No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 3

He is spot on and it’s not spin. They do an incredible job with the kids. It’s pretty much a day at the fair. They give away loads of tickets and memberships to children, that drags the parents along and you know what they say, wow this is so much better than NRL from a family perspective. Their strategy is on point and succeeding. It’s just a shame that the children are given the examples of unsportsmanlike behaviour that they are served up. Let’s hipe they imitate Callan ward more than Toby Greene

You misunderstand the point. Enticing families & kids with freebies to a game is one thing.

It IS spin when the fact is they (and this includes the AFL as the driving force) justify a guy like Greene doing what he does on the field - not once, but multiple times.

And Callan Ward is a Judas - there's no glory in that either.

You misunderstand the point. Enticing families & kids with freebies to a game is one thing.

It IS spin when the fact is they (and this includes the AFL as the driving force) justify a guy like Greene doing what he does on the field - not once, but multiple times.

And Callan Ward is a Judas - there's no glory in that either.
No, what you quoted is what they provide, and they do a good job on that. What the team is directed to do is win as NSW people hardly rust on to sport and if they do it’s only the winners. The team management has recruited entitled, petulant and arrogant players and cultivated an environment where this has been allowed to fester. Their discipline is woeful and will cost them in the end. But this is seperate from the marketing strategy to build a solid support base in a very tough environment. I agree with your sentiments on the behaviour and unsportsmanlike style of play, but it’s not spin to suggest they cater for families, have ample jumping castles, games and activities for children and have families attending games.
And award is not Judas, he is a **** up of monumental proportions from Fantasia which we ultimately turned into premiership Superstar Jack McRae. Most people switch jobs for 10k or an extra RDO. Ward left for nearly double what we offered. There is nobody on this forum which wouldn’t have done the same I reckon

He is spot on and it’s not spin. They do an incredible job with the kids. It’s pretty much a day at the fair. They give away loads of tickets and memberships to children, that drags the parents along and you know what they say, wow this is so much better than NRL from a family perspective. Their strategy is on point and succeeding. It’s just a shame that the children are given the examples of unsportsmanlike behaviour that they are served up. Let’s hipe they imitate Callan ward more than Toby Greene

Boy it’s going to be a slow burn Chops.
Been now to a few away games against GWS , and the disinterest amongst the families that bother to turn up with their free tickets and merchandise is staggering to me.

Have sat with a family with 2 early teens , mother had had enough just after 1/4 time , father was playing with his phone the whole game , and the kids , dressed in the full garb had clearly lost interest during the first 1/4 .
They went off to find food and obviously something else to do , bored to death by the whole experience.

Small sample I know , but willing to bet they will have very little support during my lifetime.

This from a plastic peanut:

"This is such a joke. Hawkins king hits a bloke in the melon behind play and gets a week, whilst Green gives a no look face rub (no scratch, no gouge, no poke) and gets the same penalty?

The problem is even if Greene gets off, which I believe will happen, this is just an unnecessary disruption to our club’s preparation.

It’s hard to argue there has not been pressure applied to Michael Christian on this, I know Christian and he is as thick as a plank of wood and marginally less interesting. He is the type of numnut that would be easily influenced.

This charade appears very contrived to me (and I’m not one for conspiracy theories) but understand how figures apply pressure to suit agendas. It shouldn’t get him suspended but it will help someone out"

An unpopular opinion, but I wouldn’t mind if GWS won as they’ll be one of our main rivals next year & a premiership hangover may ensue.

Their pantomime villain aspect is keeping my interest in a fairly ordinary finals series. It may have been a close game last night but Brisbane shit the bed.

I’m just hoping for some decent matchups. I’m an equal opportunity hater. Geelong fans are insufferable at home, Collingwood are OK but sheer size of support base leads to some feral know-nothings bandwagoners. Richmond spent their sympathy tickets because a section of their fans are in this competition to prove who is the greatest, most loyal Tiger with their stupid tattoos and that.

This from a plastic peanut:

"This is such a joke. Hawkins king hits a bloke in the melon behind play and gets a week, whilst Green gives a no look face rub (no scratch, no gouge, no poke) and gets the same penalty?

The problem is even if Greene gets off, which I believe will happen, this is just an unnecessary disruption to our club’s preparation.

It’s hard to argue there has not been pressure applied to Michael Christian on this, I know Christian and he is as thick as a plank of wood and marginally less interesting. He is the type of numnut that would be easily influenced.

This charade appears very contrived to me (and I’m not one for conspiracy theories) but understand how figures apply pressure to suit agendas. It shouldn’t get him suspended but it will help someone out"
Perhaps Toby could try staying out of tackles that his teammates have under control and not “help” by roughing up - sorry, rubbing or brushing - the tacklee’s face or grabbing his hair and banging his head on the ground. Then, you never know, he just might not get cited :rolleyes:

So taking out all bias and anger against him, these are the facts.

He has twice now, after a player is on the ground and already under other players, gone on top of him as well, and put his hands and fingers on their faces whilst they are on the ground unable to defend themselves.

How can anybody dispute that this happened, and that this is both a terrible look for the game and a dog act?

He was 3rd man in against a player already pinned to the ground. He's so very courageous.

