News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)

May I ask why you (or anyone) could possibly be against Tasmania having a team?
A Tassie Gov't funded team wouldn't be near the drain those two joke of a clubs are.
A Tasmanian team would get a free ride just like every other non-Victorian team in the competition.

It's amazing that there are 4 clubs in the 2nd and 3rd biggest traditional football states who contribute NOTHING to the bulk source of media rights (News Corp + Telstra = $1.6b of the original $2.5b 2017-22 deal, which is in turn the bulk source of all AFL revenue), but people only worry about the cushy treatment that GC and GWS get.

A Tasmanian team would get a free ride just like every other non-Victorian team in the competition.

It's amazing that there are 4 clubs in the 2nd and 3rd biggest traditional football states who contribute NOTHING to the bulk source of media rights (News Corp + Telstra = $1.6b of the original $2.5b 2017-22 deal, which is in turn the bulk source of all AFL revenue), but people only worry about the cushy treatment that GC and GWS get.

We also contribute more to the AFL via gate revenue than West Coast does, who are the richest club in the competition, because membership revenue isn't taxed by the AFL. At least to the credit of West Coast, they have been vocal supporters in terms of the AFL buying out Docklands and ensuring the smaller clubs get access to it as clean as possible.

The Dogs were pretty clever changing their name I think, Its given them an advantage I think competing for fans in these new areas

We changed to the Kangaroos... It is why the Duck still has troubles calling us North Melbourne.

I believe we now derive more benefit from Wyndham than the Dogs do now and Geelong is aggressively pushing at those regions from the west, Collingwood and Essendon from the North-West. It is hotly contested now, we need to have a bigger presence. Things like the Huddle helps.

I think if we didn't pay debt down as much as we have, and kept a bit of debt and expanded our supporter base development over the last decade we would have been in a better position than we are currently. It is good being debt free but it would be better having 50-60k members instead of 40k and having a bit of debt.

You have to laugh at Jabba the Hutch. On Football’s fu**sticks he suggested that North should take a 10, 10, 2 deal to play in Tasmania. That is 10 games in Melbourne, 10 on the Map with the other 2 Interstate. Like all the other clubs are gonna agree to that. Absolute Dribble. :stern look
That fat campaigner hates on us massively and never misses the chance to take a cheap shot.

I'd love to see him go head to head with Ben A...

Nope. It shouldn't happen. No one wins. North (or Hawthorn) loses, Tasmania loses and the fairness of the league suffers. You can't let a team have 20 home games.

It'd be craziness. Like a team just getting the round 1 MCG night game season opener for eternity just "because". And then barely leaving the MCG every year.

Would never happen, it'd make a mockery of the competition.

Wyndham not a bad region if we actually work it long term.

HEAPS of white collar Indian migrants hitting that area. Educated, middle class people already with an affinity for sports.

We as a club we should be in there getting a kangaroo toys and walking the PR beat for each and every one of them.

Reality - they'll all end up going for Richmond or Collingwood anyway.

Hutchy could care less about any team. He’d float Geelong relocating to Darwin if he knew it would gain clicks and talk back topics.

He's a vile human being. It's an indictment on our culture that blokes like him and Kyle Sandilands have carved out high profiles and successful media presences.

When's the Tassie election again?

Could just be a case of the state govt and the AFL agreeing to stir the pot via the media so as to give the impression of activity in this space to garner support for the current state govt. Then when they win re-election it goes quite for a bit, feasibility studies continue etc, rinse repeat.

Logically adding and additional team to the comp based in Tasmania makes little sense right now (post-COVID cash concerns, further diluted talent pool, no real market benefit) and North and Hawthorn aren't going anywhere, and St. Kilda, despite their significant debt, are looking like being really competitive on field, making them hard to shift for the foreseeable future.

This just reeks of political charade to me.

I’m starved of footy content so I tuned in.
It’s actually laughable how forced the discussion is.
Caro gets baited into mentioning North should be relocated to Tasmania, like no one was acutely aware she didn’t write an article over the weekend saying so yet again.
Kane plays good cop for the sake of it and “goes in to bat for North” doing his hardest to keep a straight safe whilst doing so.
Lloyd offers next to nothing.

