Non-Lions Footy Discussion

http://www.canberratimes.com.au/afl...fanfriendly-2015-fixture-20141021-119jkq.html

The AFL's pledge to deliver football back to its heartland supporters will see Saturday night games bought forward to an earlier start next season after fans told the AFL that those showcase matches began too late for young families and followers from outside of Melbourne.

I really hope this isn't just spin. There's a delicate balance between satisfying TV stations, and for that matter TV viewers, and keeping games at times where people are likely to attend.

Sometimes professional sports underestimate the ways in which having a passionate core of fans drives the involvement of more casual fans. More people may watch the game on TV than in the stands but the dedicated fans who consistently rock up to games are more valuable.

The AFL's pledge to deliver football back to its heartland supporters will see Saturday night games bought forward to an earlier start next season after fans told the AFL that those showcase matches began too late for young families and followers from outside of Melbourne.
Wonder if this were a Freudian slip, recognising it may cost TV $$$, or she deliberately leaves the 'R' out due to her lisp.

Earlier Saturday night games is terrible for Perth fans 2 or 3 hours behind the east coast.

I'm guessing by 'too late for young families and followers outside Melbourne' they mean people travelling to and from Melbourne from the outer suburbs.

http://www.canberratimes.com.au/afl...fanfriendly-2015-fixture-20141021-119jkq.html

I really hope this isn't just spin. There's a delicate balance between satisfying TV stations, and for that matter TV viewers, and keeping games at times where people are likely to attend.

Sometimes professional sports underestimate the ways in which having a passionate core of fans drives the involvement of more casual fans. More people may watch the game on TV than in the stands but the dedicated fans who consistently rock up to games are more valuable.

Thank Christ. We skipped one or two games because 7:40pm is just too late given it means you're getting home at 10:30pm-11:00pm.

I don't like the section about how heavily Collingwood were consulted over the fixture due to how tough they had it this year with Sunday matches.

I reckon the AFL has genuinely realised they swung too much in favour of the couch potatoes last year and away from those who can be bothered turning up to the games.

Tacky from GWS, but can't help but think if our media team did something similar we'd call it #swagger

Gotta confess I predicted in my head that someone would make this statement.

I'd say there is considerable distance between a cheeky "Lock it in Eddie" tweet announcing a trade, and actually creating a campaign and hashtag where you encourage your fans to actively "troll" another club. If Brisbane had done something along those lines with Collingwood I can categorically state I wouldn't have put it under the label of "swagger".

These are exactly the teams that should be playing Tasmanian, Darwin and NZ games. 14 games at the G is incredible.
Equalisation, indeed.
Of course Melbourne based clubs will play away games in Melbourne, but 14 at the one ground?

Sounds like the AFL is gambling on Richmond climbing up the ladder with the wobbles on the slide. Gotta fill the MCG with ferals some how.

The AFL wouldn't be giving a team a leg up with fixturing would they? A Victorian side that has been hovering on the edge of finals for years, wanting to get another side in there with a better chance? Surely they wouldn't try to influence the results with a favourable schedule? Nah.

I think the AFL trying to line its own pockets by bumping up gate takings is a little less conspiracy-esque and definitely true. Richmond has all sorts coming out of the woodwork when it's on the up whereas other fan bases are a bit more rusted on, so attracting those could give attendances a nice bump.

The AFL are seriously concerned about Crowds next year, particularly given the traditional Big 4,

could all conceivably miss the 8. They are trying to reverse the trend away from attending matches, I personally fear it may be too late. The paradigm shift has occurred and people no longer attend week in week out, but rather when it suits them.

Will have massive implications for clubs without strong membership bases.

The AFL are seriously concerned about Crowds next year, particularly given the traditional Big 4,

could all conceivably miss the 8. They are trying to reverse the trend away from attending matches, I personally fear it may be too late. The paradigm shift has occurred and people no longer attend week in week out, but rather when it suits them.

Will have massive implications for clubs without strong membership bases.
Already hit us, the crowds are so fickle up here.

Yep Sydney to, but previously Melbourne had been immune from it, but I think it has now taken over as well, I'm an MCC member and go to essentially any game if I am in Melbourne. Access and ability to sit literally anywhere has never been like it was in the season just gone. It will take a massive effort to turn the tide.

And still finish 9th.

Seriously though, if the AFL are looking at a supporter friendly schedule, how bout we not play Hawthorn in Tassie & not have to play in Geelong at all this year. They are not Melbourne games.

I'm hopeful of an easier draw this year compared to the last couple of years. Things look promising, we're playing Collingwood round 1.

why do we care?

Richmond are entitled to 11 home games, just like every other club. Then given that the MCG houses Hawthorn, Collingwood & Melbourne and they usually play Essendon and Carlton at the G - it shouldn't be surprising they would play there at least 12-13 times every year, and often 14.

I think the key point is that Richmond might get 14 games at the G, but they will likely only have home advantage in 4 or 5 of them tops. There isn't a great home ground advantage in playing other MCG tenants at the MCG.

why do we care?

Richmond are entitled to 11 home games, just like every other club. Then given that the MCG houses Hawthorn, Collingwood & Melbourne and they usually play Essendon and Carlton at the G - it shouldn't be surprising they would play there at least 12-13 times every year, and often 14.

I think the key point is that Richmond might get 14 games at the G, but they will likely only have home advantage in 4 or 5 of them tops. There isn't a great home ground advantage in playing other MCG tenants at the MCG.
I don't care at all. Just a good opportunity for a Richmond finishes 9th joke.

Just not a huge fan of playing St Kilda in NZ, Hawthorn in Tassie, and Geelong in Geelong (every year). Not a great deal for Melbourne based fans. If the AFL is looking to be supporter friendly they can knock some of those on the head for starters.