good team you need to also be able to move the ball with purpose and have the fitness to run all game. He had some kind of idea of getting the team from A to B, but had no idea how to do it.

We probably wouldn't have won a lot more games if he had any idea what he was doing, but we wouldn't have been a complete embarrassment.

Sorry, not taking it out on you but it was ALL his fault, he was ******* useless.

No defensive structure at stoppages.
No system for contesting defensive 50 entries.
No system for exiting defensive 50.
s**t skills.
s**t development.
s**t fitness.

He tried to play an offensive game when we were shithouse at defending. Ziebell has top 10 B&F year down back, moves him forward. McDonald has a top 10 B&F, moves him into the midfield. Both played s**t in the new roles.

You just need two things to not suck complete dick, pressure and defensive systems. To become a good team you need to also be able to move the ball with purpose and have the fitness to run all game. He had some kind of idea of getting the team from A to B, but had no idea how to do it.

We probably wouldn't have won a lot more games if he had any idea what he was doing, but we wouldn't have been a complete embarrassment.

Don't you find it interesting that on reflection, he feels that he went too defensive in his second season? The only thing I can point to that was too defensive compared with the previous season is that Noble had the defensive zones sitting very deep.

The most famous Joyce...Cameron.

1st* and 4th* in his first 2 seasons as a coach of an AFL team

*teams finishing in the alternate part of the AFL ladder.

Gotta laugh at him responding to the question about what he’s do differently with “we focused too much on the defence in the second year as opposed to offence.”

Mate, if you’re saying you actively focused on defence and the team was still completely void of any semblance of defensive structure then no shit you got the arse.

I think the thing about how North was set up in 2022 was:

• There was a system
  • That system would have worked nicely in 2004 or 2005
  • It was horrifically out of date in 2022
  • Which is why everything fell apart under the slightest pressure
  • Because other teams were literally playing a game style nearly two decades ahead of North

But anyway, that time is done now.

• There was a system
  • Because other teams were literally playing a game style nearly two decades ahead of North

I just think it’s extremely interesting he did not claim a fair chunk of responsibility

Geez you lot are kind, anyone of us could have coached as well if not better than Nobles.
Wowsers he drove us head first into the ground

If he had boobs he'd be off them fy&i

Edit; blardy 21!! If you lot wanted an 18th place in 2021 I could have delivered that while all hoiked up on magic mushrooms.
reckon might have done better that we did.

I saw it. Clearly has an axe to grind. Slobbo asked him if he could come back and talk more about his time at NMFC. "When the time is right" was the reply. I'd have thought he'd be proud of LDU, Cunners' return, Larkey's growth, LMac & Jy becoming captains, Bergman/Goater/Comben being best 22 etc. Of the 26 players used in the first two rounds, he coached all bar Sheezel, Logue, Shiels and Howe. Could be at all happy that for all the disappointment and hard work the team is getting better? Even say it without really meaning it? Doesn't seem like it. Maybe it's the players he feels burnt by? He's asked does he watch North play at all? An emphatic "Nope" with no elaboration. It felt like he's been taught that if he has nothing nice to say, say nothing.

Anyway, the reality is that unquestionably NMFC is better off without Noble, and hopefully Noble is better off without NMFC. He was an utterly awful coach who took over an utterly awful team and the results were predictably utterly awful. Chapter closed. Move on.
Sounds like a self centred tosser.

If you took it seriously you'd probably coach better on shrooms.

I'm s**t at chess, but i've never lost a game tripping (only played a few - played against straight people who normally flog me.)

So long as you aren't peaking you'd probably see the game very differently from the coaches box (lol insert various insane hallucinations here.)
do gay people do the same to you Ferbs?

Thanks David now * off. We all know your history and we don’t need you to rewrite it.
That's the problem. He's now a media darling and the media loves a North controversy. Everytime he's interviewed these questions will be asked and he'll rewrite it to make him come off as best as he possibly can.

• There was a system

JZ said as much this morning when he said we had a much better defensive system now compared to the man on man we were playing previously.

I saw it. Clearly has an axe to grind. Slobbo asked him if he could come back and talk more about his time at NMFC. "When the time is right" was the reply. I'd have thought he'd be proud of LDU, Cunners' return, Larkey's growth, LMac & Jy becoming captains, Bergman/Goater/Comben being best 22 etc. Of the 26 players used in the first two rounds, he coached all bar Sheezel, Logue, Shiels and Howe. Could be at all happy that for all the disappointment and hard work the team is getting better? Even say it without really meaning it? Doesn't seem like it. Maybe it's the players he feels burnt by? He's asked does he watch North play at all? An emphatic "Nope" with no elaboration. It felt like he's been taught that if he has nothing nice to say, say nothing.

Anyway, the reality is that unquestionably NMFC is better off without Noble, and hopefully Noble is better off without NMFC. He was an utterly awful coach who took over an utterly awful team and the results were predictably utterly awful. Chapter closed. Move on.
Perfect post.

100% spot on.

That's the problem. He's now a media darling and the media loves a North controversy. Everytime he's interviewed these questions will be asked and he'll rewrite it to make him come off as best as he possibly can.
If we keep winning, he’s going to have a harder time explaining why he wasn’t the problem.
Especially after he just admitted that he hasn’t built any relationship with players meaningful enough to follow their careers.

Past Coach NMFC Senior Coach - David Noble has parted ways with NMFC