Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion

They're still yet to re-sign Brayshaw and Dockers fans expect them to still be in the box seat for Chad Warner. I'd love to know under what imaginary salary cap they're under unless they insist on paying Warner $100,000 a year for 20 years.

They're definitely going to lose a big fish. Either Sean Darcy or Hamish Brayshaw. Hopefully we get Warner regardless just to stuff them around.

They're still yet to re-sign Brayshaw and Dockers fans expect them to still be in the box seat for Chad Warner. I'd love to know under what imaginary salary cap they're under unless they insist on paying Warner $100,000 a year for 20 years.

You'd almost have to assume that with this news, either Andy is off, which enables a play for Warner(unlikely, IMO. Be very surprised if Brayshaw left).

Or they've been told by Warner's manager that they're simply no longer an option and he'll either request a trade to WCE, or stay at Sydney. Freo won't be able to afford what Sydney/WCE can offer him, so they're simply not an option.

No player is taking a contract worth 300-400k less than what someone else is offering(unless your name is Deven Robertson...)

North had several players reject mammoth offers over the years, I know, its norf, but we're currently a basket case too.

No guarantee Warner comes here even if our offer is 400k a season better than Freo/Sydney imo.

North had several players reject mammoth offers over the years, I know, its norf, but we're currently a basket case too.

No guarantee Warner comes here even if our offer is 400k a season better than Freo/Sydney imo.
Yeah but there's ridiculous offers from North and there's clear unders, which Freo would only be able to offer.

Players getting around $900k turning down $1.2mil is very different to getting offered $1.4ishmil and taking $800k.

Yeah but there's ridiculous offers from North and there's clear unders, which Freo would only be able to offer.

Players getting around $900k turning down $1.2mil is very different to getting offered $1.4ishmil and taking $800k.
Im kind of in that mental battle at the moment. looking at an offer thats 75k more than my current role.
My current role has a great work life balance, but we're probably going to be a single income household for the next decade, so do i sacrifice my happieness & mental wellbeing for more $$$ as i know second time around what im jumping into.... hard question to answer tbh.

Im kind of in that mental battle at the moment. looking at an offer thats 75k more than my current role.
My current role has a great work life balance, but we're probably going to be a single income household for the next decade, so do i sacrifice my happieness & mental wellbeing for more $$$ as i know second time around what im jumping into.... hard question to answer tbh.
I had the same dilemma. Took the work life balance, paid off big time in non monetary benefits. Absolutely no regrets.

The problem is we need the extra $$$. We have a few medical expenses that cost a bomb.

Im literally the definition of middle class poor.

I'd be having a chin wag with your current bosses mate. Express your gratitude at the role and the enjoyment you get working there. Explain your personal situation. Let them know you might need to begrudgingly look around for another opportunity purely from a financial standpoint and leave the ball in their court.

There's almost no chance they'll bump up your pay to that extent without adjusting your workload considerably but they might close the gap in the same manner that they'd counter offer to keep you.

I'd be having a chin wag with your current bosses mate. Express your gratitude at the role and the enjoyment you get working there. Explain your personal situation. Let them know you might need to begrudgingly look around for another opportunity purely from a financial standpoint and leave the ball in their court.

There's almost no chance they'll bump up your pay to that extent without adjusting your workload considerably but they might close the gap in the same manner that they'd counter offer to keep you.
Cheers for the advice. Would be tough to leave as its a really good environment.

Tell your work you are resigning due to better offer and see what they say. Just say it’s too big of a gap to ignore. Can they do something.

It’s hard to find good people these days.

Low 6 figure is probably fine for a single person. I'd expect a couple with kids living in a capital city to need at least $200-$250k household income. Sydney probably $300k-$350k.
There are a lot of people way under that.

High school teacher, 10 years in, so low 30’s is on $100k-$110k. Partner is a nurse, 5 years younger, ~$80k.

I see the above at work every day. Or partner is a tradie on a low’ish 6 figure income.

