Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion

Finn Callaghan arrived in the last quarter tonight going to be some player. Connor Idun maybe the most under rated or under appreciated player in the AFL was again immense just doesn't get beaten and is so smart with his decision making Quaynor was his equal for the Pies and the Goat played nearly his best ever game.

This game will be one that that is talked about for years to come especially if the Pies win the flag

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app

Watching a replay as I didn’t get to watch most of the game live

On the radio (ABC) they were rightly all over the non high tackle free to Toby. Clear as day free

But according to the screeching Brayshaw he was really well tackled by Daicos.

Even when they showed a replay not even a suggestion that it might have been high

Watching a replay as I didn’t get to watch most of the game live

On the radio (ABC) they were rightly all over the non high tackle free to Toby. Clear as day free

But according to the screeching Brayshaw he was really well tackled by Daicos.

Even when they showed a replay not even a suggestion that it might have been high
Toby gets SFA from the umps.
Same thing happened last game.

Something just clicked for GWS, and they’ve gone from very average to the form team of the competition, even allowing for this 1 point loss.

Shows how much of it is attitude, and things can turn around quickly.
They have some real talent on that list though. They got stuck for a while after that GF loss. Since, some players have left in Taranto and Hopper, and now they're regenerated with Green, Ash, Daniels. Hogan, Whitfield, and Coneegio are back in form and Callaghan is coming on. Taylor is elite.

You have to give a ton of respect to Greene, Kelly, Whitfield, Ward, and Coneegio for being staunch. This team now has proper experience. High end experience.

Gold Coast are also not far away. A ton of talent, just waiting for the experience to build up and come together. It would be great if one or both of these teams won a flag. There'd be a surge of bandwagoners, and once they they drop off, not all of them go away. That's how the Swans built a loyal following. With every surge during a good era, more fans would stay.

Giants robbed, i'm still filthy. Got wilder than i have for any Eagles game this year.

• Toby necked
  • Tom Green tripped
  • Degoey finally gets tackled goes to ground with the ball on the deck...
  • Connor Idun necked
  • Collingwood players sitting on the ball for the entire last 2 mins

0 free kicks to the orange team.

Total gift, and given Brisbane's MCG record... i'd be channeling my inner Tony Jones here (circa 2018), when i think it's pointless if they beat Carlton because it'd be so one sided in the grand final. I almost want the blue flogs to win and endure a VFL wank fest because they'd put up more of a fight.

Unfortunately for the Giants they left there run too late in the season and even then they still nearly won against all odds.

If they had of started the year like they finished would have finished top 2 and won the flag. Onus on them now to do what the Pies have done this year.

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app
If they finished top 2 they could have still lost a preliminary final. Like Collingwood almost did.

Giants robbed, i'm still filthy. Got wilder than i have for any Eagles game this year.

• Toby necked
  • Tom Green tripped
  • Connor Idun necked

Total gift, and given Brisbane's MCG record... i'd be channeling my inner Tony Jones here (circa 2018), when i think it's pointless if they beat Carlton because it'd be so one sided in the grand final. I almost want the blue flogs to win and endure a VFL wank fest because they'd put up more of a fight.
Those four non-paid free kicks, obvious free kicks, a couple right in front of the now FOUR field umpires makes it difficult to take the AFL's integrity of the game positions seriously as clearly, the result commercially benefits the AFL.

It disgusts me that the lesser of all the remaining evils is seeing Dayne Zorko, Joe Daniher and Eric Hipwood become premiership players. I'd comfortably accept Carlton but that depends on how the Prelim is umpired.

The real difference is the AFL selling a game for a team with 100k members at their own home ground on the "home of football"...

vs

A team with 20k members playing interstate.

Even my mate from work (WCE supporter) who has GF tickets wanted the Pies to win, purely for a better atmosphere next week. Only it shouldn't be about that. It's not about atmosphere, it's not about filling a stadium or making Y amount of cash on food and drink vs X amount... it's about having an even competition FFS.

Sam Taylor a bit underwhelming last night.

Clearly was looking West on many occasions as he chased a Wobble back towards goal.

Maybe a sneaky late 2nd round offer to GWS?

Who has a screen shot of that umpire standing in full view of DeGoeys touch down after trying to break a tackle? The most blatant free kick and the peanut is all 🙌

Probably the same bloke that ignored right in front of him, that Tom Green had a Collingwood player wrapped around his lower leg:

1695430451584.png

Same bloke that panicked when he went to call deliberate OOB's and suddenly realised the ball hadn't been called out by the boundary umpire.

• Toby necked
  • Tom Green tripped
  • Connor Idun necked

It wasn't noise of affirmation as it wasnt in WA but the umps absouluely panicked under pressure. The not out of bounds ball up that stopped play was the most amateurish panic seen outside of junior footy. Just staggering.

Sam Taylor a bit underwhelming last night.

Clearly was looking West on many occasions as he chased a Wobble back towards goal.

Maybe a sneaky late 2nd round offer to GWS?
I'm a huge fan of Taylor who, in my opinion, is the best KPD in the game however, he was consistently out of position, making boneheaded decisions, caught napping defensively, tried outmarking his opponent rather than spoiling and lost his footing multiple times, directly leading to Pies shots on goal. It was an uncharacteristically bad performance from Sam.

As bad as the umpires were, from memory I can think of at least 5 separate occasions where GWS players straight up burnt teammates on the way into 50 that cost certain goals. Could've won by 20+ if not for those and they seemed more like a combination panicky inexperience and an overwhelming atmosphere than anything else.

Tom Green and Lachlan Keefe are the two which stood out most to me. They were such bad decisions, almost unforgivable given how many teammates they had open in better goal scoring positions.

Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion