Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion

Laverde comes through attacking the ball but doesn’t quite take possession instead taps it in the air in front of him. Being tackled the entire time and eventually is taken to ground

Either he didn’t dispose of the ball correctly or was tackled without it

Umpire calls play on

Start watching the Fox pregame for Carlton v Essendon (my fault but know) and 60 seconds in

Lyon - 83k for this game last year it’s become a really big part of the football calendar (It’s the second year they’ve played it this round on a Sunday night)

Lyon - 2nd v 5th, two power clubs of the competition (Haven’t won a flag between them since 2000 and have appeared in a combined 11 finals series over the last 20 years for a combined 4 wins)

Buckley - irrespective of who you follow it’s great seeing two big Victorian clubs wank wank wankity wank (Speak for yourself Nathan)

It’s ****ing nauseating

Yet another marquee game manufactured for two Victorian sides.

NRL isn't for everyone, but had the opportunity to watch the Storm live yesterday and it was bloody mint.

The game is different to officiate in that's it's not as dynamic as AFL, but gee there's a lot they've got right that the AFL can learn from.

The captains challenge rule is excellent... I reckon there's room for a variation of it in the AFL. Perhaps you look at a structure similar to NFL coaches challenges with adjustments for the amount of umpiring decisions per game in the AFL.

Compare this to Carlton and Essendon last night where the crowd spent most of the night feeding it to the umpires, who looked as confused as everyone else at where this game is going.

NRL isn't for everyone, but had the opportunity to watch the Storm live yesterday and it was bloody mint.

The game is different to officiate in that's it's not as dynamic as AFL, but gee there's a lot they've got right that the AFL can learn from.

The captains challenge rule is excellent... I reckon there's room for a variation of it in the AFL. Perhaps you look at a structure similar to NFL coaches challenges with adjustments for the amount of umpiring decisions per game in the AFL.

Compare this to Carlton and Essendon last night where the crowd spent most of the night feeding it to the umpires, who looked as confused as everyone else at where this game is going.

Officiating of our game and how players interact with umps would have to be two of the biggest issues in the game. It's a horrible look that every time the ball rolls out of bounds you've got an opposition player with arms out absolutely aghast that it is not deliberate.

Arguing with the umps and dissent is back in full force and rarely paid. I think if the players were completely banned from appealing the umpire it would take some pressure off them to make the right calls.

Unsure whether it is true but I have also heard there are some incredible umpires who can't get a gig because they cannot bounce the ball up in the centre. I've been pretty staunch in wanting to keep the bounce but I'd happily see it go if the quality of umpiring it unlocked could then improve.

Officiating of our game and how players interact with umps would have to be two of the biggest issues in the game. It's a horrible look that every time the ball rolls out of bounds you've got an opposition player with arms out absolutely aghast that it is not deliberate.

Arguing with the umps and dissent is back in full force and rarely paid. I think if the players were completely banned from appealing the umpire it would take some pressure off them to make the right calls.

Unsure whether it is true but I have also heard there are some incredible umpires who can't get a gig because they cannot bounce the ball up in the centre. I've been pretty staunch in wanting to keep the bounce but I'd happily see it go if the quality of umpiring it unlocked could then improve.

Being disappointed in an umpiring decision and acting in frustration (to an extent) is completely normal human nature.

Arguing with an umpire and expecting them to change the decision is just idiocy. Just shut your mouth and get over it. Yeo's reaction to the sh*ttiest of sh*t calls on the weekend is a perfect example of how players should behave.

I've told both my kids from early ages in regards to their respective sports - football and netball - that calls will go against them and they won't always make sense and to just keep your mouth shut and keep playing. It's not hard.

Being disappointed in an umpiring decision and acting in frustration (to an extent) is completely normal human nature.

Arguing with an umpire and expecting them to change the decision is just idiocy. Just shut your mouth and get over it. Yeo's reaction to the sh*ttiest of sh*t calls on the weekend is a perfect example of how players should behave.

I've told both my kids from early ages in regards to their respective sports - football and netball - that calls will go against them and they won't always make sense and to just keep your mouth shut and keep playing. It's not hard.

I don't watch much NRL but it's a pretty stark difference in player body language and gesturing compared with AFL, and the NRL boys are all supposed to be brain dead drop kicks. Maybe there's been a bit too much leniency given to the good boys of the AFL that they can now get away with carrying on to the umps as much as they do, and constantly trying to influence their decisions around out of bounds, holding the ball, high contact, in the back, being held.

If the players stopped then it would incite the crowd less. There's at least a portion of the crowd who go sick at the umps because they are following the lead of the player who they think genuinely believes there was a holding the ball or deliberate out of bounds. In the large majority of these situations the player knows it's not a free kick but they are trained to be constantly asking the question of the umps. It must be exhausting trying to do your job and officiate the game with 44 blokes scrutinizing every decision or non decision and begging you to pay another one that isn't there every minute or less.

