News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)

Mind you we might won’t to worry about some of Gil’s words when asked about the 19th team being an odd number of teams.

His statement was we have only had an odd number in the comp for 5 years and it tends to even itself out with both expansion and CONTRACTION (insert fold Norf Melborne here)…!

Theres about 10 players that this will affect.

Can add Hally to the won’t play 100 for us as well brigade.

They might have the bidding rights but just like any other F/S I bet the player still has the outright say in it just as any other dual/triple club F/S has…

2028 takes us to the end of Clarkos tenure, no?

Yeah but their Head Coach will be with them long before that.

Just like we saw with Gold Coast and GWS when they entered state leagues before the AFL.

Melbourne needs a third football stadium. This needs to be the angle our club takes from now. Push the angle and need for a 3rd stadium, build allies and let’s see what doors we can open.

If a state like Tassie with 500k population can get a 750 mill stadium that’s used 11 weeks of a season, there is no reason why a 3rd stadium can’t be funded for Melbourne which is soon to be Australia largest city.

it is not logical to have 9 Melbourne clubs playing out of two stadia.

Its what Melbourne needs but not what Melbourne is going to get. The best option moving forward for the league is make a huge song and dance about the renovations at Marvel stadium, maybe subtly acknowledge that people think its a souless dungeon and that things will be different now, and for us the best option is to find a regional ground for the worst drawing games against interstate sides, and show the **** up to home games for the rest.

Best part of the Tassie team is we’ll no longer get idiots saying ship them off to tassie to be the team there
Idiots being idiots they'll just change it to canberra, NT, los angeles, etc

No argument from me - but people thinking that we add games and suddenly attendees come out of the woodwork is naive. The only real way is to build the entire base.

I think the main point is our attendances from '07-'13 werent nearly as bad as is made out when factoring in that our home fixtures were garbage interstate teams on a Sunday arvo games and our away fixtures (at Docklands) were the good ones that people wanted to go to. Finding a clean stadium to play the low drawing games was a cash grab to knock off the debt, not because our home games were so horrific that you may aswell play them in front of two men and a dog at Bellerive.

Right.....so 3 more years of 4 home games in Hobart :/

Not that I really care but the dwindling crowd numbers at our games down there but they'll continue to get smaller and smaller now that the locals know that their own team/club is coming and they'll no longer have to feign support'n'interest for a club that's only there for financial gain.

Bring us home....we want 11 home games in Melbourne.

Not that I really care but the dwindling crowd numbers at our games down there but they'll continue to get smaller and smaller now that the locals know that their own team/club is coming and they'll no longer have to feign support'n'interest for a club that's only there for financial gain.

Jesus wept 🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️🤦‍♂️ the one time I was hoping the AFL would force the club to something it didnt want to do and of course they don't. Can't believe we are being allowed to do this.

Mainlander opinion?
BruisedPersonalAmericanpainthorse-size_restricted.gif

Opinion of someone who understands that the league doesn't need another team due to the following reasons

• Depth of talent
  • Funding of clubs like GWS and Gold Coast already a drain on the league, this another one that will need to be drip fed
  • A bye round, further dilutes the fixture unless its changed to everyone playing each other once
  • Sponsorship dollars, where is it coming from? Further dilution of this as well
  • Where has another sporting team worked in Tassie? Don't sight the NBL, their stadium holds 4,800
  • Lack of support for teams playing down there now, the crowds both North and the Hawks get are embarassing, hardly a town screaming out for a footy team, Canberra gets more and has a larger population

There is zero need for this team other than nostalgia and "oh yeah Tassie play it they deserve one" everyone in the media, including Taswegians (none of which live there anymore) can come up with one reason why this is needed other than "Oh they deserve one"

Can you give me a better reason?

Should play games in rural Victoria. Wangaratta, Albury/Wodonga, Shepparton, Bendigo ect places like this . 🤷🏻‍♂️ seems like a logical option . Any opinions on this ?

Well she said in the letter that they are considering where our "Next Generation Academy recruiting and fan development zones will be" so I would imagine that very thing is what's being investigated, I can't really think of any interstate markets still available to play games in so surely it would have to be in Vic/lower end of NSW(where we should actually have a fanbase).

It was 15 years ago but in 2008 we contractually had to play home games at Carrara and it was a shit show.
No one turned up.

The AFL leapt into action and with Euge orchestrated our home games in 2009 to be moved back to Docklands. All 11 of em.

Carlton, Saints and Richmond picked up the void. Something similar may happen. I’m not as optimistic as Gil and Sonja that she’ll be right. Tassie will turn on us hard now. Why would Tasmanians continue to financially back a club that won’t be the long term?
I hope we have an exit strategy for 2025 otherwise we’ll look like idiots.

Kangaroo vacuum filled on Gold Coast

News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)