News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)

Good idea and I'll go further on this, but firstly, I for one am thrilled that there will be a Tasmanian team. They should have had a Tasmanian team in long before the GC and the GWS.

Having said that, I am far from happy about constructing a 25000 seat stadium in Hobart for the unbelievable cost of $700 plus million. Instead surely
  1. They could spend a lot less upgrading and extending Blundstone and UTas stadiums.
  2. Then they could split home games between Hobart and Launceston.
  3. I know the AFL has said they will play games here, there and everywhere in Tasmania, but why wouldn't they in the nearer term only play their 11 home games in the hugely costly ground to build in Hobart?
  4. Sounds like economic madness to not fully utilise - ie all 11 home games - at this "wonderful" new (not big enough) facility in Hobart.
  5. Now I have always understood that there is a real North/South rivalry between Launceston and Hobart.
  6. How will the good people of Launceston feel if they eventually see maybe the odd token game in their city, or none at all?
  7. I venture to say that they might be a bit like Adelaide and Port Adelaide - hate each other to the extent that they barrack for other teams ahead of their hated rivals. (For the record I hate both Adelaide teams, but nowadays I hate Port far far more for some reason or other. :rolleyes:)
  8. Which I think might provide an opportunity to North and Hawthorn.
  9. Clearly money might be the big barrier to this, but imagine if North and Hawthorn got together and said we will each play 3 home games at Launceston, two of which might be home games against Tasmania, and give the people of Launceston a choice of club to follow., being
  10. Support those a*******s in Hobart or either of our teams, being North or Hawthorn or both.
  11. Yeah I know, I live in fantasy land, but what the heck.
Moving on from that crazy idea, I have said it before and I will say it again. We should adopt Kardinia Park as our second home and play 3 to 4 home games there after we lose Tassie. It will soon have a capacity of 40000, subject to someone coming up with some good quality steel to complete the new "collapsable affair" they are constructing there at the present. Geelong only gets to play 8/9 home games there, when it should be 11 every year, but that's another story.

Despite some of our supporters saying it is too hard to get to Geelong, it is an excellent venue around which Geelong has built their recent success. It is not hard to get there; I have been, for many, many years, travelling regularly, far far further beyond Geelong and if we can find a way to generate some of the cash that Geelong generates, I think it is the way to go.

Just my opinion.

Maybe instead if looking for where to plonk the 20th team next, the AFL should have added two Tassie teams in one hit - one in Launceston and one in Hobart?

How long before Caro, Cornes, Eddie et al start pushing the narrative that the league cant support 19 teams, only 18 therefore North needs to merge with another club.

It won't be... Let's expand to 20 teams and have a NT or third SA or WA team. .

It will be reduce back to 18 teams and North should merge with
1 - Tasmania
2 - Gold Coast
3 - GWS playing out of Canberra
4 - Merge with Norwood
5 - Merge with that place North of Fremantle where the Quokas are

I think Caro will be pushing for a merge with the Gold Coast. She was successful last time
I don’t think this will happen at all.
If there’s any talk about the number or teams I think it will be about making it an even 20.

I think there will be chatter about dividing it into two divisions too.

How long before Caro, Cornes, Eddie et al start pushing the narrative that the league cant support 19 teams, only 18 therefore North needs to merge with another club.

It won't be... Let's expand to 20 teams and have a NT or third SA or WA team. .

It will be reduce back to 18 teams and North should merge with
1 - Tasmania
2 - Gold Coast
3 - GWS playing out of Canberra
4 - Merge with Norwood
5 - Merge with that place North of Fremantle where the Quokas are

I think Caro will be pushing for a merge with the Gold Coast. She was successful last time
Hasn’t Tassie been clear they are not interested and don’t want, in any shape or form, a relocated team? Must be a Tassie team from the bottom up.

