Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion

I was reflecting on the 2024 GF and there are a couple of interesting stats that I haven't heard discussed much in the media:
- Brisbane was the first non Victorian team to win a GF from outside top 4 under the current finals system. Had to travel 3 weeks in a row (Sydney->-Melb->Melb)
-This was the first non-Vic GF since 2006!
-Brisbane was only the third non-Vic premier since 2006 (Sydney 2012, West Coast 2018, Brisbane 2024). All were 6 years apart (means that West Coast 2030 is in play)
-Sydney was the first minor premier not to win the flag since 2020, breaking the run of Melb (21), Geelong (22), Collingwood (23)
-Brisbane was the first team to backup a losing grand final since Hawthorn in 2013

The crazy part of the 2015 GF is that Hawks smacked us but they weren't that much better than us in the game. Everything went their way and we were clearly overawed by the occasion. The game was there for the taking and we didnt show up.
Like freo in 13.

Fyfes biggest flaw exposed on the bis stage and ultimately cost them a premiership.

aussie rules footy GIF by AFL

2018, 2011, 2015. Three that stand out to me that I remember extremely well (I was young in 2006).

2011 was mint for a non-flag year. I feel like a lot of that was on Darling and Gaff and the way they reinvigorated the team after such a shit year in 2010.

The grand final result aside, 2015 was one of the most fun years I had as an eagles supporter
That was the first year we had season tickets and I never saw them lose a game at Subi, I think they did lose a couple but I was away working, loved it. The two home finals were a blast and I even got tickets for the GF..................:(

It'll take something very special to beat '18 for me.

I remember going to the first game at Optus, watching Buddy beat us on his own just about. I left that game feeling like we were in for a horror show of a year, thinking the new stadium would erase our home ground advantage.

What a year it turned out to be, even without the flag. Undefeated in Melbourne, Yeo putting Dusty in his pocket and JD becoming Prime Wayne Carey against the Tigers, beating Port after the siren at home (again), the redemption game against the Demons (and making Fox's half time show feel like a funeral), watching Cockburn absolutely implode in front of my own eyes after the Gaff incident.

2018 was my first year living in Perth as an adult, so I could go to the footy when it suited me instead of having to hope Dad was available to take me. I think I ended up going to all our home games bar 2 or 3.

And, well, you campaigners know what happened at the end of all that.

It'll take something very special to beat '18 for me.

I remember going to the first game at Optus, watching Buddy beat us on his own just about. I left that game feeling like we were in for a horror show of a year, thinking the new stadium would erase our home ground advantage.

What a year it turned out to be, even without the flag. Undefeated in Melbourne, Yeo putting Dusty in his pocket and JD becoming Prime Wayne Carey against the Tigers, beating Port after the siren at home (again), the redemption game against the Demons (and making Fox's half time show feel like a funeral), watching Cockburn absolutely implode in front of my own eyes after the Gaff incident.

2018 was my first year living in Perth as an adult, so I could go to the footy when it suited me instead of having to hope Dad was available to take me. I think I ended up going to all our home games bar 2 or 3.

And, well, you campaigners know what happened at the end of all that.
I had my Buck's party the night before that rnd 1 game and was hungover as shit. Expected us to have a poor year, but after the game my Dad said that he thought both teams would play finals. I thought he was crazy, but he was right.

The highlight of the H&A was the game where we absolutely smashed Richmond. The day after my wedding, sun was shining and I walked out knowing we'd be a serious flag chance. My only regret is that we didn't get the chance to play Tigers in the GF, as I think we would have done them by 5 goals +.

Am I the only one who's glad we didn't face Richmond in the gf? MCG factor had them written all over it. I was far more confident facing Collingwood.
Yeah despite what people say Richmond at the G going for back to back would've been feral.

2 very different styles WCE and Rich in 2018.

People say "oh but Yeo would've beaten him" but would he, really? doubt it.

Reckon Dusty gets another Norm v us pushing fwd kicking a bag plus 20+

Sent from my SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Personal update - received news that biopsy results were clear, no signs of malignancy in any growths and no further treatment required other than 6 month and 12 month cadence of various tests.

Opinion of the physician in charge is that whilst nothing cancerous was detected, the rate of their growth posed significant risk of becoming so at a later date, perhaps within as little as 12-24 months. Combined with the complete lack of physical symptoms, I have been very fortunate to have them detected early.

Now also cleared to resume running with full weights and contact allowed in the new year.

Such a relief. Hadn't realised how much it had been weighing on me until the news came in and now feel like I'm walking on air. Definitely a Christmas gift come early.

Preseason training is back on.

Personal update - received news that biopsy results were clear, no signs of malignancy in any growths and no further treatment required other than 6 month and 12 month cadence of various tests.

Opinion of the physician in charge is that whilst nothing cancerous was detected, the rate of their growth posed significant risk of becoming so at a later date, perhaps within as little as 12-24 months. Combined with the complete lack of physical symptoms, I have been very fortunate to have them detected early.

Now also cleared to resume running with full weights and contact allowed in the new year.

Such a relief. Hadn't realised how much it had been weighing on me until the news came in and now feel like I'm walking on air. Definitely a Christmas gift come early.

Excellent news and thanks for the update :thumbsu:

Will make this Christmas super special for you and yours.

Awesome mate, great news.

Looking forward to more Dylan insights on this board.

Christ why would we put so much money and effort into bringing the remaining members of the Bali 9 home.

Albo looked so so happy that he was able to get that deal done too.

They're going straight to Cambodia to help the Eagles build some huts.

All of us here are winners from this news, really happy for you

Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion