MFC Fans Only Non Demons Footy Chat 2023 - incl. AFL Grand Final

How many weeks for Caminiti ? Murphy concussed from that, seriously? * all there

Love Caminiti though, great find for the Saints, plays with some mongrel and has some terrific skills for a player his size.
Murphy through an elbow then dropped his head, shouldn't even be looked at campaigner asked for it.

Hopefully JHF keeps copping the boos, what a precious snowflake. Just retire if you cant handle it mummy's boy. Hinkley trotting out the "it was a courageous decision to leave North" line again, what a joke. On a brand new 800k a year contract and gets tucked into his bed every night by mummy... So much courage.

Gutless and weak is now courageous apparently. What a ridiculous world we live nowadays.

Hopefully JHF keeps copping the boos, what a precious snowflake. Just retire if you cant handle it mummy's boy. Hinkley trotting out the "it was a courageous decision to leave North" line again, what a joke. On a brand new 800k a year contract and gets tucked into his bed every night by mummy... So much courage.

Gutless and weak is now courageous apparently. What a ridiculous world we live nowadays.
Hinkley's an idiot for whinging about it in the media. Just making the spotlight bigger.

Yep, similar to what happened with Goodes, just encouraging the fans to do it more coz they now know it gets to him.

Always enjoyed players that embrace the hate from opposing fans. Part of the reason why I love Papely, he lives for the boos. Makes him play better and carry on even more after each goal.

Yep, similar to what happened with Goodes, just encouraging the fans to do it more coz they now know it gets to him.
There's definitely a huge reaction of 'you can't tell me what to do' with this sort of stuff. If I were Hinkley I'd tell JHF to just embrace it be a bit of a villain like Ginnivan. Buy a kiddie pool and fill it with ice in his backyard and post a pic of himself on socials sunbaking in it with a cocktail

How's this murphy dickhead from collingwood, sooking on his way to the bench after being put on the ground, then after the game even, after the game he goes up to Caminiti and has another sook at him? Mouthing off one more time.
Caminiti shoulda put him on his arse again.

How's this murphy dickhead from collingwood, sooking on his way to the bench after being put on the ground, then after the game even, after the game he goes up to Caminiti and has another sook at him? Mouthing off one more time.
Caminiti shoulda put him on his arse again.
What I've found weird is so much definitive commentary from shitty grainy footage. Bloke looks like he takes a cheap shot at old mate and then gets a one two three combo back at him and gets an inadvertent chin cop because he folded like a shitty camping chair on the first shot. ****ed if I know for sure what happened but I dunno how it isn't just - stupid games, stupid prizes. I had a family member get near lynched for retaliation on shitty footage tho so I may have some bias here.

This concussion shit is an absolute joke, tell me it's not money grab. Senior is now suing the AFL and Hawks + Cats for the brain damage he received. Be interesting to see if he is gonna pay any of the money he gets to any of the dozens of players he absolutely smashed behind the ball or cheap shotted. He gonna blame the AFL for this ?

This concussion s**t is an absolute joke, tell me it's not money grab. Senior is now suing the AFL and Hawks + Cats for the brain damage he received. Be interesting to see if he is gonna pay any of the money he gets to any of the dozens of players he absolutely smashed behind the ball or cheap shotted. He gonna blame the AFL for this ?

Needs drug money

That Ablett court case is pretty interesting. We all know he had a legendary appetite for drugs and alcohol, where do you draw the line between cognitive impairment from his career and from his self-abuse?

Interesting link between CTE->anxiety/depression->self medication through drugs and booze too

Cuts both ways and is a very tricky subject
This is well before my time but I thought Ablett was a drug fiend well before he was playing league football.

Yeah he had a voracious appetite for it. I know a guy in hospo who tells a story of Ablett being off his nut and refusing to leave his bar, so the staff were like whatever we'll just close the door and serve him till he leaves, obviously they're all on drugs too, but then it gets to morning and he still won't go, so my mate ends up on the phone and eventually gets through to someone at the Geelong football club who send someone to drag him out. Legend has it he kicked ten goals a few hours later down the road at the G.

It’s definitely interesting. Given the attitudes at the time I can’t imagine too many blokes coming off for concussion and sitting out the game/missing weeks unless there was a fractured skull or some shit with it.

Obviously it’s sad that a lot of those blokes like Ablett Sr, Greg Williams and Shaun Smith are suffering from CTE but the first two would likely punch the shit out of any trainer/doctor/coach that tried to drag them off the ground for a concussion test.

Yeah, I've heard plenty of stories. Concussions don't just happen in AFL though, plenty of opportunity in junior footy too.

Note I'm not saying this is the direct cause of his drinking/drug taking, I don't know enough about his circumstances, but there's been plenty of really sad cases of blokes drinking themselves to death to cope with issues caused by CTE.

Collingwood have become super likeable and I'm not sure how to feel.

The first step was finally getting rid of Eddie

I'm half joking but collingwood have been a lot more open to dialogue with other clubs, as well as taking ownership for some of their past since he's left... That said Browne's son is one dickhead journo

Me personally, I hate Collingwood, I really do.
I can't stand the coach, his hammy "we're a happy family!" schtick drives me up the wall. The only thing I hate more than the sound of his voice is the words that comes out of his face.

I also find it hard to really like any club that becomes successful even partially as a result of inherently unfair policies. Collingwood didn't trade and draft amazingly well over the last few years, didn't have to include Dayne Beams salary in their cap after he left (probably because they'd already botched their salary cap), but have recovered well in no small part to landing one of the best players in the AFL (and his brother who is no slouch either) from a ridiculous "father-son" draft mechanism.

**** em.

Yeah, I've heard plenty of stories. Concussions don't just happen in AFL though, plenty of opportunity in junior footy too.

Note I'm not saying this is the direct cause of his drinking/drug taking, I don't know enough about his circumstances, but there's been plenty of really sad cases of blokes drinking themselves to death to cope with issues caused by CTE.
The interesting lawsuit that’s not as headline grabbing is Liam Picken. He alleges that he told doctors/officials that he didn’t feel right after being concussed but was told he was ok to play. Further, he was returning worse than average cognitive results as early as 2014 but was still being told he was right to go by the club.

I tend to have a bit more sympathy for someone like Picken than the 90s blokes.

MFC Fans Only Non Demons Footy Chat 2023 - incl. AFL Grand Final