What tops it off is Hutchy sits there the whole time silently until it’s time to move on and he has the final dig via his 10, 10 and 2 comment. He does it all the time and he does it for the talk back so it gets a run on fox sports and sen tomorrow. He knows it sounds like bullshit and all 18 clubs won’t stand for it but it sticks.

This sh*t will continue as long as Caro walks this earth.
When we are forced into a response it’s usually done via an emotive show of defiance, luring in JB and Duck last year and then Corey and Euge this year.

Caro and Hutchy basically get what they wanted. Like clockwork.
I guess it’s an interesting look at how media types over so many years say what they want and get away with it because they have the medium to do so.
If you get that hungry and the only thing left to eat is a maggot-infested sandwich you ****ing starve rather than give in to temptation.

Think Fitzroy were promised x number of Melbourne games when they merged with Brisbane. Not surprisingly they receive fewer than they were promised.

Exactly. Typical AFL spin. I haven't looked at Brisbane's draw this year, but generally they get less games in Melbourne than some other interstate clubs. And one is always at Geelong, where getting a ticket costs an arm and a leg (and your sanity this year as well under the new ticketing arrangements).

The club will basically not reply as this gives her commentary air time.
I remember JB said why give her a response in the media and waste time responding.
Stop commenting on het bullshit and it will disappear.
She will not change
I understand the reasoning, but she hasn't stopped and the rubbish hasn't disappeared.

Kane Cornes defending us on FC something I thought would never happen. Thanks Roosy.

On SM-G986B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Nope. It shouldn't happen. No one wins. North (or Hawthorn) loses, Tasmania loses and the fairness of the league suffers. You can't let a team have 20 home games.
It'd be craziness. Like a team just getting the round 1 MCG night game season opener for eternity just "because". And then barely leaving the MCG every year.

Yeah like it’s a fair comp - everything is manufactured.
The AFL have destroyed a great comp

If you look at the fixtures of North and Richmond this year, we play 8 games away from our home ground (MCG) and you play 7 games away from yours (Marvel/Bellerive)?

Whilst I do like kicking off the season every year, I'd be cool with it being shared around for the sake of fairness. But it's likely to go to other big Vic clubs that command strong TV audiences because that's what the broadcaster wants, and the AFL has to pander to them because they fund the whole comp.

If you look at the fixtures of North and Richmond this year, we play 8 games away from our home ground (MCG) and you play 7 games away from yours (Marvel/Bellerive)?

Whilst I do like kicking off the season every year, I'd be cool with it being shared around for the sake of fairness. But it's likely to go to other big Vic clubs that command strong TV audiences because that's what the broadcaster wants, and the AFL has to pander to them because they fund the whole comp.

The issue is that it's a self perpetuating cycle.

> 'big' club gets primetime fixture because broadcaster wants 'big' club to maximise ratings > 'big' club becomes bigger due to more exposure/brand saturation on FTA TV > 'big club gets primetime fixture because broadcaster wants 'big' club to maximise ratings > etc.

A cycle that the AFL seems unwilling to break due to the Scrooge McDuck-esque $$ in their eyes.

> 'big' club gets primetime fixture because broadcaster wants 'big' club to maximise ratings > 'big' club becomes bigger due to more exposure/brand saturation on FTA TV > 'big club gets primetime fixture because broadcaster wants 'big' club to maximise ratings > etc.

A cycle that the AFL seems unwilling to break due to the Scrooge McDuck-esque $$ in their eyes.

There is only one solution: WIN!

Yeah it's a difficult one though. If the AFL doesn't pander to the broadcaster and give the big drawing clubs the primetime fixtures, then there's not enough broadcast $$ to keep the smaller clubs afloat. I guess they just need to find the right balance. Trying to introduce events such as Good Friday footy for the smaller clubs is a step in the right direction, but there has to be buy-in from the smaller clubs' fans if they want more of these opportunities.

News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)