No Oppo Supporters Non Bulldog Footy Talk - Bulldogs only - Part 4

Is it just me or were collingwood a bit soft at the contest on quite a few occasions last night? Bodylining the contested ball might be the way to go against them, but not sure we have the 22 to do it without dunks.
100% and just looked lost defensively, good blueprint on how to beat them last night. If you have 8 players swarming forward for a handball yeah it looks great but when it’s not working for them the ball is going to come straight back over their head - and they have a lot of players that only run forward.

If you can take their pace off the game and deny their runners supply and strangle them I can’t see that forward line kicking a winning score

Oh yeah, it's absolutely a problem of their own creation. It's like if we lost all of English, Sweet, Lobb, Bruce and Darcy one way or another so we were left with Gardner and Khamis having to spend all their time in the ruck.
Even if we just didn't have English and Sweet available. Lobb and Bruce are just pinch hitters and Darcy still too slight. Imagine a game where Lobb was first ruck and Bruce or Darcy the backup - none of English's presence around the ground.

So I've heard it's a sellout for Good Friday from a Carlton mate.

Isn't it great that it coincides with Carlton being unbeaten and the Roos showing a bit under Clarko

We get shafted for "not drawing a crowd" against one of the worst sides this decade despite being totally dominant. I can guarantee the crowd will be 85% Carlton flogs attending another "blockbuster"

**** you AFL

100% and just looked lost defensively, good blueprint on how to beat them last night. If you have 8 players swarming forward for a handball yeah it looks great but when it’s not working for them the ball is going to come straight back over their head - and they have a lot of players that only run forward.

If you can take their pace off the game and deny their runners supply and strangle them I can’t see that forward line kicking a winning score
Hmm sounds familiar…..

If cloning humans was a thing, Charlie Cameron would be at the top of my wishlist. The man's a wizard.

Isn't it great that it coincides with Carlton being unbeaten and the Roos showing a bit under Clarko

We get shafted for "not drawing a crowd" against one of the worst sides this decade despite being totally dominant. I can guarantee the crowd will be 85% Carlton flogs attending another "blockbuster"

* you AFL
The narrative that we were the ones at fault for “poor crowds” is starting to get annoying now.

Around 48k showed up to watch the Dogs and North play in 2016.
2017 on Good Friday it was around 43k, which I think is pretty damn good for possibly the worst day to play footy in the calendar. So what does the AFL do? Kicks us off and replaces us with…St Kilda..what???

Then they kick St Kilda off and give it to Essendon. Crowd gets 45k+.

Then they kick Essendon off and give it back to us 3 years later. Then the next 3 years of crowds are affected by COVID. North are also 2x back to back spooners during this period.

So then they give it to Carlton, who are pretty much the Essendon 2019 of 2023 and are the big club flavour of the day.

Imagine if the AFL let our battle with North from that 2015-2016 period continue on as Good Friday for a 7 year stretch instead of whatever the hell they actually did.

* you AFL

Far too polite for my liking. I've got some stronger words I'd direct their way in English. Then a few choice Italian ones as well.

As CarnTheScray also posted, the narrative that we were at fault is laughable.

I hope it's either a low-scoring snooze-fest... or Curnow or McKay do a Bruce, kick 10 and its a 100-point annihilation. I enjoy those sort of Good Friday games.

Anyone else get the feeling we've been used until Carlton "get good" again?
Of course. We were always being set up as the fall guy to blame for the shitness of this fixture.

The historically bad turnout for this game had absolutely nothing at all to do with how shit Norf have been since the games inception.

* you AFL
Yeah commentators just enthusing about the crowd. I don’t really care that we don’t have this so called blockbuster, because Norf host it every year so we get no benefit apart from exposure. But Carlton just get gifted games for such an average football team.

Carlton continue to be the most overhyped club in the country, someone with their apparently destiny of finals should be well and clear of Norf

That free kick to Curnow in the goal square....Astro would like a few of those.

Just said to the Mrs that Naughton needs to be penetrated to get a free kick, when any other forward can be the one to initiate contact and end up with the free kick.