- Aug 9, 2019
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
- Other Teams
- Panthers, GWV Rebels, Central Augusta
LOLBeen a disappointment since he left the ABC.
He was no better at the ABC either, the very personification of a try hard full of himself.
LOLBeen a disappointment since he left the ABC.
How would you know when you stay away from the ABC!!LOL
He was no better at the ABC either, the very personification of a try hard full of himself.
LOL
Seriously, WTF?LOL
Knowlegable certainly, but became a pain in the arse as did Robbo with their little Vic love-in footy show. It became unwatchable. And then, talk about cash-for-comments bullshittery! I remember when Port Power had seemingly won about 10 premierships in a row on their paid love-fest for everything teal LOLOLOL right around the time Port Power started the takeover of 5AA when Rowie let it slip he wasn't allowed to say anything negative about Port anymore. LOLSeriously, WTF?
You mean Australis pre-eminent sports caller? Geez, the tall poppy syndrome exists on here..
This sounds a little bit paranoid.Knowlegable certainly, but became a pain in the arse as did Robbo with their little Vic love-in footy show. It became unwatchable. And then, talk about cash-for-comments bullshittery! I remember when Port Power had seemingly won about 10 premierships in a row on their paid love-fest for everything teal LOLOLOL right around the time Port Power started the takeover of 5AA when Rowie let it slip he wasn't allowed to say anything negative about Port anymore. LOL
OK I am not aware of cash for comments - I havent been following it if its a story - but he hosts most of our major sporting events. Clearly, the major decision makers that matter DO rate him highly and he has won heaps of awards for 360. He is the smartest and hardest working guy in the calling industry IMO.Knowlegable certainly, but became a pain in the arse as did Robbo with their little Vic love-in footy show. It became unwatchable. And then, talk about cash-for-comments bullshittery! I remember when Port Power had seemingly won about 10 premierships in a row on their paid love-fest for everything teal LOLOLOL right around the time Port Power started the takeover of 5AA when Rowie let it slip he wasn't allowed to say anything negative about Port anymore. LOL
Seriously, WTF?
You mean Australis pre-eminent sports caller? Geez, the tall poppy syndrome exists on here..
Fair enough. I dont mind Robbo also and thought they worked really well together as such different characters.I used to watch 360 every night, but stopped about 10 years ago. I found the Gerard just got too preachy, which made me prefer Robbo, as crazy as that sounds.
Australia's pre-eminent sports caller, because his employers tell us soSeriously, WTF?
I would say the pinnacle is calling these on tv, not radio. The Ashes, and cricket commentary in general, in Australia is the domain of previously the Richie Benaud team and now the Channel 7 team.OK I am not aware of cash for comments - I havent been following it if its a story - but he hosts most of our major sporting events. Clearly, the major decision makers that matter DO rate him highly and he has won heaps of awards for 360. He is the smartest and hardest working guy in the calling industry IMO.
Whateley is now Australia’s pre-eminent sports broadcaster, calling the Ashes, World Cups, Super Bowls and grand finals. But it’s still hard, no matter how extensive his crib notes, no matter how deeply he dives..
He’s been studying for this – training – for six months, schooling himself for three hours each lunchtime (after hosting SEN radio) and three hours at night (after hosting AFL360 on Foxtel) – both of which graciously agreed to loan him to Nine, the owner of this masthead – then all day on Sundays.
‘It comes at you so ferociously’: Calling from the Olympics hot seat
Gerard Whateley is Australia’s pre-eminent sports caller. How does he prepare for something like the critical call of Jessica Hull’s 1500-metre final?www.smh.com.au
Exactly, Whately a king size pain in the arseKnowlegable certainly, but became a pain in the arse as did Robbo with their little Vic love-in footy show. It became unwatchable. And then, talk about cash-for-comments bullshittery! I remember when Port Power had seemingly won about 10 premierships in a row on their paid love-fest for everything teal LOLOLOL right around the time Port Power started the takeover of 5AA when Rowie let it slip he wasn't allowed to say anything negative about Port anymore. LOL
Bruce McAveney as old as he is absolutey shits all over Whately and always will!!!OK I am not aware of cash for comments - I havent been following it if its a story - but he hosts most of our major sporting events. Clearly, the major decision makers that matter DO rate him highly and he has won heaps of awards for 360. He is the smartest and hardest working guy in the calling industry IMO.
Whateley is now Australia’s pre-eminent sports broadcaster, calling the Ashes, World Cups, Super Bowls and grand finals. But it’s still hard, no matter how extensive his crib notes, no matter how deeply he dives..
He’s been studying for this – training – for six months, schooling himself for three hours each lunchtime (after hosting SEN radio) and three hours at night (after hosting AFL360 on Foxtel) – both of which graciously agreed to loan him to Nine, the owner of this masthead – then all day on Sundays.
‘It comes at you so ferociously’: Calling from the Olympics hot seat
Gerard Whateley is Australia’s pre-eminent sports caller. How does he prepare for something like the critical call of Jessica Hull’s 1500-metre final?www.smh.com.au
Became.too tabloid like. Like you I just stopped watching & only rarely tune in when there is an issue i want to know more about. Found the ring ins better.I used to watch 360 every night, but stopped about 10 years ago. I found the Gerard just got too preachy, which made me prefer Robbo, as crazy as that sounds.
I feel like in big events, Whateley still tries to make the moment about himBecame.too tabloid like. Like you I just stopped watching & only rarely tune in when there is an issue i want to know more about. Found the ring jns better.
But Whateley was better calling the Olympics. When he is just calling events, he is usually fine... but not a fan of his soapbox.
Didn’t find that with his Olympics calling.I feel like in big events, Whateley still tries to make the moment about him
I've spent many many years giving everyone a fair go.Bruce McAveney as old as he is absolutey shits all over Whately and always will!!!
I've spent many many years giving everyone a fair go.
But...
Bruce is simply the best ever. And at any sport. Always passionate. Always in command of the details and often the nuances too.
And always pleasant with an enquiring journalistic outlook. Asked questions about situations rather than offering opinions. Never preachy. Didn't self promote. Not an self indulgent w***er.
Kept it classy and a true professional who added to the the spectacle on our screens.
A few others have somewhat tried their best but they're all behind Bruce. IMO
The Bruce Dennis duo was the high water mark. Like every good team, the funny guy and the straight face. Powerful combination.I rate Dennis higher as an AFL commentator. Super voice, knowledgeable, called the play brilliantly and seamlessly slipped in high level humour. In terms of an allrounder, Bruce is probably the best and even though I think he's preachy, Whately isn't far behind. Shame we lost Clinton Grybas so early, he was on a ridiculous trajectory.
And you feel like you’re being lectured toThe Bruce Dennis duo was the high water mark. Like every good team, the funny guy and the straight face. Powerful combination.
Whatley is concise but I after his commentary, I always feel like I've been required to sit once again (been a few years now) in an English class. He always wants to stretch the language to the point where I'm noticing it as much as the image. Better on radio than TV for mine. But he is clever. Happy to grant him that.
LOL About what?This sounds a little bit paranoid.
Will be interesting to see the change after fox footy start commenting on channel 7 games.Bruce and Dennis for me . Whately best of the current bunch imo but can be a bit annoying.
As for who is the best commentator to paint a mental picture of whats happening in a footy game
a blind mate prefers Whately.
Poll certainly doesn’t think the persecuted Kelli Underwwod to be a Fine Commentator.
View attachment 2201059View attachment 2201061View attachment 2201062View attachment 2201063