You're preaching to the choir there mate, having to travel all the way to Docklands from the Surf Coast to watch our 1996 premiership stars drive around in a motorcade, waving to a sea of red and white scarves was the most disgusted I've ever been at my fellow supporters. But from the clubs point of view I dont know quite what they can do, trying to get our mob to turn up to games is like herding cats. So in the mean time they hunt around for secondary grounds to play games at.
Well champ you seem legit as it comes to being a True North supporter to that I thank you.
I just the BS coming out of mouths of supporters in
1: Not turning up to games.
2:Already talking Priority Pics AGAIN for this year.
3:Our club Chairwoman talking we will still have Academy’s and Sponsors down in Tasmania for years to come trust me that will stop once the new team starts.
4:Already talking play in Bendigo,Shepparton and everywhere else.
This BS needs to stop and people who support the NMFC need to wake up to survive in this sport you need support and $$$$ and at this moment in time our club is the most hated and despised sporting organisation in this country by a long way.
So if supporters what take a shot at me fine Fu:king go ahead.

The faster we get back to playing relevant footy the faster that talk will go away.

If we continue to play like a rabble, then the jungle dreams will beat and they’ll beat louder if we continue to be crap.

On field performance has to be the priority.

On field success and playing good footy hasn’t been the answer in the past. It helps, but we need to find new revenue streams.

Only way we get through

I'd be happy if we could sell a home game to the new tassie side when they come in to be played at blunstone or even there new stadium, they will want as much foot traffic and usage as they can get after spending $700-800 million on a new stadium. 10 home games in vic and 1 in tassie

Would North have 10,000 members who would provide $1000 trust per year?

$10,000,000 a year held in a trust or internal go fund me if you like.

NMFC add the interest to their annual income.

In four years $40,000,000 and an additional passive income of say $2.4m at 6%.

Maybe give a special NMFC hero badge to whoever contributes.

Shoot this down.

I wanted North to do something like this over a decade ago when we last started playing 11 home games.

Lack of support for teams playing down there now, the crowds both North and the Hawks get are embarassing, hardly a town screaming out for a footy team, Canberra gets more and has a larger population. --- The lack of support is because they haven't been Tassie teams. Lets see how they go with their own team.

You'd be surprised at how many mainlanders can't comprehend this lol

The AFL would see it as a failure & would cop an insurmountable amount of s**t if a team folded.

I think by 2030 we will have 20 teams & that will be it for a long time.
Never underestimate the desire of league bosses to want some kind of legacy.

Wayne Jackson is the only VFL/AFL CEO since the 1970s to not have expanded the comp in some way, and in his case, while Port's licence had already been issued, he was the one who handled the implementation.

Gil gets Tassie, Dillon will get Team 20, and his replacement will no doubt be looking for something, too.

We'd be lucky to get 5k to a North v WC/GWS/GC/Freo at Kardinia Park.

The amount of $$$ invested in that place for 8 AFL games, some A league games attended by family and friends and a concert or 2 is astounding.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
They aren't investing in a stadium, they are investing in an electorate.

You'd be surprised at how many mainlanders can't comprehend this lol
It's a perfect argument to convince idiots.

"You Tasmanians need to turn up to games to prove you deserve an AFL team."

Tasmanians then fill the stadium.

"There you go, see, they don't need a team, they're perfectly happy watching Hawthorn and North Melbourne."

Tasmanians then stop going to games.

"Well then, they clearly don't deserve their own team."

Melbourne needs a third football stadium. This needs to be the angle our club takes from now. Push the angle and need for a 3rd stadium, build allies and let’s see what doors we can open.

If a state like Tassie with 500k population can get a 750 mill stadium that’s used 11 weeks of a season, there is no reason why a 3rd stadium can’t be funded for Melbourne which is soon to be Australia largest city.

it is not logical to have 9 Melbourne clubs playing out of two stadia.
You use the word "season" instead of year to try and justify your argument. The stadium won't be used just for AFL.

But its a really good discussion that I'm sure the AFL have looked into.

If there was a third stadium being used in Melbourne it would mean less games in Marvel. This then raises the breakeven point for other games at Marvel. So the question is, would me make more money playing games at 2 stadiums or 1? And the new stadium isn't attracting any new revenue, its just shifting the revenue from Marvel. Although that said, if Hawks and us bring our home games back to Melbourne thats not shifting the revenue from Marvel. So could a new stadium make money for us and its self? It would be interesting to see the numbers.

And then there's the optics of us having 2 home grounds in Melbourne. We can kind of get away with it when some of those games are in Tassie but it would look odd having 2 home grounds in the one city. Do any other clubs around the world do this?

You use the word "season" instead of year to try and justify your argument. The stadium won't be used just for AFL.

But its a really good discussion that I'm sure the AFL have looked into.

If there was a third stadium being used in Melbourne it would mean less games in Marvel. This then raises the breakeven point for other games at Marvel. So the question is, would me make more money playing games at 2 stadiums or 1? And the new stadium isn't attracting any new revenue, its just shifting the revenue from Marvel. Although that said, if Hawks and us bring our home games back to Melbourne thats not shifting the revenue from Marvel. So could a new stadium make money for us and its self? It would be interesting to see the numbers.

And then there's the optics of us having 2 home grounds in Melbourne. We can kind of get away with it when some of those games are in Tassie but it would look odd having 2 home grounds in the one city. Do any other clubs around the world do this?
The problem with Melbourne home games is that ultimately the AFL is dividing up the revenue and taking the lions share (at Docklands) and splitting with MCC the same at the MCG. A new stadium - unless funded independently by some clubs or in conjunction between clubs / Gov - doesn't change this.

North / Hawthorn bringing games back to Melbourne doesn't guarantee a better return at Docklands. The breakeven moves, but that doesn't mean the AFL has to return this windfall to clubs (just as it didn't work in reverse as games went away). Not being able to negotiate and drive our own occupancy hurts smaller Melbourne clubs - albeit with the safety net of the AFL backing to survive.

Ultimately we and most small clubs in Melbourne will be under the hand of the AFL unless we can find a way to independently fund a 3rd ground and compel the AFL to schedule games at this ground. Based on how things stand today - it won't happen in our lifetimes. Our best option (and several other clubs) is to generate enough off field revenue and resources that the AFL minimum funding provided to every single team is all we need to thrive and then use that clout to squeeze head office.

My 2c.

Should play games in rural Victoria. Wangaratta, Albury/Wodonga, Shepparton, Bendigo ect places like this . 🤷🏻‍♂️ seems like a logical option . Any opinions on this ?
The Dees climbed all over the Casey region where many new Australians moved to, if we want new members then attract those who don't have teams they are born into.

As an example, Tarneit is just about an entire suburb of new Australians. I work with many who live there and none of them currently have an AFL team.

As great as a 2nd home in Tassie is, it will always mean low crowd numbers as people will largely go to Tassie games or Melbourne games. We have done very little to expand on our Melbourne based members (maybe tying ourselves to the North Melbourne Precinct as the only real endeavour.

Shoot this down.
It's a fine idea in theory but I'm not so sure there are 10,000 members willing to tip in $1,000 per year for 4 years.

Of course, the danger of a third stadium in Melbourne is that it gets funded privately (the AFL doesn't build stadia anymore) and then we are back in the horrendous situation we were in before the AFL bought Docklands where we had to write a check to the super fund owners every time we hosted a home game there.

Well champ you seem legit as it comes to being a True North supporter to that I thank you.
I just the BS coming out of mouths of supporters in
1: Not turning up to games.
2:Already talking Priority Pics AGAIN for this year.
3:Our club Chairwoman talking we will still have Academy’s and Sponsors down in Tasmania for years to come trust me that will stop once the new team starts.
4:Already talking play in Bendigo,Shepparton and everywhere else.
This BS needs to stop and people who support the NMFC need to wake up to survive in this sport you need support and $$$$ and at this moment in time our club is the most hated and despised sporting organisation in this country by a long way.
So if supporters what take a shot at me fine Fu:king go ahead.

We can only dream of being the most hated and despised sporting organisation in this country. Not sure where you pulled that one from, but most of the jokes directed our way suggest that we are irrelevant. We will only become hated and despised when we return to grand finals and not before.

News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)