Mega Thread Non-Freo AFL Discussion 2024 Part 2

I hate hawthorn almost as much as I hate carton. Please can we not be good at the same time as them again? I still have ptsd.

I completely disagree with everyone saying they are on the rise. I reckon they will slide down the ladder again next year. You watch. I think a very vanilla team that’s just working extra hard this year.

I agree. Young team playing on emotion and momentum. I think they’ll hit the wall pretty hard next year.

Plus this ducking shit in the forward 50 gonna get figured out

With no hint of irony after The Horny One missed his ice baths.
Surprised No Way GIF by Laff

I think there's an element of Australian society that embraces The Aussie Battler or truly believe it's cool to be a bogan. When Freo was in the GF there were heaps of Pies supporters at the pub with the BF crew from here. A lot of their supporters said they were backing Freo "because you are a lot like us". I was offended!
When I was a kid and supported WC (before Freo came along), a friend was a big Magpies supporter. And when what’s-his-name who was their president said his big racist stupid thing, she defended him.

We weren’t friends for much longer, and I took great pleasure in the Magpies getting beaten up by the Indigenous all-stars in subsequent years. I’ve hated them ever since. Our clubs are NOT alike.

Extra hard, over two quarters, every fourth week.

Sorry, I thought you were referring to West Coast.

Hawthorn might benefit from their influential players being relatively unknown, like Meek, meaning clubs feel content to back their own systems head to head against them.

I don't think that will happen forever. It already was worked out with us, notice Frederick being less involved up the ground and having to find it deeper forward meaning we rely even more on the likes or Treacy marking it to move the ball. Same thing. Opposition clubs pick apart the game plan of teams they respect.

Hawks remind me of us in 22. Young and pushing super hard, with a decent draw coming from the bottom, momentum and belief, with noone having done much research on how we play (likely didn't bother watching our games til the week before). Came crashing back to earth the following year. Predict the same for Hawks.

I think the difference is we were more balanced across the field but lost 4 senior players in the offseason too for a very young side.

Hawks still have some massive holes and unless they get some players to come on Treacy style, they are going to be hot and cold.

On Barrass, there is absolutely no way he's staying at WC with money being flung his way. Apparently a mill a year

Will Schofield on the backchat pod said during the week that it appears that West Coast have made the decision to move Barrass on for draft picks. This aligns with Mitch Cleary's comments about Barrass "getting his head around a trade" when he met with Mitchell, and that Hawthorn are willing to part with their first as part of the trade

Seems like it's happening

Except they wont get the super hard draw we did and will still play 3 or so games in Tassie

Will Schofield on the backchat pod said during the week that it appears that West Coast have made the decision to move Barrass on for draft picks. This aligns with Mitch Cleary's comments about Barrass "getting his head around a trade" when he met with Mitchell, and that Hawthorn are willing to part with their first as part of the trade

I think he is pretty much all they have that they can trade

If they are seriously rebuilding, they have to consider it

Barrass going to Hawthorn for a deal including Hawk's first pick is good business for both clubs.

They were remiss on not trading out Yeo, Gaff, Darling etc a few years back when there was a market and had more currency
I think they may have known about Craig Yeo being unwell, so were being sympathetic and let him stay? he is playing really well for them tbis year

Eagles board melting that it’s been reported Waterman has been chased by Geelong. One peanut even suggesting give them Allen and keep Waterman 😂

If the Eagles lose Waterman and Barrass and get moderate to average compensation in return a lot of nuffies will lose their minds

Mega Thread Non-Freo AFL Discussion 2024 Part 2