Non-Lions discussion 2022

Are they changing the proportions of the playing surface to match every other ground in the country? A meter here or a metre there isn't such a biggie but umpire please.

Can't believe the nations number 1 sport can't even manage uniformity of the pitch. It's a ******* joke.

Wait until you hear about this trendy new sport called cricket!

True, at least we don't have to play around a tree on the outfield in a world cup game.

A uniquely shapen field in cricket doesn't quite have the same impact however. Well, maybe the Adelaide oval's short square boundaries, if they're still a thing after the reno, I'm not sure.

Are they changing the proportions of the playing surface to match every other ground in the country? A meter here or a metre there isn't such a biggie but umpire please.

Can't believe the nations number 1 sport can't even manage uniformity of the pitch. It's a ******* joke.

Caller to SEN was on about this the other day.

Turns out that there are no ground dimension uniformity "rules" in just about any other football code on the planet.

Apparently there are short, fat , skinny , long and wacko shaped fields in the EPL.

Also in both RU and RL, there are no set dimensions about the width of the field or the "depth" of the in goal area.

As long as its 100 metres from tryline to tryilne, everything else is variable.

There are quirks and irregularities in sport everywhere

It's part of the charm

So take a chill pill.

Rest in piss Cripps you absolute bozo. Could've already been on holidays but now you get to waste another 2 weeks and another year of your career. Funniest thing ever today.

Caller to SEN was on about this the other day.

Turns out that there are no ground dimension uniformity "rules" in just about any other football code on the planet.

Apparently there are short, fat , skinny , long and wacko shaped fields in the EPL.

Also in both RU and RL, there are no set dimensions about the width of the field or the "depth" of the in goal area.

As long as its 100 metres from tryline to tryilne, everything else is variable.

There are quirks and irregularities in sport everywhere

It's part of the charm

So take a chill pill.

Just googled it. You're right.

The International Football Association Board (IFAB), the governing body that writes the rules of soccer, states that a field must be rectangular and marked with continuous lines. A full-size pitch may be anywhere from 50-100 yards in width and 100-130 yards in length.

However, most pitches are pretty close to each other. Have a look.

Same as here, most grounds are similar sizes & ratios, one or two metres isn't a biggie. Except one ground. It's not even close to the others.

I've got no problem with all grounds being unique, but that would be going back to the 70's.

Just googled it. You're right.

The International Football Association Board (IFAB), the governing body that writes the rules of soccer, states that a field must be rectangular and marked with continuous lines. A full-size pitch may be anywhere from 50-100 yards in width and 100-130 yards in length.

However, most pitches are pretty close to each other. Have a look.

Same as here, most grounds are similar sizes & ratios, one or two metres isn't a biggie. Except one ground. It's not even close to the others.

I've got no problem with all grounds being unique, but that would be going back to the 70's.
No worries mate.

I just wanted to point out that variable dimensions on a playing field is not something unique to Aussie Rules Football.

Our game has some weird and wonderful rules and parameters and long may that continue.

Its what makes it so special.:smallfooty:

Gotta love the AFL. Pies finish 4th yet are only three home game wins away from the flag: an "away" Qualifying Final at the MCG, a home Preliminary Final if they win the first week, and a "neutral" Grand Final at the MCG.

I'm thinking a Demons v Cats GF is the most likely, think the Cats of this year are a different breed and will not fold come finals time, to me the wildcard is the Tigers, their best footy is bloody good + they have elite game breakers like Lynch, Bolton and maybe Dusty if he comes back in good shape.

I thought the Tigers were getting eliminated in the first week of the finals... how will they get to play the Demons or the Cats? :)

To be clear I don't see the Pies getting what I outlined above, I actually think they're pretty likely to go out in straight sets. But it's pretty bullshit they can finish 4th and have a best case scenario of 3 home finals to win a flag, while the Swans finish 3rd and will at best have 1/3 home finals in their flag run.

I am sure they don't consider them as home games ... just away games that happen to be at their home ground!

I genuinely think the Cats could beat the Pies by 10+ goals
no one seems to smash pies Dogs 48. Tigers and swans 27
They beat Melb by 26 compare to us loosing by 58 and 64.
Beat the Dockers away by 36 as well

Although everyone keeps talking them down like they did us in 2019
They still could go out in straight sets or sneak through as they have some belief and dare

IZAK Rankine announced he's leaving the Suns. I think he will come to regret it. Disappointing