Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion

So the official sporting colours of Tasmania are green (primary colour) red and yellow. What would you like to see as the jumper for the new team? Similar to this Rabbitohs jumper but with a Tassie devil instead of a rabbit? Green sash on a red jumper? Vertical stripes instead of horizontal? The Dockers originally had red and green with the purple, but have dropped them as they chased cool, not realising that winning is cooler.
1-006b5d267b-retross67.jpg
I reckon black and white vertical stripes might be the go

Maybe a dark green with a yellow upside down triangle under the collar until about a third down (make it the shape of Tassie) with a deep red Tas tiger clawing out of it?

Maybe that’s a bit over-designed but in my head it looks cool.

So the official sporting colours of Tasmania are green (primary colour) red and yellow. What would you like to see as the jumper for the new team? Similar to this Rabbitohs jumper but with a Tassie devil instead of a rabbit? Green sash on a red jumper? Vertical stripes instead of horizontal? The Dockers originally had red and green with the purple, but have dropped them as they chased cool, not realising that winning is cooler.

The graphics design nerds have already done some mock ups

Would rather not have another team to dilute our chances at getting returning WA talent. The league needs less teams as it is, not more imo.

The AFL needs less Victorian clubs and it needs northern states to stand in their own talent wise.

Victorian football can support a much higher ratio of teams because Victorian clubs prefer local talent, especially lower down the draft. The positive feedback loop is huge in adding to the draft pool.

Tasmania produces 3% of AFL talent, which will grow very quickly with a local team and that's before the talent pathway firms beneath the club.

Having 3 games every two weeks and more cross town matches is only a good thing for WA football.

Darker green with a white sash?

I actually think a 3rd WA team would work in South-West.

Bunbury, Busso, Albany have a combined 140,000 population. The two SW footy leagues are big-time and have a great following.

If WAFC and the state government invested in building a 20,000 capacity stand at one of the existing footy clubs you'd sell-out every game. No struggle to get members like GWS and GC have had.
WA has the greatest share of population living in its capital city. When WA gets a third team it will be in Perth.

Maybe Wanju happens and Bunbury grows to be over 120,000. But that is decades away.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

On the basis of travelling 1-2 times less per year alone we should be in favour of a third team (also means other teams have to travel here more often). WA produces plenty of talent and it might force the AFL (and the Eagles) to put up a bit more of an effort here into delivering a good product for fans. Go for it.

I can't fathom why 3 teams in WA would be desirable. The two most populous cities in the US have two NFL teams, the third - one, and together they have a population larger than Australia.

Conversely, the AFL is content with 10 in Melbourne, a city with a fraction of the population of those cities. Happy to prop up small potato clubs in that city and other nothing teams in the Giants, the Suns and - hopefully not, but probably - Tasmania.

Instead of growing the game, these irrelevant teams diminish it.

We don't need three teams, the AFL just needs Freo not to be dogshit at outreach.... or football.

America has far more potential cities to host franchises. Australia has five mainland capital cities plus three smaller cities that don't look viable on paper.

The AFL needs less Victorian clubs and it needs northern states to stand in their own talent wise.

Victorian football can support a much higher ratio of teams because Victorian clubs prefer local talent, especially lower down the draft. A positive feedback loop is huge in adding to the draft pool.

Tasmania produces 3% of AFL talent, which will grow very quickly with a local team and that's before the talent pathway firms beneath the club.

Having 3 games every two weeks and more cross town matches is only a good thing for WA football.

Nah, can't say I agree.
There's already not enough talent to go around now.
The best thing for WA football is having a strong WAFL competition behind the two AFL teams.

America has far more potential cities to host franchises. Australia has five mainland capital cities plus three smaller cities that don't look viable on paper.

American franchise owners are also prepared to move teams to more profitable markets. The AFL has only managed this twice and not for over 20 years.

Western Kangaroos (merge GWS and norf)
Gold Coast Saints (merge GC and saints and just makes for hilariousness due to what goes down on the GC)
Melbourne Bulldogs (Make the blue and red on Melbournes jumper a little lighter and emblazon a white bulldog behind the MFC insignia on the left breast)

We can have Tassie and still have 16 teams. No preseason games, 25 rounds. Play each team once, play half the competition extra one year and the other half plus your 'rival' club to make up the extra game the next. 200 H+A games per season. Prior to this year 9 games a round meant 198 games per season.

Squads of 50 players. 800 players on lists instead of 756.

Mature depth players can be kept and juniors have more senior players around them in the 2nds, much less topups required for each teams reserves side.

Still leaves 8 victorian teams and 8 interstate teams so the vics can't whinge too much.

**** the Vics, its the AFL not the Mexican Football League (VFL). Equal distribution to all Clubs from the AFL, footy department soft cap 15 million and indexed by combined AFL revenue increase.

Salary cap of 20 million with a 15 million salary floor. Indexed in future by AFL revenue increase.

AFL distribution per club of 20 million per year.

As per current TV rights deal, AFL gets 46.875 mill in revenue per club. I'm pretty sure they can deal with only scraping 26.875 mill off the top of everyone plus whatever other revenue they get.

If an AFL club in that environment can't generate 20+ million in revenue per year themselves they don't deserve to be in existence.

Even if they can only generate 20 million of their own revenue it would give them a max of 10 million for administration if they run minimum salary cap and footy sit just on the football department soft cap.

Thought this was brilliant. This year it looks like we are going to be one of 17 failures because we probably won't win the flag. But it's all a process and we will be back up there soon enough.

I just lost it reminiscing basil zempilas butchering this dudes (fellow greek) name

Thought this was brilliant. This year it looks like we are going to be one of 17 failures because we probably won't win the flag. But it's all a process and we will be back up there soon enough.
Loved that.

Simmo: Trust the process

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I look forward to Tasmania being the Victorian clubs next feeder Academy aligning themselves with the Academies in Gold Coast and Western Sydney
Why I think the Murray/Riverina would work well. It is a breeding ground for players, would draw in local away from Melbourne clubs weekening them and have a strong pull into SA and NSW. It would also draw commercially on big regional centres including Albury/Wodonga and Wagga, even down to Mildira.

Tasmania is an island or two towns remote from each other. Launceston is a dump as Sic noted.

StKildas record v Port is horrendous.

Port have won 11 of the last 12 but fair to say at some weird venues and circumstances.

Reckon Port are sneaking under the radar and could knock off Saints tonight. Clearly the Saints hoodoo side.

At nearly $3 Port are worth a nibble

Port 1-24 $4

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app