If you bought before covid, you’re significantly better off.

But there are a lot of couples out there on $130k combined and less.

Walk through Bunnings and Woolies these days, and there are a lot of employees who are 40+ and older. Lot of people who earn $65k or less.

Rent is insane these days. So to would be a mortgage if you’re borrowing more than $500k (which is mostly everyone buying today).

Low 6 figure is probably fine for a single person. I'd expect a couple with kids living in a capital city to need at least $200-$250k household income. Sydney probably $300k-$350k.
We live in a single income household and I earn around $95k(wife and one kid). Live 2k from CBD in Brisbane(Kangaroo Point).

No debt, around $30k in savings/investments.

Rent is $620pw.

Probably save around 1-2k per month. Not going to get us into the property market anytime soon but at least the bank balance is going up and not down.

When wife was working around 10 months ago in retail, easily saved at least $3k per month.

I understand those with mortgages and private school fees will find it pretty difficult but I'm not even that close-checking with our finances and I'm not finding it particularly difficult.

Do I want more? Absolutely yes. I don't borrow money for crap or waste it on frivolous shit though.

Still manage to live comfortably, kid does swimming lessons weekly and other sports when they're on.

People really need to check their spending, IMO.

Mind you, I work from home fulltime and that does indeed massively help but even if I wasn't, I'd still be making my own lunches instead of buying it.

We live in a single income household and I earn around $95k(wife and one kid). Live 2k from CBD in Brisbane(Kangaroo Point).

Rent is $620pw.

Probably save around 1-2k per month. Not going to get us into the property market anytime soon but at least the bank balance is going up and not down.

When wife was working around 10 months ago in retail, easily saved at least $3k per month.

I understand those with mortgages and private school fees will find it pretty difficult but I'm not even that close-checking with our finances and I'm not finding it particularly difficult.

Do I want more? Absolutely yes. I don't borrow money for crap or waste it on frivolous shit though.

Still manage to live comfortably, kid does swimming lessons weekly and other sports when they're on.

Mind you, I work from home fulltime and that does indeed massively help but even if I wasn't, I'd still be making my own lunches instead of buying it.

Any daycare fees? We pay $1200/mth for that, one child, 4 days per week.

Not anymore(kid's starting third grade next year) but was paying around $800pm when my wife was at TAFE.

Was only on $50k(career changed from hospitality to IT and took an entry level position) back then but was paying $420pw in rent, living opposite the Gabba. Got around $80Opm in FTB.

Wasn't supposed to pay any child care fees(TAFE was paying as wife was doing migrant english program) but the centre manager stuffed it up and I got stung with an additional $4k in fees when she left, courtesy of a debt collector for a debt I never knew I had. Happened to everyone in the course with 'free' childcare though.

Rent is $620pw.

Do you have private health,....how many cars do you have and are they both insured, home insurance (renters).
Also your working from home so your saving either a bunch in petrol and/or public transport costs.

I went through our finances a few months ago and insurance, rego for 2x cars, home&contents , private health & car servicing and petrol works out to be 12k. These costs are the biggest for me behind the mortgage. Groceries is right up there also (family of 5).

We've cut back a fair bit on discretionary spending, we rarely eat out now, havent been on an overseas holiday since 2015, local getaways every second year.

i take a packed lunch to work 4 days a week but unfortunately we do have alot of out of pocket medical costs which also has indirect cost.

Public schools in my area are shite so the kids attend a local catholic school and they are constantly asking parents to put their hands in their pockets.

Daycare used to cost us a bomb also but we only have 1 in now for 1 day a week.

Kids activites also cost a bomb also, swimming lessons for 3 kids, plus 1 other sport for each ****ing adds up.

Also it sounds like your parter is pretty frugal. Mines not to bad but im trying to get her to wind down some of the unplanned frivolous spending and going overboard with birthday/christmas presents etc....shes way to generous IMO.

Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion