News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)

Hi Pykie - Carl Dilena here on Heath's account.

Thanks for your comments and views.

I can only offer my personal views. I see four games as a natural limit as it replicates Hawthorn’s deal. I was comfortable with three but a fourth had been something our funding partner was always keen on. We also see it as compelling from a football performance perspective and longer term member growth.

Personally, I was not in favour of a constitutional limitation when it was previously floated as it could act as an unnecessary constraint on future boards. For example; if we are playing 4 games in Hobart and there was a one-off opportunity to play a game in China for $2M, rather than take the opportunity, the future Board would have to go to a member vote. I saw this as impractical and an unnecessary expense for the club. However, I'm more than happy to ensure your sentiments are shared with the current Board.

Let's be clear though, this 4th game is not about setting up for anything bigger - there is nothing on the radar from our perspective.

In the Tasmanian media, there has been a recent campaign to kick out the Victorian clubs. This raises risk for us so its important that we nurture the relationship more than ever. It’s an important part of our long term strategy.

My simple philosophy is that we are a member-based organisation and have to operate in the best interests of our members. The vast majority of our members are in Victoria so their interests are paramount. We need to grow while preserving our Victorian base.

I can’t speak for future boards or administrations, but I would trust they would follow the same philosophy.

In the end, we are all on the same page. We all love the club and want it to succeed. I would never do anything to disadvantage our club or our members and will always be open and honest in any communications.

Thanks for your support.

Regards,

Carl.

Why must it be four in Hobart and one in China ?

If there was a hypothetical offer to play in China for 2 mill, then I would hope the board would think logically and take it off the interstate games being sold already.

Reduce the Hobart deal to three and then play another one in China.

So the club should be charging me less for my Reserved Seat Package?

If they aren’t careful I might dump it all together and just book in the AFL reserve.

If 10,000 members take the same stance the loss is around $2M in the additional Revenur using a figure of $200 for a Reserved Seat upgrade.

Have they factored that in?
Yep. That's what I'm thinking. I had to call NMFC to find out why my premiership club membership (add on to AFL membership) increased by $110 for 2019. They didn't even bother to communicate that there would be an increase and the reasons for it... nor have they evidently adjusted the cost for the loss of a home game next year :huh:

Stop being a tight arse. I've been buying a memebership for over a decade and rarely use it. Even when I do go to a game I don't use it.

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk
It’s not being a tight arse at all.

They are effectively asking for a donation by reducing the value, but not the price.

So either ask people if they are happy to donate the extra we pay for less or reduce the cost.

Just because you are happy to make that donation, don’t assume everyone will be.

Seems a lot more taking going on these days, than giving back.

Stop being a tight arse. I've been buying a memebership for over a decade and rarely use it. Even when I do go to a game I don't use it.

This is completely the wrong approach. The club is trying to appeal to new supporters. If rusted on ones are struggling to see the value like it or not there is a message in that. Don't shoot the customer because they don't like the shitty product your shop is selling - find a better product. Many supporters have been trying to get the club to come to the party on away reserved seating for years - which I think is a solid compromise but they in their infinite wisdom have stated that this is not financially viable. They don't value the 2,500 odd reserved seat members enough to fight for a deal for them. They can't find any money out of the $500k a game to pay for this? Bull shit. To imply that anyone is being tight for not buying a product is pointless and counterproductive. They need to listen to their customers and members, not explain to them how they're wrong all the time.

I was taking the piss about the slight rise in membership mate from $540 to $550

No where have I said was it too expensive.
My concern is the replacement games and am waiting to see how we are compensated.

Il assume your error and move on

It’s not being a tight arse at all.

They are effectively asking for a donation by reducing the value, but not the price.

So either ask people if they are happy to donate the extra we pay for less or reduce the cost.

Just because you are happy to make that donation, don’t assume everyone will be.

Seems a lot more taking going on these days, than giving back.
This is completely the wrong approach. The club is trying to appeal to new supporters. If rusted on ones are struggling to see the value like it or not there is a message in that. Don't shoot the customer because they don't like the shitty product your shop is selling - find a better product. Many supporters have been trying to get the club to come to the party on away reserved seating for years - which I think is a solid compromise but they in their infinite wisdom have stated that this is not financially viable. They don't value the 2,500 odd reserved seat members enough to fight for a deal for them. They can't find any money out of the $500k a game to pay for this? Bull shit. To imply that anyone is being tight for not buying a product is pointless and counterproductive. They need to listen to their customers and members, not explain to them how they're wrong all the time.
I agree with people being upset about an extra game in Tassie.

To me it is tight arse when people whinge about a perceived percentage in lost value for a memebership.

There are lots of supporters that pump hundreds or thousands into the club each year for no expected service or product but to support the club.

I can tell you I'll be paying over a 1k in memberships this year for guaranteed GF tickets.
I won't be using any of them for game day entry

North Melbourne as North Melbourne at North Melbourne remains the non-negotiable. As an ardent supporter base, who understands that we don’t get the advantages gifted to the big clubs, we have always celebrated our creativity in innovating to survive.

As a Brisbane based fan I just hope for two Qld games each year & I will leave it to the Melbourne based fans to share their thoughts on losing another home game.

Having been to the “home” games in Canberra, Sydney & Gold Coast, I can see Hobart offers an opportunity to grow a real local support base which was not true at the other locations.

I was taking the piss about the slight rise in membership mate from $540 to $550

My concern is the replacement games and am waiting to see how we are compensated.

We've been waiting for 2 generations of teams now for something resembling an effort to compensate for these games. I wouldn't hold your breath.

Error accepted.
Sorry mate

On that first sentence, I find it hard to hear that people have concerns with where we are heading. This club has gone from strength to strength over the past decade and is in a position now where the AFL isn't worried about us financially. We're not the "basket-case" Caroline Wilson and others used to refer to us as being in just about every single article. The Board has made some good moves to secure our future and I reckon we need to remember where we've come from since only 2008 when it was pretty gloomy.

Hi Heath,
I believe the member concern is more with the AFL and future Boards than the current Board.

I believe that the AFL does have a long-term objective to reduce the number of Clubs in Victoria and become a truly Australian competition. If the AFL is able to entice Hawthorn back to Victoria in 2022, remembering that Kennett got under their guard last time, won't our Club (Board) come under intense pressure to pick up the slack (4 games in Launceston)? Under such a scenario we would be Fitzroy#2 with the new Club being the Tasmanian Kangaroos (Brisbane Lions) playing 3 home games in Melbourne for a few seasons.

To me it is tight arse when people whinge about you whinge about the a perceived percentage in lost value for a memebership.

There are lots of supporters that pump hundreds or thousands into the club each year for no expected service or product but to support the club.

I can tell you I'll be paying over a 1k in memberships this year for guaranteed GF tickets.

I'm the same (minus the not attending) but that doesn't change the fact that if you're undecided on a team, new to Melbourne or indeed this country logic says a 7/11 team isn't providing the same value (both financially and involvement with the club). Pretending that this isn't an issue is naive at best and potentially dangerous long term.

To me it is tight arse when people whinge about a perceived percentage in lost value for a memebership.

Not everyone has the same financial situation.

Hi Carl/Heath,
I'm one of the WANM group who met with you and JB to discuss the proposed Constitutional amendment to require a member vote on any proposal to play more than 4 home games per year outside of Victoria. At that meeting, JB raised the possibility of playing a one-off game in China for $5m.

I suggest that consideration be given to changing our Constitution to require the Club to seek a member vote on any proposal to limit "interstate home games" to 4 BUT, does allow for a one-off transfer of a home game per year where the return is at least twice higher than that received for the existing "interstate home games". History to-date, would indicate that if such an offer ($2 m -$5m for one game) came about we would be trampled by the larger Clubs.

This would provide assurance for existing Victorian members that this isn't relocation by stealth plus allow the Board to take such opportunities that may present itself. As I stated at one AGM, I don't have any mistrust of the then current Board but am very unsure of future Boards and very very unsure the AFL.
Retrospectively apologizing here mate as at the time you floated the amendment we were at 3 games and it didnt seem like an imminent threat that it would rise to 4. Or more accurately that the club would consider it.
However today changes things and I would 100% be on board and rallying around at home games to get this up and going.
The club just seems wanting to be Hawthorn rather than find other successful avenues to generate revenue.

We are also well placed with the Victorian Planning Authority’s vision and designs for the wider Arden precinct which will see an influx of more than 40,000 residents and an abundance of commercial buildings over the next 10-20 years. The changing shape of our local area will provide many opportunities for our club into the future.

Not sure why the club is so confident of this.

The VPAs final vision for the Arden/North Melbourne precinct was released in July this year and includes nothing about increasing the footprint of the North Melbourne Football Club and Recreation Reserve.

All other AFL football clubs are moving to locations which have multiple training ovals, without the ability to increase the reserves footprint we will be quickly squeezed out of the inner city as the game continues to professionalise.

upload_2018-10-16_16-56-18.jpeg

https://vpa-web.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/ARDEN-VISION_2018_WEB.pdf

Retrospectively apologizing here mate as at the time you floated the amendment we were at 3 games and it didnt seem like an imminent threat that it would rise to 4. Or more accurately that the club would consider it.
However today changes things and I would 100% be on board and rallying around at home games to get this up and going.
The club just seems wanting to be Hawthorn rather than find other successful avenues to generate revenue.

Personally I think it might be a good time to float an amendment stating no more than 3 games without member approval. That might get some attention. Tough position for the club to be in if they make a commercial agreement that becomes unsupported by our constitution - of course, they could have done something proactive to provide value for Melbourne members prior to it coming to this. But that was too hard, too expensive apparently.

Why must it be four in Hobart and one in China ?

If there was a hypothetical offer to play in China for 2 mill, then I would hope the board would think logically and take it off the interstate games being sold already.

Reduce the Hobart deal to three and then play another one in China.

The argument put forward to WANM was that the $2m offer has a two-week deadline and therefore any requirement to go to the members would preclude the Club from negotiating the deal.

We've been waiting for 2 generations of teams now for something resembling an effort to compensate for these games. I wouldn't hold your breath.
Im with you mate.
There is nothing in writing or set in stone about us getting shafted.
I mean what do we do? Continue to get treated like gimps and back the club in who in return get treated like gimps by the club?

I hated this in 2008 and I hated this in 2012
I hate it more today

In regards to replacement games, I want my equivalent RESERVED SEAT tickets emailed to me. I do not want to be directed to a bay of first in best dressed.

In regards to the 4 games, how do we go about making it constitutional that we never exceed this? I do not trust anyone anymore when it comes to the handling of our Club.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Im with you mate.
There is nothing in writing or set in stone about us getting shafted.
I mean what do we do? Continue to get treated like gimps and back the club in who in return get treated like gimps by the club?

I hated this in 2008 and I hated this in 2012
I hate it more today

It is infuriating. Filling out the same nonsense survey's every year and explaining how much the replacement game setup is disliked only to be ignored. Dead set they are taking the piss by acting like this is a surprise to them.

Shut up and buy a membership.

I think I'll be spending $1,500 less next year. I don't get enough value to justify the price.

The argument put forward to WANM was that the $2m offer has a two-week deadline and therefore any requirement to go to the members would preclude the Club from negotiating the deal.

Those deals would come up before the fixture is set, not during the season.

So there would be nothing precluding the club form altering the deal with the Tassie Govenrment and reducing it by one game and then taking the other game to China.

Personally I think it might be a good time to float an amendment stating no more than 3 games without member approval. That might get some attention. Tough position for the club to be in if they make a commercial agreement that becomes unsupported by our constitution - of course, they could have done something proactive to provide value for Melbourne members prior to it coming to this. But that was too hard, too expensive apparently.

Too late, the agreement has been entered into under the current constitution. Any proposal will need to accept 4 games.

News NMFC & Tassie (the mass debate re our future there, the academy, attending advice)