MFC Fans Only Non-Demons AFL Discussion – 2024: This year really stinks (but not as much as the Gold Coast rebrand)

7 weeks seems about fair.
For everything that's been said about the AFL handing out harsher punishments it's basically the same action as Solomon on Ling from back in the day

Solomon got eight weeks.

Adrian Anderson:
Anderson compared Webster's conduct to Powell-Pepper, labelling them "very similar". "We’re not saying it’s exactly the same, but it (Powell-Pepper) was the higher end of careless," he told the tribunal. ...GTFOH :tearsofjoy:

For everything that's been said about the AFL handing out harsher punishments it's basically the same action as Solomon on Ling from back in the day

Solomon got eight weeks.

They tend to get the big ones right, its them handing out 3 or 4 weeks for accidents that I dont agree with. You cant tell me SPP deserved the same as Tom Stewart for his bump on Prestia.

Honestly I reckon the Stewart Prestia bump would have gotten more in the mid 00's

But yeah there's been a massive rise of smaller suspensions over the past decade which has lead to the worse hits getting underpenalised. I think the grading system is to blame which the AFL brought in to reduce the amount of tribunal hearings but is just way too simplified

Honestly I reckon the Stewart Prestia bump would have gotten more in the mid 00's
Dunno, Whelan didn't get suspended for this ripper on Hird back in 2005. Head high, left the ground... would be multiple weeks today.

2005 feels like a different world with the commentators praising the hit lol
SOS - "That hit there was an absolute beauty"
Malthouse - "The best thing about that bump... the umpires let it go"

It's a reputation thing, it's like our man Toby Greene he tends to get the rough end of the pineapple because he has a reputation of being a thug.

Remember when Houli got a discounted sentence because Waleed Ali said he's a nice guy.

Looking forward to this game tonight, should be a much better watch.
To be fair, Carlton play pretty dull football too. Probably the closest team to us in terms of style (just with two Coleman winners to bomb it into).

Brisbane on the other hand, good attacking footy.

MFC Fans Only Non-Demons AFL Discussion – 2024: This year really stinks (but not as much as the Gold Coast rebrand)