Its hilarious that Toby has made a giant arse out of the AFL as it bent over forwards to accommodate this s**tstain by repeating an action from the previous week that really should have seen him at the very least sitting out last nights game. Conveniently he will be available for the grand Final should a catastrophe happen and GWS make it through.

An unpopular opinion, but I wouldn’t mind if GWS won as they’ll be one of our main rivals next year & a premiership hangover may ensue.
This occurred to me as well and I don't disagree. If a flag makes them slacken off next year, it only increases our chances and they have about 500 fans across the country so who cares if they pinch one this year!

I'd rather they get spanked on Saturday so we can mock them about the AFL bending over backwards to give them a flag - and they couldn't even get past the prelim!

He was 3rd man in against a player already pinned to the ground. He's so very courageous.

Its hilarious that Toby has made a giant arse out of the AFL as it bent over forwards to accommodate this s**tstain by repeating an action from the previous week that really should have seen him at the very least sitting out last nights game. Conveniently he will be available for the grand Final should a catastrophe happen and GWS make it through.

I said to a mate tonight how it was good to see a contrived result of the AFL only take a week for it to blow up in their face.

What’s Nick Riewoldt talking about? Saying an injured player is fair game? In 2004 or so, he had an injured arm which Ryan Hargrave was whacking all day, Nick was nearly in tears. Piss off you ****en crier

What’s Nick Riewoldt talking about? Saying an injured player is fair game? In 2004 or so, he had an injured arm which Ryan Hargrave was whacking all day, Nick was nearly in tears. p**s off you fu**en crier

Only one Riewoldt is a premiership player, and it is not Nick.

Can't help but think Collingwood look vulnerable this week

A soft few weeks into the finals, then bye, put Geelong away early, cruised the last half, then anothet bye is not ideal.

They also look woefully understocked for talls. They really only have 3 players in their team who are a genuine Kpp size, Grundy, Roughead and a perpetually proppy Darcy Moore.

If Grundy got injured, they would be a structural mess.

What are the odds Mumford does something nasty early?

If Leon Cameron has any brains he can't play Shane Mumford against Collingwood, Mumford corked
Stefan Martin on the weekend, but he still did enough damage early in the game even if he did
struggle to get back on the ground in the end. Have to go smaller against Collingwood or even go
left field and ruck Keefe, but put a line through Mumford and Simpson too slow for Grundy.

I’m happy Higgins stays with North and not go to the insufferable Geelong. We now probably miss out on his ‘father sons’ as he’ll play 100 games with north too. But I’d rather that than Geelong getting him. Unlike others on here who hate North, I only dislike some of their BF flogs. I like North and many mates barrack for them. Us smaller Melbourne clubs should support each other against all the interests working against us, North and Saints. So it’s good for the smaller clubs that Goldy and Higgins commit.

I’ll always hate Norf. They give it to us every chance they get. No sympathy from me. I still hope they piss off to Tasmania or somewhere else

He resisted that urge to go ‘home’. :rolleyes:

I dunno what planet Robbo lives on, but apparently we're all supposed to want waste of space success.

Sent from my SM-A505YN using Tapatalk

He just doesn’t get it. He thinks he speaks for the everyday fan, but he doesn’t.

The hatred of the Plastics is real and it’s intense, not just by us, but by everyone apart from their half a dozen rent a crowd ‘fans’.

I want them beaten to a pulp on the weekend and then p****** on after that.

Both GWS Fans Descend On MCG For Prelim Final
The Shovel
sports-fans-ss.jpg

GWS Giants fans have swamped Melbourne ahead of Saturday’s clash with Collingwood, with both saying they are hopeful of a grand final berth for their team.

Virgin and Qantas considered putting on extra flights to accommodate the influx of Giants fans, but later confirmed they were able to find half an aisle free on an existing flight.

GWS fan Josh Leech – whose wife Sarah is also a fan – said he hoped ticketing arrangements would allow all of the GWS fans to sit together, to create maximum impact. “We’ve asked the MCG whether they can organise both seats together. It can be a pretty intimidating site for an opposition player to look up and be confronted with a sea of orange”.

Sarah Leech – whose husband Josh is also fan – said the GWS cheer squad would march to the ground together. “Josh might duck of to get a record while I hold the flags, but otherwise we’ll be a unified force. Collingwood doesn’t know what’s going to hit them”.

Both GWS Fans Descend On MCG For Prelim Final
The Shovel
sports-fans-ss.jpg

GWS Giants fans have swamped Melbourne ahead of Saturday’s clash with Collingwood, with both saying they are hopeful of a grand final berth for their team.

Virgin and Qantas considered putting on extra flights to accommodate the influx of Giants fans, but later confirmed they were able to find half an aisle free on an existing flight.

GWS fan Josh Leech – whose wife Sarah is also a fan – said he hoped ticketing arrangements would allow all of the GWS fans to sit together, to create maximum impact. “We’ve asked the MCG whether they can organise both seats together. It can be a pretty intimidating site for an opposition player to look up and be confronted with a sea of orange”.

Sarah Leech – whose husband Josh is also fan – said the GWS cheer squad would march to the ground together. “Josh might duck of to get a record while I hold the flags, but otherwise we’ll be a unified force. Collingwood doesn’t know what’s going to hit them”.

So DR is also The Shovel?! 😲