I don't watch much NRL but it's a pretty stark difference in player body language and gesturing compared with AFL, and the NRL boys are all supposed to be brain dead drop kicks. Maybe there's been a bit too much leniency given to the good boys of the AFL that they can now get away with carrying on to the umps as much as they do, and constantly trying to influence their decisions around out of bounds, holding the ball, high contact, in the back, being held.

If the players stopped then it would incite the crowd less. There's at least a portion of the crowd who go sick at the umps because they are following the lead of the player who they think genuinely believes there was a holding the ball or deliberate out of bounds. In the large majority of these situations the player knows it's not a free kick but they are trained to be constantly asking the question of the umps. It must be exhausting trying to do your job and officiate the game with 44 blokes scrutinizing every decision or non decision and begging you to pay another one that isn't there every minute or less.

It's about 90% of cricket umpiring though.

100% agree.

Having played both footy and dabbled in a bit of rugby in my younger years, this respect starts from the grassroots level. Footy at all grades generally has very little respect for the umpires, game or the rules. Back in my junior days 25+ years ago umpires were still copping abuse from players and parents, into colts and amateurs where umpires were still being abused and even assaulted.

Rugby no matter what code, touch or contact still has that gentleman’s respect when it comes to the officials and the game. They do not take any shit. Players know they will cop 10 in the bin or made to look like a clown on national TV for any disrespect. We knew growing up that the slightest of backchat would result in having to warm the bench for period of time.

AFL - jeez, I’m still convinced the deliberate out of bounds is near 100% a crowd free. Personal attacks, booing, zero respect for the officials. I get it, the rules are a mess particularly now, but the AFL needs to do something.

It needs to start at the lowest level, from the Auskick kids in the suburbs to the guys on the big screen each weekend.

100% agree.

Having played both footy and dabbled in a bit of rugby in my younger years, this respect starts from the grassroots level. Footy at all grades generally has very little respect for the umpires, game or the rules. Back in my junior days 25+ years ago umpires were still copping abuse from players and parents, into colts and amateurs where umpires were still being abused and even assaulted.

Rugby no matter what code, touch or contact still has that gentleman’s respect when it comes to the officials and the game. They do not take any shit. Players know they will cop 10 in the bin or made to look like a clown on national TV for any disrespect. We knew growing up that the slightest of backchat would result in having to warm the bench for period of time.

AFL - jeez, I’m still convinced the deliberate out of bounds is near 100% a crowd free. Personal attacks, booing, zero respect for the officials. I get it, the rules are a mess particularly now, but the AFL needs to do something.

It needs to start at the lowest level, from the Auskick kids in the suburbs to the guys on the big screen each weekend.

My boy was playing 8 year old Auskick on Friday night. As spectators if you question an umpire's decision or in any way say anything negative towards them or the players the rule is you get asked to leave which I think is more than fair and is setting the right example.

Unfortunately one of the kids on the opposition team kept tackling and dumping kids (you're not allowed to take the opponent to the ground at this age) - did it 3 times. After the second time he got a free against he started throwing his hands up and getting frustrated. Was a bit annoyed that neither the umpire nor his coach told him to cut it out coz it was a very poor look from such a young kid.

My boy was playing 8 year old Auskick on Friday night. As spectators if you question an umpire's decision or in any way say anything negative towards them or the players the rule is you get asked to leave which I think is more than fair and is setting the right example.

Unfortunately one of the kids on the opposition team kept tackling and dumping kids (you're not allowed to take the opponent to the ground at this age) - did it 3 times. After the second time he got a free against he started throwing his hands up and getting frustrated. Was a bit annoyed that neither the umpire nor his coach told him to cut it out coz it was a very poor look from such a young kid.

At least half the boys down in my son's AusKick on Sunday morning were commentating themselves as Harley Reid during the pre game drills and challenging each other to do more bounces and kick further than each other 🤣

That is to say, so great he's becoming a role model for the youngins coming through, but after a dirty day in the office some of his interactions with the umps left a fair bit to be desired and I hope he tidies that up.

At least half the boys down in my son's AusKick on Sunday morning were commentating themselves as Harley Reid during the pre game drills and challenging each other to do more bounces and kick further than each other 🤣

That is to say, so great he's becoming a role model for the youngins coming through, but after a dirty day in the office some of his interactions with the umps left a fair bit to be desired and I hope he tidies that up.

Mate, walking onto the ground with the kids for the warm up and heard "Harley Reid" yelled a bunch of times from both sides. Kids obviously loving him big time.

What a piece of scum that woman was walking along giving the finger to the crowd. Typical Essendon trash.
In her defence, it was to Carlton supporters.
Ill Allow It GIF

Correct.

Leave the reaction for us rabid fans.

Was insane. I normally dont carry on at the footy but **** i was livid with a few decisions

Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion