Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion

I really hope they don't try to give us a third team.
There's not enough talent in the country. Every year in the draft it's really bare pickings and most teams
struggle to find anyone decent after pick 15. Sides will have to scrap the barrel now to make a list of 40 with a lot of crap players who shouldn't be playing AFL.

AFL has dropped off since GC and GWS came in. The skill level is as low as ever. With Tasmania or adding another side it will be even more worse. AFL the Clanger Football League.

There's not enough talent in the country.

AFL has dropped off since GC and GWS came in. The skill level is as low as ever.

With Tasmania it will be even more worse. AFL the Clanger Football League.
Well, it'll be a return to 80s style footy that the boomers all praise.

Just constant long kicks to packs, like a 4 qtr game of Markings Up.

EBB32002-49BE-44E7-A571-DA197FC9E0FC.jpeg

I know I posted this table only a couple of pages back but it’s relevant to the article below

In essence, Paul Marsh of the AFLPA wants to create a system whereby disadvantaged clubs are given extra funding and/or additional football cap space to help them compete with stronger clubs. The goal is for all players to have a relatively equal chance of winning a premiership regardless of which club they’re drafted to

What a ****ing idiot

What he’s calling for is already happening to a ridiculous extent as evidenced by the table posted. Yet he wants to further sandbag successful clubs lest they get too far ahead of the stragglers

ALL clubs should have the football department cap increased. Along with everything else that cap was reduced due to covid. Unlike everything else it was slashed harder (30% decrease) and has only been partially restored rather than put back to pre covid levels

If clubs are poorly run and can’t compete then that’s on them and properly run clubs shouldn’t be penalised or held back. They certainly shouldn’t be getting extra money when there’s an existing disparity of several million dollars

Maybe he should look at the ridiculous FA system that has far more impact on success and the opposite to what was intended. Players aren’t leaving successful clubs to chase cash at lower clubs, but instead are leaving lower clubs to contending clubs on less money as they want success after filling their boots on good money at a shit club

As discussed a bit earlier, there are too many clubs. Time for a bit of natural selection

The AFL’s player union says the league and clubs must seriously commit to a review of footy’s competitive balance that could hand teams extra money to deal with historical disadvantages.
As part of the AFL’s collective bargaining agreement the player union says it is determined to rectify the situation which sees some players drafted to clubs which have less chance of overall success than the power clubs.

The AFLPA is open to a system where some clubs are handed a financial advantage or extra allowances in the football department cap given a sliding scale of haves and have-nots.

It is one of six key pillars of the AFLPA’s wish list for the new pay deal as an industry competitive balance review.

AFLPA chief executive Paul Marsh said the player union was open to discussing what levers it could pull so every player drafted had an equal chance of winning a premiership and playing in a successful side.

“Our view is that every club’s got advantages and every club’s got disadvantages but when you look at it on a net basis, there are some clubs that are obviously significantly advantaged and some that are disadvantaged,” Marsh told News Corp.

“And so we believe that the answer lies into some sort of an index that goes through that process. Are you a net advantage or net disadvantage club?

“And then what levers can we pull just to even that up and it might be to do with additional money for those clubs. It might be to do with some allowances.

“The big clubs are advantaged in terms of the structural advantages from the past, they get a better fixture which allows them to entrench that structural advantage. And I think you see it with those clubs. Their rebuilds are so much quicker because of everything they have got.”

Marsh said the review might show that some smaller clubs actually had advantages in their lack of size.

But he believes unless the industry strips back the reasons for why some clubs remain at the top of the ladder they cannot find the solutions to help solve the problem.

“The solutions will be the easiest part, but I think for the PA when you have kids coming into the system where they have no choice where they start and are not able to move for eight years, we owe it to them to set this up so they have an equal chance of success.

“The things we agreed to like the salary cap and draft are on the basis that everyone is competitively balanced. And if it‘s not, why do we agree to all that? So how do we deal with that? It doesn’t mean the answers that are in place now are the right answers forever.”

I actually think a 3rd WA team would work in South-West.

Bunbury, Busso, Albany have a combined 140,000 population. The two SW footy leagues are big-time and have a great following.

If WAFC and the state government invested in building a 20,000 capacity stand at one of the existing footy clubs you'd sell-out every game. No struggle to get members like GWS and GC have had.
One of those needs a bigger population imo. Bunbury is certainly heading that way.

But have you all considered this?

ebb32002-49be-44e7-a571-da197fc9e0fc-jpeg.1671788

View attachment 1671788

I know I posted this table only a couple of pages back but it’s relevant to the article below

In essence, Paul Marsh of the AFLPA wants to create a system whereby disadvantaged clubs are given extra funding and/or additional football cap space to help them compete with stronger clubs. The goal is for all players to have a relatively equal chance of winning a premiership regardless of which club they’re drafted to

What a ******* idiot

What he’s calling for is already happening to a ridiculous extent as evidenced by the table posted. Yet he wants to further sandbag successful clubs lest they get too far ahead of the stragglers

ALL clubs should have the football department cap increased. Along with everything else that cap was reduced due to covid. Unlike everything else it was slashed harder (30% decrease) and has only been partially restored rather than put back to pre covid levels

If clubs are poorly run and can’t compete then that’s on them and properly run clubs shouldn’t be penalised or held back. They certainly shouldn’t be getting extra money when there’s an existing disparity of several million dollars

Maybe he should look at the ridiculous FA system that has far more impact on success and the opposite to what was intended. Players aren’t leaving successful clubs to chase cash at lower clubs, but instead are leaving lower clubs to contending clubs on less money as they want success after filling their boots on good money at a s**t club

As discussed a bit earlier, there are too many clubs. Time for a bit of natural selection

The AFL’s player union says the league and clubs must seriously commit to a review of footy’s competitive balance that could hand teams extra money to deal with historical disadvantages.
As part of the AFL’s collective bargaining agreement the player union says it is determined to rectify the situation which sees some players drafted to clubs which have less chance of overall success than the power clubs.

The AFLPA is open to a system where some clubs are handed a financial advantage or extra allowances in the football department cap given a sliding scale of haves and have-nots.

It is one of six key pillars of the AFLPA’s wish list for the new pay deal as an industry competitive balance review.

AFLPA chief executive Paul Marsh said the player union was open to discussing what levers it could pull so every player drafted had an equal chance of winning a premiership and playing in a successful side.

“Our view is that every club’s got advantages and every club’s got disadvantages but when you look at it on a net basis, there are some clubs that are obviously significantly advantaged and some that are disadvantaged,” Marsh told News Corp.

“And so we believe that the answer lies into some sort of an index that goes through that process. Are you a net advantage or net disadvantage club?

“And then what levers can we pull just to even that up and it might be to do with additional money for those clubs. It might be to do with some allowances.

“The big clubs are advantaged in terms of the structural advantages from the past, they get a better fixture which allows them to entrench that structural advantage. And I think you see it with those clubs. Their rebuilds are so much quicker because of everything they have got.”

Marsh said the review might show that some smaller clubs actually had advantages in their lack of size.

But he believes unless the industry strips back the reasons for why some clubs remain at the top of the ladder they cannot find the solutions to help solve the problem.

“The solutions will be the easiest part, but I think for the PA when you have kids coming into the system where they have no choice where they start and are not able to move for eight years, we owe it to them to set this up so they have an equal chance of success.

“The things we agreed to like the salary cap and draft are on the basis that everyone is competitively balanced. And if it‘s not, why do we agree to all that? So how do we deal with that? It doesn’t mean the answers that are in place now are the right answers forever.”

Maybe the big clubs should all agree to halve their membership prices or something so their revenue drops back to the pack and the league has to give them more distribution. If they're going to take away any advantage of having strong profits, then we might as well embrace mediocrity and force the AFL to kill off the broke stragglers.

Easy solution to the talent dilution is to finally go down to 15/16 on field. Game would be better for it in so many ways

Clubs will still want 22/23 with interchanges so there’s no less players

Game with 16 on field would look better though

I really hope they don't try to give us a third team.
Reckon team 20 will be based in SA. I can imagine the current SA premier throwing enough cash at the idea to make it work like he did with Gather round.

Cant see McGowan helping the AFL financially at all with a team 20 proposition. Which is fine. Despite the bigger population a third team would fail here imo.

Reckon team 20 will be based in SA. I can imagine the current SA premier throwing enough cash at the idea to make it work like he did with Gather round.

Cant see McGowan helping the AFL financially at all with a team 20 proposition. Which is fine. Despite the bigger population a third team would fail here imo.
Norwood

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

We haven't even got a 19th team yet and you guys are riding the coattails of a rumour made-up by the biggest troglodyte in the AFL media about the 20th. 😂
20th team means a tenth game per round. Which means more $$$. Barring a club folding or two teams merging, we'll get team 20 very soon after Tassie imo.

WA doesn’t have the population to hold a third team but they aren’t too far either. SA don’t have it either and it would impact both Crows and power heaps more that us and freo
Norwood

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Crows would lose out heaps

Would be funny if a third WA teams comes in and with their concessions they are able to land a flag before freo and make the jetty lickers the WA teams.
In all seriousness I could see a third WA team costing freo a lot more fans than us. There's a lot out there that are disillusioned with the club and lets face it, a lot of them have form for jumping ship.

Depends if we go on to have a melb/essendon/rich/carlton period of blue balls

So the official sporting colours of Tasmania are green (primary colour) red and yellow. What would you like to see as the jumper for the new team? Similar to this Rabbitohs jumper but with a Tassie devil instead of a rabbit? Green sash on a red jumper? Vertical stripes instead of horizontal? The Dockers originally had red and green with the purple, but have dropped them as they chased cool, not realising that winning is cooler.
1-006b5d267b-retross67.jpg